Euronly official After Hours soccerball thread

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 11,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

buried wrote: »
    Sir Jamie Vardy of chav face house going to put a stop to the 50 years of hurt for them and the 50 years of laughter for everyone else

I don't know if he'll start but when he gets a run out I think he'll grab the chance. At 33's for top scorer he's worth a tenner of my money for fun.

45/1 combined England win and Vardy top scorer too.

Iceland to top the group 6/1
    Vardy top scorer 33/1
    Germany top scoring team 16/5

That's my tenner treble for a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Ireland to get zero points.

England to bottle it like usual when they play a decent side.

Italy to win it beating France in the final and Germany in the semi.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

humberklog wrote: »
    I don't know if he'll start but when he gets a run out I think he'll grab the chance. At 33's for top scorer he's worth a tenner of my money for fun.

45/1 combined England win and Vardy top scorer too.

Iceland to top the group 6/1
    Vardy top scorer 33/1
    Germany top scoring team 16/5

That's my tenner treble for a laugh.

Word on the streets is that Sterling is starting ahead of Vardy tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Story Bud?

FionnK86 wrote: »
    Explain?

There's 24 teams this year :D

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Word on the streets is that Sterling is starting ahead of Vardy tomorrow.

Yeah I reckon he's sub alright but banking on him getting a break and taking it. Going with his Roy of the Rovers ending to a so far very romantic season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭Barry Badrinath

I heard that if the group stages go to penalties...

...they are scrapping peno's and going to kerbs instead.

C'mon Ireland!

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Yeah I reckon he's sub alright but banking on him getting a break and taking it. Going with his Roy of the Rovers ending to a so far very romantic season.

I don't think he'll dislodge Kane in the England setup, if they are qualified after 2 games he'll get a start.

C'mon Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

I've gone for Aritz Aduriz for Spain top scorer at 33/1. Morata is more likely to start the games but can see Aduriz being brought in to crack defenses towards the end of games, or even the two of them upfront together, big, aggressive, and good in the air, scored a lot of goals for Athletic Bilbao this season.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

McGruber wrote: »
    I heard that if the group stages go to penalties...

...they are scrapping peno's and going to kerbs instead.

C'mon Ireland!

Apparently they've been practising "over the bread van" set pieces to take full advantage of the treble score.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    I don't think he'll dislodge Kane in the England setup, if they are qualified after 2 games he'll get a start.

C'mon Ireland

Yeah but at 33/1 I'm hoping for a Schillaci moment in time.

Apparently they've been practising "over the bread van" set pieces to take full advantage of the treble score.

Ooooh that's a good tactic.

The problem they will come into is, Georgia are allowed use the "1 bounce" rule. Whereas, Ireland are bound by the "no bounceys" rule.

It's not on like!

Ooooh that's a good tactic.

The problem they will come into is, Georgia are allowed use the "1 bounce" rule. Whereas, Ireland are bound by the "no bounceys" rule.

It's not on like!
    There needs to be some sort of international ruling on if the ball bounces off the kerb and comes all the way back to the throwee's hands.

I can't wait for kick off tonight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Have you ever played a game? The point is to best your opponent, it's why things like this exist. That's where the beauty lies. If you want something aesthetically appealing you'd probably be better off making a fresco or something.

Thanks - I obviously didn't know what a game is. Isn't wikipedia great? Do me a favour, look up 'patronising prat' on it.

Aaaaaaaah Jaaayziz! Happy thread, happy thread.

Can't wait! So many games I'm looking forward to seeing. England V Wales is one in particular.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

Im heading over on Sunday for the Sweden game cant wait..should be a great atmosphere with the Swedish fans too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭electrobanana

PTH2009 wrote: »
    apperently MON has given the team a day off today while Sweden and our other group opponents are training like dogs

simple irish mentality 'Ah ill let lads off to enjoy themselves it will be grand monday'

A lot of Lads gone for the piss up and the women to france could not give a toss about the football.

you sound like a lot of fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

LorMal wrote: »
    Thanks - I obviously didn't know what a game is. Isn't wikipedia great? Do me a favour, look up 'patronising prat' on it.

