Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

* ALL THINGS DEBS / GRADS!! *

• 14-08-2002 1:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

After a good suggestion by Kameira, here is a thread to offer your reviews on the venue, so that other people going can arrange for some *extra* entertainment, should the need arise, and so future generations can decide proper.

So, give us your posts in the format:

Place: (with a rough address, e.g. the Vortex, Dunshaughlin)
    Date trashed:
    Rough start time:
    Rough end time:

Remember we wanna know about the venue, not about how the two biggest jocks in your class had a fight, or how your gf was seen blowing off the principal in the jacks............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

I'm guessing the lack o replies here is cos most o this years debs havent taken place yet!

Anyway, being a former ty'er...I had my Debs last year.
    I can recommend a place NOT TO GO TO.

Portlaoise CBS 2001
    Venue: Red Cow Inn, Dublin.
    Date: 22 Aug 2001
    Rough Start Time: 8.00pm
    Rough Finish time: 6.00am

Piss poor ore-priced alcohol.
    Below par food.
    Bar closed @ 12.00am
    Nite club bar closed @ 3.00am

This years Debs is in the Ambassador so I'll let you kown what it's like in a few weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭Lisa Lavish

My debs is in jurys hotel.......:rolleyes:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,851 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

yeh mine is in The Curragh of Kildare...
    Around 26th September

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

i'm going to one on the 27th(tuesday) in the galway bay golf course and country club..will report on what's it like sometime later in the week :D

Portlaoise CBS 2002
    Venue: Ambassador Hotel, Dublin.
    Date: 22 Aug 2002.
    Rough Start time: 8.00pm [actually start time: 9.10pm]
    Rough Finish Time: 6.00am

The brother went this year.
    Tbh, I think that the majority o that year were retards so I didn't bother going.

Anyway...the meal wasn't the greatest.
    Bar closed @ 2.30am.

He did say twas pertty good tho..

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Bailieborough C.S. (knacker hole) debs
    Venue: Vortex, Dunshaughlan.
    Date: 29th of August 2002.
    Start time (Roughly): 8.15pm
    Finish time (Roughly): 8.00am

How bout a pictures thread for all the pics?

I second this motion! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,719 ✭✭✭Ruaidhri

Originally posted by seamus
    Place:Galway bay country club and gold course,oranmore
    Date trashed:27th August 2k2
    Rough start time:5:30pm!!
    Rough end time:1:30 (they stoped serving at 12:30 :(

t'was a nice place..food was nice..pity about the bar stoping serving early.(no photos to be posted :p)
    fairly un-eentful night(it was my gf's grad,not mine)
    one of the teachers got pissed though.

http://public.fotki.com/colincourtney/bcs_debs

Don't laugh... :D

Post all your debs pics here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

My debs aint for another month, why are your so early or mine so late :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,063 ✭✭✭BKtje

nice pics.
    u need more of you in the place tho when every 1 is **** faced ;)

my debs aint till november or something. speaking of which i still havent gotten my ticket for which i have paid.

Originally posted by B-K-DzR
    nice pics.
    u need more of you in the place tho when every 1 is **** faced ;)

my debs aint till november or something. speaking of which i still havent gotten my ticket for which i have paid.
    Yeah, she took those. So I'll have to wait a while before I can get them cos it was just one of those disposable cameras. I'll post em here when I have em up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 gunshotglitter

F.C.J. Bunclody Debs
    Place: Ambassador Hotel
    Start Time:5.30p.m.
    End Time: 5.30a.m.

The meal was okay but they might as well have just thrown it at us for all the service we got.
    I dunno it just didnt live up to expectations. Not a great place to go.

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER
    Bailieborough C.S. (knacker hole) debs
    Date: 29th of August 2002.

Fookin ****e... They served out the food, we only had about 5 mins on each plate before they were taken away from us... The bouncers were ignorant fookers, they tried to throw out one of the lads for throwing fake punches at his friend where we all had to pull him away from the bouncers. The bar shut at half one, yes HALF ONE!! Anyone that went near it was fooked off from a height. And to top it all off we were run out of the place two hours early (at six o'clock).

The only person that was employed in that kip of a place was really sound was the black fella handing out the tissues and toiletaries in the toilets.

