Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Tower Bar - Off Topic Chat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

In fairness overall Destiny has saved me a fortune as I haven't bought anywhere near as many games in the past two years. I did buy some silver for stupid dances and the sparrow manual but I'm certainly better off financially because of it.

Alien Isolation is way too scary for me. Had a game years ago on the pc that was Alien based. It was very basic but it had that scanner from Aliens that beeped faster the closer they got. Still freaks me out.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

gimli2112 wrote: »
    In fairness overall Destiny has saved me a fortune as I haven't bought anywhere near as many games in the past two years. I did buy some silver for stupid dances and the sparrow manual but I'm certainly better off financially because of it.

Alien Isolation is way too scary for me. Had a game years ago on the pc that was Alien based. It was very basic but it had that scanner from Aliens that beeped faster the closer they got. Still freaks me out.

Just get an adult nappy youll be grand :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

gimli2112 wrote: »
    In fairness overall Destiny has saved me a fortune as I haven't bought anywhere near as many games in the past two years.

My Backlog:
    1. Fallout 4 - played a good bit, but still only very early in the story.
    2. The Division - Level 12..
    3. The Witcher - played the first campaign.
    4. Star-Wars Battlefront - unopened.
    5. Bloodborne - unopened.

To be fair, the one reason I keep coming back to Destiny: I have very little time to myself in the evenings, so even if I have 30 mins - 1 hour, I can get a lot done in Destiny and usually have a bit of craic doing it.

It's hard to pick up a game like The Witcher and get totally immersed in the game, when you know you've only got 30 mins.
    It's very easy to pick up bounties and play 2 games in the Crucible if you only have 30 mins.

That doesn't even take into account the social aspect of it, you know if you're skipping the raid you're going to be missing out on some serious craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,426 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Ah yes Fallout 4 was a significant casualty too. I am however playing a fair bit of the Division and have two characters levelled up to 30. The second character felt painfully grindy which coming from a Destiny player you'll know means something.

Fallout 4 is a huge game in fairness, I've spent a lot of time just wandering the Wasteland, killing things. It's one of those games I may never finish (I've never finished Skyrim, etc.).

I found with the Division, it was very hard to get get it started / get into the missions.
    I'd log on, with an hour or so to play and find that I was a level 8 - but the next mission was level 10. So I'd have to run around looking for encounters to rank up.
    While I enjoyed the missions, I just felt like I should at least have been able to go from mission to mission to rank up, without having to grind side missions.

Sure it wasn't a big deal really, but when you know you don't have much time to play a game and have to make a choice - a few games in the Crucible, or grinding side missions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,470 ✭✭✭SolvableKnave

Since Destiny, I've bought, and returned, F4 (Fell asleep playing it) - Witcher 3 - Bloodbourne - D3.

Have yet to complete Batman Arkham whatever

Have yet to open Borderland HJC.

Have given up on The Division. Game looks great, just cannot get into it. Think I've 1 char at 25/18 or something like that. The DZ was good idea, just didn't work out as intended, and then the ongoing coc-ups they're having fixing $hit that should have been caught in QC, all the exploiters and lack of action to relevel the playing field. I just wish I hadn't got the season pass. Learnt my lesson there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Have yet to open Borderland HJC.

Great game, I'll be going back to this tonight. Handy in terms of being able to just lob it on for an hour or whatever too when I'm not playing Destiny

Cormac... wrote: »
    Great game, I'll be going back to this tonight. Handy in terms of being able to just lob it on for an hour or whatever too when I'm not playing Destiny

Had B3 on the PS3. Loved it. The art style. The Humour. Game played brilliantly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

My backlog includes :

Bloodborne (mocks me daily on my PS4 menu screen)

Tearaway (will start it eventually)

Arkham Knight - got bored with car parts

The Order - got it for 6 quid on US store, 38GB download putting me off!

@Solvable - yeah you can pop in that 2TB sucker from Argos and put your old one into the caddy, just pop the sides of it with a knife ..

