Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Classic insurance - companies & brokers

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

schmittel wrote: »
    Thanks, that's good to know, I will give them a call.
    I should mention that their underwriters are sticky about penalty points. You can have 6, if they are made up of two speeding offences... but only four if any offence is a non-speeding one.

If you're thinking that's ridiculous, tell me about it. I couldn't proceed because 3 of my points were for not displaying my insurance disc. If I'd got them for speeding, I'd have been eligible. *sigh*

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭hometruths

Dades wrote: »
    First Ireland told me last week if I moved my classic policy to them they'd let me insure a 17 yr old Merc for an extra 150 quid.

I had a classic policy with them about 11 years ago, not sure if that helped me.

Genius thanks Dades, called First Ireland and they will take the Alfa if I insure another classic I have with them. Much appreciated.

Now all I have to do is tell the wife I am keeping it!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

schmittel wrote: »
    Now all I have to do is tell the wife I am keeping it!
    You're on your own with that one. :P

Delighted it worked out. It was Unkel's posts in this thread that put me onto First Ireland, so credit there, too.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Mitchomagic

Hi anyone know any insurance companies that would quote for a 15 year old convertible, also I only have commercial insurance on my own van ?.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭MrCostington

Hi, sorry to bring this up yet again, the issue of getting insurance with classic being only car. I read through here since 2014 and did not find a definitive answer.

I think I'll have saved enough to look for my first classic come next pay cheque. Looking for 30 or more year old Merc or BMW. Over 30 years claim free driving and currently have a normal car insured till Dec with First Ireland, been with them years.

They quoted me E299 for a W123 280CE fully comp, 4,000 miles. But of course need a normal daily. As do Carol Nash and Brophy, and Autoline up north.

I spoke to two guys at the recent Swords show that claim to have their classic as only car, and say they are legit, ie insurance know this. One was with First Ireland and forgot what other guy said.

I'm not sure if I could afford the over 1 grand to tax/insure my current car and run a classic and I do not do enough driving to justify it in any case.

Has anyone here actually insured just their classic?

Thanks!

Feel free to pm if preferred.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

I dont mean to be disgenuous or patronising but if you are worried about the cost to insure your current car as well as a classic, are you sure you are ready for a classic. Mine is 10 years away from vintage tax so still relatively young and I spend quite a bit on maintenance, both preventative and post breaking! Classic Insurance is way down the list financially.

Thanks, I don't take that the wrong way! I am expecting upkeep to be costly, hence the desire to save on the cost of a second car. I'll consider what you say, but in the end we all know owning a classic is not a logical choice, it's a choice of the heart!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,130 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Thanks, I don't take that the wrong way! I am expecting upkeep to be costly, hence the desire to save on the cost of a second car. I'll consider what you say, but in the end we all know owning a classic is not a logical choice, it's a choice of the heart!

Totally agree. I drove 100 miles to buy foglamps I didn't need today amd came away with a headlamp too. All because the ones I have weren't genuine BMW!

• Registered Users Posts: 132 ✭✭pachanco

Hi, sorry to bring this up yet again, the issue of getting insurance with classic being only car. I read through here since 2014 and did not find a definitive answer.

I think I'll have saved enough to look for my first classic come next pay cheque. Looking for 30 or more year old Merc or BMW. Over 30 years claim free driving and currently have a normal car insured till Dec with First Ireland, been with them years.

They quoted me E299 for a W123 280CE fully comp, 4,000 miles. But of course need a normal daily. As do Carol Nash and Brophy, and Autoline up north.

I spoke to two guys at the recent Swords show that claim to have their classic as only car, and say they are legit, ie insurance know this. One was with First Ireland and forgot what other guy said.

I'm not sure if I could afford the over 1 grand to tax/insure my current car and run a classic and I do not do enough driving to justify it in any case.

Thanks!

This was the best evidence that I remembered came up on the subject of running a classic as your only vehicle back a few years ago.

It could be done back then but not sure if any of the insurance companies are considering this kind of cover with new customers, so unless you're already in the club you're going to find it tricky to get cover without keeping the everyday driver on the road.

macplaxton wrote: »
    Well underwriting criteria changes but at the time, 2007, AXA and Hibernian were game to insure a 34 year-old car on a standard motor policy. My hand was forced at the time to get "normal" insurance as there were no specialist policies for a main vehicle/unlimited mileage classic.

1203144417_89f0509deb_z.jpg?zz=1
    DAF 66 SL now 73D978 by macplaxton, on Flickr

This was my main and old car at the time and was costing ~€400. The vehicle was initially insured for €750 (well market value, but they asked). On renewal as there was no way of doing "agreed value", the only course of action was to aim high and it was down for €2500 (or €2250, can't remember) partly as a reflection of the work put into it and partly given the more expensive Irish used car market.

