Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Leeds United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours

• Registered Users Posts: 1,667 ✭✭✭punk77

Andrew Dillon in today's Sun:

Bates Ken go

KEN BATES looks set to end his controversial reign at Leeds in the next 72 hours.
    Islamic Investment bank Gulf Finance House Capital are close to a £50million takeover deal and they will replace chairman Bates with David Haigh.

Team boss Neil Warnock has had discussions with the prospective new owners about transfer funds and their plans to get back into the Premier League.

A source close to the deal told SunSport: “Things are moving quickly. GFH Capital are eager to start rebuilding Leeds United.”

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/4511030/Ken-Bates-set-be-replaced-at-Leeds-as-takeover-nears.html

I know, I know, it's the Sun and we all know how credible that rag is but clutching at straws and all that.........

David Haigh is Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Chief Operating Officer of Dubai based GFH Capital Limited.

David is also the manager of GFH Capital's pioneering Injazat Technology Fund, a USD 50 million venture capital fund focusing on Technology Media and Telecommunication investments, the first such fund in the Middle East.

David has worked on over US$5 billion of transactions across MENASA and Europe and has led pioneering transactions in technology, media, telecommunication, financial services, sports and healthcare. He has led teams that created substantial revenue streams within large organisations, built profitable startups and turned organisations around.

David has over 15 years of international experience in investment banking, private equity and venture capital together with specialist experience in legal, regulatory and operational affairs. Prior to joining GFH Capital, David worked in-house at two of the world's largest financial institutions, Barclays Wealth and Bank of New York Mellon. David also practiced law at two of the world's largest international law firms, DLA Piper and Akin Gump and has lived and worked in London, Dubai and the British Virgin Islands.

David holds directorships in several start-ups, leading regional technology companies and Islamic financial institutions. He is the founder and Co-Chairman of Conservatives Abroad Dubai and is the Vice Chairman of Gulf Tories and the founder of the HCU Trust.

David is a business mentor for Seed Start-up, a Dubai based start-up accelerator and seed stage venture capital fund ranked among the Middle East's top 10 startup accelerators.

David is a solicitor of the Supreme Court of England and Wales, a member of the UK Institute of Directors and the International Bar Association.

In 2012 David was recognised for his work by being short-listed for the prestigious "Legal week - General Counsel of the Year Award" at the Corporate Counsel Middle East Awards hosted by Legal Week.

He is a keen Rugby player and Leeds United fan.

http://www.gfh-capital.com/about-us/executive-team/david-haigh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,002 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Leeds United, The Club That Cried Takeover

Phil Hay ‏@PhilHayYEP
    I've looked into the Sun's story and from what I've heard there's no expectation of the takeover at #lufc going through in the next 72 hours

Bubbles burst and all that..........
    Up and down more times than an umbrella on an Irish summer's day!

QUOTE (billyisgod @ Aug 30 2012, 09:49 AM)
    this time next week we hope to be in a position to make public all of our findings which will be backed up with independent opinion too, i'll let you judge how bad things are financially from that suffice it to say without investment to the tune of several million pounds we wont make May next year in my opinion.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,024 ✭✭✭JokerD

Home to Everton in the cup

punk77 wrote: »
    QUOTE (billyisgod @ Aug 30 2012, 09:49 AM)
    this time next week we hope to be in a position to make public all of our findings which will be backed up with independent opinion too, i'll let you judge how bad things are financially from that suffice it to say without investment to the tune of several million pounds we wont make May next year in my opinion.

See this imo gives the buyers all the negotiating power they need, Bates needs to sell but yet here we are in a position where all our rivals are getting stronger in the transfer window while we do nothing but window shop.

JokerD wrote: »
    Home to Everton in the cup

That is a great draw. Hope it's not another windfall for Bates though.

See this imo gives the buyers all the negotiating power they need, Bates needs to sell but yet here we are in a position where all our rivals are getting stronger in the transfer window while we do nothing but window shop.

