If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Li-ion battery pack ?

• 26-10-2010 08:31PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭

Ok guys my old deben twin pack battery pack has finally died after keeping me going for over 8 yrs now so doesnt owe me anything !! Was thinking bout a li-ion replacement, anybody any experience or views on them ....?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

tfox wrote: »
    Ok guys my old deben twin pack battery pack has finally died after keeping me going for over 8 yrs now so doesnt owe me anything !! Was thinking bout a li-ion replacement, anybody any experience or views on them ....?

Let me know how you get on, thinking of upgrading myself to LiIon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

How bout you buy it first Tack, and then let me know what ya think of it :-)

I'm giving all my money to Edi this week for a new stock for my Remmy VTR

I'm more interested in stalking than lamping this time of the year anyway.

Ah well need something to keep me out of the pub in the evenings :-) Try as I might I havn't convinced those foxes to shoot themselves !!

Well I started back College part time as a mature student last year, so in the evenings twice a week I have lectures.

I have to shoot on an ad-hoc basis, when ever I get a chance.
    I normaly go shooting wed fri and sat if I can.

I rarely get to a pub these days, once every month or so on average.
    i spend all my spare cash on firearms and accesories

trouble I have is the gf works in a pub 3 nights a week and expects me go in keep her company all night coz the place is empty, so lamping is my healthy enjoyable alternative !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭ronn

trouble I have is the gf works in a pub 3 nights a week and expects me go in keep her company all night coz the place is empty, so lamping is my healthy enjoyable alternative !!
    ill keep her company and you can use my ion pack,;), the mate got one of the deben packs hasnt had a chance to use it lamping but tested around the yard reckons its the dogs b~~lixs:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 64 ✭✭lofty95

continuous strong light and the weight of the battery are the two things for me. I havent used it for more than two hours at a time with my 170 so dont know how long they last beyond that . I know they do lose there charge if left sitting for a while and also you get no indication that the battery is going to go as the light just switches off when the battery is dead . Just takes 6-7 hrs for a full charge. well worth the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,217 ✭✭✭clivej

lofty95 wrote: »
    continuous strong light and the weight of the battery are the two things for me. I havent used it for more than two hours at a time with my 170 so dont know how long they last beyond that . I know they do lose there charge if left sitting for a while and also you get no indication that the battery is going to go as the light just switches off when the battery is dead . Just takes 6-7 hrs for a full charge. well worth the money

As always a dimmer will increase batery life no end. You don't need the lamp up full to get the reflection back from the eyes.

Yeah they definitely seem the way forward alrite !! Could be a nice Christmas present :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭kay 9

What's the best price ye found on them lads? Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,217 ✭✭✭clivej

And here's how you use a lamp by the guru himself Robert Bucknell author of the fox shooters bible "Foxing with Lamp and Rifle"

9 minutes in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭smokin ace

i bought one about 2 months ago and its 10amp and so far its being great i have been out for just a little short of 3 hours lamping with the dog with the lightforce 170(100watt bulb)and it was still going dont know how long more it would have lasted for but nearly 3 hours walking for me and that much running for the dog i find is plenty enough

they are expensive but i would highly recommend buying one you wont be disappointed with it as one of the other lads said there is a strong light out of it until its dead and when it dies the light goes out without warning so it might be handy to have a very small flash light in your pocket just incase you get caught out
    it is extremely light in weight and it has great lasting power for its size i bought mine off John Lambert in camolin and it cost me €170 but like i said its well worth the money

smokin ace wrote: »
    i bought one about 2 months ago and its 10amp and so far its being great i have been out for just a little short of 3 hours lamping with the dog with the lightforce 170(100watt bulb)and it was still going dont know how long more it would have lasted for but nearly 3 hours walking for me and that much running for the dog i find is plenty enough

they are expensive but i would highly recommend buying one you wont be disappointed with it as one of the other lads said there is a strong light out of it until its dead and when it dies the light goes out without warning so it might be handy to have a very small flash light in your pocket just incase you get caught out
    it is extremely light in weight and it has great lasting power for its size i bought mine off John Lambert in camolin and it cost me €170 but like i said its well worth the money

You're right, 3 hrs is plenty for man and dog !! The pack i have at the moment is the twin battery 14amp so think I'd grab the equivelant. I always bring my little LED headlight with me, just in case lamp or battery breaks down, v handy for putting on dogs slip, filling magazine, crossing gates etc without alerting the whole country to your presence !! And at €130 for replacement lead-acid not much more for nice lightweight option