Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need Help In Paris - Urgently

• 09-01-2020 12:04am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭

My 19 year old son has been rushed to hospital in Paris. He was over for a few days with his girlfriend. He is a Type 1 diabetic. He said he was sick for two days but thought he was feeling better. I got a call from his distraught girlfriend about an hour ago saying he was really sick.

They got a doctor and he was taken to hospital in an ambulance. The girlfriend was with him but she says nobody in the hospital speaks english. I sent some screenshots of diabetic terms translated into French but she says they still did not seem to know any better.

They have taken him away now and she cannot get any more information.

Would anyone on here have any contacts in Paris or France or even speaks French who could potentially call the hospital to see if they can find out any information? I tried calling the hospital but nobody spoke english. I think they said he is in ER but that was all I got.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭BlackandGreen

My 19 year old son has been rushed to hospital in Paris. He was over for a few days with his girlfriend. He is a Type 1 diabetic. He said he was sick for two days but thought he was feeling better. I got a call from his distraught girlfriend about an hour ago saying he was really sick.

They got a doctor and he was taken to hospital in an ambulance. The girlfriend was with him but she says nobody in the hospital speaks english. I sent some screenshots of diabetic terms translated into French but she says they still did not seem to know any better.

They have taken him away now and she cannot get any more information.

Would anyone on here have any contacts in Paris or France or even speaks French who could potentially call the hospital to see if they can find out any information? I tried calling the hospital but nobody spoke english. I think they said he is in ER but that was all I got.

What were the diabetic terms?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭BlackEdelweiss

acidocétose diabétique for diabetic ketoacidosis

cétones for keytones

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭sadie1502

Can you tell her to download an English to French translator app on her phone. He will be OK. Is he conscience does he wear anything to identity as type 1 diabetic?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Feisar

Teaching and Lecturing forum maybe?

Sorry I know it’s not much but it was all I could think of

First they came for the socialists...

She has tried that but they dont seem to be able to understand. I think that was mostly with the paramedics. He has been taken away now and she is not with him so we have no idea what is going on. I called the Irish Embassy but they are closed.

We have tried to get him to wear a id tag but her refuses, typical teenager crap.

I dont even know if it is diabetes related.

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭sadie1502

Are they staying in a hotel? Did the ambulance collect him from the hotel? Maybe get her to ask around there if someone could help her translate?

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Purple Hare Theatre Company

Hey. I'm French from Paris, I live in Dublin. I can call tomorrow if you want but I don't know that they would speak to a non family member.
    However, it is not true that French people don't speak English, there will be doctors that speak English. Diabetic is the same word in French and France has totally free healthcare so your son is in good hands. But of course I understand your distress and happy to help any way I can.
    Also my mum is in Paris and has a medical background, I could ask her to call.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Find out from the girlfriend what hospital they’re in and then ring Foreign Affairs in Dublin on 014082000.

They’ll get in touch with consular services in Paris or provide you with an out of hours contact number. Not a bad idea to have contact details for the girlfriend handy as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 415 ✭✭chinwag

Embassy have emergency contact number but you have to leave message

https://www.dfa.ie/irish-embassy/france/contact-us/

If you want to PM me the hospital and your son's name I can call first thing in the morning and give you a call afterwards.

• Registered Users Posts: 413 ✭✭Veledan22

Foreign Affairs consular support +353 1 408 2000 might be able to help you?

When you contacted the Embassy in Paris did you use the emergency number 0033(0) 1 44 17 67 00? A duty officer should be covering the phone.

Hey. I'm French from Paris, I live in Dublin. I can call tomorrow if you want but I don't know that they would speak to a non family member.
    However, it is not true that French people don't speak English, there will be doctors that speak English. Diabetic is the same word in French and French has totally free healthcare so your son is in good hands. But of course I understand your distress and happy to help any way I can.
    Also my mum is in Paris and has a medical background, I could ask her to call.

Sorry, I meant nobody I talked to or his girlfriend talked to spoke english. I imagine there are plenty of english speaking staff there, just nobody who we could get any information from.

I had a call from the embassy and the lady called the hospital but they wont talk to a non family member, even from the embassy.

Sorry, I meant nobody I talked to or his girlfriend talked to spoke english. I imagine there are plenty of english speaking staff there, just nobody who we could get any information from.

I had a call from the embassy and the lady called the hospital but they wont talk to a non family member, even from the embassy.

Oh I wasn't offended at all, sorry if it sounded like that, I just meant to reassure you.
    Where do you live? If you live in Dublin I can meet you and call with you, that way they might speak to us?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Can we have a whip round and get the op over to Paris?

Oh I wasn't offended at all, sorry if it sounded like that, I just meant to reassure you.
    Where do you live? If you live in Dublin I can meet you and call with you, that way they might speak to us?

Thanks, I'm not in Dublin.

The hospital seem quite strict about who they will talk to.

The embassy lady said she will call again in the morning when things open up and there are other people to deal with.

Thanks.

I PMed you my number, in case all else fails we can do a videocall. Hopefully he will call you himself tomorrow and all will be well. Best of luck. Anything I can do, let me know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Find out from the girlfriend what hospital they’re in and then ring Foreign Affairs in Dublin on 014082000.

They’ll get in touch with consular services in Paris or provide you with an out of hours contact number. Not a bad idea to have contact details for the girlfriend handy as well.

I was about to suggest the same thing. DFA have a 24 hour duty officer.

• Registered Users Posts: 85,312 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I hope all works out ok

I managed to get his phone passed to a nurse who gave it to a doctor. He is in diabetic ketoacidosis and severe dehydration and is being moved to ICU.
    Hopefully now they know what it is it will be more straight forward and they can get him sorted.

At least now I know what it is. I have also talked to him, he sounds terrible but that is to be expected. It is a bit of a relief. I'll be happy when I get him back on Irish soil again.

Thank you to everyone who commented, your advice and offers of help were greatly appreciated.

I got a message from my son this morning. He had a rough night but is feeling a lot better now.

Thanks again everyone.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

I got a message from my son this morning. He had a rough night but is feeling a lot better now.

Thanks again everyone.

Delighted to hear he's doing better, you must have been beside yourself!!

Give him a slap for scaring you once he's home and back to himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,580 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Fair play to Purple Hare Theatre Company. Obviously a very nice and caring person.

• Registered Users Posts: 871 ✭✭✭Captain Red Beard

Fair play to Purple Hare Theatre Company. Obviously a very nice and caring person.

Purple Hare Theatre Company, a great bunch of lads.

Ah thanks guys :) Was absolutely delighted to hear he was doing better :)

Delighted he's doing ok now, OP. You must be so relieved! I hope you get some sleep tonight, I don't think you'd have gotten much last night. :)

PHTC, you're a diamond.

We eventually got him home yesterday evening despite Storm Brendan threatening flights and my car breaking down at the toll booth on the way home from Dublin airport!!!

He was in a bad way still, he had a terrible headache all day and could barely walk or talk when I met him. He has hardly eaten in 7 days and has lost about a quarter of his already slight body weight.

He is home anyway so that is the main thing, time to start building him up again and get him back to his normal unhelpful, lazy teenage self.

Thanks again to all who provided information or offers of assistance on here.