Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Ring of Kerry 2012

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭sav1980

I only started cycling a couple of months ago, so was really nervous about doing the Ring of Kerry, thought I might have bitten off more than I could chew but managed to complete it in 7 hours 20 mins, took 2 or 3 breaks of about 5 mins each. Didn't eat a whole lot during it - 4 fig rolls and half a clif builder bar. Had a banana and half a scone for breakfast before hand, looking back now I don't know how i managed to get round on so little food. Really enjoyed the day though it was pretty tough but hopefully will be much fitter / better trained next year. Not as sore as I thought I would be today but think I'll leave the bike alone for the next few days...

• Registered Users Posts: 5 FZ

Seweryn wrote: »
    Welcome on Boards :)

Thanks. I've been meaning to sign up for years. Wanting to post about the ROK pushed me over the line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dvntie

My first ring and a thoroughly enjoyed it
    Got around in 6hrs 25 so really happy with that
    Only boardsie I came across was some fool who I started and finished with
    I spent most of the time on the wrong side of the road but no spills found tge sneem to kenmare stretch pretty soul destroying but hey no one said it would all be easyðŸ˜႒
    Def will be back next yr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Seweryn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,724 ✭✭✭jaqian

Didn't do but would have loved to, maybe next year. Was in Kerry on the hols and passed by the ROK on the way home. Took a few snaps in Caherciveen. Long shot but maybe some of you are in these...

picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=13373

picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=13374

picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=13371

picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=13372

picture.php?albumid=394&pictureid=13370

• Registered Users Posts: 42 nipper67

did any one else see the young boy and girl,who looked only about 12 or 13, cycling over molls gap and down into Killarney? I think they were from a kilmallock cycling club. they were being well escorted by some other members of the club. It was great to see and this is what cycling is all about.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭Andalucia

simply a thoroughly enjoyable spin, would recommend it to any cyclist of any ability. It was my first time doing it, it was hard to comprehend the sheer number of cyclists on the road. Fair play to the organisers and the people of kerry, who put on a superb show. One guarantee is that you will not go hungry during or after it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

My second RoK and i'm already looking forward to my third. Another fantastic day, thankfully the weather didn't turn out as bad as we feared.
    Left Killarney at 7ish and didn't feel great, i think my legs were still asleep, but after a Banana and some water in Killorglin they woke up and after that the day was a breeze. The currenty bread in cahirsiveen is legendary, more banana's and off we went again. Despite the shower of rain on coomaciste i really enjoyed the climb, reached the top to the echoes of "Dancing queen" lol and some bagpipes playing in the background!! Great views up there but as always there's a gale blowing so we didn't hang around too long.
    Quick refuel in Kenmare,Red bull and a choc ice, and off we went up Moll's gap, fierce crowds all the way up, and a lot of gulping back the water on the top.
    Mighty craic all the way around the course, chatted to folks from many nations, Belgium, Holland, S Africa and beyond, this is truly an international event.
    A special shout out to the cyclists wearing the T-Shirts with the Picture of Paud o Leary, who was killed last week training for yesterdays cycle, a nice touch on a day he should have been there.
    At the signing in on the Friday they were getting plenty of signatures for the petition they are passing on to the Minister for Transport, hopefully it will have a positive impact.
    Thanks to everyone involved in making the day happen, organizers, volunteers, medical personnel, Gardai. And of course the local people who always make us feel so welcome. See you all Next year. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭guym

My first ROK and must say kudos to the organisers, considering the amount of participants I thought the organization was spot on. Went to sign on on Friday night and was expecting to be queueing for at least an hour or so, but was straight through in less than 10 minutes! Started off just after 6.30 roads were chockablok for first 30k or so but then started to thin out a little. First food stop was organised chaos but again with the numbers involved I don't think it could be improved on. The variety of bikes / rider ability was vast, saw a fella on a bike that looked like it had just been pulled from a skip, literally more rust than bike:). Also saw some of the worst car driving & cycling that i've ever seen, some really sketchy manouvers being pulled! Saw a few fella's who didn't need helmets (plonkers!!) one of which had a helmet but he thought it looked better strapped to his bars. Longest spin i'd done before this was 130k so was a little daunted by Molls Gap coming in around 145k but was pleasantly suprised, a long drag but not particulary steep, descent down was 'interesting', saw a fella who had overcooked it looking bruised and battered at the base of a tree on one of the bends, hope he's ok. All in all, really enjoyed the spin and looking forward to next year already.......a big well done to the organisers and best wishes to all charities involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,694 ✭✭✭thesimpsons

my 16yr old son did it with his dad, 1st time doing it. I didn't - only began cycling in March and didn't think I was up to it, kinda sorry now I didn't go with them. I'm fine on distance but not great on hills. Roll on next year and I'll be there. They did time of 7hrs 2mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

1st ROK and had a blast! Was feeling tired coming out of Kenmare but just knowing that once I got over it I'd be that little bit closer to a re-hydrating Guinness helped...

Great organised event, great craic and great people on the road. Got to chat to another Boardsie coming out of Sneem (I think) - The new jerseys look great!

Roll on next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

So who was the lad wearing the boards jersey at the top of cumakishka (sp?)
    I ask you your user name and you laughed. Over at the high 5 stand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭insinkerator

Saw one boards jersey close enough to the start, on a blue planet x, and that's all I spotted..

Made it around in 5:52. Was a bit apprehensive about the amount of cyclists on the road, saw some very dodgy cyclists on the way around. Professed when I got off the bike I wouldn't do it again next year, but now that I've slept, I think simply an earlier start (we set off around 7:15), would have done the trick.

Fantastic organisation though, and some serious grub available :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

BailMeOut wrote: »
    Cycled with Enda for about 30 mins!
    If your username is an indication I'm sure you had plenty to chat about. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,501 ✭✭✭Masala

So who was the lad wearing the boards jersey at the top of cumakishka (sp?)
    I ask you your user name and you laughed. Over at the high 5 stand

That was me... and I must sincerely apologise. I had my earphones in (don't give out!!) and by the time I realised you were talking to me.. I was gone and got boxed in by Bikes etc!! So - please accept my apologies !!! You were really busy at that van and it was a battle to get back to you!

...you looked so young to have 3,500++ posts on Boards!!!

Got to chat to another Boardsie coming out of Sneem (I think) - The new jerseys look great!

Enjoyed the chat....couldn't stop admiring your bike!!

Shorts on order .....

Morrisseeee....

Enjoyed the 'bant' in Sneen and yes.... Sean Kelly is on the Bucket List but might not yet be ready this year. Am seriously looking at the Iveragh 200 and definitely doing the Rebel Tour in Sept!!

Agree with you on the number of people who worried about Molls. I just advised..get behinh a decent pack..watch the wheel in front of you and DONT LOOK Up to see where the end is and before you know it- you'll be there!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

Was anyone else disappointed at the Finish Line having to walk across in bunches from around 30m out as someone was doing live-mike chats on the line.??

Have the wife primed with her camera to see my TdF finish. In fact- i got so bunched that I have no pic of crossing the Finish Line as she didn't see me come in!! Shame.. would have liked to have one for the scrapbook!

There is next year I suppose!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭meercat

best cycle trip i ever had

just some of the many interesting people i met

this lad was on a high nellie and he had a mayo flag on the back
    he was fairly moving too

263v7eq.jpg

Niall
    thanks for the company on the way round
    made a great day even better
    top man
    (can you p.m some contact details,cheers)

2irayhz.jpg

i met this lady at the kenmare food stop
    if you know her,tell her she is an absolute treasure
    i hope she met the clare family she was looking out for
    look after the leg and i will see you next year

2uputc4.jpg

fair play enda

2n1iex4.jpg

thanks to all the people who came out to wave and clap us around
    a big thank to all the other volunteers too and the garda for a really enjoyable day
    hope you all made it around safe and i will be back next year for sure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,995 ✭✭✭BailMeOut

DeepBlue wrote: »
    If your username is an indication I'm sure you had plenty to chat about. :pac:

Does anyone know what time Enda finished? We started with him so interested to see how our time compare to our taoiseach?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 748 ✭✭✭Axel Lamp

meercat wrote: »

he was fairly moving too

263v7eq.jpg

I met that lad too on the early part The bike is 60 years old and was refurbished last year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,596 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Masala wrote: »
    Was anyone else disappointed at the Finish Line having to walk across in bunches from around 30m out as someone was doing live-mike chats on the line.??

