'The Haunting Soldier' sculpture vandalised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,040 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

What do I replace the hatred of those who revel in the misery and slaughter of war with Audrey?

The only person doing this is you! You need this to be true in your mind because it gives you a reason to spam your republican bingo posts in these threads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Your rabid nationalism is not wanted down here Francie. We don't care for you and your backward views .

Wouldnt worry about Francie being too strong on nationalism Winny. In fact, he doesnt seem to have a clue.
    (That or the Shinner bot algorithms are hopelessly inadequate)

Up there with Derry 68 to 72, alongside Terence MacSwiney, Bobby Sands, your namesake Francis Hughes and the rest of 81?

Can you maybe make some sense Roger? No idea what you are on about tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,779 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

That’s up to you but my point was there’s no such thing on show here.

So no answer. :rolleyes:

Wouldnt worry about Francie being too strong on nationalism Winny. In fact, he doesnt seem to have a clue.
    (That or the Shinner bot algorithms are hopelessly inadequate)

If I compared this protest (my opinion of which is already posted) to other protests, do show me the post where I did that Roger, like a good man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 8,152 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Jaysus, the mask’s well and truly slipped tonight.

Passed this a few minutes ago(in Cork):

24yqvyw.jpg

Wonder where are the gobshïtes with their red paint tonight? Because theyre not wanted, welcome or representative of the people i know.

Is this cenotaph glorifying the British empire, or pandering to unionists? Because in 1925, i doubt very much they were. Does the November wreath laying exult and celebrate the Queen and Brittania , or is it a moment to reflect on the great loss of life in the carnage..

"We are here today simply to remember them; to remember the awfulness of it all, the deaths, the wounds, the scars, mental, emotional and physical, the gaps that stayed for ever - in individual lives, in families, in communities, in societies, and in nations.
    Whatever our current outlook we can all agree that people died; that there was unimaginable and ghastly suffering; and that the world has never been the same since. Our world still shudders.
    Their faces do stare at us across history, and their stories resonate, and we realise that there are questions for us in our time - for us of all outlooks … must build bridges, join hands, work with our difference, and try to meet minds to address these questions; what have we become? what are we becoming? Or more menacing still - what do we risk becoming?”

Bishop of Cork Paul Colton
    11/11/2018

Is that a celebration or glorification of WW1?

'Why we fought'
    At the outbreak of the war we, as plain men, felt that it was our duty to stand against the threat to civilisation. Were we right? Was it an honourable thing to do? Had we any doubts about our duty to Christianity and to our country?

The leaders of our Church agreed that we were right. We found our Nationalist leaders, though opposed in politics, agreed that we were right. We have since been told that our leaders should have made some sort of a political bargain for Ireland first.

Our answer to that is that you cannot bargain with a Nation’s honour. We went into the war in the name of Ireland, with clean hands and a pure heart, and we came out with a reputation that did not disgrace the name of Ireland.

John Flynn December 1918
    Letter to Irish Examiner.

If I compared this protest (my opinion of which is already posted) to other protests, do show me the post where I did that Roger, like a good man?

Ah Francie, you havent a clue.
    Bless.
    You've even admitted as much.

Passed this a few minutes ago:

24yqvyw.jpg

Wonder where are the gobshïtes with their red paint tonight? Because theyre not wanted, welcome or representative of the people i know.

Is this cenotaph glorifying the British empire, or pandering to unionists? Because in 1925, i doubt very much they were. Does the November wreath laying exult and celebrate the Quen and Brittania , or is it a moment to reflect on the great loss of live in the carnage..

"We are here today simply to remember them; to remember the awfulness of it all, the deaths, the wounds, the scars, mental, emotional and physical, the gaps that stayed for ever - in individual lives, in families, in communities, in societies, and in nations.
    Whatever our current outlook we can all agree that people died; that there was unimaginable and ghastly suffering; and that the world has never been the same since. Our world still shudders.
    Their faces do stare at us across history, and their stories resonate, and we realise that there are questions for us in our time - for us of all outlooks … must build bridges, join hands, work with our difference, and try to meet minds to address these questions; what have we become? what are we becoming? Or more menacing still - what do we risk becoming?”

11/11/2018

'Why we fought'
    At the outbreak of the war we, as plain men, felt that it was our duty to stand against the threat to civilisation. Were we right? Was it an honourable thing to do? Had we any doubts about our duty to Christianity and to our country?