Fieldog wrote: »
    @Solvable - yeah you can pop in that 2TB sucker from Argos and put your old one into the caddy, just pop the sides of it with a knife ..

I think mammy's staff discount will be coming in to play here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,107 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

I bought the division and never even opened the box - the beta was ok, but the more I heard about the DZ the less I want to play it - feels to late to get started with it now, just not arsed! I may buy the Uncharted collection (never finished 3) and uncharted 4 - when I can get them both a bit cheaper.

I think mammy's staff discount will be coming in to play here.

My weekend is now kinda sorted. Have the young lads 2nd birthday to organise too, so defo by next weekend I'll have either a working 2TB PS4, or a very expensive collection of materials.

So, download the firmware to a flash drive, save ps4 data to the cloud, swaparooney, load firmware, download the cloud, Destiny, profit.

so defo by next weekend I'll have either a working 2TB PS4, or a very expensive collection of materials.

2TB drive no longer on sale. Back up to €97. Might just splash out the extra €30 for the 4TB version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,045 ✭✭✭sniper_samurai

2TB drive no longer on sale. Back up to €97. Might just splash out the extra €30 for the 4TB version.

Ps4 doesn't work properly with HDDs over 2TB, causes problems with rest mode. Also that 4TB HDD won't fit in a PS4, its 2mm thicker than a standard 2.5'' drive.

Back to the 2TB it is so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭OptimusTractor

Back to the 2TB it is so

A vicious circle, isn't it.

I just delete games. Keeping it slim and trim at 500GB
    #StorageGoals #CountingTerabytes #LeanLivingPS4

• Closed Accounts Posts: 714 ✭✭✭PlainP

I just delete games. Keeping it slim and trim at 500GB
    #StorageGoals #CountingTerabytes #LeanLivingPS4

What about all those montage clips you have. I'm sure your HD is stuffed to the gills with them at this stage :P

PlainP wrote: »
    What about all those montage clips you have. I'm sure your HD is stuffed to the gills with them at this stage :P

Yeah.... about like 40GBs :/

To be fair, most of that is before I figured out you could reduce the record time from the default of 15 mins.

Plus back a year ago I would have been like "Yeah I got 3 guys on the Heavy Ammo, I'm gonna record that"

It'll probably be pretty cringe when I go back looking at them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭OptimusTractor

PlainP wrote: »

No excuses anymore now that you can upload directly to YouTube.

To be honest I don't think the clips exist.

Plus back a year ago I would have been like "Yeah I got 3 guys on the Heavy Ammo, I'm gonna record that"

It'll probably be pretty cringe when I go back looking at them

Now it's only the Seventh Columns and Lighthouse trips.

No excuses anymore now that you can upload directly to YouTube

I didn't know that
    Now it's only the Seventh Columns and Lighthouse trips.

I probably didn't even record the lighthouse trip.

The Seventh Column I went and got a bloody USB Flash Drive to get it off the PS$ cause I doesn't recognise any of my many external drives :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭nocal

Wow. Did you get a Seventh Column. I never knew that.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

I didn't know that

I probably didn't even record the lighthouse trip.

The Seventh Column I went and got a bloody USB Flash Drive to get it off the PS$ cause I doesn't recognise any of my many external drives :/

Probably the formatting was wrong on them for the PS4?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,045 ✭✭✭sniper_samurai

jonnycivic wrote: »
    Probably the formatting was wrong on them for the PS4?

Yeah, the PS4 can't read drives formatted in NTFS, it needs to be in the archaic FAT32 or exFAT formats.

Tried that, even those won't be recognised if they are over over 32GB (I think) and I didn't have anything that small.

OH look at me with my big thing :P

jonnycivic wrote: »
    OH look at me with my big thing :P

You know what those Corkonian Langers are like.

Turn based strategists, Civilization 6 arrives October 21st this year. Here's the announcement trailer. No in game footage just yet, just quite a nice monologue from what sounds like Sean Bean?