I agree with this. If more of this gets into the public domain i.e. the media etc, then Bates won't be able to hide behind the wall of silence anymore.

btw Is there any chance you might put in a good long shift in the gym tomorrow? Go on.............go on, go on,go on,go on, GO ON! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭G.K.

I'll be 18 on the monday, now if only a pub down here showed the match...

That is a great draw. Hope it's not another windfall for Bates though.

I agree with this. If more of this gets into the public domain i.e. the media etc, then Bates won't be able to hide behind the wall of silence anymore.

btw Is there any chance you might put in a good long shift in the gym tomorrow? Go on.............go on, go on,go on,go on :D

I've spent so may hours in that place and.....absolutley nothing....never any sufficent takeover news while I've been away:(

Maybe I could bring luck to the transfer deadline day.

G.K. wrote: »
    I'll be 18 on the monday, now if only a pub down here showed the match...

Be sure to bring your ID with you :D:D:D

I've spent so may hours in that place and.....absolutley nothing....never any sufficent takeover news while I've been away:(

Maybe I could bring luck to the transfer deadline day.

Easy road = Six pack of beer

Hard road = Six pack of muscle

No one said that being a 'Superstitious Soccer Supporter' was ever going to be easy. Just try saying those 3 words, 10 times, really fast while you're on the threadmill :D

Easy road = Six pack of beer

Hard road = Six pack of muscle

No one said that being a 'Superstitious Soccer Supporter' was ever going to be easy. Just try saying those 3 words, 10 times, really fast while you're on the threadmill :D

I don't drink so it's always the hard road:pac:

Yes think I just got a little sick in my mouth
    http://www.huddersfield.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=291953

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,336 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Yes think I just got a little sick in my mouth
    http://www.huddersfield.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=291953

Ah ffs. :mad:

This is exactly what I was talking about last week. Bates dragging his heels and leaving it too late for the new owners to be able to sign decent players before the transfer window shuts and leaving the club vulnerable until the January window, at which stage it could be too late to salvage anything from the season. It's always frustrating supporting Leeds, but it's getting ridiculous at this stage.

Zaph wrote: »
    Ah ffs. :mad:

This is exactly what I was talking about last week. Bates dragging his heels and leaving it too late for the new owners to be able to sign decent players before the transfer window shuts and leaving the club vulnerable until the January window, at which stage it could be too late to salvage anything from the season. It's always frustrating supporting Leeds, but it's getting ridiculous at this stage.

Maynard to Cardiff, Boyd to Ipswich(may not happen now)....players heavily linked to us.

This transfer window could really damage our season, we need to keep in touch by January and hope we've some money to bulk up the squad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭fanzhiyidan

could this be the first time in 10 years or so we can honestly get excited about a summer and season ahead. :D

think I posted this about 3 months ago.

I make myself laugh sometimes :mad:

Maynard to Cardiff, Boyd to Ipswich(may not happen now)....players heavily linked to us.

This transfer window could really damage our season, we need to keep in touch by January and hope we've some money to bulk up the squad.

every ****ing transfer window damages our season. :mad:

when's the last time we actually strenghtened during a transfer window?

sell what few decent players we have and bring in journeymen.

We must be the laughing stock of the championship.

rumours that Rob Hulse is having a medical today.

wasn't a big fan of his back in his Leeds days.
    hardly kicked a ball last season and only scored a handful of goals in the last couple or seasons.
    not what we need.
    rather see Poleon get a run than bring in another unemployed journeyman at the end of his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭NuckChorris1

hardly kicked a ball last season and only scored a handful of goals in the last couple or seasons.
    not what we need.
    rather see Poleon get a run than bring in another unemployed journeyman at the end of his career.

He's done well for Warnock before tho right? At least we should know how to get the most out of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Hijpo

not what we need.

He's done well for Warnock before tho right? At least we should know how to get the most out of him.

seems to be getting cheap backup/emergency players now

• Registered Users Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭stryker mcqueen

How old is hulse hogan now ?

The man was quality the year we were beaten in the playoff final , I loved him and had him on my jersey ,

If he is still fit he will do a job

Hijpo wrote: »
    seems to be getting cheap backup/emergency players now

getting cheap backup/emergency players for a while.
    wouldn't call Norris, Varney, Green, Gray first team players we need!

