Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gearbest Forum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

The Hot Leads Thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Looks like the head honchos have been attending the Tesco Mobile School Of Customer Service, conspicuous in their absence :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,339 ✭✭✭✭LoLth

I like the simpsons based string of event post :)

However I would prefer to imagine it as:

(note: I have been afk for a long time so my view of events may be missing some elements. Also **NOT POSTING AS AN ADMIN**NOT OFFICIAL STANCE**).

Gearbest-CEO: how do we advertise on the interwebs for cheap?

Gearbest-marketing: I have no soul! we encourage established users to promote our products thus building on their good reputation and taking advantage of the people that trust them

Gearbest-CEO: isnt that a bit....evil

Gearbest-marketing: your point being?

Gearbest-CEO: you got me there

Gearbest: Greetings trusted and respected user of internet forum 1001 on our list. Here is stuff, please lie to those that trust you and we will give you more of this stuff. Its not a big lie, just a little one

User: but I signed a terms of use agreement to not do exactly that

Gearbest: User of internet forum 1001 on our list, we have stuff. you want stuff. you would like your friends and followers and minions to want stuff you have. we want them to have stuff like stuff you have. let us give you stuff

User: stuuuuuuuuuufffffffff

User: Shill! Shill! Shill everything!

Boards: No Shill! bad shill! die shill!

User: oh noes. no fair. all I wantses is stuffs.

Boards: but you signed an agreement to not do that.

User: Was not I, Was Gearbest

Boards: we dont have an agreement with them if they want to advertise let them buy a banner or pay for an account. In the meantime, you broke the agreement you made with boards.

User: Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!

Boards: Yeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeees!

Boards: Gearbest, you gits. we dont like the way you do things.

Gearbest: really?

Boards: really. If you want to advertise here you must X Y Z blah blah blah blah

Gearbest: Really? if only we had known then we would not have corrupted poor innocent users. They obviously were unaware of their agreement with Internet Forum 1001 on our list or they would have refused our offer of stuff

Boards: pretty sure they would have said something

Gearbest: ah well. Not Gearbest's problem we have no agreement with Internet Forum 1001 on our list. But you say such agreement is possible?

Boards: yup.

Gearbest: we give you money as requested, we post everywhere we want! no more users required. no more intermediaries. let the post posts commence. muhahahhhahahaha the End is Nigh!

Boards: emm what?

Gearbest: The End. its a new product and we want to sell it. its coming soon.

Boards: ok, not weird at all.

Gearbest: really?

Boards: have you not read After hours?

Gearbest: No. not yet. let me....Oh dear God!

AHmod: ah here. thats not fair LoLth. you're always doing that.

LoLth: oops. habit. sorry AH mods and users! <-- yes, that's deadpool levels of meta going on right there. In text form. Take that Ryan Renolds!

Gearbest: ahem. If I may continue..... we shall make all the posts!

Boards: emm, not all the posts. you can post in a dedicated rep forum where users can ask you questions about your products and services

Gearbest: but we want to show users our stuff

Boards: you can buy a banner ad.

Gearbest: "baaaannn nerrrrr aaaaad". what is this banner ad you speak of...

Boards: its a picture that people see and..

Gearbest: it move under their mouse so they click on it and it autodownloads digital shiny stuff ads?

Boards: no

Gearbest: it melts their RFID shielding on their wallets so we can then...

Boards: no

Gearbest: Its a picture

Boards: with a link

Gearbest: to what?

Boards: you

Gearbest: 1 sec

Gearbest-CEO: what you think Dark minion?

Gearbest-marketing: I want to post stuuuuff

Gearbest-CEO: yeah, but picture. with link.

Gearbest-marketing: stuuuuuuuuuuuuf!

Gearbest-CEO: ok ok.

Gearbest: Ok Boards. How can we post stuff?

Boards: how about you buy a forum from us? But you can ONLY post stuff in that forum and you cannot corrupt users and you have to obey rules...

Gearbest: how much will this cost?

Boards: $$€£

Gearbest: done

Boards: now you know you are signing an agreement. you will need to obey it.

Gearbest: Take our money now!

Boards: ok. lets see how this goes.

Users: emmm WTF?

Boards: what?