It was stolen from outside my house in Lucan and got as far as Liffey Valley. Reported it, then I borrowed a car to get to work down at Grange Castle (5am) and driving the work lorry back up another road I found the car before ever hearing from the Garda. Phoned the location in, but could not wait around for them to turn up. Again I reported it to a motorcycle cop in town. Eventually found out Irish Towing had it, but wouldn't be released pending Garda technical Investigation (2 days).

2847613339_2e80331d1a_z.jpg?zz=1
    p9110014 by macplaxton, on Flickr

When it came to the crunch, I was initially offered €1500 which I declined as too low. The assessor didn't really know where to start as market value on an usual car is hard enough to work out, so I guess he was working backwards from the declared market value. As there was no hope of getting a replacement regardless of money within a reasonable timescale, I did express an interest that an alternative turn-key/tested car was an option and I had one in mind for £1400 (~€1800 at the time) and that I really wanted to retain salvage given the work/parts I'd put into the car. It was agreed that a cheque for €1750 would suffice (€2000 PAV (pre-accident value) less €250 salvage).

Hopped on a boat and bought a 1978 Citroen GS which I still have.

Whilst AXA still look at stuff over 15 years old, Aviva doesn't entertain it now. I also see from the current AXA policy wording the following:

"Salvage (if your car is written off)
    We will settle your claim by replacing your car or by paying the market value (or purchase price of your car whichever is the lower) of your car before it was damaged. As part of settling your claim, your car will become our property and you must send us the vehicle licensing document and keys. We will be entitled to take possession of and dispose of your damaged car, at any time during the course of a claim. If we know that your car is covered by a hire purchase or contract-hire agreement, we will pay any claim to the owner described in the agreement."

If I find an old t&c's booklet I'll see what the wording was at the time. I suspect it was similar. I guess as long as they don't lose money on the salvage and you make your interest known before anything else is agreed, you'll stand the best chance of keeping it.

I took the insurance out in the Lucan office. For the initial business, AXA required a NCT or engineer's report. It was NCT exempt at the time, but they were happy to take a current MOT in lieu. For the further renewals I didn't have to produce any NCTs or engineer's reports. There was no mileage restrictions, it was a main and only vehicle. The price was similar if not more expensive than run-of-the-mill stuff. (Certainly way more than £105 a year I was paying for two cars on a comprehensive classic policy as a main/only/unlimited mileage vehicle in the UK!)

I did have the Citroen with AXA for a short while, but as the premium crept up, I moved to First Ireland, who would insure it as a main/only car, but with a mileage restriction max 10k miles p.a. Then I got a modern to move the classics onto "second car" policies with them and instead of paying €600, it was nearer €230. I did have four cars insured at one point and it was base premium + about €60-70 for each extra added.

Third party crashing into me (Non-fault) other party's insurance (AIG) paid me PAV €5500 on a 9 year-old Honda Jazz 1.4SE CVT less €1440 salvage, a uneconomic write-off, I kept it as it was repairable (n/s frontal damage) and the shunt was low-speed and airbags hadn't popped.

In attempt to save some cash last year, I removed all the vehicle I wasn't using from my classic car policy. Two months later, one got burnt out in storage. €2500 up in smoke...

Never had a car/motorcycle nicked in the UK, destroyed by fire or paid through the nose for insurance. The only event I can think of was a car of mine was pushed on its side. It wasn't a three-wheeler, but it was a Reliant.

I wonder would you consider going through the "Declined cases committee". I'm not even sure if this is an option for a classic policy, but sure no harm looking in to it.

I think I remember someone telling me that they went through this process on an normal everyday car and it ended up that it was the first insurance company that they got the written refusal from, that was the company who was forced to quote them. Of course they can quote you whatever they want, but you never know your luck, the quote may not be too bad.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/motor_tax_and_insurance/motor_insurance.html
    If you are refused motor insurance
    Individual insurers have the right to refuse you cover, but they must provide you with a reason for the refusal should you ask for one. However, even though you have been refused cover, you are entitled to go to the Declined Cases Committee of Insurance Ireland who will obtain an insurance quotation for you. In order for the Committee to consider your case you must first have sought and been refused quotations in writing from at least three insurers.

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/travel_and_recreation/motoring_1/motor_tax_and_insurance/motor_insurance.html

The Financial Services and Pensions Ombudsman deals with complaints and disputes between policyholders and their insurance companies when the company's complaints procedure fails to resolve the problem. The The Financial Services and Pensions Ombudsman's decision is binding, if you are unsatisfied with the decision you may take your case to the High Court.

