If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tell us about your cycle Yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 mattdi22le

Lucan up to sally gap today, had planned on staying out for 100k, descending down from the gap the Blessington side when i broke a spoke was doing 65-70kph at the time, i actually thought frame had failed the bike was all over the road with back wheel locked up, I was very relieved when i got to a stop. Disconnected the back brake and wrapped the loose bad spoke up in a good spoke and limped home. Thanks to the lads who slowed as they passed to ask if i needed anything. Had a look at strava there and was doing 77kph just before it happened !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

^^^^^
    *gulp* :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 13,687 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

~40 km spin at ~25 km/h.

It started out so nice... Sunny, warm and a great tail wind along the Galway coast.

Then came the thunder and lightning! And a hell of a lot of rain!

PmFsDSql.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭Garzard

Nearly 64km today from Knocklyon - Dun Laoghaire - Howth, 4 hours of cycling. Still finding my feet along the route to Howth so ended up with several missed turns and a detour or two on the way up. Lovely day though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭moonshadow

115 km group spin at 27 kph , every one behaved ..food was top class at 70 km break...I had 1 puncture and one spill into a ditch ........first time for both ...
    Pints have sorted all since , may need a new wife though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

velo.2010 wrote: »
    A lot of folk looked like they were paying for the the amount of gear they were wearing today - it was very warm when that sun came out.

I was also one of those - better to be looking at it than looking for it. It was chilly enough when I started out at 10am so I put on a long sleeved base layer and leg warmers and headed for Blessington.

I sweated quite a bit up the Wicklow Gap and I was also quite cold descending from the Gap to Laragh with an easterly breeze in my face.

After my sambo and tea at Laragh I headed for Enniskerry via Ballinastoe but well before Roundwood I had to stop and strip back to jersey and shorts and stuff my jersey pockets with the rest of my gear.

After that I was grand. My arms are slightly red from the sun but in a good way.

117km, 1,137m @ 22km/h for the day so happy out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Great weather today. I was out by 9am around Howth and back, 70km almost. Got back in time for the weather to really improve - no need for arm and leg warmers then!!
    New back tyre after ripping the previous one with less than 500km on it 😡

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,265 ✭✭✭nilhg

Bit of a special club spin today, we added an extra 25km over the normal, left an hour earlier than normal and headed up into the wilds of Co Laois. We definitely took the road less travelled, winding our way up and down through Luggacurren, Wolfhill and their general environs, some lovely roads up there but some awful surfaces as well in places and often not easy to know what you might be facing around the next bend.

There's not much in the way of facilities up there and finding a place for a stop was an issue but I was put in touch with the owner of the pub in Wolfhill, his missus opened up early for us and fed us scones with tea or coffee till we nearly burst.

oloXNrPdJR3wOilypyIroaEYG90F447H2qySXY5x3neK5uCTDhGobU0fP5xCCwCg8q5PDdLQ28xUMVtmHHtOgqgM3NxuG6vMJrIls3-QNlHcFcEBRzkZAwMOJox7jfSJt6hoHBzZUxRt_Qv1hkiqOlI5DDJH6fXrgbeufev5RGgk0a1ayvsnZ0exX_pUtCJWCgW-icyvmVJkJqQsw_yoL9vU8NfUJRYCT6B4v5JLmcxE7EGl779uL7DJ7YqSamiUPpp6w5GAOQVDlKbyELjm67EbhZRMdkxuFD8mjvBxtwiHBELUkYdaTtFMSeLIGyfEuJWYi368RyIOBhzEtffeVMoxrXDOhwPgzjCKOFLHxZwEaU3FKL7cZzysIMvwcFcOv6FAnqvZShWAafta24rqc57gzyV-qgtPTOF5roohgFFCAgPEMUczmLRPfOg0CezYuNBTHL9BdCWidFA0GZaeAwB0XVr3trfXKAi1Voe-K-wrRmdigXjfnotFBpLgGJB8kcws2f43unGDeQPDGU_HJkjGE555kK15Cw0II5GqXaTSeCArWzrbS_S85gvTYe5r7R5f7YiH1hNF2CuPrsGlwf_kx7RpsxtP=w600-no

Flat enough from home to Ballintubbert and the same on the way back but about a 1000m of climbing in the middle 70km including the deliciously named Muur de Strifeland meant that I ended up with just under 145km and 1380m of climbing.

