Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Noisy Neighbour - what are my options?

• 15-01-2020 10:53am
    Registered Users Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭

Hi guys,
    I was wondering if I could get an opinion maybe from other tenants or landlords.
    I'm living with my boyfriend in a small building that's just 3 apartments on top of each other, us being on the top floor. The issue is, the guy living below us makes ungodly noise around 3am every night. This is actually disturbing our sleep now every single night nearly, and I get up for work at 5am then so I don't really get back to sleep much.
    We've lived there for about 18 months, and even though the guy has been living there before us, this has only become an issue in the last 6 months or so.
    The neighbour on the bottom floor has said his sleep is being disturbed too.
    My question is: what are my options? Do we go straight to the landlord or do we try and confront the neighbour first?
    I've never seen him leave his apartment and he always seems to be at home so I'm assuming he doesn't work, or works from home...it's a bit strange having shared a front door for that long to have never met, so I'm assuming social confrontation wouldn't go so well.
    Next question is, can the landlord actually do anything about this? Or are we just destined to never have a peaceful sleep again?

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Jim Root

A confrontation isn't needed, a simple chat in a friendly matter is the prudent first step in this instance. Do not go directly to the landlord, that will get you off on the wrong foot.

• Registered Users Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Doff

A friendly chat can go a long way. Although that can be easy to say when I have no idea what the neighbor is like. Make sure you document everything in case things do escalate.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,971 ✭✭✭✭peekachoo

Jim Root wrote: »
    A confrontation isn't needed, a simple chat in a friendly matter is the prudent first step in this instance. Do not go directly to the landlord, that will get you off on the wrong foot.

Issue is, the nature of the noise coming from the apartment makes me never want to speak to him...unless the boyfriend or the other neighbour wants to chat to him I can't see it being a viable option. Thank God there's no kids in the building is all I'm saying. :rolleyes:
    I didn't mean confrontation in the way it came across I just realised too, I just meant basically to ask him to stop. It's not fair to be disturbing every other person in the building.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭Diceicle

What kind of noise is he actually making?
    From your most recent post I assume he's not moving furniture or playing loud music?
    Is he screaming his head off or banging someone quite loudly?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,073 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Record the noise and play it back to him...

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭jc11

If it's an awkward one, maybe just write a note and put in in his post box/under his door?

Keep it light and say how the sound proofing isn't great between apts and noise is waking you up during the night?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,718 ✭✭✭Xterminator

jc11 wrote: »
    If it's an awkward one, maybe just write a note and put in in his post box/under his door?

Oh god no. dont go passive aggressive. Leaving a note vs face to face contact is not the mature civil method!

OP there is a problem. But you should attempt to deal with the issue in a civil and constructive manner in the 1st place. you appear reluctant to do that. I believe if you go into this assuming there will be a problem, it may well turn out to be a self fulfilling prophesy! i understand it could all turn out badly, he could be an ass. But IMO most people are decent, and if you approach it in the right way you stand a better chance than not of being able to resolve.

Basically he blares porn at like, roughly 3am and tries to drown out the porn with the sounds of his own, eh, pleasure. Loud enough to wake people on both sides of him. So to be honest I'm actually creeped out by him :pac: I'd feel incredibly awkward trying to bring that up...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭emeldc

peekachoo wrote: »
    Basically he blares porn at like, roughly 3am and tries to drown out the porn with the sounds of his own, eh, pleasure. Loud enough to wake people on both sides of him. So to be honest I'm actually creeped out by him :pac: I'd feel incredibly awkward trying to bring that up...

Ah Jesus, can the two lads from the other two appts not just knock on his door and tell him to have his **** done by 11pm so that everyone can get some sleep. Seriously. LOL.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭seagull

Your options vary depending on whether he's an owner or a tenant. I think most people would consider that antisocial behaviour. If he's renting, and talking to him has no effect, then contact his landlord.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Febreeze

Could you call the guards when it happens? I know its a bit extreme but if you call the guards explaining about noise levels then I'm sure they will knock on his door. There has to be a law against noise levels, especially at 3am in an apartment complex. Next bet, is to post a letter and then explain you will call the guards if it continues. Hopefully that will shake him up a bit. If that's what his fetish is and wants to be caught, then you might want to look elsewhere because he sounds like an absolute creep

• Registered Users Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭wandererz

So all three apartments have the same landlord. I was thinking if we stuck a letter in his door signed from both apartments basically explaining to cop on or we'll have to call the landlord. A conversation I will definitely be handing over to the lads :pac: Like I get it, when nature calls etc. but there is no need for the incessant screaming on your own in your apartment whilst in the throes of passion at antisocial hours :pac:
    Not to get too traumatizing but I think Febreeze is right, we've started kind of banging on the floor when he's at it but it seems to make him fcking louder :rolleyes:

My plan was to throw a letter in his door, and if that doesn't work to contact the landlord. Just wanted to make sure that I was on the right track re. plan of action. I'm sick to death of being woken up in the night with my skin crawling over the creep!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭italodisco

Stop being pussies, knock on the door the lot of you, tell him ye are sick of listening tonhisnwanknfest at 3am and he'll be dealt with if it continues.

He's clearly a creep, I wouldn't be nice at all

• Registered Users Posts: 37,295 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Perhaps bang on his door 5 minutes after he starts banging whomever he is banging?

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Or call the Gardia saying you think someone is in trouble as there is terrible screaming coming from the neighbours.....
    the_syco wrote: »
    Perhaps bang on his door 5 minutes after he starts banging whomever he is banging?

• Registered Users Posts: 492 ✭✭CosmicFool

italodisco wrote: »
    Stop being pussies, knock on the door the lot of you, tell him ye are sick of listening tonhisnwanknfest at 3am and he'll be dealt with if it continues.

He's clearly a creep, I wouldn't be nice at all

2nd this.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Perfect.

QUOTE=peekachoo;112262010]So all three apartments have the same landlord. I was thinking if we stuck a letter in his door signed from both apartments basically explaining to cop on or we'll have to call the landlord. A conversation I will definitely be handing over to the lads :pac: Like I get it, when nature calls etc. but there is no need for the incessant screaming on your own in your apartment whilst in the throes of passion at antisocial hours :pac:
    Not to get too traumatizing but I think Febreeze is right, we've started kind of banging on the floor when he's at it but it seems to make him fcking louder :rolleyes:

My plan was to throw a letter in his door, and if that doesn't work to contact the landlord. Just wanted to make sure that I was on the right track re. plan of action. I'm sick to death of being woken up in the night with my skin crawling over the creep![/QUOTE]

• Registered Users Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Doop

Call down to his door at 3am and stop him mid tracks (or have your BF do it). He wont appreciate being interrupted! fair is fair

• Registered Users Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭wandererz

Go to the ESB box & switch off the electricity to his apartment when it occurs.

Keep Calm & Carry On doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭emeldc

^^^^ No FS, don’t do this.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,898 ✭✭✭✭Stark

If you can hear him fapping, he can probably hear you having sex. Just a thought ;)