Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

* ALL THINGS DEBS / GRADS!! *

• 14-08-2002 1:42pm
    Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭

After a good suggestion by Kameira, here is a thread to offer your reviews on the venue, so that other people going can arrange for some *extra* entertainment, should the need arise, and so future generations can decide proper.

So, give us your posts in the format:

Place: (with a rough address, e.g. the Vortex, Dunshaughlin)
    Date trashed:
    Rough start time:
    Rough end time:

Remember we wanna know about the venue, not about how the two biggest jocks in your class had a fight, or how your gf was seen blowing off the principal in the jacks............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I'm guessing the lack o replies here is cos most o this years debs havent taken place yet!

Anyway, being a former ty'er...I had my Debs last year.
    I can recommend a place NOT TO GO TO.

Portlaoise CBS 2001
    Venue: Red Cow Inn, Dublin.
    Date: 22 Aug 2001
    Rough Start Time: 8.00pm
    Rough Finish time: 6.00am

Piss poor ore-priced alcohol.
    Below par food.
    Bar closed @ 12.00am
    Nite club bar closed @ 3.00am

This years Debs is in the Ambassador so I'll let you kown what it's like in a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Lisa Lavish

My debs is in jurys hotel.......:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,846 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

yeh mine is in The Curragh of Kildare...
    Around 26th September

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

i'm going to one on the 27th(tuesday) in the galway bay golf course and country club..will report on what's it like sometime later in the week :D

Portlaoise CBS 2002
    Venue: Ambassador Hotel, Dublin.
    Date: 22 Aug 2002.
    Rough Start time: 8.00pm [actually start time: 9.10pm]
    Rough Finish Time: 6.00am

The brother went this year.
    Tbh, I think that the majority o that year were retards so I didn't bother going.

Anyway...the meal wasn't the greatest.
    Bar closed @ 2.30am.

He did say twas pertty good tho..

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Bailieborough C.S. (knacker hole) debs
    Venue: Vortex, Dunshaughlan.
    Date: 29th of August 2002.
    Start time (Roughly): 8.15pm
    Finish time (Roughly): 8.00am

How bout a pictures thread for all the pics?

I second this motion! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Originally posted by seamus
    Place:Galway bay country club and gold course,oranmore
    Date trashed:27th August 2k2
    Rough start time:5:30pm!!
    Rough end time:1:30 (they stoped serving at 12:30 :(

t'was a nice place..food was nice..pity about the bar stoping serving early.(no photos to be posted :p)
    fairly un-eentful night(it was my gf's grad,not mine)
    one of the teachers got pissed though.

http://public.fotki.com/colincourtney/bcs_debs

Don't laugh... :D

Post all your debs pics here...

• Registered Users Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

My debs aint for another month, why are your so early or mine so late :)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,039 ✭✭✭BKtje

nice pics.
    u need more of you in the place tho when every 1 is **** faced ;)

my debs aint till november or something. speaking of which i still havent gotten my ticket for which i have paid.

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    nice pics.
    u need more of you in the place tho when every 1 is **** faced ;)

my debs aint till november or something. speaking of which i still havent gotten my ticket for which i have paid.
    Yeah, she took those. So I'll have to wait a while before I can get them cos it was just one of those disposable cameras. I'll post em here when I have em up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 gunshotglitter

F.C.J. Bunclody Debs
    Place: Ambassador Hotel
    Start Time:5.30p.m.
    End Time: 5.30a.m.

The meal was okay but they might as well have just thrown it at us for all the service we got.
    I dunno it just didnt live up to expectations. Not a great place to go.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Bailieborough C.S. (knacker hole) debs
    Date: 29th of August 2002.

Fookin ****e... They served out the food, we only had about 5 mins on each plate before they were taken away from us... The bouncers were ignorant fookers, they tried to throw out one of the lads for throwing fake punches at his friend where we all had to pull him away from the bouncers. The bar shut at half one, yes HALF ONE!! Anyone that went near it was fooked off from a height. And to top it all off we were run out of the place two hours early (at six o'clock).

The only person that was employed in that kip of a place was really sound was the black fella handing out the tissues and toiletaries in the toilets.

If anyone you know that is on a debs committee next year tell them not to go to the County Club.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Stickaroo......

• Registered Users Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

• Registered Users Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Ah sweet :)

The TY Lads @ Red Cow 2001.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Cian H

Originally posted by Michael Collins
    yeh mine is in The Curragh of Kildare...
    Around 26th September

I'm going there in october so get a review up here pronto.
    thanx

• Registered Users Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

It's been almost a year since my debs (I had mine on the 28th of October) and I remember it like it was yesterday....

• Registered Users Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Seriously ladz, the Vortex is the biggest crud hole ever. It fissically sucks for debs'. This is no joke. Men and Women are seperated at the door where they are frisked and their items checked for weapons and drugs. The staff are rude and rough and well generally suck. And the lack of draught beer was also............................bad
    On the other hand the Killiney Court where wesley's debs was on was a pleasure. Everyone was nice (with the exception of one barman who was blatently 4 years underage). The door was left open if we needed fresh air and dinner was funderful.

Grimes

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER

Sorry Buddie, I was there on the 22nd and I didnt get a drink till ten and I was home tucked up in my bed (not alone ;) ) by quarter to six. It is a 45 minute drive to Dunshaughlan down the m50 from Templeogue. This means we were kicked out at 5. After Breakfast at 4.

If your going to the vortex.........Bring Money. And I mean alot at 4:90 a bottle of larger (no pints served) and 5---somethin a shot I spent well over 130E. Ripp Off

Those were my exact complaints about the night in the Vortex Grimes. Thank god I don't ever have to go to that shít hole ever again.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Try the Killinney Court Hotel, in Killinney (South Dublin - along the coast) of all places.

It was absolutely amazing. Admittedly my debs was 6 years ago, but having been to 2 debs, and various formal balls (courtesy of college) I must say it was the one that stuck out most in my mind.

• Registered Users Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

problem with kiliney court is that the bar closes at 12.30
    well it did for my debs anyway :(
    still had a good night

Yeah but the Killiney court sells cans of budweiser/bulmers in bulk at 12:30. Just buy 6-8 unopened cans and keep a pint glass for the rest of the night,or buy a bottle of wine (or two) cause thats good for hours of sophisticated pissups. Also purple aftershock.(blue and red in a big glass)

Note:Grimes is not inducing young people to mix spirits and act like stupid heads. Purple Ashok has been known to kill tribes of monkey dancing hoola hboop people in north newark.
    PurpleAshock is fatal to those who are not as fissically powerful as Grimes and Superman.

Surely someone has some debs photos they'd like (or not) to show us...

G`wan show us yer a sport!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

whats yer sisters name?

Anyone got pictures of the Ashfield Debs

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    whats yer sisters name?
    I figure that one was aimed at me.

1) No she is not my sister.
    2) I don't even have a sister.
    3) Her name is Lisa, like it says under some of the pictures on the host site.
    4) :rolleyes: