If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Four Year Plan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Thanks for the ideas - basically I just need to get my sh 1 t together and get organised instead of throwing leaves in a container and hoping for the best*

This weekend it will happen, honest!

*not actually that bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

My usual lunch salad is pretty filling: Mixed leaves, beetroot, raw pepper, almonds, tuna or salmon or goats cheese, balsamic vinegar. I'll have rye bread toasted with some almond butter too. Nom!

Thanks for the tips and suggestions guys. This week I switched to a slightly larger lunchbox and had: mixed leaves; spinach; beetroot; cucumber; spring onion; grated carrot; cooked chicken; flaked almonds and broccoli - was yum and more importantly it kept me full, especially when I added a handful of nuts to my afternoon fruit snack.

Have spent the week in lab on intensive gis course - all my non dept friends are like, at last you are doing something that sounds like actual geography!! :rolleyes:

Mon: Rest
    Tues: Easy run 4k - OH came with which was great for keeping it slow but did mean a walking break for 500m after 1500m
    Wed: Apparently making maps is bloody tiring - by the time I got home was wrecked, in bed by 9 slept for 9 long lovely hours
    Thur: Easy run 5k - energy return after my lovely sleep; great evening out did 5k easy (avg pace 6:35 /km). This running slow business is hard but I am mostly getting the hang of it. Operation GS2GF* starts next week in advance of the boards marathon plan in June.

Rest of the week - rest tomorrow; might check out Tramore Parkrun on Saturday and see how I feel on sunday - long walk or short run.

*Go slower to go further

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

spaceylou wrote: »
    Operation GS2GF* starts next week in advance of the boards marathon plan in June.

*Go slower to go further

Straight to the top of the class with you :) love it!!

Firedance wrote: »
    Straight to the top of the class with you :) love it!!

I'm gonna go out on a limb here and say you love everything today after your good news! :D

Yes plus wine :D

Week Ending 22 May

Still working on getting my mojo back after bug few weeks ago but getting there.

Monday
    AM: stretching and rehab
    Rest

Tuesday
    PM: Easy run 4.07km at avg 7:15/km

Wednesday
    PM: unplanned rest and marathon sleep

Thursday
    PM: Easy run 5.17km at avg 6:35/km

Friday
    PM: Planned rest

Saturday
    Park Run Tourism
    In Waterford for the weekend so figured I might as well try out the local Park Run in Tramore. Fabulous morning, blue sky, and lovely sunshine, wind but no wind would mean no waves. Was running late so only got 2k warm up in and it was run too fast...sorry Nop; sorry Firedance! Plan was not to race this but also to go faster than operation GS2GF pace and enjoy the views.

Most of the first K was into the wind along the prom, turn around a traffic cone, back along the prom with the wind at my back - nice! This was the fastest K at 5:40. The middle 3 k are two laps of a trail loop, mostly compacted trail but with a few spots of sandy trail (although not proper beach) and little bumps. Lovely views out over the back strand :D.

Had great plans to go for it on last K but that was before I realised the state of the surface. It is a loop of a space that is unpaved and is used as a carpark although not busy at this time of the day. So very bumpy underfoot, lots of pot holes etc. Finishes with a straight run to the finish and last couple hundred metres back on the prom. Finishing time of 29:48.

Followed by delicious sausage blaa and coffee overlooking some cool surfers take in the waves. :cool:

Sunday

PM: 19k walk along the new Waterford Greenway from Bilberry to Kilmeaden and back again.

Total Running Week: 16.64 km

Week ahead
    Daily stretching and rehab
    Massage - Monday
    Easy running - Tues - Thur
    Easy swimming - Fri
    LSR - Sat
    Maybe rec or swim - Sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

blaa... perfect recovery food :)

It was delicious - yum yum yum :p

Slow start to the week.

Monday:
    AM: stretching, rehab etc
    PM: torture session sports massage
    Once again, my back, especially upper back (from desk and driving) were super tight as were my gluts which left little time for ironing out the kinks in my legs - only solution I can see is to get more frequent massages and find a house with a bath for regular soaking. :D Lets see if the wallet can stretch!

Tuesday
    Rest (unintended)
    Back was quite sore after yesterday although hot water bottle at desk did help ease out the muscles. Did plan an easy run in the evening but was pretty tired after a crappy night's sleep.

Have started tracking my RHR and most mornings it is 60 (although has been as low as 58 the odd morning), despite no hangover after wine on Saturday night was 66 :eek: Tuesday morning was 64 after a crappy night sleep and the arrival of auntie flo. This morning back to 60. Really interesting to track and I was really surprised at the impact alcohol had on it, even though as I said I didn't have a hangover. Wonder will it move into the 50s as training progresses over the summer.

Runners etc with me today so plan a nice jaunt around Maynooth for a change this afternoon.

I find resting HR to be a great indicator of general wellness and/or fitness. Definitely affected by alcohol, even small amounts, and stress, tiredness pending lurgy etc. I'd say you'll notice a big difference as you go through Operation GSTGF.

ha ha yeah, even one glass of wine the night before will see mine slightly raised in the morning - it's a good incentive to curtail during your marathon training (if you want to only!) you can imagine how those few BPM higher will impact your 16, 18 & 20 milers..... Mine was 61 the other morning after a few glasses of wine the night before and restless sleep, it was 53 this morning after no wine and a full nights sleep :)

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    I find resting HR to be a great indicator of general wellness and/or fitness. Definitely affected by alcohol, even small amounts, and stress, tiredness pending lurgy etc. I'd say you'll notice a big difference as you go through Operation GSTGF.
    Firedance wrote: »
    ha ha yeah, even one glass of wine the night before will see mine slightly raised in the morning - it's a good incentive to curtail during your marathon training (if you want to only!) you can imagine how those few BPM higher will impact your 16, 18 & 20 milers..... Mine was 61 the other morning after a few glasses of wine the night before and restless sleep, it was 53 this morning after no wine and a full nights sleep :)

It's a bit mad really - the human body is constantly astounding me.

Re alcohol, I am not a big drinker so doubt I'll bother making the effort to be TeeTotal for all the training but is interesting to see the effects even a small amount can have and will be conscious of it in the coming months. Also makes me wonder what my heart rate would be like if I went cold-turkey on caffeine but currently not a snow balls chance in hell of that happening. I am going to try my utmost to keep it to just the one cup of coffee a day though and herbal and/or decaf teas only in the afternoons.

Operation GS2GF - Lovely Evening Run

Such a great evening for a run. Stuck mostly on campus exploring some of the trails and various nucks and crannys saw moo cows and the tiniest, cutiest baby bunnies!! :eek: Am such a city gal!

Needed to keep an eye on the time so had the watch on time screen and somehow managed to loose track of how far I had run. Really thought I had only run just over 5k but turns out it was 6.35 at avg 6:47/km - perfect easy pace. :cool:

Off now to continue my love/hate relationship with Mr Foam Roller

Odd run today, kept it easy again although in the middle did drift towards too fast for easy pace but dialled it back for final km. Felt cold all morning so put on a long sleeve top and while I never felt too warm once I'd pushed sleeves up a little, I feel as though i sweated buckets!! Maybe it's more humid than I thought.

Anyway 5k easy back in Dublin 6, at avg 6:35/km

Splits: 6:45; 6:30; 6:25 (tut tut); 6:28; 6:46.

Usual stretching and rehab this morning plus few stretches after run and after all the food talk on some logs round here a very yummy peanut butter and date thingy.

Once I am back from holidays will be starting to ramp up these LSRs in preparation for DCM so decided to head out today for 8 - 10 k and do it at proper LSR pace. Glorious morning, and most of the time I felt like I could have run at this pace for hours (once I had some water) which I guess is the point but geeze, I have never run so slow before!! I was running over an hour and hadn't even hit 10k - I need to make sure the LSRs are at least partly on a new route every week or I'll get sooo bored!! The kms closest to home were the fastest and the ones by Dodder and in Bushy park with trails and obstacles were the slowest - feel as though effort was fairly constant.

9.34 km @ avg 7:02/km total running time 1:04:41
    1. 6:36
    2. 6:55
    3. 7:00
    4. 7:00
    5. 7:18
    6. 7:46 (these two had uneven terrain and dog shaped obstacles)
    7. 6:59
    8. 6:58
    9. 6:56
    10. 2:09 (340m)

Seen as these are all about trying things out and practicing what works...

Learnings from today

1. If that big red ball is in the sky and I plan on being out for more thank half an hour - bring water!!

2. The gap between eating breakfast and heading out the door is perfect for stretching and making pizza dough but probably not long enough for bread as well - especially when I forget the rising agent! Doh! :o

3. Always be prepared for idiots. Some irresponsible idiot was cycling with three young kids on a super narrow path along the dodder with a drop into the river on one side and walled in greenery full of nettles on the other, when there is a proper cycle path mere meters away!! :mad: I told him off so he's probably at home this evening complaining about the crazy runner he encountered earlier!

Week Beginning 23 May

Round up of the week. Started slow, but ended on a high - think I have my mojo back!

Mon - Sports Massage - all kinds of torture but overall good :D
    Tues - Rest (unintended)
    Wed - 6.35k easy run
    Thur - 5k easy run
    Fri - Rest (planned)
    Sat - 9.34k LSR
    Sun 3.59k Rec

Totals
    Total for Week: 24.37k
    Total for Month: 63.51k
    Total for Year: 310.3k

Next Week
    Mon - easy run
    Tues - travel
    Wed - Sun: hot weather training walking from Lisbon to Porto - this will continue for all the following week. Will be walking around 30k a day so no running planned.

Monday 30 May

Another lovely morning out there! 2k cycle to gym, ditch the bag etc and headed out for an easy run. Plan was 5k but ended up being 6k. Overall average pace 6:24 but I must confess I ran a bit too fast in the middle. In saying that, there were frequent traffic light stops (darn canal) so the effort was easy. Followed by a lovely relaxing dip in the pool and some time in the sauna. Managed to get them both at the perfect time, had lane to myself and sauna to myself, cycle back home to delicious oat pancakes - love this holiday business :D

End of the month so time for a table:

| 2015|2016
    Jan|?|52.32
    Feb|?|93.96
    Mar|13.65|67.25
    Apr|70.77|33.25
    May|27.41|69.52
    Jun|123.11|
    July|52.36|
    Aug|20.24|
    Sep|17.53|
    Oct|21.75|
    Nov|11.03|
    Dec|12.29|

Holiday Update

The Camino has broken me!! The walking was actually fine, could have kept doing that, not a bother if my body hadn't had a hissy fit because of the heat.

Day 1: 31.5k in 32/34 C tired but happy, strange heat rash starting on backs of legs, better keep them out of direct sun tomorrow.

Day 2: 30.6k all good to lunch but down hill after that, rash spreading, sweat feels like drops of acid on skin, excruciating to touch and worryingly it's making my calfs feel tight!! Had a low point somewhere in the afternoon under a bridge in middle of nowhere, declared no more 30k days.

Day 3: 1.5k to train, 20min on train, 3ish k to town centre and hostel... Rash starting to fade by night time.

Day 4: Rest with casual strolling round cute town of santarem, twas my birthday after all! Legs much improved, lets go again.

Day 5: 24k...legs have that feeling of being on fire again, can't find a friggin place to stay (so much for no more 30k days), enlist help of the gang of old men chatting in village square, luckily one speaks English.... Kinda... Still no joy though. Have a coca cola, ponder what to do, decide to ask auld lads about bus, they laugh but a taxi is phoned and we get driven to next slightly larger town and find hostel. Upon inspection, legs now look as though I have been dipped in something poisonous and then splashed with more acid. I am not a cry baby but jebus that hurts!! For anyone with a delicate disposition, be glad I can't post photos from my phone!

And so ended my Camino :( we are now back-packing around central Portugal, using all sorts of motorised transport. I am fretting that I don't have proper running gear with me (although could prob run in my walking shoes) and OH thinks I am crazy! He might be right :D

Ouch, that sounds nasty! Hope you're feeling a bit better now ? Personally finding it very tough here in about 22 degrees so can't imagine trekking in temps at least 10 degrees higher :eek:. Enjoy the rest of your holiday and don't worry, I'm sure it'll be raining here when you get back :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Popped in here hoping to hear about the wonders of the Camino.... Sorry to hear about your experience... Do you think it was just the heat? Which sounds horrific...

Aw no :( really sorry to hear that Lou, hopefully you recover quickly enough. *cough cough - don't go running in your walking shoes - cough cough* :p Enjoy the rest of your trip & belated happy birthday!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

hope the rest of the trip is better than the start. hope you are taking antihistamines
    Belated Happy Birthday!!

Thanks everyone, I was feeling a tad sorry for myself last night, it's been mostly great and now we've decided to get trains instead of walk, no reason why it won't all be great! Haha.

Will def come back (cooler time of year) to try again, really lovely countryside, cute towns, super friendly people and I will not be beaten by a walk! :)

Oh Log, I am sorry for the neglect - blame the real world.

Rest of holiday was lovely although I took Firedance's advice and didn't try to run in my walking shoes. TBH with all the allergy meds (turns out the prickly heat was hiding some insect bites as well) I wasn't feeling 100% so lots of tourist site walking, eating fresh fish, salads etc and relaxing!

Last 10 days I have been back in Ireland but running was a bit hap hazard - couple of easy runs, none longer than 6k AND met my new niece who was born while I was away. She is adorable - and I am not a big fan of babies! I fear she may have us all wrapped around her little finger already!

Week Beginning 27 June - Start of Marathon Training :eek:

Pre-play running has not gone according to plan so while I am starting with the boards plan, I am aware that I don't have the millage in the legs I had hoped and so if my body starts objecting too much, it won't be the end of the world if I drop back the millage and follow the HH1 plan, even if it does look kinda boring without any speed(ier) stuff at all. The aim after all is to get to the start line in one piece, run DCM and enjoy DCM - I'll worry about times if I decide to do a second marathon.

Plan
    M - cross (easy swim and sauna)
    T - 5k easy
    W - 6.5k easy with 5 x strides
    T - 5k easy
    F - Rest
    S - 13k LSR
    S - 3 - 5k Rec

Am at a wedding on Saturday in Galway but we are going down the day before so will have plenty of time to get out and do my 13k in the morning. Depending on the weather, levels of tiredness and what the other half fancies Sunday's recovery run might end up being more of a longer recovery walk - still the body will be moving.

Now off to double check I have calculated all the distances in the plan correctly and to figure out when I might have to be creative to fit in runs. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

.. Depending on the weather, levels of tiredness and what the other half fancies Sunday's recovery run might end up being more of a longer recovery walk - still the body will be moving.

good to see you back and getting back into it.

I'm sure you didn't mean the weather will dictate whether you get a run in or not....as you know yourself Irish weather can be interesting:rolleyes:, so never let the weather stop you from a run, unless its ice or snow and then safety first!!!and im hoping there'll be no ice or snow for this Marathon training cycle!!!:eek::eek::eek:

you also have to get a bit selfish when marathon training and follow the plan, not what others fancy....not trying to be cruel here but when it comes to longer runs later in the plan you will just have to suit yourself and fit them in!!!

Hi Anne, points taken and I won't be so lassez faire about the key runs each week. My understanding of the plan however is that the recovery runs while advisable are to some degree optional. Also it won't be bad weather putting me off, more if its a fabulous day and the wilds of co galway start calling us for a nice long walk :D
    Younganne wrote: »
    im hoping there'll be no ice or snow for this Marathon training cycle!!!:eek::eek::eek:

I bloody well hope not!! :eek:

Marathon Training Week 1 - Start 27 June

Monday
    Plan was cross training but between one thing and another I never made it to the pool, sadly I don't think walk into town and mad dash round the shops looking for an outfit counts as cross training

Tuesday
    Plan said 5k easy, so that is what I did. Wasn't really feeling the love on this one but overall was fine.

Wednesday
    Plan said 6.5 k easy with 5 x 100m strides. It never happened, life nonsense got in the way.

Thursday
    Plan said 5k easy but I figured it might be better to do Wednesday's run and miss Thursday's if any were to be missed. Was evening before I got out, and between too much coffee and no running since Tuesday was all gittery so took a while to settle into the run - as a result ran too fast and was <6min/k for one km so decided that could be the fast bit and skipped the strides at the end.

Friday
    Rest

Saturday
    Plan was 13k LSR. We were in Galway for a wedding so got up early and did this before breakfast etc. Fueling wise, had a banana before I went, a yop directly afterwards, with B&B breakfast within an hour, followed by a nap - felt fine. Some cross training on the dance floor later in the day.

Sunday
    Plan has recovery runs on Sunday's which are advisable but not 100 per cent compulsory. Had intended doing this but after long car journey back is quite stiff so I think better served by stretching and an early night.

Summary
    1 x LSR
    1 x Med Run with speedy bit
    1 x Easy Run
    4 x Streching and Rehab

Must do better

Totals
    Week: 25.11
    Month To Date (Jul): 13.3
    Year To Date: 347.6

Next Week

M: Cross (Swim and maybe Pilates)
    T: 5k Easy
    W: 8k with 5@ pace
    T: 5k Recovery
    F: Rest
    S: 16k LSR
    S: 3 - 5k Recovery

Daily: Stretching, rehab exercise, foam rolling

So my 8k with 5 at pace was a bit off this morning. Plan was 1.5k warm-up; 5k pace; 1.5k cool down but when I turned on my watch realised the workout had failed to upload properly so I wouldn't have the watch reminding me of paces. Rather than do the maths involved with changing pace at 1.5k I decided 2k warm up; 5 pace; 1 and a bit cool down.

KMs 1 - 2 - grand, nice and easy as I tried shrugg off the effects of wine last night (have guests this week) and general tiredness.
    KMs 3 - 5 - my PMP is 6:15 but as it is nigh on impossible to hit on an exact pace and stick to it, I figured if I settled into anything between 6:00 and 6:20 but as close to 6:15 as possible - I'd be happy. Without the watch beeping at me for going to fast I settled into 5:40-5:45/km - opps.
    KM 6 - started to feel the effects of fast pace so concentrated on maintaining my pace to run consistent splits, except that seems to have made me run faster 5:28 - opps again
    KM 7 - Maintained pace for about 800m at which point my legs told me to eff off 6:22
    KM 8 (plus about 200m) - nice and easy again.

So I ran too fast, which seems to not have done me any harm today but might another day - tut tut tut. Also clear that I cannot maintain 5:30-5:40 pace at the moment, nor is it my planned pace so it shouldn't feature in my training!