Liverpool FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours 2016, Mod Warning in OP, 10/7

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

But he wasn't so why bother saying it

Because he's trying to get his important internet win over Coulson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,430 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Newcastle didn't even do anything, the first goal was so easily preventable, by the second our defence was a shaking mess. Did Mignolet make a save all day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,723 ✭✭✭MightyMandarin

Augeo wrote: »
    Sturridge scores his 6th goal in 7 2016 PL appearances :cool:
    If he had been fit all season we'd be in CL places NO DOUBT

We said the same thing last season. Then he came back and got injured again.

We really need to stop relying on a striker who just cannot be relied upon.

Hopefully the 5 year contract was nothing more than ensuring a good ish transfer fee

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2016/04/22/eden-hazard-simon-mignolet-and-alan-hutton---the-worst-team-of-t/simon-mignlet/

...by the second our defence was a shaking mess. Did Mignolet make a save all day?

2nd was the fault of Mr Glass

I don't know what constitutes a mistake but just saw this on Twitter:
    "Simon Mignolet's mistakes have cost #LFC 23 points this season. The club would be top of the league on 78 points had they not been made."

Turtyturd wrote: »
    Because he's trying to get his important internet win over Coulson.

Ah the turd steps up for the agent :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Mignolet at fault no doubt but if Sturridge would pass the ball once in a ****ing while it could have been different.

What makes it worse is that he didn't learn his lesson after the first time when he threw himself on the ground and Newcastle should have equalised.

All well and good saying he scored x amount of goals in x amount of games. But if you look at today's game he scored in the second minute, set up two glorious chances for Newcastle and did f*ck all for the other 87 minutes.

Would you lads fcuking stop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Mignolet is just so predictably bad with a crossed ball, there must be a compilation video of his ****-ups in this regard somewhere.

As for the rest, a great first half of quick pass and move football, some joyous moments of interplay. That's what we have to hang on to for hope, I thought Lallana was superb, Stewart did well in the middle as well. and Moreno. While Firmino has been quiet in front of goal (though again he scored one that didn't count) he actually is adding moments of quality but they tend to happen quickly so people think he's doing nothing instead.

But he wasn't so why bother saying it

I think it's fair to point out the difference having your best player available, for every game, would make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Augeo wrote: »
    2nd was the fault of Mr Glass

Sure was. Now you're catching on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭YouTookMyName

League's been over since the United game in January

Turtyturd wrote: »
    All well and good saying he scored x amount of goals in x amount of games. .......

He's a striker, goals per games is the main stat that matters.
    Goals win games, Sturridge scores goals, if he loses possession in the opposition side of the pitch the expectation is the 8/9 players behind him do their job.

Sure was. Now you're catching on.

just to clarify.

Sturridge is no way accountable for the 2nd goal.

Yourself, the turd and the agent might think so but that's nothing more than an intelligence marker for the three of ye ;)

We better sign a goalkeeper and centre mid this summer

They are the obvious requirements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Yea, Sturridge lost the ball needlessly, but there was plenty of bodies behind the ball. He lost the ball well into Newcastles half of the pitch, it wasn't like he lost it on our 18 yard line. He can take criticism for being sloppy in that attack but your not being fair if you blame him for a goal conceded 70 yards from where he lost the ball with plenty of men behind the ball.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭jcsoulinger

On the first goal had moreno controlled that ball or kolo closed down the cross quicker it wouldn't have even been a chance, , min should have stayed on his line but the other two are more responsible IMO.

Sturridge was very good today even tracking back allot, loosing the ball in the final third wasn't his best moment but can't be held responsible for the goal,

Milner has more heart than anyone in that team at the moment, was motm today would be mad not to keep him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

On the first goal had moreno controlled that ball or kolo closed down the cross quicker it wouldn't have even been a chance, , min should have stayed on his line but the other two are more responsible IMO.

Sturridge was very good today even tracking back allot, loosing the ball in the final third wasn't his best moment but can't be held responsible for the goal,

Milner has more heart than anyone in that team at the moment, was motm today would be mad not to keep him
    Im sorry but i lay all the blame on mings for the first goal. Once again he misjudges a cross

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Sturridge scoring after 1 minute played like a guy playing 5 a side who won't try get the ball back. He has great quality but can be frustating at times. The way he lost the ball was annoying (just jogging with the ball) on the 2nd goal too. He did track back well in the 90 min but overall his performance was just ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

ricero wrote: »
    Hopefully mingolet doing that today has fully convinced klopp to upgrade on him

Ah , i think a keeper was always one of the spots to fill . Klopp doesnt seem to suffer fools do a solid keeper coming in was likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

That cross that Mignolet ****ed up, I'd honestly say an u16 keeper would have caught it......floated in with no pace, no spin, nothing......I gave up trying to figure out how he ****s up so much but its so hard to watch him **** up the only thing he had to do time and time again, players busting a gut, closing down pressing trying hard to create and score chances, I mean Sturridges and Lallanas goals were absolute beautys, and then concede like we did is so frustrating.....how did he got a new contract? It genuinely worries me that he may be first choice again next season.....

ricero wrote: »
    Im sorry but i lay all the blame on mings for the first goal. Once again he misjudges a cross

You think moreno deserves no blame for failing to control the ball?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

NukaCola wrote: »
    Yea, Sturridge lost the ball needlessly, but there was plenty of bodies behind the ball. He lost the ball well into Newcastles half of the pitch, it wasn't like he lost it on our 18 yard line. He can take criticism for being sloppy in that attack but your not being fair if you blame him for a goal conceded 70 yards from where he lost the ball with plenty of men behind the ball.

Had he passed it instead of trying to do it all himself as usual,he wouldn't have lost it,we might have scored and there would have been no defending to do. A lot of ifs and buts but he can be incredibly frustrating at times. Yes he scores goals and the one he got was brilliant but in my opinion it doesn't give him a free pass on everything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Dopes rather doping is the biggest threat to this side.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

The Sakho news is very disapointing. If he took some supplement or drug & never checked if it was legal its a huge error. Maybe someone told him it was legal or maybe he thought he might get away with it. Being good friends with Toure who had a ban himself for a similar substance makes it even more stupid too.

Don't know what it is but it seems generally people seem to be very quick to jump on Danny Sturridge, when fit he's our best player, cut him some slack he doesn't deliberately get injures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,911 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I can't believe anyone would be stupid enough to blame Sturridge for their second goal.

Attackers have license to take risks in the opposition third and sometimes they will make mistakes or make poor decisions and lose the ball. It happens to every striker. It's the job of the midfield and defense to stop counter attacks in those instances.

This Mr Glass stuff is fairly pathetic at this stage too.

Sturridges goal return since his return from injury has been exceptional but I reckon there are some who would rather Benteke starting up front for us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

MD1990 wrote: »
    The Sakho news is very disapointing. If he took some supplement or drug & never checked if it was legal its a huge error. Maybe someone told him it was legal or maybe he thought he might get away with it. Being good friends with Toure who had a ban himself for a similar substance makes it even more stupid too.

What I can't understand is why a professional athlete would need fat burners, Liverpool like all big clubs have top notch physical coaches and I'm sure dieticians too, so why he would take fat burners is beyond me.