Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Current Shows/Events

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

:eek:...and worse than that, i saw a girl plastering her child with sun cream..the little tot then ran straight over to a car and started pawing the car with her lubed up hands .....we all know that car paint HATES suncream...dont we...??
    And a fat kid (no offense) dragging his fat leg and shoe across the Indian trike tank...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Dades wrote: »
    I love this show but the cost is always too steep.
    Including that child-magnet "bouncy area" I dropped 50 quid last year (before food).

I'll be culling the numbers travelling this year.

I went yesterday, and don't think I'll be going again despite the lovely things on display. Too expensive, insane traffic and queues for everything.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

The traffic really was insane. Terenure is such a pain of a location. Though I knew to park 5 mins away and not get lazy and try to get closer.

Ultimately, it was a brilliant show, just the sunshine meant huge numbers. Other years it's poured rain and there's no stretch on resources.

That's the Irish weather for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,104 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

we got in early, traffic wasn't too bad. I couldn't believe the queues to get in when we were leaving around 2pm.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

loyatemu wrote: »
    we got in early, traffic wasn't too bad. I couldn't believe the queues to get in when we were leaving around 2pm.

Yep it's an "early for everything" type of show imo. Get in early, get the coffee in early, get the lunch in early etc.. Great show though, some organisation and almost too many cars. I was there for around 3 and a half hours and didn't see everything.

Some of the club setups were fantastic, the Mercs were insanely good I thought.

Great show for Ireland tbh, I doubt there are many better across the water.

PauloMN wrote: »
    Yep it's an "early for everything" type of show imo. Get in early, get the coffee in early, get the lunch in early etc.. Great show though, some organisation and almost too many cars. I was there for around 3 and a half hours and didn't see everything.

Some of the club setups were fantastic, the Mercs were insanely good I thought.

Great show for Ireland tbh, I doubt there are many better across the water.

Seriously...!!!..have you ever been to a show in the uk.....theres local shows bigger than Terenure almost every weekend throughout the summer...

I couldnt believe the q of show cars leaving at 3.....bad form i thought...

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,869 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Seriously...!!!..have you ever been to a show in the uk.....theres local shows bigger than Terenure almost every weekend throughout the summer...

Bigger ≠ better. I don't think having even more cars would have made it a better show than it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

I couldnt believe the q of show cars leaving at 3.....bad form i thought...

it's hardly bad form if you have places to go and are a long way from home. I almost always leave shows before the end and have in the past had rows with the Jobsworth stewards at Terenure who think like you do. (unless you mean it was bad form they were having to queue to get out...)

Isambard wrote: »
    it's hardly bad form if you have places to go and are a long way from home. I almost always leave shows before the end and have in the past had rows with the Jobsworth stewards at Terenure who think like you do. (unless you mean it was bad form they were having to queue to get out...)

I showed a car at a UK show..we were told we couldnt leave before 4.30...we didnt mind and seemingly nobody else did either..people paid to see our cars......Its a day out not just for you...;)

Yep, you get the clueless old bastards, dispensing their infinite knowledge, poking and prodding other peoples' property with their walking sticks.

I've had this one several times at shows : an old guy walked up to me, and as I was toting a camera, asked if I would take a photo of his Grandson. It was easier just to take one than explain I'm not from the "Cork" Examiner. Clueless

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭CorkMan_

I have to agree with Max Headroom. The show was being advertised as being on from 11 to 6 so I found it appalling to see the amount of cars leaving early. Anyone who turned up at 4 thinking they had 2 hours to look around would have been sorely disappointed. I've brought cars to shows and I always stay till it's finished.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

The reason I don't bring the car to shows is because I can't commit to staying all day.

Leaving at 3pm is a bit much, though they should do something to stagger the departure of 1,000 cars, many of which might have a penchant for overheating.

I've had this one several times at shows : an old guy walked up to me, and as I was toting a camera, asked if I would take a photo of his Grandson. It was easier just to take one than explain I'm not from the "Cork" Examiner. Clueless

Isnt that illegal nowadays.............:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,116 ✭✭✭mustang68

Dades wrote: »
    The reason I don't bring the car to shows is because I can't commit to staying all day.

Leaving at 3pm is a bit much, though they should do something to stagger the departure of 1,000 cars, many of which might have a penchant for overheating.

We left at 5ish and I did discover the Mustangs penchant for overheating... within 30m of the gate!! 40 mins is madness to wait to get out.