A great club day out, all the lads in good form, plenty of craic and banter along the way.

https://www.strava.com/activities/569579819

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

Plastik wrote: »
    It's fine, just tackle it in 3 stages. A ramp at the bottom, levels off in the middle, and ramps near the top again. Neither of the ramps are significantly harder than N-S when just coming off the roundabout IMO.
    Thanks for the advice Plastik!

Yesterday evening was the reverse of the route taken on Wednesday so, Greystones, Bray Head, Kilmac, Kilpeddar and roll down into Greystones again.

Was on my own and once I'd made it over the head (thought I was dying for that last ramp), it was all relatively simple. I wasn't going for speed, just wanted to loosen the legs out and give the SPDs a go, but when I got to Kilmacanogue I saw a guy way up in the distance, so rather than stopping for a coffee, I decided to give chase and had almost caught him just before Glen of the Downs, when he turned off the dual carriageway and climbed off his bike and into a van. :(

Lastly, what is it about the road down from the N11 from Kilpeddar (Farrenkelly Road)? I just can't seem to get any sort of speed up on it. I know it's got that little uphill bit and maybe I just haven't had the legs for it yet, but I feel like I should be doing better but actually went a full 40s slower than my first effort (with headwind)! The segment is Farankelly 2k West to East.

https://www.strava.com/activities/569728690

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,054 ✭✭✭Bloggsie

My 1st time to cycle the commute since Sept last, glorious morning for the bike, 29 odd Kms in 1hr 16. Legs feeling it a bit, not looking forward to the return journey home, but the choice of standing on a packed train or geting on the bike is enough motivation to get me home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,235 ✭✭✭✭dahat

No spin today, LBS closed, spoke broke, whinge, moan, complain and so on......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Just back from Nerja, on the Costa in Spain. Rented a bike last Tuesday, so a late report. BTW anyone down that way, I can recommend http://xbikenerja.com/?lang=en in Nerja for hire. Great bunch and had my bike sized and fitted with pedals without hassle on the morning of collection.

Due to the May bank holiday the day before and everywhere being shut, had to pop out to do a quick grocery shop, as there was no grub in the apartment, so leaving the missus and my son hungry and thirsty wasn't an option. It was forecast for the hottest day of the week, so managed to pick up the bike at 11.30 and headed straight to Frigliana, above Nerja. It's a nice steady climb up, some of the roads are perhaps 6 - 7% and an elevation gain of perhaps 300m over 7km. Headed straight through and started climbing towards Competa, 15km further on and about 1200m gain. Google maps had indicated a 2h 30m bike time, so I reckoned on a hard slog ahead. Some nice roads and lovely views heading up out of Frigliana, a particularly steep section and then some switch backs for perhaps a couple of kms, then the road kind up undulates further before climbing again. The road surface is lovely for the first few km, then degrades to a road surface similar to the sally gap – pot holed, that horrible chippings dressing, before improving again. Some of the section heads downwards, before climbing again – Garmin is reading double figures % in places, with some short sections in the mid-teens percentage wise. Temperature is also starting to go upwards, so hitting the mid-twenties and climbing.

I reach Competa at just before 2pm, 1600m of vertical accomplished and just under 30km on the clock. Garmin is reading 30C. Head straight of a much needed ham and cheese bocadillo, some fizzy water and a coffee (all in €4!). Garmin beeps when switches off – disaster! Giving me a “working’ message when I turn it back on. Looks like it’s missed all my lovely effort up to this point, so I start it again for the remainder of the spin.

Start straight off with a much needed descent into Archez, down about 250m. Slight climb back up to Canillas de Albaida then a hump over the Daimalos Vaidas. At this point, I start my descent proper into Velez Malaga – lovely road surface, switch backs and a much needed breeze in my face – a lovely warm 25C head wind!

