Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Snow Risk Western Ireland Jan 20-22

• 20-01-2013 6:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭

New thread for those interested in discussing conditions in the west at the moment. Currently in Clare it's overcast and cold with no precip yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭acalmenvoy

Fair play, nothing to report in Limerick ATM. Praying hard...

• Registered Users Posts: 932 ✭✭✭snowstorm445

squonk wrote: »
    New thread for those interested in discussing conditions in the west at the moment. Currently in Clare it's overcast and cold with no precip yet.

Does Cork count as the West? Light rain has begun to fall here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭yorlum11

Looking forward to hearing snow reports from Cork,Kerry etc and it moving up the western seaboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭squonk

Any reports from Cork/Kerry yet with either rain or snow?

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Nothing in s. kerry yet,
    Currently 2 degrees.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,460 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Ballydesmond, NW Cork. Had very light snow earlier around 1pm. 1C atm

• Registered Users Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭munsterlegend

Does Cork count as the West? Light rain has begun to fall here.

Are you in the city?

• Registered Users Posts: 11 ceolistic

Raining for the last hour or so in West Cork

Are you in the city?

In the hills south of Douglas.

• Registered Users Posts: 67 ✭✭redsky7

nothing in sligo yet but it's starting to cloud over nicely, i assume we're still considered part of the west ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,709 ✭✭✭squonk

Hope the temp drops and you get something hire down there in west cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,810 ✭✭✭Calibos

If I say the 'D' word in here will it be like the Jehovah scene in the Life of Brian?? ;):D

All joking aside, we'd like to wish you the best of luck tonight. All us folks have our fingers crossed for ye up here in...................Dublin

image016-29.gifimage016-29.gifimage016-29.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭yorlum11

redsky7 wrote: »
    nothing in sligo yet but it's starting to cloud over nicely, i assume we're still considered part of the west ;)

Too right ye are.Bring on the sneachta!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

dry and cold in cork city

Out of interest, the ME report for Casement reads "snow grains". Does this mean graupel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

Dry here in Tralee all day. Dusting of snow on the mountains. 2 degrees which feels more like -4 degrees with the wind chill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

It's just dry and cold here in East Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Kilnababe

Dry and bitterly cold in North Clare.The sky did change to a snowy look as dusk settled. Bring it on!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Ok, first time ever I think Cork has been classed as West :)

The models this evening are even colder for the next 24hrs than this morning's with -8 uppers draped across the country
    Eventhough this may start off as rain it should turn to snow as the evening progresses
    For me it's all about if the heavier stuff makes it to Cork

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,460 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

I'd imagine the west east seperation is everywhere except Louth/Meath/Wicklow and of course Dublin is West :)

Better off than all the lads in the east getting randy whenever there's light sleet and about 200 posts because of it :D

Ok, first time ever I think Cork has been classed as West :)

The models this evening are even colder for the next 24hrs than this morning's with -8 uppers draped across the country
    Eventhough this may start off as rain it should turn to snow as the evening progresses
    For me it's all about if the heavier stuff makes it to Cork

Are the dew points low enough?

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭Munster46

Where do ye find out the temperature of where ye are .

So jealous watching the Spurs vs MU game! Snow absolutely bucketing down in North London! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

Ch750536 checking in & standing by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭maiden

Dry and cold in Ennis! Please please please snow!

ch750536 wrote: »
    Ch750536 checking in & standing by.

Well if you don't get snow..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,736 ✭✭✭ch750536

0c here. overcast.

• Registered Users Posts: 288 ✭✭babygirlz

maiden wrote: »
    Dry and cold in Ennis! Please please please snow!
    Please, please, please don't :-(.
    I have to be at work for 7 am and I hate driving in icy conditions.

• Registered Users Posts: 800 ✭✭✭CB19Kevo

Very light snow/rain in S. Kerry at temp of 1.7

• Registered Users Posts: 235 ✭✭riggerman

4 c in cobh, with a light drizzle at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭rahmalec

Just wondering if someone can point me somewhere that shows where the rain/snow is predicted to fall in the next 24 hours or so. I know it is supposed to start as rain for many but should change at some point, or so I saw somewhere.

CB19Kevo wrote: »
    Very light snow/rain in S. Kerry at temp of 1.7

Snow/rain? Sleet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

Rain getting heavy in west Cork now and its very cold. There was a thick frost on the Caha mountains today above 250 mtrs roughly probably snow now up high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

The latest HIRLAM downgrades things a bit. It sends the heavy precip more south, missing the coast and what does arrive doesn't get very far east before dying out. Should still be snow inland from coasts but looking more like the 3-6cm in places instead of the widespread 5-10cm that was forecast earlier.

hirlamukpcp12.gif

• Registered Users Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭JanuarySnowstor

Rain getting heavy in west Cork now and its very cold. There was a thick frost on the Caha mountains today above 250 mtrs roughly probably snow now up high.

Are you near the coast, would have thought sleet at least

• Registered Users Posts: 769 ✭✭✭davidsr20

At last a tread with no D word :)
    Very cold here all day but dry too no sign of anything wet

Any chance of precipitation around Galway through the nite maq? I'd be 15 mile inland from Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,134 ✭✭✭✭maquiladora

davidsr20 wrote: »
    At last a tread with no D word :)
    Very cold here all day but dry too no sign of anything wet

Craughwell Galway.
    Any chance of precipitation around Galway through the nite maq? I'd be 15 mile inland from Galway.

Well on that model anyway Galway misses out tonight but does show some light precip getting in there tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭Rougies

UKMO High Res 15z is out.

Just being helpful, I'll leave now ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 619 ✭✭✭vistafinder

Are you near the coast, would have thought sleet at least

Im about 50k from the coast.

• Registered Users Posts: 157 ✭✭Birtles

2.6 degrees and heavy drizzle in Mid/West Cork. 140m ASL. 12 miles from the coast.

• Registered Users Posts: 5 Fineout

Milltown, Mid Kerry at 50m asl.
    2.2 degrees.
    Dry but clouding over now.

Rougies wrote: »

A link please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Still 4c rain getting heavier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭rahmalec

Link?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,327 ✭✭✭sunbabe08

if u really want to be helpful, you would have left us a link.

Looking like tomorrow is our best bet for even a few flakes :) would do now at this stage, although I do like the cold frosty weather too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭Rougies

sunbabe08 wrote: »
    if u really want to be helpful, you would have left us a link.

Humble apologies. I was busy looking at it myself.
    http://www.weatherweb.net/wxwebchartsukmoukpcp.php

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Aphex Tim

Radio Kerry saying its snowing on The Connor Pass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Weather channel app has it it 40% due to start snowing tonight (in sligo) and all night, all weekend, checked it again this evening, no snow forcast for next 36 hrs.

irish-stew wrote: »
    Weather channel app has it it due to start snowing tonight (in sligo) and all night, all weekend, checked it again this evening, no snow forcast for next 36 hrs.

I found the same iPhone apps, snow for tonight was forecast all week then today it changed last min :(