Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why does everybody hate Ray D' Arcy all of a sudden?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,221 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

He used to be charming and light-hearted.

Now, the items he covers are depressing and his lack of effort and research shines through time and time again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,746 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

I didn't like him when he was in the den and blackboard jungle. I hated his today fm show when all the spanners in my office thought he was great, saw him get thick with somebody in Superquinn years ago when they went over to say hello, to me he is now, has always been and will most likely always be a bit of a pr1ck.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,194 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

nullzero wrote: »
    saw him get thick with somebody in Superquinn years ago when they went over to say hello

That would piss me off too. I actually saw someone do the same to Tubridy in Superquinn also, though he was a gent. No big fan of him either, but you have to know when you're priviliged and act accordingly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Think its more of his moral crusading that annoys a lot of people, that and how he turns an interview around to be about himself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    I remember when he was on Today Fm and presenting the Rose of Tralee and he could do no wrong. Now he is on Rte radio and television and he gets awful criticism. This is despite him not changing at all in my opinion.

Do people not like him because he is now earning a lot of money?

Can't speak for anyone else but I hated him on Today FM. I was forced to listen to his show in work because that was the station the majority of the office wanted to listen to.

I found him judgmental, overbearing and uninterested in listening to and trying to understand the opinions of other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,777 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I thought he was fine on The Den but i was a child and would probably have liked anybody in it at the time.
    I dislike him because he can be rude and offensive to people he's interviewing when their views on issues don't match his.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

I dislike him because he can be rude and offensive to people he's interviewing when their views on issues don't match his.

Yep. It kills conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

I was forced to listen to his show on Today FM in a couple of my former jobs so I've hated him and his idiot friends for more than 15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

I can't stand him mentioning his family the whole time...Jenny, Kate and Tom. Drives me bananas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,020 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Bruce Willis, but no stubble.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭BabySlam

WhiteWalls wrote: »
    I remember when he was on Today Fm and presenting the Rose of Tralee and he could do no wrong. Now he is on Rte radio and television and he gets awful criticism. This is despite him not changing at all in my opinion.

Do people not like him because he is now earning a lot of money?

Not sudden for me. Never liked him.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,086 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

He was decent on Jo Maxi

• Closed Accounts Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Superhorse

Can't stand him tbh. I'm no fan of UFC I could take it or leave it but he had some Irish UFC fighter on his show once and the interview was all about Darcy telling us HIS opinion on UFC and how he hated it. Shows no respect for the training and dedication the lad was putting in to make it and provide for his family. All this whilst he gets a pay packet most people could only dream of because of the farcical licence fee.

Not Your Ornery Onager

I like hearing voices when I'm going to sleep. No random muzac, no Georgio Huukio, no mentallic Mon Grief - just real peeple, Joe.

Basically, anything in the frequency range of human speech. Just not either of the above-mentioned, or anything sports-related. Few more reservations, but enough of that. Oh, no 104 scuuumbag slagging yanoworeyemsain - yafugginsapya.

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,063 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Never really liked him all of a sudden!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

It wasn't sudden.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

J Mysterio wrote: »
    That would piss me off too. I actually saw someone do the same to Tubridy in Superquinn also, though he was a gent. No big fan of him either, but you have to know when you're priviliged and act accordingly.

I've met Tubridy and he is a really nice bloke. We were in RTE and he just invited us to look at the late late set out of nothing and was very generous with his time.

With Ray Darcy, I grew up with him on the Den and loved him back then. Listened to the Today FM show for years but it got very stale. I get that priorities change when you've kids but in the last couple of years or so he made no attempt whatsoever to connect with listeners who didn't have kids, weren't into running etc. He basically turned into a grumpy ould lad and spoke very condescendingly to anyone who didn't fit his mould.

Don't hate him by any means but I think it's shocking that someone with 30 years of broadcasting experience still can't work a radio desk- and not even have the humility to delegate it to someone who can. I volunteered in community radio for a bit and wouldn't have made the mistakes he made with the desk, tone of interviews etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,449 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

I liked ray on the den because he was happy and smiley, did an auld Ray's Rave and the puppets were able to take the piss out of his lack of brain power, which was hilarious.

I don't like the radio program because it is miserable and moaning. I prefer positivity and fun in my light entertainment. If I want a serious program, blustering opinion and phone in callers are not where I go.

No opinion on the man himself, I don't know him personally.

It's very simple.

He was grand with the kids stuff. As soon as he moved into programmes for adults, with his radio show, he became like an old woman moaning and tut tutting about everything. Painful. Have never seen his tv show so can't comment about this interview or that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why do RTE insist on hiring talentless people and paying them hundreds of grand for the rest of their lives.