I guess some of those cars were there from 8 or 9, it's a long day to hang around in fairness. I took mine for a spin but didn't show it as I wouldn't have wanted to hang around for 9 or 10 hours. Plenty of nice metal to look at in the car park as well!!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,868 ✭✭✭Alkers

How much was admission btw?

mustang68 wrote: »
    We left at 5ish and I did discover the Mustangs penchant for overheating... within 30m of the gate!! 40 mins is madness to wait to get out.

We thought ye were making a brew...........:D

TBH i dont know what was going on....we left for the carpark around 6...on the way out the gate (straight out, no waiting) a classic that we'd seen 20 mins earlier passed us by heading for the M50....was there an issue with the Guards letting you out..:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,257 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Alkers wrote: »
    How much was admission btw?

15 for adults, 5 for kids.

Eoin wrote: »
    15 for adults, 5 for kids.

10 for seniors.......being old is great.....:D

does that charge apply to exhibitors too?

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 2,957 Mod ✭✭✭✭macplaxton

does that charge apply to exhibitors too?

Slightly different structure: https://www.irishjagclub.ie/terenure-car-show/
    Our 2019 entry fees for classic car display are:
    • For Display: €10 per car (Up to Monday, June 24th inc driver and one passenger, extra passengers €5 each. Commemorative plates must be booked separately before this date. Display cars should be at least 20 years old unless entering with a one marque club or by prior invitation.)
    • Cars for Sale: €35 (Single vehicles only, all signs must be inside the car. Inc driver and one passenger.)
    • Late entry fee: €20 per car (After Monday, June 24th. Entries can be made online up to Friday, July 5th. A limited number of entries will be available at the gate up to 10am on the day subject to space being available. Late entries should collect their windscreen hanger from the organisers office in the field before 10am if they wish to be included in the judging.)

macplaxton wrote: »

thanks had forgotten Have a load of those plates with pot plants on them! (pot not Pot)

Have a load of those plates

Including the "Austin Martin" one? :D

yup :-) classic gaff

34th Annual Trim V & V Car Show will be held on Sunday 21st July 2019 at Porch Fields, Trim, Co Meath.

Poster-1-736x1024.jpg
    http://trimvandvcarshow.com/

planning to go to Trim. In fact I was planning to go this weekend having got the dates wrong. No matter I can go to the ll Ford show in New Ross now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Theres a show on in punchestown next weekend 24th and 25th.
    I went one year.
    It was good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Buffman

Fairyhouse Automobile Show is on 25th August, free admission.

http://fairyhouseevents.com/wordpress/

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭Skyhawk1990

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,163 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Any shows/runs tomorrow or new years day? Cork, Munster area preferably

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

Just realizing this thread is here after bumping something similar. For anyone interested I created a sharable Google calendar for Irish shows/events.

I would love to maintain it for my own sake but I'm just to busy until the summer after I finish a masters. Would anyone be intersted in helping out keep it going?

The thread is here: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057737053

Copy paste below:
    jozi wrote: »
    I've create a shared google calendar for anyone interested. You can add it by using the following email address: mtgpo79t41nlpqa5snsbads8i8@group.calendar.google.com
    1. Copy the above email address
    2. Go to your google calendar via your web browser
    3. On the panel on the left click the little arrow to the right of other calendars
    4. Click add a friends calendar
    5. Paste the above email address into the field
    And that should be it.

It seems like I'm the only one who can edit the calendar, if anyone would like to help me adding dates to the calendar please drop me a pm with your email and I'll setup permissions for you.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

I’m going to be the market for a classic 4x4 next year and I need some inspiration. Can someone recommend any 4x4 specific shows coming up please.

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

86700441_2423268911110647_7337770235862188032_o.jpg?w=620

Always more here: https://collectireland.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭homingbird

Anyone Know if there is any shows coming up with lockdown lifted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭gipi

homingbird wrote: »
    Anyone Know if there is any shows coming up with lockdown lifted.

Saw a poster on Facebook about the Ducketts Grove show in Carlow in August.

Moynalty steam threshing and classic car show has been cancelled for 2021.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,875 ✭✭✭zg3409

Backroads coffee n cars is on in Bray first Sunday of every month. Tends to be supercars, new and old classics and a few boy racers. See:

http://www.backroads.ie/forum/car-related/show-n-shine

Photos from the latest meet there, biggest attendance yet.
    There is also a Dundalk meet (very busy) and possibly Limerick, Cork etc.