Have the wife primed with her camera to see my TdF finish. In fact- i got so bunched that I have no pic of crossing the Finish Line as she didn't see me come in!! Shame.. would have liked to have one for the scrapbook!

There is next year I suppose!!

Yeah, was very crowded coming in alright. Have no photo either from yersterday which is a bit of a disapointment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

langdang wrote: »
    Great festival atmosphere in the various villages, fair play to the people of south Kerry and the organisers. Saw Sean Kelly MEP out, didn't see Enda. People from all over were out, from monaghan to the philipines! Lotta punctures and mechanicals, tough day for some people..QUOTE]

Met Sean Kelly MEP myself on the way up to mols gap had a few words and then took off up the gap on my trek bike. I had a great day out and finished it in 7 hrs 30 mins, I took my time though, met a lot of nice cyclists on the way, fair play to all of you for keeping me entertained along the way.

In fairness I think the roads need to be closed for this event next year, there are a lot of cyclists doing it and someone will get killed if they don't close the roads. Saw two girls tearing past me yesterday around a bend and a volvo car coming in the opposite direction flashing the lights at them. Some cyclists see no fear which I'd be worried about. I had two moments yesterday where one guy swerved out in front of me and nearly knocked me off my bike. Another cyclists who was a female passed me out at full speed, she was in a cycling club I'd say and she left about three inches between her handlebars and mine. I can't understand some cyclists taking these risks.

A special thanks to all the helpful staff that supplied us with food and water at all the various food stops around the ring. Much appreciated. I lost count of the amount of bananas I ate yesterday but I hope it didn't end up in double digits :D.

I'm certainly doing the ROK cycle in 2013 and might upgrade the bike too before then with something that stands out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,678 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Am seriously looking at the Iveragh 200 and definitely doing the Rebel Tour in Sept!!
    If you're doing the Iveragh 200 you should check out the Coomanaspig Pass which gets mentioned a few times in the Toughest Climb in Ireland thread. You can avoid it by doing the 120K route.

There's a jittery video of a drive over it here which may give an idea of what the climb is like. At 3mn 39s it starts getting really steep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,393 ✭✭✭Grassey

915 pictures from yesterday (and me not in a single one of them :( )

https://picasaweb.google.com/111119610562974918573/RingOfKerryCycle2012#

Like these 2 from the collection

Ring%2520of%2520Kerry%2520Cycle%25202012%2520576.JPG

Ring%2520of%2520Kerry%2520Cycle%25202012%2520888.JPG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭blahblah06

That was me... and I must sincerely apologise. I had my earphones in (don't give out!!) and by the time I realised you were talking to me.. I was gone and got boxed in by Bikes etc!! So - please accept my apologies !!! You were really busy at that van and it was a battle to get back to you!

...you looked so young to have 3,500++ posts on Boards!!!

Ha no worries lad. I'm 27. But ye the high 5 stand was mental was a busy weekend. Hope everyone enjoyed there free drinks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭michael196

he was fairly moving too

263v7eq.jpg

Niall
    thanks for the company on the way round
    made a great day even better
    top man
    (can you p.m some contact details,cheers)

2irayhz.jpg

i met this lady at the kenmare food stop
    if you know her,tell her she is an absolute treasure
    i hope she met the clare family she was looking out for
    look after the leg and i will see you next year

2uputc4.jpg

fair play enda

2n1iex4.jpg

thanks to all the people who came out to wave and clap us around
    a big thank to all the other volunteers too and the garda for a really enjoyable day
    hope you all made it around safe and i will be back next year for sure

will some one please buy Enda a proper jersey , PLEASE !! Will send him a wexford wheelers one : Could have the cystic fibrosis charity logo printed on , oh jaysus and a pair of shorts too !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Ok, first the bad.....:)

Now the good...
    -Great day out
    - The atmosphere before and after in Killarney
    -The food (both the formal and informal stops)
    -The support (as in marshals, mechanical support)
    -The support (moral support from the locals)
    -The groups

I'm not sure how they manage it, but the ROK just gets better each year. We (wife was with me) arrived down on Friday, wandered around the town and had a coffee, then registered (a bit chaotic, but added to the atmosphere) - nice little bike expo they had going to.