It asked did I mean "Patronising pratt," then when I clicked on that it said
    The page "Patronising pratt" does not exist. You can ask for it to be created, but consider checking the search results below to see whether the topic is already covered.

I checked the results below, but the topic does not appear to be covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

apperently MON has given the team a day off today while Sweden and our other group opponents are training like dogs

simple irish mentality 'Ah ill let lads off to enjoy themselves it will be grand monday'

A lot of Lads gone for the piss up and the women to france could not give a toss about the football.

It's important for players to have rest days when they're involved in training camps. Also it's good for them to spend time with their families and away from the group for a few hours.

Missus wouldn't let you go no? :P

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,569 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Story Bud? wrote: »
    \O/

A MONTH OF INTERNATIONAL (almost) FOOTBALL - IT'S SO EXCITING.

The TV is all set up in the office, the plans and arrangements have been made for the Ireland games. The sweepstake has been done (I'm not going to be winning that one).

Do you think we'll get out of the group?

What are your predictions?

If you're not into it, that's sound, there's probably a lacrosse forum somewhere that you can post in (if there is, I'm going to get shouted at by Mr. Cage).

It almost harder to NOT qualify for the round of 16 than to progress.
    There are 6 groups of 4, that's 24 and it gets pared down to 16. So top 2 go through from each group of 4 along with 4 of the 6 remaining 3rd places.
    Of course if we lose ALL our matches we lose the group and go home. But if 2 teams in the group both beat the other two teams a score to nil and then the last two team draw nil-all (and say Ireland is one of those teams) then effectively one of those two teams is in 3rd place and hasn't won a single game or even scored a single goal.

I'm not overly optimistic though. Ireland have a really hard group. A bit of luck will be needed and a bit of an off-day for the other team as well.

Ireland have the oldest team as well, average age 29....shower of antiques.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,980 ✭✭✭buried

Looking forward to the 'lovely stadium girls' compettion too, Russia always have a serious squad in for that

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I know this is why we're there but the whole expansion thing was a bit of a joke imo, it devalues the tournament when you have half of the continent qualifying.

The 16 team format worked fine.

Oh I can't wait for tonight. I'll have a big ol' bag of cans and a pack of those Thai Sweet Chilli crisps.

Good call!

I'll have the same but also a big sack of sour creme and onion hunky dory's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

I've seen this said a lot, The question is though why aren't all the hardcore Irish fans who just love the football here instead of people who just want a piss up,

Would you rather if people just went to the games and went straight back to their hotels to rewatch it and analyse?

Can all the buzzkills please fcuk off to Facebook and leave the rest of us to enjoy the Euros.

Juan8 wrote: »
    I've seen this said a lot, The question is though why aren't all the hardcore Irish fans who just love the football here instead of people who just want a piss up,

Would you rather if people just went to the games and went straight back to their hotels to rewatch it and analyse?

If you were young free and single and into football why wouldn't you go even if you had no ticket?

It's a football tournament with people from all over Europe (and the world) there, it's summertime and it's close by. You can be in Paris in an hour from Dublin airport or have a laugh on the overnight ferry from Rosslare....but the flights are probably cheaper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,060 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Can all the buzzkills please fcuk off to Facebook and leave the rest of us to enjoy the Euros.

Done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

€50 deposited into the Paddy Power account.

€10 on France @ 3/1, and 50c E/W on Wales at 80/1

Also have an accum to predict the top 2 teams in any order in each group. €1 bet with a €331 return.

Any other suggestions for the tournament. Thinking a Euro or two each day on an accum maybe, for the first round anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

HensVassal wrote: »
    If you were young free and single and into football why wouldn't you go even if you had no ticket?

It's a football tournament with people from all over Europe (and the world) there, it's summertime and it's close by. You can be in Paris in an hour from Dublin airport or have a laugh on the overnight ferry from Rosslare....but the flights are probably cheaper.

Exactly, I'm heading over Sunday and can't wait, I think some people are a bit jealous tbh

HensVassal wrote: »

I'd already be there if I was able to be.

I'm not sure what constitutes being a football fan these days, I like saying the words Pep Guardiola out loud in a sing songy voice so I think that counts for something.

(Try it, it's quite therapeutic).