Financial Services and Pensions Ombudsman
    3rd Floor
    Lincoln House
    Lincoln Place
    Dublin 2
    D02 VH29
    Ireland
    Tel:(01) 567 7000
    Homepage: http://www.fspo.ie/
    Email: info@fspo.ie
    The Insurance Information Service (IIS) is an information and complaints service operated by the Insurance Ireland, which many insurance companies in Ireland belong to. Its purpose is to answer policyholders' questions and help them resolve problems. It has no binding powers and complaints that cannot be resolved are generally referred to the Financial Services and Pensions Ombudsman.

Insurance Ireland
    Insurance Information Service
    Insurance Centre
    5 Harbourmaster Place
    IFSC
    Dublin 1
    DO1 E7E8
    Ireland
    Tel:(01) 676 1914
    Fax:(01) 676 1943
    Homepage: http://www.insuranceireland.eu/consumer-information
    Email: feedback@insuranceireland.eu
    If you have been refused a quotation for motor insurance, you can email the Declined Cases Committee of Insurance Ireland who will help you obtain a motor insurance quotation.

Declined Cases Committee
    Insurance Ireland
    Insurance Centre
    5 Harbourmaster Place
    IFSC
    Dublin 1
    DO1 E7E8
    Ireland
    Tel:(01) 676 1820
    Email: declined@insuranceireland.eu
    The Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland exists to compensate genuine victims of uninsured and untraced driving in Ireland. It fulfils a further European role to ensure claims arising from foreign motoring in Ireland or Irish motorists abroad are properly handled and settled.

Motor Insurers Bureau of Ireland (MIBI)
    5 Harbourmaster Place
    IFSC
    Dublin 1
    DO1 E7E8
    Ireland
    Tel:+353 (0)1 676 9944
    Homepage: http://www.mibi.ie/
    Email: info@mibi.ie

@pachanco - many many thanks for your detailed replies, I do appreciate it.

I did ask First Ireland if they will will insure the classic on a normal policy, they will not. I'll try AXA and Hibernian for that.

Interesting info in the post you quoted. And I think the IIS is worth a shout before escalating to the Declined Cases Committe - I had heard of the before and forgot about them, thanks for the reminder.

I did some quick maths, if I changed my A4 for a 1 liter car from '08 the cost of tax and insurance and NCT for both cars (classic and 1 l) would be slightly less than the A4 alone. Crazy eh? But of course the classic on it's one would be just 40% of the A4.

• Registered Users Posts: 185 ✭✭pryantcc

Check out Barret's in Dun Laoghaire if they are still on the go:
    https://www.boards.ie/b/thread/2057390795

Thanks the the tip and link. I called Barret's (still there) but they only look at cars over E30k in value which is a tad over my budget.

Called AXA to see if they would do it on a normal policy, no.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭gavman1

Thanks!

Can ye be placed as name driver on a family members every day car and at what price?the reason for asking is i used to have the same prob as i had a company yoke.if ye put the classic in the family members name and the classic policy and you as second driver on that aswell.of course you will not be able to use the classic as a every day car as the classic policy will no doubt stipulate.but it is a foot on the classic ownership ladder.just a thought lad.

• Registered Users Posts: 118 ✭✭mittimitti

I use First Ireland and find them good to deal with

• Registered Users Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Does anybody here know of an insurance company/broker who offers 'salvage retention' on a classic car policy?

I currently have a policy via Autoline who offer this as part of my cover. It was the main reason I moved to them 2 years ago. I'm thinking of shopping around this year and want to know if other companies offer this too.

Silvera wrote: »
    Does anybody here know of an insurance company/broker who offers 'salvage retention' on a classic car policy?

I currently have a policy via Autoline who offer this as part of my cover. It was the main reason I moved to them 2 years ago. I'm thinking of shopping around this year and want to know if other companies offer this too.

I've never had a policy with them, but according to the Carole Nash website, they offer Salvage retention rights, check the small print though.

https://ireland.carolenash.com/classic-car-insurance/

This one may have been updated as it is (2013).

http://ireland.carolenash.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Carole-Nash-Ireland-Classic-Car-PW-12-13.pdf

SECTION 2
    COVER FOR FIRE & THEFT
    WHAT IS COVERED
    If your vehicle is damaged by fire, theft or attempted
    theft during the period of insurance, we will either repair
    the vehicle or give the legal owner a cash settlement
    at market value or to the agreed value if your vehicle is
    insured on that basis.
    If your vehicle is insured on an agreed value basis (as stated
    on your Policy Schedule) in the event of a total loss you may
    be able to purchase the remaining salvage at the amount
    your vehicle will attract in the open market in its damaged
    condition. This will be decided on an individual claim basis.

Just to update you all on my quest for classic only cover - seems to be impossible. As is insuring a 30 y/o car on a normal policy. Still a few companies to try, will let you know how it goes.

Thanks for all your help!

• Registered Users Posts: 797 ✭✭✭cplwhisper

PM as I curious can I help u

Just to update you all on my quest for classic only cover - seems to be impossible. As is insuring a 30 y/o car on a normal policy. Still a few companies to try, will let you know how it goes.