After that we went for some grub and then back to the hotel for a nightcap and an early night as I wanted to get out before the crowds. The 'nightcap' comprised of 5/6 pints (and there might have been a whiskey in there too) with a group I fell in with - a group of couples - all the husbands boyfriends were doing the cycle, none of the wives / girlfriends were - it was 2-00am before the cyclists were in bed, a good 2-3 hrs after the women.

Our group also included 2 lads (both Americans) who decided they were going to do the ride that day so they duly went down, registered and hired a couple of bikes for the weekend!

Got up ok and set off at 5-40am setting a respectable pace out of Killarney and was surprised at the number of groups already on the road. Soon found myself in a small group of three doing a steady 30/31km/hr.

And on we rattled - sometimes others joined, sometimes we joined others, but the three of us tapped all the way to Sneem when I lost my rain jacket and decided to go back and look for it (I reckon it popped out when we stopped for a snack). Went up and down the road a few times with no luck, so I took off for Kenmare (the others had pushed on).

Called into Kenmare on the off chance said jacket had been handed in but no joy, then hauled myself over Moll's Gap and got on to a bunch heading down for the home stretch.

Final time was 6:35, but there was 10km of slow cycling in there looking for the jacket.

I heard it was a last minute thing for Enda - Angela told he couldn't go out to play with the rest of us until he finished his homework; no leaving it until Sunday:D

The Americans referred to earlier finished in under 10 hours - BASTARDS!!:D

Thanks obviously to the organisers, marshals, volunteers, Garda etc who made it such a great day.

The jacket was a dark grey Montane VeloJacket - it was balled up and in it's little bag, on the off chance anyone found it. I reckon I lost it just outside Sneem.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Tourman

redoak wrote: »
    Hi Tourman I plan to do a few 20,30 km's mon,tue,but then rest up .My old left knee gives out a bit .I did a trip around lough derg about 150 km ,about 3 weeks ago but have'nt done much since,My only worry is im working nights at the moment and find it hard to sleep on my nights off so if i get it wrong and dont sleep friday night ,ill never make it around sat.Also my cycling buddy was knocked off her bike today so im on my own ,thank god she's ok .BEST OF LUCK TO ALL ,this is my first event .Everyone I know thats fortyish is trying to keep fit ,sign of the times .
    Hope all went well yesterday for you . The 40ish thing applies here . Slightly bettered expectations. Sore and stiff today but sense of satisfaction trumps minor aches

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭nilhg

Had a ball yesterday, out on the road at 6.10AM back to Killarney for a well earned pint at about 2.30. Great atmosphere on the road, great company in the group I was with and all the folks we met along the way, loads of lovely food and great marshalling around the roads, well done to all who contributed to the success of the day.

Didn't see any boards jerseys on my travels but met a few fellas I hadn't seen for years, funny I had to go to Kerry to do that but that's life I suppose.

My first ROK but definitely not my last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Thanks so much to everyone who has participated in the Ring of Kerry 2012 thread. Your views, expressions, advice and opinions on here from before and after the RoK are lovely to read I must say so Thanks Everyone.

I have now actually added the Ring of Kerry Cycle 2013 to my bucket-list. It will be my first time doing the cycle and I've a fair amount of work to put in, but I've no excuse really not to do the cycle so I don't!

Thanks again to all who participated in this thread. I've enjoyed reading your posts & hopefully I'll catch some of you in 2013 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,138 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Had a great day out yesterday.

Camped locally, ambled out around 8.30 with DirkVoodoo, Vlad Kurtains, WhatsADerailleur (?) and a couple of other normals.

Stopped for a couple of hours at various places, had a pint at about 130km, rolled in about 4pm.

Nice weather for it, just enough rain to remind us which country we were in :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

2uputc4.jpg

Love your man behind, anyone thinking of doing it next year, its not that bad!
    some poor crauther had a 'clip in pedal' moment in front of the start banner/tube thing at around 7.20am, and a couple 100 punters.

• Registered Users Posts: 6 Toastbongo

The car in question belongs to my father, the bike is an old Vitus, the car an NSU prinze 1000 and he happens to be 76 years young. He completed the event with my self and my brother in 7 hrs rolling time. It was a great family event for us.