If anyone you know that is on a debs committee next year tell them not to go to the County Club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Stickaroo......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭smiles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,846 ✭✭✭✭eth0_

Ah sweet :)

The TY Lads @ Red Cow 2001.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Cian H

Originally posted by Michael Collins
    yeh mine is in The Curragh of Kildare...
    Around 26th September

I'm going there in october so get a review up here pronto.
    thanx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,633 ✭✭✭stormkeeper

It's been almost a year since my debs (I had mine on the 28th of October) and I remember it like it was yesterday....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,246 ✭✭✭✭Riamfada

Seriously ladz, the Vortex is the biggest crud hole ever. It fissically sucks for debs'. This is no joke. Men and Women are seperated at the door where they are frisked and their items checked for weapons and drugs. The staff are rude and rough and well generally suck. And the lack of draught beer was also............................bad
    On the other hand the Killiney Court where wesley's debs was on was a pleasure. Everyone was nice (with the exception of one barman who was blatently 4 years underage). The door was left open if we needed fresh air and dinner was funderful.

Grimes

Originally posted by PORNAPSTER

Sorry Buddie, I was there on the 22nd and I didnt get a drink till ten and I was home tucked up in my bed (not alone ;) ) by quarter to six. It is a 45 minute drive to Dunshaughlan down the m50 from Templeogue. This means we were kicked out at 5. After Breakfast at 4.

If your going to the vortex.........Bring Money. And I mean alot at 4:90 a bottle of larger (no pints served) and 5---somethin a shot I spent well over 130E. Ripp Off

Those were my exact complaints about the night in the Vortex Grimes. Thank god I don't ever have to go to that shít hole ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,148 ✭✭✭✭Lemming

Try the Killinney Court Hotel, in Killinney (South Dublin - along the coast) of all places.

It was absolutely amazing. Admittedly my debs was 6 years ago, but having been to 2 debs, and various formal balls (courtesy of college) I must say it was the one that stuck out most in my mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 377 ✭✭biteme

problem with kiliney court is that the bar closes at 12.30
    well it did for my debs anyway :(
    still had a good night

Yeah but the Killiney court sells cans of budweiser/bulmers in bulk at 12:30. Just buy 6-8 unopened cans and keep a pint glass for the rest of the night,or buy a bottle of wine (or two) cause thats good for hours of sophisticated pissups. Also purple aftershock.(blue and red in a big glass)

Note:Grimes is not inducing young people to mix spirits and act like stupid heads. Purple Ashok has been known to kill tribes of monkey dancing hoola hboop people in north newark.
    PurpleAshock is fatal to those who are not as fissically powerful as Grimes and Superman.

Surely someone has some debs photos they'd like (or not) to show us...

G`wan show us yer a sport!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

whats yer sisters name?

Anyone got pictures of the Ashfield Debs

Originally posted by WhiteWashMan
    whats yer sisters name?
    I figure that one was aimed at me.

1) No she is not my sister.
    2) I don't even have a sister.
    3) Her name is Lisa, like it says under some of the pictures on the host site.
    4) :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,389 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lenny

PORNAPSTER did I see you up in coco's on Saturday just gone?
    Its on the belguard road.. ****ty night club

Originally posted by Lenny
    PORNAPSTER did I see you up in coco's on Saturday just gone?
    Its on the belguard road.. ****ty night club
    This maybe a bit late but no that wasn't me. I was at the Lakeside Manor in Virginia, Co. Cavan that night. It is also pretty crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

I went to the vortex for my deb's as well (last october)

Twas a kip tbh.

The dance floor is segragated for one. All bottles (so you can't get drunk easy, bring on the straws!!)

They kick you out early, the search thing isnt too uncommon since people do stab other people. Especially if it's a single sex womens school cause more people tend to piss each other off (fella's that is)

Best thing to do is get a few sidekicks for the night, they go real nice in the oj you get with breakfast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Originally posted by Kaimera
    I'm guessing the lack o replies here is cos most o this years debs havent taken place yet!

Anyway, being a former ty'er...I had my Debs last year.
    I can recommend a place NOT TO GO TO.

Portlaoise CBS 2001
    Venue: Red Cow Inn, Dublin.
    Date: 22 Aug 2001
    Rough Start Time: 8.00pm

Piss poor ore-priced alcohol.
    Below par food.
    Bar closed @ 12.00am
    Nite club bar closed @ 3.00am

Gormanston 1999/2000 Debs
    Our Lady's (Artane ?) 2000/2001 Debs

Both in Red Cow and i agree with Kaimera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭domeara01

if i can i will put the only one i have of mine up later. otherwise tomorrow.