Users: you hate Gearbest!

Boards: we did. when they were attacking us

Users: but they paid you off...

Boards: we've always said shills can buy advertising if they want to advertise. always. even after they shill.

Users: so you'll unban the users that shilled?

Boards: How can we? they broke their user agreement and shilled.

Users: but Gearbest...thats a double standard!

Boards: no. Gearbest had no agreement with boards. The users did. that's two different sets of rules right there and there's nothing we can do about that. Gearbest now have an agreement with boards and they will have to abide by it. NOW Gearbest is in the same set of rules as the users that shilled.

Users: but but... that doesnt feel right

Boards: I know, right? its freaky! Its exactly what we have always said we would like to happen, minus the banned users, but a shill becomes a paying supporter of the community

Users: but.. users vs corporate

Boards: emmm, we're corporate and we support users. ok we dont always see eye to eye but we do ultimately provide a platform for users. It does need to be paid for somehow though. families to feed, servers to power, bandwidth to provision, data protection to maintain. It all costs.

Users: ok, but the banned users

Boards: were banned for breach of the terms of use that everyone agreed to.

Users: but Gearbest!

Boards: did not agree to the terms of use and had not actually posts.

Users: aha! they did! that account..

Boards: was banned.

Users: we're not happy about this

Boards: we can see that. Its unfortunate but all that has happened here is that the rules got applied as we have always said they would be. Is this not the consistency that users have posted about in feedback when they feel it is missing?

Users: well yes but...ethics!

Boards: from an online marketing strategy? really? they didnt try to destroy boards, they sought to use it. Now they can, in the way WE want them to use it.

and then LoLth returned from his wanderings and posted a post in feedback that ushered in the golden age of civility and mutual respectful deliberation of opposing opinions ans all milk turned to chocolate and all chocolate turned to milk and , after the mops were cleaned, much rejoicing was had throughout the land. Except for the cows. they were just very confused. And the biologists. They had to re-study all their stuff. They hated LoLth for this and set about exacting their revenge by first sending an email to the head of the international coagulation of marshmallow producing entrepenuers . but thats a story for another day.

A side note: I dont like Gearbest's advertising practices. I really dont. Thankfully, with their posts confined to a single sub-forum its actually going to take more effort for me to see their ads than it will be to ignore them :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭Digital Solitude

You left out the part where Dav went to town on a kid over shilling, but it seems solid

*Edit* That last part is poetry, you're wasting talent posting on boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭Edward Hopper

A years worth of words in that post.

Dav also enticed people to come clean, led them to think this could be their redemption, sell out other uses after which, nothing. They remained banned. Boards version of McCarthyism ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

At a time when boards.ie is losing credibility and becoming a bit of a laughing stock on the internet, taking money from gearbest will do more harm than good. I personally wouldn't trust any company that acted like gearbest did, for boards to promote them for money is crazy. A few people in this thread mentioned reputation being more important than money sometimes, it must be very hard times for boards if they needed the few pound gearbest offered.
    Thank you for all your response. People changed, and I promise we will never make the same mistake.
    On behalf of gearbest, I am here to solve all your problem with gearbest.
    If that was posted in the prison forum, Gordon would take the píss out of you for weeks.

I don't know what happened with Gearbest, but I absolutely love the thought of their being added to the swear filter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

hqdefault.jpg

Seriously though, I can understand peoples reactions based on the big song and dance made by Dav re the shilling by members but if giving Gearbest their own little corner of Boards that I don't have to click into, means I don't have to see additional intrusive banner ads and the like then I'm all for it.

Alot of people around here are so bloody trigger happy with the outrage nowadays.

The sense of entitlement that some people seem to have about the site is highly amusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

I'm glad that Gearbest have changed their ways and have stopped paying people money to advertise on boards.

In fact, looking at their site, they offer great value on 4k IP Cameras. I found this code: NGGYU16 that offers an additional 20% off orders.

Gearbest great company, make good value for all and halp people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    I'm glad that Gearbest have changed their ways and have stopped paying people money to advertise on boards.

In fact, looking at their site, they offer great value on 4k IP Cameras. I found this code: NGGYU16 that offers an additional 20% off orders.