Heard a few minutes of Darcy when he was standing in for Joe Misery Duffy...also useless .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 390 ✭✭StillThinking

I don't like him as I got 9 right on the odd one out quiz on today FM one time, somebody else got 10 that day so didn't get the prize but he said he would send me out CDs, when we were off air and I gave him my address he wouldn't believe me, I live in a village so gave him the name of it and my county, kept asking what was my house number and street name, never did get those cds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

kneemos wrote: »
    Why do RTE insist on hiring talentless people and paying them hundreds of grand for the rest of their lives.

Heard a few minutes of Darcy when he was standing in for Joe Misery Duffy...also useless .

Because they do exactly as they are told!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭ivytwine

Superhorse wrote: »
    Can't stand him tbh. I'm no fan of UFC I could take it or leave it but he had some Irish UFC fighter on his show once and the interview was all about Darcy telling us HIS opinion on UFC and how he hated it. Shows no respect for the training and dedication the lad was putting in to make it and provide for his family. All this whilst he gets a pay packet most people could only dream of because of the farcical licence fee.

I remember that, it was awful. Like you, not into UFC massively but thought that poor man was just attacked and attacked. He's actually been on with Anton Savage since and the difference in tone was huge. I'd say Today FM had to do some crawling there.

Around that time they got a letter from a chap who hadn't ever been on a date and clearly had some huge psychological issues around how he related to women and his self esteem. Instead of directing the poor fella to a counsellor Ray decided to find him a woman. For me that was a real low point and for all his lip service to mental health showed that Ray thought he knew better than anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,052 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

honeybear wrote: »
    I can't stand him mentioning his family the whole time...Jenny, Kate and Tom. Drives me bananas

Hate when any presenter does that, name-drop the family for no reason.
    Listeners don't give a sh*t about your family.

I gave up tuning in when himself and Jenny started playing happy families and becoming the conscience of the nation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,067 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

I gave up tuning in when himself and Jenny started playing happy families and becoming the conscience of the nation.

Sounded lost without his "crew" on Joe Duffy.
    Like a newbie on a local radio station.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 354 ✭✭Piglet85

Y'know, I think there has been a gradual shift in public feeling about D'arcy - but I also think it's justified.

I grew up with the Den and listened to the Today FM show from the beginning. It was all light-hearted craic for long time, but Jesus, he got jaded. I genuinely think he has turned into a grumpy old man who can't take other people's opinions on board, finds it very difficult to shut up and listen, and is poor at putting people at their ease.

Also, the repetition. Christ. He has turned into a parody of himself with the talk about porridge/running/healthy eating in general, the inability to press the correct f-ing buttons in the studio and his fawning over guests like Tommy Tiernan and Michael Harding. You could start a drinking game based around his radio show. Plus, what little of the RTE radio program I've heard gives me the impression that they literally lifted whole segments from one show to the next, which is lazy for a team getting paid that kind of money. I think that was their one opportunity to shake things up and get it back on track, and they chickened out.

I don't hate him, definitely not. I just think it's a shame to see how the tone of his broadcasting has changed over the years. I know we all grow up and change, but you don't have to get miserable with it!

Not Your Ornery Onager

I don't like him as I got 9 right on the odd one out quiz on today FM one time, somebody else got 10 that day so didn't get the prize but he said he would send me out CDs, when we were off air and I gave him my address he wouldn't believe me, I live in a village so gave him the name of it and my county, kept asking what was my house number and street name, never did get those cds

Did he think you live in the occupied territory, where every road has a name and every house has a number? Do you really, and I mean reaaaly trust your postman? To deliver a parcel? Those CDs were crap, btw.

If all we had now was all we had then, Ray's audience would grow old with him (gracefully, of course). The kids would have been hip. Then that interweb pied-piped them away from mainstream media. Now they flashback on the tubething.

Better than Gay, but then again ...

Smily happy people person, pension sorted, liked by locked-in stay at home people, does not rock the boat.

A fuppin' jumped-up whippersnapper, who couldn't get elected - dat's woreez doin' Joe/Adrian. People are dyin' in this country everyDAY! Mean woile, cnuts like him have loads - n I mean loads - of horrizontal bottles of wine in der cellar. Wot else is down here, under the stare? Adrian? Joe? Hello?

/battery /cans

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

Hook is constantly at that. Interrupting his interviewee to yatter on and on about his own experience. Ask the questions G, don't answer them aswell!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,052 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Hook is constantly at that. Interrupting his interviewee to yatter on and on about his own experience. Ask the questions G, don't answer them aswell!!!

The lovely Ingrid...Jesus wept.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

The lovely Ingrid...Jesus wept.

might be bearable if he could keep pace with the guest! Takes the fecker 15mins to say a sentence!

Still rather him to smug Ray though. oh wait, he's telling us he cycles again.