Clonmel High School C.B.S. 02
    Venue: Spring court arms hotel Kilkenny
    Date Trashed: August sometime.
    Time started: 8:00pm
    Time Finished: 3am

Verdict. it was a ****hole truly and utterly. watered down drinks, bar closed @ 1:30 Hunted us out @3am and food was terrible.
    Basically i think they were in for a quick buck and they got it.
    oh yeah they have alot of functions on there so they pour the alcopops that are left over into new bottles and they watered down everything they could.

totally ****e so we gave the place an extra good trashing.

its only saving grace was that it was a good band palying and the only reason for that is that i sorted the band.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Da_cOmRaDe_MiKe

i did ty aswell. but down in rockwell college. im from clonmel so i go there. we had a **** of a great time. we went to Roaches Town Park in Co. Cork. every1 stayed over the night. it was chaos! 6 - 7 am every1 still drinkin and avn crack. goin again to same place this year. hopefully i wont loose my ****ing shoes down a hole in the corner of a broken elevator again. it was soo annoying cos i wsnt allowed to get breaky with out shoes. so i had to rob a pair
    :D:D:D
    ahh the memories.
    its true that these are the best years. well imo. :p:o

i wud stick up a few pics some where on net but i cant find them at the mo. ill go look and re post tomorrow sometime. i got a few klass ones.
    ahh i miss the gud auld times. ww)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,835 ✭✭✭StickyMcGinty

Can anyone tell me is the Kylemore Hotel in Cavan any good? we got Electric Lemon to play... which is nice!

I'm in dunshaughlin and i have to go to the vortex every weekend. big pile a sh1te!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 RossOCK10

Had two in the Stand-House, Kildare. Great craic, bar shut v. late. Bouncers were PAINFULLY strict but the bar men were pretty cool. Food was good, but apparently total bollox for all the veggies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭ella minnow pea

Last nite, Hodson Bay, Athlone. What i can remember of it was good, however they did run our of tequila and the Bouncer yelled at me for taking off me shoes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Where might I rent a tux and how much would is cost?
    If I have to go to at least 3 debs, is it worth my while buying a tux?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭BoB_BoT

well got mine for €60 including shirt in athlone, although are now rented out completely for the 31st of aug, might have some for other dates phb

ella minnow pea; you went to the hudson bay!! hehe, last time i was there the food was really bad ugh, but that was over a year ago :P

Mine; Shamrock Lodge Hotel @ 31st Aug, will let ya know how it turns out :), drunken of course.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 668 ✭✭✭mise_me_fein

Originally posted by VinnyL
    Can anyone tell me is the Kylemore Hotel in Cavan any good? we got Electric Lemon to play... which is nice!

I'm in dunshaughlin and i have to go to the vortex every weekend. big pile a sh1te!

I play in a band and we have played a debs there b4 and we're playing another one this year. It's a good spot I think but there's a sick smell around the toilets. Dunno what the food's like but I;d have it above the Newgrange Hotel and the Ardboyne Hotel in Navan anyday for a grad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭bkehoe

Anyone elses debs venue get burned down a few weeks before your debs? :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 272 ✭✭wiensta

stinger dude! Mines on thurs, expect some fun packed pics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

wiensta, produce the goods.

Had mine last week. I must say its probably the best night I've had out this year. I had the prettiest date there, nah! nah! nah! nah! nah! I even had a break dance fight with some of the lads followed by a few bouts of karaoke - you cant pay for entertainment like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,175 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Uughh mine is on 4th of November in Killiney Court Hotel. Although I do get to go on the 10th there, and wreak the place for my class ;)
    I got asked by a hottie caesar so nah! nah! nah! nah!

I got a tux PHB, although it was because my dad can wear it aswell (and he needs one).

I look proper bo with it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭Caesar_Bojangle

Sangre, there is no way that your date is even eligible to use her arse to keep the subs bench warm in the league of sexual beauty that my girl plays in. When she gets the photos developed and if she lets me I’ll post some pics.

Btw killiney court is a dive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Lucifer

St Mac Dara's 2003
    Venue: La Touche, Graystones.
    Date: 16 Sept 2003
    Rough Start Time: 9.00pm
    Rough Finish time: 5.00am

Venue was pretty good. Food was ok, nothing special but was edible. bar closed at roughly 3am.

some pics available here (none of me thank god!) (link non 56k friendly!)

was at Presentation, Terenure Debs aswell this year
    Venue: Killiney Court, Killiney.
    Date: 26 Sept 2003
    Rough Start Time: 9.00pm

Venue was ok. Bar closed at 1am. they did serve cans at last orders but they would not leave them closed :mad: all ended up flat by the end. other than that was not bad

as regards suit hire, black tie charge roughly €120. i ended up buying a suit as i was going to more than one. worked out at bout €220, plus bout €50 for the shirt. i rented the waist coat at €15. cost a bit more but i ended up with something at the end of it all. if you are going to 3 it would probably work out much cheaper.