Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Blue is the Warmest Colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Just watched this. The Adele character was the best piece of acting I've seen in years. Great movie.

A disgrace she wasn't up for best actress at the Oscars or Bafta's. Love me some Cate Blachett but no way was it better then Adèle Exarchopoulos's performance.

out of the two leading actresses, I think Adèle Exarchopoulos is the better actresses. I think Léa Seydoux will be the bigger star.

Both have a bright future anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭Telecaster58

I watched the film and found it unnecessarily long. The whole concept behind it is interesting and the two leads were very impressive. That said I am a bit suspicious of a film that casts two women who look like that in the leads. I could not see the film being made if, instead of "lipstick lesbians" the film was about a couple of less attractive women

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,712 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

You could criticise almost any heterosexual romance for the same thing. Audiences like watching attractive people, be they gay or straight. Had the film depicted two unattractive butch lesbians it would have been criticised for stereotyping. In any case, Seydoux’s character is no lipstick lesbian and Adèle is assumedly bisexual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭Funkfield

Watched this with Mrs. Funkfield the other night. Absolutely stunning movie for the acting alone, particularly Adele. I honestly did not feel the time pass. We were blown away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,682 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Sorry if old thread, but I watched this recently (Over two nights, I started it too late on a school night) but was blown away with the acting and story - absolutely fantastic and I'm really not one for slow films.

Really felt for the characters and found some of their story rateable. Great stuff!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

I'd love to get a chance to see some of yer man's earlier films in a cinema, Blue is the Warmest Colour's 3 hours of relentless closeups was extremely impressive. Feel like Kechiche has been slighted a bit in the reviews because of how much of a prick he was when making it, it really sounds like he was extremely hands on in the whole thing and the results are magnificent.

Adele Exarchupahulabulaarcados was really bloody impressive, some of the scenes where she was upset seemed extremely realistic, a kind of upset I've never seen on screen before; almost took me out of it a bit wondering whether yer man Kechiche just beat it out of her but the results were very successful.
    Lea Seydoux was equally good, probably had a more difficult character to pull of tbh but she more than delivered in the scenes she needed to.

Man, just thinking back on it now, it was a ridiculously good film!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭pheasant tail

Agreed, just looking back at the trailer and I had forgotten how much I liked it, them close-ups and facial expressions of Adele were excellent. Not sure about the Irish but it's definetly on the US Netflix for anyone who hasn't seen it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,216 ✭✭✭Looper007

Adele Exarchupahulabulaarcados was really bloody impressive, some of the scenes where she was upset seemed extremely realistic, a kind of upset I've never seen on screen before; almost took me out of it a bit wondering whether yer man Kechiche just beat it out of her but the results were very successful.
    Lea Seydoux was equally good, probably had a more difficult character to pull of tbh but she more than delivered in the scenes she needed to.

Well Sean Penn seems to agree with you and he's cast her as his lead in his next Directorial film. It's still shocking she didn't get nominated for Oscars or Baftas for best actress , she didn't even win best actress in her own country film awards (she won best newcomer). Shocking stuff. One of the best performances in years even more impressive for her age.

Seydoux has done alright for herself starring in the awesome The Grand Budapest Hotel, although it wasn't a star grabbing performance. Beauty and The Beast with Vincent Cassel and Grand Central with Tahar Rahim. She's getting meatier roles in France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,110 ✭✭✭takamichinoku

Looper007 wrote: »
    Well Sean Penn seems to agree with you and he's cast her as his lead in his next Directorial film. It's still shocking she didn't get nominated for Oscars or Baftas for best actress , she didn't even win best actress in her own country film awards (she won best newcomer). Shocking stuff. One of the best performances in years even more impressive for her age.

Seydoux has done alright for herself starring in the awesome The Grand Budapest Hotel, although it wasn't a star grabbing performance. Beauty and The Beast with Vincent Cassel and Grand Central with Tahar Rahim. She's getting meatier roles in France.
    I did also give that caveat that it could be wrong to understate Kechiche's involvement in the performances, would really have to see her in some other things. There could be something of an underlying thought among a lot of people who voted in those things who dismissed her a bit on account of that?

Seydoux was in MI: Ghost Protocol, wasn't she? Pretty much French A-list before Blue ever came out afaik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭SimonTemplar

She was also one of the French farmer's daughters at the beginning of Inglorious Bastards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,802 ✭✭✭beks101

I just watched this last night, having heard nothing about the storm of controversy it provoked and not even knowing much about the subject matter at hand. Frankly, it appeared on Netflix and I had three hours to kill.