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭tonyangelino

Jawgap wrote: »
    Ok, first the bad.....:)

Now the good...
    -Great day out
    - The atmosphere before and after in Killarney
    -The food (both the formal and informal stops)
    -The support (as in marshals, mechanical support)
    -The support (moral support from the locals)
    -The groups

I'm not sure how they manage it, but the ROK just gets better each year. We (wife was with me) arrived down on Friday, wandered around the town and had a coffee, then registered (a bit chaotic, but added to the atmosphere) - nice little bike expo they had going to.

After that we went for some grub and then back to the hotel for a nightcap and an early night as I wanted to get out before the crowds. The 'nightcap' comprised of 5/6 pints (and there might have been a whiskey in there too) with a group I fell in with - a group of couples - all the husbands boyfriends were doing the cycle, none of the wives / girlfriends were - it was 2-00am before the cyclists were in bed, a good 2-3 hrs after the women.

Our group also included 2 lads (both Americans) who decided they were going to do the ride that day so they duly went down, registered and hired a couple of bikes for the weekend!

Got up ok and set off at 5-40am setting a respectable pace out of Killarney and was surprised at the number of groups already on the road. Soon found myself in a small group of three doing a steady 30/31km/hr.

And on we rattled - sometimes others joined, sometimes we joined others, but the three of us tapped all the way to Sneem when I lost my rain jacket and decided to go back and look for it (I reckon it popped out when we stopped for a snack). Went up and down the road a few times with no luck, so I took off for Kenmare (the others had pushed on).

Called into Kenmare on the off chance said jacket had been handed in but no joy, then hauled myself over Moll's Gap and got on to a bunch heading down for the home stretch.

Final time was 6:35, but there was 10km of slow cycling in there looking for the jacket.

I heard it was a last minute thing for Enda - Angela told he couldn't go out to play with the rest of us until he finished his homework; no leaving it until Sunday:D

The Americans referred to earlier finished in under 10 hours - BASTARDS!!:D

Thanks obviously to the organisers, marshals, volunteers, Garda etc who made it such a great day.

The jacket was a dark grey Montane VeloJacket - it was balled up and in it's little bag, on the off chance anyone found it. I reckon I lost it just outside Sneem.

Great stuff. This sums up what is so good about this event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,160 ✭✭✭nilhg

Toastbongo wrote: »
    The car in question belongs to my father, the bike is an old Vitus, the car an NSU prinze 1000 and he happens to be 76 years young. He completed the event with my self and my brother in 7 hrs rolling time. It was a great family event for us.

Great stuff, well done to you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Dipsomaniac

Had a great day. Weather wasn't that bad in the end. Cycled with my brother and and took it very easy.

Only saw two crashes.

First was a car with a wall. Wasn't bad at all just skimmed it.

Second was Enda K and a random. Random wasn't happy. Gave him a bit of stick for cutting across him. Seemed to change his tune when he recognised Enda. Picked himself up and cycled off.

Will def do it again next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭Dubba

Really enjoyed yesterday, never seen so many cyclist on the road at one time, almost a continuous line the whole way through the course.

It was my second ROK and as the weather was poor, this year I decided to push on a bit and completed it in 5.29 rolling and 5.38 elapsed time.

Strava has been a bit off lately tho - both garmin connect and my garmin 500 have the ride logged at 5.26, 31k ave. No big deal but this is happening a lot lately and not just to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 74 ✭✭Tourman

2nd ROK for me and I found it easier this year. I put more hills in my training this year. Knowing the route helped. The dead drag from Sneem to Kenmare nearly did for me last year also I almost cried when I saw that little incline just after the top of Molls Gap and I thought someone had stolen Killarney (yes stolen Killarney) when it didn't materialise just after the decent from Lady's View.

The array of bicycles and people is a sight to behold. The comradeship among the participants is amazing and the banter is what keeps people coming back. The only exception to the conversation with either long standing friends or people who just happened to share the road space was on the climb at Molls Gap when the silence was only broken by chain chatter,the tires of mountain bikes and the panting breath of riders straining to conquer the last great obstacle on the route.