At this point, I’m following signs for the N-340, which is the main coast road (obviously can’t use the motorway running parallel to this). The road out of Velez Malaga literally stops dead after a couple of km into a dry river bed, which cars are using as a rat run to the coast road. Being on a road bike, I stop to ask directions and how long I’d have to endure this – first guy has nada Ingles, so a bit of confusion about how far I would have to travel on a gravel dry river bed. Second guy, on a hybrid bike with nice chunky tyres, has some English, tells me to follow the dry river bed for about a kilometre – I have to walk the bike, as it’s too dangerous to cycle – loose sand / gravel. Eventually, after taking a short cut through a potato field that recently been harvested, I found myself on the N340 and head back to Nerja. All in all about 90km and just shy of 2000m climbing over the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

The canal loop and 2 laps of the park for 42km in 1:46, learned my lesson against going against the grain of commuters on the canal path. Nearly had a wobble on Leeson Street bridge

dahat wrote: »
    No spin today, LBS closed, spoke broke, whinge, moan, complain and so on......
    very inconsiderate of the LBS to be closed, selfish soinso's!

Bloggsie wrote: »
    very inconsiderate of the LBS to be closed, selfish soinso's!

They should have opened especially for me!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,415 ✭✭✭cunavalos

dahat wrote: »
    They should have opened especially for me!!!

No, this is a clear sign you need another bike (n+1 and all that)

cunavalos wrote: »
    No, this is a clear sign you need another bike (n+1 and all that)

This is pretty good reasoning unfortunately N +1 + wife = no new bike as current one is 4 months old only.

Weepsie wrote: »
    How about new wheels then?

Under consideration, SCR had Zondas at €329 recently which is within what I'd like to spend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,134 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Always useful also to have a new chain, cassette and tyres put aside at the ready.

Excellent advice, have one new tyre unused spare but chain and cassette i didnt think of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭whacker00

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Just back from Nerja, on the Costa in Spain. Rented a bike last Tuesday, so a late report. BTW anyone down that way, I can recommend http://xbikenerja.com/?lang=en in Nerja for hire. Great bunch and had my bike sized and fitted with pedals without hassle on the morning of collection.

Due to the May bank holiday the day before and everywhere being shut, had to pop out to do a quick grocery shop, as there was no grub in the apartment, so leaving the missus and my son hungry and thirsty wasn't an option. It was forecast for the hottest day of the week, so managed to pick up the bike at 11.30 and headed straight to Frigliana, above Nerja. It's a nice steady climb up, some of the roads are perhaps 6 - 7% and an elevation gain of perhaps 300m over 7km. Headed straight through and started climbing towards Competa, 15km further on and about 1200m gain. Google maps had indicated a 2h 30m bike time, so I reckoned on a hard slog ahead. Some nice roads and lovely views heading up out of Frigliana, a particularly steep section and then some switch backs for perhaps a couple of kms, then the road kind up undulates further before climbing again. The road surface is lovely for the first few km, then degrades to a road surface similar to the sally gap pot holed, that horrible chippings dressing, before improving again. Some of the section heads downwards, before climbing again Garmin is reading double figures % in places, with some short sections in the mid-teens percentage wise. Temperature is also starting to go upwards, so hitting the mid-twenties and climbing.

I reach Competa at just before 2pm, 1600m of vertical accomplished and just under 30km on the clock. Garmin is reading 30C. Head straight of a much needed ham and cheese bocadillo, some fizzy water and a coffee (all in 4!). Garmin beeps when switches off disaster! Giving me a working message when I turn it back on. Looks like it s missed all my lovely effort up to this point, so I start it again for the remainder of the spin.

Start straight off with a much needed descent into Archez, down about 250m. Slight climb back up to Canillas de Albaida then a hump over the Daimalos Vaidas. At this point, I start my descent proper into Velez Malaga lovely road surface, switch backs and a much needed breeze in my face a lovely warm 25C head wind!

At this point, I m following signs for the N-340, which is the main coast road (obviously can t use the motorway running parallel to this). The road out of Velez Malaga literally stops dead after a couple of km into a dry river bed, which cars are using as a rat run to the coast road. Being on a road bike, I stop to ask directions and how long I d have to endure this first guy has nada Ingles, so a bit of confusion about how far I would have to travel on a gravel dry river bed. Second guy, on a hybrid bike with nice chunky tyres, has some English, tells me to follow the dry river bed for about a kilometre I have to walk the bike, as it s too dangerous to cycle loose sand / gravel. Eventually, after taking a short cut through a potato field that recently been harvested, I found myself on the N340 and head back to Nerja. All in all about 90km and just shy of 2000m climbing over the day.