Travesty that we haven't really been as much as linked to anyone for the past while.

Even an eternal optiistic has to admit we'll require a lot of luck to get a full season out of a wafer thin squad.

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭Tarquin1970

not what we need.

The Hulse thing came from a tweet from a spoof account @skysportssnews...

lads, anyone going to a game this season, make sure you bring white shorts and socks and a pair of boots.
    you might get a game.

Dobbie to Brighton,
    Sharp and Coppinger to Forest
    Bothroyd to Sheff Wed
    Quinn to Hull........

Some of the signings I've seen in the Championship today. Some good quality there.

I bet Sky didn't even send a reporter to Leeds today. :(

They didn't even bother sending cameras to the game the other night! At least they've lined up the Everton game, that'll bring in £125,000 for ken...

We'll have our day............. someday

do you think the takeover will happen next week now that the transfer window is going to be closed or will it drag on until the loan transfer window closes or even worse, will that grey bearded boll*x still be at the helm this time next season.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

I'll get another tattoo when we get promoted again. I have about 20 years to think about it Id say.

Did Leeds do any business before the window closed?

Anyone who follows Boozie's posts on WACCOE will be worried this evening.............if true

I better not post, it's been a bad enough day:pac: Can ye all take it?

I sent it to Fanz as he was asking about the takeover. So Fanz do you believe it and should we annoy people even more? If it's true of course.

Boozie might be receiving info what he believes to be true, who knows what's true but he does seem a good poster in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,476 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Ah tell us.

SarahBM wrote: »
    I'll get another tattoo when we get promoted again. I have about 20 years to think about it Id say.

Did Leeds do any business before the window closed?

I think we sold some programmes for tomorrow's game but I'm not 100% on that.

Anyone who follows Boozie's posts on WACCOE will be worried this evening.............if true

I better not post, it's been a bad enough day:pac: Can ye all take it?

I sent it to Fanz as he was asking about the takeover. So Fanz do you believe it and should we annoy people even more? If it's true of course.

Boozie might be receiving info what he believes to be true, who knows what's true but he does seem a good poster in general.

Go on Joker, tell us the thing. It's not as though I'm a mod of the forum and could ban you if you don't or anything.... :pac:

Boozie isn't Gary Cooper, is he? Was that someone else?

Gary Cooper is @BillyIsGod on twitter..

#lufc transfers out: Bruce, Sam, Forssell, Webber, M Taylor, Clayton, Lonergan, Snodgrass, O'Brien, Paynter, Connolly, Rogers, C Taylor.

#lufc transfers in: Pearce, Drury, Green, Kenny, Gray, Ashdown, Varney, Norris, Austin, Peltier, Diouf(?).

Didn't Bates say he wanted a smaller squad? Were we ever likely to get anymore?

14 out? Vayrynen went too...

Yea he did, I got that off A.Haigh on Twitter so blame him:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 6,181 ✭✭✭championc

And there were the 4 loanees from last season too - Robinson, O'Dea, Webber and ......

Team vs Blackburn :

Kenny, Peltier, Lees, Pearce, Drury, Diouf, Austin, Norris, Varney, McCormack, Becchio.

Subs : Ashdown, Kisnorbo, Brown, Byram, White, Poleon, Gray.

Diouf signed on a short-term deal until January.

• Registered Users Posts: 731 ✭✭✭Trhiggy83

anyone with a radio link ?

Feck! 0 - 1 Getting battered atm.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭SarahBM

oh this losing feeling. so familiar.

Dad's best mate and his two sons are gone over.

and we have conceded a 2nd :( peltier responsible.

Peltier caught out of position for both goals. Having a 'mare.

1 - 2. Diouf. C'mon Leeds.

Diouf signed on a short-term deal until January.

@dewsyleedsJust for the record the club hasnt confirmed the signing of EHD until January, but anticipates it will be done later #lufc

GET IT DONE, FFS!