Thanks to the volunteers ,organisers and the unsung hero's the residents of the Ring of Kerry who endure year after year major disruption to their lives for both a good cause and the personal satisfaction of thousands of cyclists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Got my first ROK under my belt also yesterday. I must say the first thing that hits you pulling into Killarney is the buzz and the atmosphere in the town and that was not let down by the locals, absolutely great bunch of people who really get behind the whole thing and made it a great weekend. Fair play to all the stewards, volunteers and helpers who did an amazing job making it go so smoothly, really sets the bar for how to organise an event like this. Wicklow 200 could learn a few things from it.

Would also like to thank Clog for keeping me company on the way around top guy. We decided early on to take it handy and just enjoy it and thats what we did. Set off at 6 bells and finished around 1.30 ish. Rolling time was 7hrs 3 mins. Weather for us was not great getting a soaking twice and always seemed like wind was into our faces but sure what else would we expect in July. Felt very strong all the way around and to be honest didn't find any of the climbs/drags an issue and went up them with a smile, was nice to see the training around the Wicklow hills pay off. Also good to see Clog and myself also made the photo's ;-)

Will be doing it next year for sure and would encourage anybody to do it. Well worth the 4 hour drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,971 ✭✭✭teednab-el

The thing that I also enjoyed about yesterdays ride was the noise of bikes going by on freewheel, love that noise zzzzzzzzzzz out of the back wheel when you don't pedal, some bikes much noisier than others and a clear indication and warning that someone was behind you ready to go by.

• Registered Users Posts: 23 redoak

Tourman wrote: »
    Hope all went well yesterday for you . The 40ish thing applies here . Slightly bettered expectations. Sore and stiff today but sense of satisfaction trumps minor aches

Hi Tourman ,Yes all went very well great great day out ,really enjoyed it a truly spectacular well run event ,a sea of cycles and sandwich's (and curranty cake).Great atomsphere at the finish line and sammy sun came out also ,6.40 rolling time ,headed out at 7ish finished at 4.20.Didnt stay in killarney saturday night but it looked like it had the makings of a good night .The only downside was my left Knee did give out a bit .The joys of being 40ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,504 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

stevieob wrote: »
    I saw just one other boardsie, before I met you but just after the 100k marker, a girl on a nice blue planet x. She left me for dust so never even got a shout out.

Blue planet-X? White helmet, white shoes, white saddle and tape? I've decided to get a haircut this week.

23166358.jpg

And not even a "Go Baby!" when I passed, that's the biggest insult!

I saw one Boards jersey, dude in Aqua Sapone shorts.

Great day out, stopping for a pint in Sneem was a good idea. Camping is not my thing and I am sorely lacking fitness, as the highly visible lumen left me behind for most of the day, moaning to myself. Cycled around for most of it with two stunning girls from Orwell, we must have looked like Charlie's Angels in retrospect.

• Registered Users Posts: 454 ✭✭MediaMan

First time ROK for me, really enjoyed it, from arriving in Killarney in the pouring rain Friday evening right through the cycling and of course actually completing the event. Everyone in the whole of South Kerry seemed to be involved in some way and all were unrelentingly positive and encouraging. Great spirit all the way around and the logistics were very very well run, given the numbers cycling. I still can't get my head around the sheer volume of people on the road.

My only small gripe was the behaviour of a small number of cars and vans travelling in the same direction as the cyclists during the second half of the circuit - barrelling down the road on the right hand side and then stopping or trying to cut in when they met traffic coming the other way. But that was a small complaint in a fantastic outing.

Great to chat to people along the way as well, even though the conversation along the road from Sneem to Kenmare invariably was ether about "how bloody long more to Kenmare?" or "what d'ya reckon about the climb to Moll's Gap?". :D