The leaders of our Church agreed that we were right. We found our Nationalist leaders, though opposed in politics, agreed that we were right. We have since been told that our leaders should have made some sort of a political bargain for Ireland first.

Our answer to that is that you cannot bargain with a Nation’s honour. We went into the war in the name of Ireland, with clean hands and a pure heart, and we came out with a reputation that did not disgrace the name of Ireland.

John Flynn December 1918

Nobody has a problem with respectable rememberance.

We know what is just under the surface of some around here though if you object to over the top remembrance though. We have all seen here on this thread.
    We know what you use this for Roger and the majority of Irish people will never support that.

Passed this a few minutes ago:

24yqvyw.jpg

Is this cenotaph glorifying the British empire, or pandering to unionists? Because in 1925, i doubt very much they were. Does the November wreath laying exult and celebrate the Quen and Brittania , or is it a moment to reflect on the great loss of live in the carnage..

11/11/2018

'Why we fought'

John Flynn December 1918

This should be quoutes rvery time one of the usual "republican " representatives reply to these these threads!

Now im sure they will play republican bingo and spout their usual soundbite cliches straight from the SF online playbook but they will never understand that this is the reason most men chose to fight because this is what they believed in.

We know what is just under the surface of some around here though if you object to over the top remembrance though. We have all seen here on this thread.
    We know what you use this for Roger and the majority of Irish people will never support that.

Elaborate please?

For fexk ache Francie.
    Not everyone is a unionist hiding under the bed waiting for some signal to drag out the lambegs and flutes and start burning effigies draped in the tri colour.

I dont see anything jingoistic, triumphalistic or celebratory of death and carnage. Its not a backdoor British plot to rclaim their wayward province and reunite great Britain.
    Its a fcuking stature made of scrap, commissioned for the centenary to remember the fallen and those that came home, physically and psychologically, in bits.
    Thats all it is.

For fexk ache Francie.
    Not everyone is a unionist hiding under the bed waiting for some signal to drag out the lambegs and flutes and start burning effigies draped in the tri colour.

I dont see anything jingoistic, triumphalistic or celebratory of death and carnage. Its not a backdoor British plot to rclaim their.wayward province and reunite great Britain.
    Its a fcuking stature made of scrap, commissioned for the centenary to remember the fallen and those that came home, physically and psychologically, in bits.
    Thats all it is.

Of course you don't 'see' it. You patently don't want to see or hear another view of it.
    Google it and you will find plenty within even Britain itself identifying it and criticising it.

For example:
    https://www.google.ie/search?q=world+war+1+veteran+on+the+poppy+disgrace&oq=world+war+1+veteran+on+the+poppy+disgrace&aqs=chrome..69i57.20910j0j9&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,624 ✭✭✭klaaaz

For fexk ache Francie.

Some here are hard core anti-Irish unionists like your description.
    Thats all it is.

Why use scrap metal in the first place, it looks like that was deliberately used to represent the lower classes as they were cheap human sacrifice to the monarchy.

Of course you don't 'see' it. You patently don't want to see or hear another view of it.
    Google it and you will find plenty within even Britain itself identifying it and criticising it.

For example:
    https://www.google.ie/search?q=world+war+1+veteran+on+the+poppy+disgrace&oq=world+war+1+veteran+on+the+poppy+disgrace&aqs=chrome..69i57.20910j0j9&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

Not sure what im looking at there?
    Something akin to white mans guilt?

When i see a poppy in a field i dont think of 800 years of oppression. When i see someone wearing a poppy, i dont lose the run of myself. I think they have their reasons.
    But if i see someone wearing a poppy and being xenophobic, imperialistic and ride in my face, in Ireland, well they might get a slap.

Not sure what im looking at there?
    Something akin to white mans guilt?

When i see a poppy in a field i dont think of 800 years of oppression. When i see someone wearing a poppy, i dont lose the run of myself. I think they have their reasons.
    But if i see someone wearing a poppy and being xenophobic, imperialistic and ride in my face, in Ireland, well they might get a slap.

You don't think of all those soldiers who killed and suppressed here up until modern times being honoured and remembered?

Good for you. Your ability to block out the truth is quite impressive as well as your ability to block alternative viewpoints.

klaaaz wrote: »
    Some here are hard core anti-Irish unionists like your description.

