Boards.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more x
View Poll Results: Scanlines or No Scanlines?
Scanlines 20 80.00%
No Scanlines 5 20.00%
Voters: 25. You may not vote on this poll

Post Reply  
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
08-08-2018, 23:11   #1
Steve X2
Moderator
 
Steve X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 8,384
Scanlines or no scanlines

I'm trying out some new XRGB Framemeister settings on my RGB modded Amiga CD32. On the XRGB generally you only want the scanlines on 240p content when outputting 720p as they can look weird/crap on higher res stuff. But I'm almost sold on the scanlines on this 288p RGB source running @ 1080p.
I can play with the brightness on the scanline mode a bit maybe.

So, scanlines or better without?
You need to watch fullscreen/1080p to actually see the scanlines properly, otherwise they look weird when scaled down by YouTube.

Steve X2 is offline  
Advertisement
09-08-2018, 08:27   #2
CathalDublin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Dubberland
Posts: 3,650
scanlines all the way
CathalDublin is offline  
09-08-2018, 09:02   #3
eddhorse
Registered User
 
eddhorse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: The Pale
Posts: 4,622
Send a message via ICQ to eddhorse
On the fence with that video but gotta say WITH scanlines.
eddhorse is offline  
09-08-2018, 09:38   #4
Inviere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2,984
Yeah I'd have to say in that vid it looks better when they're switched on
Inviere is offline  
Thanks from:
09-08-2018, 09:41   #5
o1s1n
Registered User
 
o1s1n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: D1
Posts: 30,406
Another one for 'on' here. It takes the edge off the blockiness of the sprites and gives it that 'how it was designed to look' feel.
o1s1n is offline  
Advertisement
09-08-2018, 19:05   #6
Steve X2
Moderator
 
Steve X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 8,384
I've been testing a few HDMI scanline generators to put in the AV loop. But so far they are all sh1te. HDMI as its the last connection in the loop.
Looks like I'll be sticking with the XRGB's scanlines for now. I've ordered an OSSC as well, but it might be a month before it arrives.
Steve X2 is offline  
Thanks from:
09-08-2018, 21:03   #7
KevW24601
Registered User
 
KevW24601's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 53
Depends on the monitor or what generator is being used, but all in all I'd be for. Especially for the old arcade monitors because it gives the game that rugged "gritty" sort of look.
KevW24601 is offline  
10-08-2018, 13:08   #8
80s Synth Pop
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 326
100% scanlines. If it's a VGA compatible source, take a look at the arcadeforge "Scanline Generator SLG3000". It works very well with a PO for controlling the intensity.
80s Synth Pop is offline  
10-08-2018, 14:03   #9
Steve X2
Moderator
 
Steve X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 8,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by 80s Synth Pop View Post
100% scanlines. If it's a VGA compatible source, take a look at the arcadeforge "Scanline Generator SLG3000". It works very well with a PO for controlling the intensity.
Yeah, I've got one of those for and its pretty good at what it does. But not really suitable for my current setup. I think the Dreamcast and PSP dev kit are the only systems I'm currently using via VGA.
Steve X2 is offline  
Advertisement
14-08-2018, 20:29   #10
Steve X2
Moderator
 
Steve X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 8,384
So I tweaked the scanlines ever so slightly, little bit brighter and sharper image.
I think this is pretty much the best picture I can get out of an Amiga CD32 using the XRGB Mini. I'm 90% happy with it, but think the OSSC scanlines will be better.
The game is Disposable Hero by the way.








Steve X2 is offline  
Thanks from:
14-08-2018, 21:29   #11
Steve X2
Moderator
 
Steve X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 8,384
Needs to be watched in full screen and max resolution otherwise the scanlines look weird.


Steve X2 is offline  
14-08-2018, 21:34   #12
Inviere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2,984
Looks lovely Steve. Is there the tiniest bit of saturation going on with the whites? Or is that perhaps how the game is meant to look? Or maybe it's just my screen?
Inviere is offline  
14-08-2018, 21:42   #13
Steve X2
Moderator
 
Steve X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 8,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inviere View Post
Looks lovely Steve. Is there the tiniest bit of saturation going on with the whites? Or is that perhaps how the game is meant to look? Or maybe it's just my screen?
The whites do look a bit off, but I think its the game. Do you mean they're too white/bright?
Steve X2 is offline  
14-08-2018, 21:48   #14
Inviere
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 2,984
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve X2 View Post
The whites do look a bit off, but I think its the game. Do you mean they're too white/bright?
Yeah just slightly overly white/bright causing some saturation, as said, could be the game itself!
Inviere is offline  
14-08-2018, 21:50   #15
Steve X2
Moderator
 
Steve X2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Dublin
Posts: 8,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Inviere View Post
Yeah just slightly overly white/bright causing some saturation, as said, could be the game itself!
I'll stick on a different looking game and see if i can spot it on that. The white sections on parts of DHero always looked a bit graphically unfinished to me.
Steve X2 is offline  
Thanks from:
Post Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Remove Text Formatting
Bold
Italic
Underline

Insert Image
Wrap [QUOTE] tags around selected text
 
Decrease Size
Increase Size
Please sign up or log in to join the discussion

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search



Share Tweet