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭eoin88

Grassey wrote: »
    915 pictures from yesterday (and me not in a single one of them :( )

https://picasaweb.google.com/111119610562974918573/RingOfKerryCycle2012#

Like these 2 from the collection

Ring%2520of%2520Kerry%2520Cycle%25202012%2520576.JPG

Ring%2520of%2520Kerry%2520Cycle%25202012%2520888.JPG

Damn it! Spent ages going through those photos and not a single one of me or any of my mates!
    Brilliant day out anyway, despite having a friend plow into me on the way to Kenmare! Thankfully we both emerged unscathed, just a couple of spokes down. Really enjoyed the climb up Moll's Gap, was saving myself for it all day so I had a good blast up it. No better feeling than passing a couple of hundred people on the way up! Had cycled most of the route previously other than the last section from Moll's Gap to Killarney, that turned out to be the highlight of the day for me. Beautiful views and a fantastic technical descent, what more could you ask for? Will definitely be back again next year!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,576 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

I missed last year because i was at wedding and missed this year because i was at wedding in italy, can people please stop getting married please!!!!! Aaaaggghhhh next year ill be back!!!!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭squeaky crank

Firstly - thanks to the organisers, marshalls and helpers involved in the ROK and the excellent job they did in providing a safe and enjoyable day.

This was my first ROK and I was on my tod I went down at 6am to sign up and see what was happening at the start -decided not to hang about at hit the road about 6.30. had a bit of banter along the way but mostly solo till cahersiveen where i hooked up with a few lads from Ennis, nice chat and good pace till Kenmare where we said goodbye as i was meeting the wife for a cuppa. Now don t get me wrong, it was great to see my missus but the coffee and perfecto flapjacks in kinsare - O my f8ckin god - Now I know why I cycle, because food tastes so good when you stop.
    Anyhoo, I felt the result of my over exsuberant pace at the start and cramped leg all the way up molls gap. Great feeling at the top and the beautifull road all the way into Killarney. Rolling time of 6hrs.10min - Had a pint and went home - Overall - great day out, met some lovely people and saw some beautifull scenery. Ill be back next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

12th Ring of Kerry put to bed in aid of Build 4 Life this year. Had something around 50 on the road in the club contingent spread out all over the Ring between 6am and 8am with some taking to their first ROK and a few their 20th!

Thoroughly enjoyed the day: the weather was ok bordering on actually pretty damn good by South Kerry Summer standards (!) and the support along the road just amazing - how good would it be to have it on your regular weekend spin eh?!

I would say the craic along the way was as good as previous years but there being part of a club seemed to earn you a mild hostility or a cold shoulder more often than a smile on the route (thanks new ROK committee!). After 12 occasions doing the event it's disappointing but I but chatted along where I could get camaraderie on the wheel. Saw jerseys from all over - Cpt Havoc's Marble City Cyclers, Dungarvan CC, Shannonside CC, Wexford Wheelers, Naas CC and too more to remember. Great to see so many travelling to take part.

Tried to cut down on stopping time to save getting cold by calling into shops along the route rather than queuing up at the regular stops. Seems great minds think alike as all were packed with riders in the process of depleting them out of coffee, sandwiches, fruit and almost anything else there was going that had carbohydrate in it! Good times for the shop owners during a Summer that would probably see better sales of rain coats than sun screen so far!

Did however stop at Spillanes in Templenoe for a 'hydration' break and met some of the relatives who're from that part of the world. Safe to say as locals they'd never seen anything like ~9000 riders pass their front garden and are in awe of everyone who knocked out the 170km.

Came over the line comfortably after a nice fun descent from Molls and that last run through the national park. There were definitely a few 'unorthodox' lines being taken by the inexperienced and those unfamiliar with the descent so can imagine how some may have come a cropper.

Saw a few boardies passing by over the day, tried to get a 'hi boardsie' out where I could - all seem to be motoring along nicely! Chapeau to all!

Now just less than 12 months till the next one - anyone taking bets on a >9000 strong entry?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

Had a really enjoyable day on Saturday, rolling time of 6.11 for me, really enjoyed taking on molls gap. Well done to all involved in making the event happen, it was fantastic. It was great to see so many people on the route waving, cheering and my favorite - banging pots and pans! I should say sorry to anyone who had to put up with me singing fraggle rock and how much is the doggie in the window between Sneem and Kenmare but it was keeping me going at the time! Met a fella in Kenmare who was going around on a 3 speed post bike, fair dues to him! Thank you to the fella in Kenmare who shared his extra chocolate with us!! Finally a BIG thanks to the fella who owns the petrol station in Ballyvourney for coming to our rescue around 6.30 in the morning when dvntie ran out of petrol ;)