There's gob****es everywhere. That said, if i want a united Ireland, i have to bring even these people with me. Make them see why living in a united ireland is better than living in a rump statelet of a decomposing empire, that doesnt even want them anyway.

klaaaz wrote: »
    Why use scrap metal in the first place, it looks like that was deliberately used to represent the lower classes as they were cheap human sacrifice to the monarchy.

Notwithstanding the slaughter rateswere lower for the working classes, i dont see any idden message in the use of scrap, because its more worn out and aged, more used and discarded?

You don't think of all those soldiers who killed and suppressed here up until modern times being honoured and remembered?

Good for you. Your ability to block out the truth is quite impressive as well as your ability to block alternative viewpoints.

And your ability for Kathynewmanisms continues unabated.
    Chapeu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

This should be quoutes rvery time one of the usual "republican " representatives reply to these these threads!

Now im sure they will play republican bingo and spout their usual soundbite cliches straight from the SF online playbook but they will never understand that this is the reason most men chose to fight because this is what they believed in.

For a fella who's spends a lot of time playing Jingo Bingo you're very judgmental.:o

Maybe next, you're going to quote the finest Cork man to wear a British army uniform when he shared his thoughts about enlisting? Mr Tom Barry :)

Or is that too SF playbook for ye?:D

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Time to join the rest of us in the 21st century lads.

You really want to aim that remark at Britain since in about 4 months time it is about to take the biggest reactionary step in recent history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Could you be any more hysterical and dramatic?

Whats "depressing" is we still have people who see any gesture other than utter condemnation of all things British as "fawning and pandering" to Unionism.

But its not depressing. Its just embarrassing.

That is your comprehension failure, right there.

The British Army is not all things British.

But you probably can't comprehend that in the first place.

Oh that last line , didn't someone spout similar ****e as a vague threat to the approval of his acolytes and sycophants ?

Indeed. Here it is...

YOU will recognise some of the acolytes and sycophants who 'liked' the nonsense.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=108690549&postcount=15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Whiplash85

The revisionists trying to rewrite history again I see. These people that went fighting in WW1 were sold out by "passivist" John Redmond who liked to have his belly rubbed over in Westminister and was a proud upholder of Ireland's place in the United Kingdom. The people that joined the ranks of British Army were traitors. Some saw the light on the road to redemption and joined the Republican cause. Others continued in their allegiance to the King and squashed the rebellion.

In my opinion these people ceased being Irish.

The oath of allegiance that they swore back then tells you why...

"I ......... promise to be faithful and bear true Allegiance to His Majesty King George the Fifth, His Heirs, and Successors, and that I will, as in duty bound, honestly and faithfully defend His Majesty, His Heirs, and Successors, in Person, Crown and Dignity, against all enemies, and will ."

And your ability for Kathynewmanisms continues unabated.
    Chapeu

Chapeau.

He'd probably shed a tear at a Black and Tan statue.

The uniform would kinda/sorta remind him of his 'brave' ancestors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Indeed. Here it is...

YOU will recognise some of the acolytes and sycophants who 'liked' the nonsense.

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=108690549&postcount=15

Poor attempt.
    I think you really know who originally uttered those words.

Bambi wrote: »
    For a fella who's spends a lot of time playing Jingo Bingo you're very judgmental.:o

Maybe next, you're going to quote the finest Cork man to wear a British army uniform when he shared his thoughts about enlisting? Mr Tom Barry :)

Or is that too SF playbook for ye?:D

Two quotes attributed to the man...
    In June, in my seventeenth year, I had decided to see what this Great War was like. I cannot plead I went on the advice of John Redmond or any other politician, that if we fought for the British we would secure Home Rule for Ireland, nor can I say I understood what Home Rule meant. I was not influenced by the lurid appeal to fight to save Belgium or small nations. I knew nothing about nations, large or small. I went to the war for no other reason than that I wanted to see what war was like, to get a gun, to see new countries and to feel a grown man. Above all I went because I knew no Irish history and had no national consciousness.
    They said I was ruthless, daring, savage, blood thirsty, even heartless. The clergy called me and my comrades murderers; but the British were met with their own weapons. They had gone in the mire to destroy us and our nation and down after them we had to go.

Some on here know better, of course.

Poor attempt.
    I think you really know who originally uttered those words.

You are very pedestrian, do you know that ?

You're not much better .

As if to prove my point...

Go on , deliver us a few more of your entertaining quotes and comments.