Great read, just picked up a bike from the guys yesterday and took a 50km spin towards velez-Malaga on the coast road. Might try your route this morning, alot of nice climbs around it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

According to Strava it was World Cycle to Work day today...

Seemed rude not to, but my jaysus it was a miserable morning for a spin!

https://www.strava.com/activities/571246259

i didnt feel up to it this morning, my legs are feeling yesterdays effort, 1st time out and all, cant do wednesday or friday so it will have to be thursday that i cycle in again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,779 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

whacker00 wrote: »
    Great read, just picked up a bike from the guys yesterday and took a 50km spin towards velez-Malaga on the coast road. Might try your route this morning, alot of nice climbs around it seems

Enjoy, just be mindful of the road from Frigliana to Competa - surface is not great in places, but nothing unusual given the road conditions we're used to here. Also watch the sand / gravel on the corners - nearly caught me out once.

Looks like I messed up on the route back from velez Malaga to the coast road - avoid traipsing along the Rio Seco (dry river) like I did!

Edit - the climb to Competa is about 1200m total gain, not 1600m. My Garmin packed up just as I reached Competa.

Here's the strava from Competa back down to sea level, if it's anyuse.

https://www.strava.com/activities/568747224

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,552 ✭✭✭Ryath

whacker00 wrote: »

Was there two years ago and got a bike from them too. I'd head up the coast going east much quieter roads and two savage climbs I posted about here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

Bloggsie wrote: »
    i didnt feel up to it this morning, my legs are feeling yesterdays effort, 1st time out and all, cant do wednesday or friday so it will have to be thursday that i cycle in again.

You think of joining the new club around the corner from you? Spins on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday.

Just back from a wet, windy, hilly 50k. And then discover that I forgot to start strava. So it's like it never happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

Eponymous wrote: »
    According to Strava it was World Cycle to Work day today...

Seemed rude not to, but my jaysus it was a miserable morning for a spin!

I did the same. Wet on the way in. The rain cleared as I passed through Dublin City centre but drizzle began again at Santry.

I kept a watchful eye on the Met Éireann rainfall radar during the afternoon and left work just after 5:30. Thankfully I got home before the deluge that's now in progress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 783 ✭✭✭topcat77

Did my usual commute today (5km) and got a puncture after 1.5km. decided to walk to work rather that head back home as i couldn't see any time benefit. Wasn't a bad walk in even though i was pushing my lovely 1997 Colnago in my cycling shoes.

The reason i'm posting is because i was stopped by 2 separate cyclist and offered a spare tube and help. I passed on the help as i was within sight of work and have plenty of tubes there. I thanked both for the offer and mentioned it was very nice of them. it put a nice smile on my face after a bad start to the morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    At this point, I’m following signs for the N-340, which is the main coast road (obviously can’t use the motorway running parallel to this). The road out of Velez Malaga literally stops dead after a couple of km into a dry river bed, which cars are using as a rat run to the coast road. Being on a road bike, I stop to ask directions and how long I’d have to endure this – first guy has nada Ingles, so a bit of confusion about how far I would have to travel on a gravel dry river bed. Second guy, on a hybrid bike with nice chunky tyres, has some English, tells me to follow the dry river bed for about a kilometre – I have to walk the bike, as it’s too dangerous to cycle – loose sand / gravel. Eventually, after taking a short cut through a potato field that recently been harvested, I found myself on the N340 and head back to Nerja. All in all about 90km and just shy of 2000m climbing over the day.

This sums up quite well the joys of cycling in Spain on a road bike.

hope the rest of the trip was less adventurous. :)

Orion wrote: »
    You think of joining the new club around the corner from you? Spins on Monday, Wednesday and Saturday.

Just back from a wet, windy, hilly 50k. And then discover that I forgot to start strava. So it's like it never happened.
    Moring Orion,

I cant commit to those days so for now I will get my cycles in by commuting to & from work & up early on a Sunday morning and do 50k. I was talking to Mark when I left the bike in for a service a few weeks ago & he told me that they have had over 50 bodies join up.