Thanks for all your help!

Could u PM MrCostington thanks

• Registered Users Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

Does anybody here have a direct email address for Myles in AXA Insurance?
    If so, please PM to me. I believe it's best to deal direct with Myles for classic quotes.

You will find his email address in one of the articles "IVVCC announces insurance agreement with AXA"

https://www.ivvcc.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/Spring-2012.pdf

Ctrl F myles (Control Find myles)

PM sent to u

• Registered Users Posts: 591 ✭✭✭Rosser

Rang them last week and a fella in their centre up the North said he has retired, that’s why AXA didn’t sponsor Terenure this year and he also said they probably won’t be doing classic from next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 4 marxms

Hi All,
    I am new to Boards.ie so would like to say hello to all people reading my post.

I am looking to buy classic car at the moment. Before I get it I want to be clear about insurance.
    At the moment I have daily car and motorbike policies. I am looking to get rid of my daily car to purchase a vintage car.
    I don't need daily car as I have motorcycle and I work 4 min from home. I was told I need daily car policy to insure vintage car ?
    Could someone give me a hint which insurance company should I try if I don't want to keep daily car anymore? Or insurance company name which would accept my motorcycle policy as my daily policy (main policy)?

Thank you

marxms wrote: »
    Hi All,
    I am new to Boards.ie so would like to say hello to all people reading my post.

I am looking to buy classic car at the moment. Before I get it I want to be clear about insurance.
    At the moment I have daily car and motorbike policies. I am looking to get rid of my daily car to purchase a vintage car.
    I don't need daily car as I have motorcycle and I work 4 min from home. I was told I need daily car policy to insure vintage car ?
    Could someone give me a hint which insurance company should I try if I don't want to keep daily car anymore? Or insurance company name which would accept my motorcycle policy as my daily policy (main policy)?

Thank you

Who do you currently have the motorbike insured with?

If I was in your situation, I would contact carolenash and look at getting the bike and classic car insured on the one policy.

If they refuse to cover you because you will no longer have a daily car, you may need to get two more quotes for the classic car from two further insurance companies and get your letters of refusal and then contact the ombudsman and he should be able to insist that the first company that you went to and got a letter of refusal from, give you a quote for the classic.

It is important if you are going to end up going the ombudsman route that, whichever company you favour in the market is the first one that you get the refusal from as they will be the company that the ombudsman will get to give you a quote.

There is further information about contacting the ombudsman if you read back over the last few posts.

https://www.fspo.ie/

https://ireland.carolenash.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 4 marxms

At the moment I have my motorbike and car insured with Liberty .
    I rang carole nash yesterday and they told me that they won't insure vintage car for me even if I move my motorbike policy to them. They said that I need daily car policy and motorbike is not accepted. Same with campion insurance, I was told that motorbike can't be my daily source of transport and it's not accepted by them. I presume I need to email them to get letters of refusal?

What happens if I purchase vintage insurance (I will still have my daily car ) and month later I will get rid of my daily . Is the policy on vintage still covering me ?

In meantime I will read through the tread about ombudsman and other way of dealing with insurance companies.

Thank you Pachanco !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,011 ✭✭✭ht9zni1gs28crp

What happens if I purchase vintage insurance (I will still have my daily car ) and month later I will get rid of my daily . Is the policy on vintage still covering me ?

In short no, as the original terms and conditions you agreed to when taking out your policy arent maintained.

At the moment I have my motorbike and car insured with Liberty .
    I rang carole nash yesterday and they told me that they won't insure vintage car for me even if I move my motorbike policy to them. They said that I need daily car policy and motorbike is not accepted. Same with campion insurance, I was told that motorbike can't be my daily source of transport and it's not accepted by them. I presume I need to email them to get letters of refusal?

You can get a letter of refusal off them if you phone them and then give them your address and they will post it out to you.

I've never dealt with the ombudsman before myself, but I know someone who was having trouble getting a quote on a normal car and he went through the process and it worked out for him.

Remember it's important to get the first letter of refusal from the company you want to get the quote from. Once the ombudsman is involved in your case, I'm led to believe that the ombudsman contacts the company that you get your first letter of refusal from for the quote.

Also I'm no expert in these matters, so I cannot guarantee that the ombudsman will be able to sort this out for you. I certainly hope he will consider your case. It seems a bit of a nonsense that you can't get cover on a classic if your motorbike is your main source of transport.

Maybe it's worth giving the ombudsman's office a call first of all, just to make sure that the process is still the same as it was when my friend was dealing with them three or four years ago.

Good luck with it, hope it works out.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,634 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

My renewal is up shortly and it seems the market is softening.

I rang a round a bit and knocked over 20% off the renewal quote.