Gearbest great company, make good value for all and halp people.

I bought that camera , i cant believe how good it is! Amazing and good value longtime!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Users: "Why the change in stance Dav?"

Dav: "Let's just say they moved me... TO A BIGGER HOUSE!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

387752.jpg

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭polluxspiky

As a matter of interest, if <snip> mailed you a cheque would they be removed from the filter and get their own forum?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭polluxspiky

As a matter of interest, if <snip> mailed you a cheque would they be removed from the filter and get their own forum?
    Amazing how you have time to manually censor posts but no time to answer the question.
    Overworked mods eh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,451 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

Amazing how you have time to manually censor posts but no time to answer the question.
    Overworked mods eh.

Mods can't answer that question. You would need a response from the office. Being a sunny Saturday afternoon I am sure they are enjoying their bank holiday weekend taking a break from work in the sunshine (or locked in a dark room playing video games).
    I know I haven't checked anything to do with my day job yet today and don't plan to until Monday.
    Go out and enjoy yourself man. There is plenty of time to complain here*

*I do see the irony here btw but I'm just on my way out the door ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Hands up guys, I set that sub forum up last week in Sponsored Threads and had intended making an announcement about it before it went live properly (it's to be moved) but ye obviously spotted it. As we similarly try with businesses who sign up an account to promote themselves either blatantly or via shilling, we have managed to convert Gearbest into a paying customer. Happy days.

Another company for you to moderate on behalf of as they **** over boards.ie users. Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Nothing has changed except the recipient of the money :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

Nothing has changed except the recipient of the money :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

I vaguely remember this incident last year and from reading this thread unless this company are offering a priceless sum of money this looks like a really really bad business decision. The sites asset is its users. To suddenly welcome with open arms a site that users were banned from mentioning due to money changing hands does not look good at all.

To go all biblical on you I think the passage here might be apt

''For what shall it profit a man, if he shall gain the whole world, and lose his own soul?"

People are fickle, they don't like to feel they are being ignored. The site has gotten feedback recently from users that consultancy companies would charge you through the nose for, however it's hard to feel any of it is being listened to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,223 ✭✭✭✭thesandeman

Users: "Why the change in stance Dav?"

Dav: "Let's just say they moved me... TO A BIGGER HOUSE!"

Daft Dav?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

Polo_Mint wrote: »
    lol

This thread to me looks like this

Polo_Mint, you have too much on your hands... and I like it! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭Brendan Flowers

Banned users
    Regarding users previously banned for shilling Gearbest - I already answered this earlier in the thread but I'll repeat myself - those people were members of Boards who violated on of the rules of boards. Ergo, they were banned and will remain so. Gearbest were not members of the site, they did not agree to any Terms of Use and they have now both apologised for their part in it and asked to work with us and the boards community.

Hi Niamh, that's a fair point. But I was wondering could you clarify 1 thing? If there was proof that Gearbest had actually set up fake accounts on Boards in the past that were ultimately banned, would that affect them being part of the Boards community now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,896 ✭✭✭Sacksian

Hi Niamh, that's a fair point. But I was wondering could you clarify 1 thing? If there was proof that Gearbest had actually set up fake accounts on Boards in the past that were ultimately banned, would that affect them being part of the Boards community now?

Well, if Gearbest had set up fake accounts, then they would have agreed to the Terms of Use as members, before then violating one of the rules of the site.

Presumably, if proof existed they did that, then they would be retrospectively banned and remain so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

an uncomfortable question, to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Don't expect answers to those questions lads, Gearbest are paying now so their record is totally expunged.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,867 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

They have got great publicity from it anyhow. I had never heard of them until this blew up in the last week or so as I obviously missed the previous kerfuffle.

Never heard of gearbest before this forum and had to Google their name. This thread is pretty good advertising for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,135 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

5starpool wrote: »
    They have got great publicity from it anyhow. I had never heard of them until this blew up in the last week or so as I obviously missed the previous kerfuffle.

They come across as a quality professional website. No reason to avoid them at all.

Can the company be recommended?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Can the company be recommended?

I see the rep is doing their utmost to promote their professionalism and high repute anyway. You'd wonder why they ever have to resort to shilling in the first place.