I am still reeling today. It didn’t feel like a movie, it felt like an experience. It felt like an invasion on my part of two people’s privacy, of these deeply intimate, erotic, lustful and profoundly honest moments between two individuals as they fall in love and their world changes. It was a revelation.

The sex scenes were graphic, and raw, and real and quite shocking - but in the context of this deep, unbridled love and passion these two women share, I think they were quite fitting. The very human reaction between two people when sexual and intellectual and spiritual connection occurs. The lack of control and the longing and wanting and needing and obsessive compulsive urge to get inside their skin - that’s what these scenes were, moreso than gratuitous and tacky and anything else. They indeed were ‘too much’ - but so too is the kind of romantic love they fall into. That’s what I took from it.

I’ll be thinking about this movie for a while. I think it’s the most honest thing I’ve seen on a screen in a long time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Film4 are showing this next week (or this week if you are reading this from Sunday!), its part of "sex" season - Lars Von Triers Nympho 1 and 2, The Duke of Burgandy and few others are also featured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I've literally had this on my shelf for a year, still haven't watched it. Need to get round to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭WhiteMemento9

beks101 wrote: »
    I just watched this last night, having heard nothing about the storm of controversy it provoked and not even knowing much about the subject matter at hand. Frankly, it appeared on Netflix and I had three hours to kill.

I am still reeling today. It didn’t feel like a movie, it felt like an experience. It felt like an invasion on my part of two people’s privacy, of these deeply intimate, erotic, lustful and profoundly honest moments between two individuals as they fall in love and their world changes. It was a revelation.

The sex scenes were graphic, and raw, and real and quite shocking - but in the context of this deep, unbridled love and passion these two women share, I think they were quite fitting. The very human reaction between two people when sexual and intellectual and spiritual connection occurs. The lack of control and the longing and wanting and needing and obsessive compulsive urge to get inside their skin - that’s what these scenes were, moreso than gratuitous and tacky and anything else. They indeed were ‘too much’ - but so too is the kind of romantic love they fall into. That’s what I took from it.

I’ll be thinking about this movie for a while. I think it’s the most honest thing I’ve seen on a screen in a long time.

I caught this by pure accident the other night on Film4 having never gotten around to watching it. I had to find the thread to see the kind of reaction as much like yourself it left me reeling.

One thread which I haven't seen discussed ITT which the film pulls at very well is the battle between artistic endeavor and the need to making a living. The difference between the families and their view on life which contributed to the difference in worldview that both women had as a result. One family very much pro pursuing passion and the other very much rooted in the practicalities of life.

The line about fearing insecurity was particularly poignant in this regard. The difference between living but with huge uncertainty or never really living driven by fear and the need to make a living.

It is a complete joy of a film.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,712 ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

I caught this by pure accident the other night on Film4 having never gotten around to watching it. I had to find the thread to see the kind of reaction as much like yourself it left me reeling.

One thread which I haven't seen discussed ITT which the film pulls at very well is the battle between artistic endeavor and the need to making a living. The difference between the families and their view on life which contributed to the difference in worldview that both women had as a result. One family very much pro pursuing passion and the other very much rooted in the practicalities of life.

The line about fearing insecurity was particularly poignant in this regard. The difference between living but with huge uncertainty or never really living driven by fear and the need to make a living.

It is a complete joy of a film.

Notice also how Adele is always eating. There's probably a fetishistic quality to it, but it illustrates how she comes from a background where food wasn't taken for granted. You also get an interesting insight into the French upper-middle classes who by contrast see themselves as being above material concerns, always talking about culture and philosophy etc. Also isn't Adele more concerned with socio-economic issues like education etc where as Seydoux's character is into gay rights? Reinforces how their materialist vs post-materialist perspectives were informed by their social class.

Must re-watch it and pay more attention to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Notice also how Adele is always eating. There's probably a fetishistic quality to it, but it illustrates how she comes from a background where food wasn't taken for granted. You also get an interesting insight into the French upper-middle classes who by contrast see themselves as being above material concerns, always talking about culture and philosophy etc. Also isn't Adele more concerned with socio-economic issues like education etc where as Seydoux's character is into gay rights? Reinforces how their materialist vs post-materialist perspectives were informed by their social class.

Must re-watch it and pay more attention to this.

Think I'll rewatch too.