There is lots of other events planned and happening, particularly up North, including weekly meetings. Typically I get the info from Facebook groups. These are best 3 places

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1514095852225470/?ref=share

https://www.facebook.com/groups/250546525023661/?ref=share

(North of Ireland mostly)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/995083677292654/?ref=share

They have weekly meetings on Wednesday evening in Banbridge I think, but that schedule might change shortly.

Some people on these groups are very chatty with multiple posts per day so might not be a good idea to join unless you have hours free per day.

If you have a specific interest or area of the country we might be able to point to specific club or group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,391 ✭✭✭jozi

zg3409 wrote: »
    Backroads coffee n cars is on in Bray first Sunday of every month. Tends to be supercars, new and old classics and a few boy racers. See:

http://www.backroads.ie/forum/car-related/show-n-shine

Photos from the latest meet there, biggest attendance yet.
    There is also a Dundalk meet (very busy) and possibly Limerick, Cork etc.

There is lots of other events planned and happening, particularly up North, including weekly meetings. Typically I get the info from Facebook groups. These are best 3 places

https://www.facebook.com/groups/1514095852225470/?ref=share

https://www.facebook.com/groups/250546525023661/?ref=share

(North of Ireland mostly)
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/995083677292654/?ref=share

They have weekly meetings on Wednesday evening in Banbridge I think, but that schedule might change shortly.

Some people on these groups are very chatty with multiple posts per day so might not be a good idea to join unless you have hours free per day.

If you have a specific interest or area of the country we might be able to point to specific club or group.

You seem way more clued in to this than I, the Google calendar is shared and can be added by anyone. Might not be something you want to do but if you pm me your email I can added your so you can add dates to the calendar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭Buffman

gipi wrote: »
    Saw a poster on Facebook about the Ducketts Grove show in Carlow in August.

14th & 15th of August as of now.

http://www.carlowvintageandclassicmotorclub.com/2014-club-events-and-rallies/

FYI, if you move to a 'smart' meter electricity plan, you CAN'T move back to a non-smart plan.

You don't have to take a 'smart' meter if you don't want one, opt-out is available.

Buy drinks in 3L or bigger plastic bottles or glass bottles or cartons to avoid the DRS fee.

• Registered Users Posts: 128 ✭✭Yarisbob

Copied this text from a few local classic car lads

"Ox Mountain Scenic Drive Sunday 25th July from Williamstown Co. Galway gathering up at 09:30 and away at 10:00am its around 140kms all in.

Fairly impromptu and nothing formal just a run in the countryside stopping here and there at a few beauty spots.

You will have to be self sufficient so bring a lunch as there will be no food stops available.

If you have a classic car/van/motorbike and fancy a spin out then come on down - If you don't fancy it then that's ok as well we wont fall out over it !! "

I might go and see what's about in Williamstown next Sunday morning - Love the last statement .....😄

• Registered Users Posts: 40 BluePagoda

this one is definitely going ahead - it had about 300 cars in 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,497 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Do they get many bikes?

Asking for a friend 😀

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users Posts: 40 BluePagoda

In 2019 they had about 40 bikes including a 1914 Rudge

Post edited by BluePagoda on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭ronaneire

We had a little meet last night to launch our classic vehicle show and family day on Saturday the 16th of July 2022. We are going to try and raise much money, for a good cause #fightwitheoghan please share and share and share, more details to follow. #classiccarshow #classiccars #classicmotorcycle #vintagetractors #familyfunday #straffan #kildare

The show and family day is to try and raise as much money for #fightwitheoghan is an urgent Family Appeal which aims to help raise much needed funds towards Eoghan's ongoing medical care.

On Sunday 3rd October 2021 his life changed forever. While mountain biking in the Dublin mountains with his friend Sean. Eoghan came off his bike while coming down a trail and caused a fracture of his C3 on his spine. He was rushed to hospital where he was put in an induced coma and on a life support machine, he later underwent emergency spinal surgery. Eoghan was unable to breathe by himself for many weeks and was told he may never come off the ventilator. But Eoghan being a fighter fought against the odds and with great determination and excellent help from his medical team Eoghan in now breathing unassisted. However Eoghan still remains paralysed from the neck down and has no control of his upper or lower body. He is now continuing his treatment at the National Rehabilitation Hospital in Dun Laoghaire.

Facebook page post https://tinyurl.com/c8chjmxe

More details to follow in the coming weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 28 Doctor Kildare

Malahide Classic and Vintage Show at Grand Hotel Malahide tomorrow

Saturday, July 16th. Straffan, Co.Kildare