Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mum on the Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Great running today. Congrats again on the pb and thanks for the big shout outs today. They're always worth a second or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Great running G, and fantastic to hear the flabs after been bothering you (**touch wood**). Well done on pb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Super result G. Well deserved and a real bonus to be "pain free" afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

RedRunner wrote: »
    Have seen bits of those ones but not from start to finish.

Oh definitely worth watching both from the start. There is, of course, a U.S. version of both (and a U.K/France version of The Bridge as well which isn't bad) but the originals are super. Both on Netflix as far as I know.

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Nicely done. Keep up the good work.

Thanks. I hope to!
    Ososlo wrote: »
    God on ya BG and big congrats on the pb!!! You really are in your element with these short snappy races. Great news on the fiabs front too. Long may it continue! Hope you are rewarding yourself tonight!

Cheers Ososlo. I sure did reward myself :D. Can't wait to read all about your ultra adventures next week!
    laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Super stuff G. Delighted for you, training paying off and glad to see you're enjoying it too - including today.

Thanks Laura, best of luck to you for today - PB guaranteed :D.
    RedRunner wrote: »
    Great running today. Congrats again on the pb and thanks for the big shout outs today. They're always worth a second or two.

Well done to you, and nice going on Wednesday too.
    spaceylou wrote: »
    Great running G, and fantastic to hear the flabs after been bothering you (**touch wood**). Well done on pb

Thanks Spaceylou, fingers crossed that's the end of it.
    denis b wrote: »
    Super result G. Well deserved and a real bonus to be "pain free" afterwards.

Many thanks Denis, it means I can push that little bit extra now. No more excuses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Great running yesterday G. Sorry we didn't get there in time to see it, had to prioritise coffee and breakfast!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭Hannibelle Smeeeth

We're all about the scandanavian dramas in our house. Saga Noren is my hero! :D

Well done on yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

The Killing is a must see.
    I've the full set of Love/Hate on my shelf from a couple of Christmas's back and that's next on my list to watch.

Congrats on the PB :). You are making great progress this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Well done on the PB! :cool: What's up next, K Club or....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Well done G great racing as usual, well done on PB. Plenty more to come:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Great PB, G, nice to be in the plaques too! Congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Congrats G great report well done :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Super racing, congratulations. Sorry we missed you. What a result. A plague too, brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

aquinn wrote: »
    Super racing, congratulations. Sorry we missed you. What a result. A plague too, brilliant.

A plague?? Stay clear BG, do not venture southside :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Oops, my bad. Monday morning.

Move on with what you were doing :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Brilliant BG, well done!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,035 ✭✭✭HelenAnne

Very well done! Post a pic of your 1916 plaque!

annapr wrote: »
    Great running yesterday G. Sorry we didn't get there in time to see it, had to prioritise coffee and breakfast!

That's quite all right. I agree with your priorities :D
    We're all about the scandanavian dramas in our house. Saga Noren is my hero! :D

Well done on yesterday.

Love her! Have you seen series 3 yet ?
    The Killing is a must see.
    I've the full set of Love/Hate on my shelf from a couple of Christmas's back and that's next on my list to watch.

Congrats on the PB :). You are making great progress this year.

Thanks Hilly. Loved The Killing. Even wanted a Sara Lund jumper :o.
    Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Well done on the PB! :cool: What's up next, K Club or....?

10K is now my long run :o, so no, unfortunately not. Mile on the track Tuesday week then, hopefully, the road relays. Will see you there!
    Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Well done G great racing as usual, well done on PB. Plenty more to come:)

Thanks G, I hope so.
    Murph_D wrote: »
    Great PB, G, nice to be in the plaques too! Congrats.

Thanks D. Yes, I got the last one :D.
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Congrats G great report well done :)

Thanks Mrs Mc, how are you ? All better I hope ?
    aquinn wrote: »

Too funny :D:D:D
    Firedance wrote: »
    Brilliant BG, well done!!

Thanks FD, I'm delighted with it.
    HelenAnne wrote: »
    Very well done! Post a pic of your 1916 plaque!

Thanks HelenAnne. Will do.

Think I've managed to attach a photo of my plague plaque

Sunday – LSR

Got out in the evening for my LSR, or what amounts to a LSR at the moment :rolleyes:, and headed to Sutton to do the Fat Turkey route. Took it very easy as half way up the first hill my legs remembered they had raced and been to the gym the day before :eek:. Thoroughly enjoyable run. I never get tired of the view from the summit car park, or gaping at the beautiful homes on either side of the hill.
    • 6.2 miles @ 8:57 (9:36, 9:25, 9:31, 8:36, 8:30, 8:13, (1:41)

Monday – Easy/Recovery

A very easy and enjoyable plod up to the Wooden Bridge and back. A nice cooling breeze and drizzle on the return leg. Warm enough day. Soon it’ll be time to break out the shorts! Although I’m not sure if the D3 is ready for my pasty winter legs :eek:.
    • 5.4 miles @ 9:09 (path, grass)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Glad to see you picked a nice flat easy route for your LSR after your race on Saturday... Ahem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Great work on Sat BG. Would love to have gone down there myself to watch and or run but wasn't to be :(

Tuesday – Easy, S&C

Easy run the long way round to the gym, where I did the shorter of my two current routines. Spent half the time searching for the right weights and pieces of equipment. Put them back in the right place, people! :mad:
    • 4.5 miles @ 9:01 (path, grass)

Wednesday – REST

Unscheduled rest day due to lack of time so no run or Pilates this evening. Enjoyed a night in front of the telly instead. Inspired as always by Masterchef. Not to cook, but to eat :o.

Thursday – Speed (8 x 200m, 1 min rec)

Session should have been done yesterday so I’m including it in this week’s mileage. Feck this was tough. Hadn’t realised how windy it was on the run up along the promenade but felt the full force of it when I turned around. Reps 1,3,5,7 are into the wind and the rest should be wind assisted but they didn’t feel like it! I think the wind kept changing direction in line with my reps :rolleyes:. The 200m stretch I’d mapped out turned out to be 210m or a bit longer so pace is a better indicator than time. Had to walk the last recovery and wanted to hurl after the last rep. About right so :D.

7.2 miles (grass, path) incl. 8 x 200m @ mile pace (1 min rec)

Paces: 5:51, 6:01, 6:02, 5:57, 6:18*, 5:58, 6:08, 5:34

*must have taken a nap on this one

TOTAL WEEKLY MILES: 32

Friday – S&C, Easy

Level 1 Pilates. Learned a new stretch that seems to work really well for my back. Hips feeling tight today, probably down to the recent increase in gym work. Must. Stretch. More.

Did a loop of St.Anne’s on the trails then a lap of the new parkrun course. It’s a great route – very scenic and quite fast overall ; there’s just a little climb towards the end of the lap that’ll probably hurt the second time around :eek:.
    • 5.7 miles @ 8:48 (grass, trail, path)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 425 ✭✭Mulberry

Good stuff BG!

Saturday – Easy, S&C

Easy run up and back to the Wooden Bridge. Freezing on the way out, very warm in the sunshine on the return. Into the gym, tempting and all though it was it bypass it and just go home. Still really useless at the single leg exercises (on my weak side) so plenty of work to do there.
    • 4.4 miles @ 8:34 (grass)

Sunday - LSR

OMG the wind! Up early for this as a busy day ahead. The first half was a real battle into the wind. Couldn’t wait to turn around at the end of the pier and sure enough was blown back home by a tailwind. Paces ranged from 8:34 to 10:21 for the same effort :rolleyes:.
    • 8.0 miles @ 9:12 (grass, path)

Monday – Easy

Nothing for it but to embrace the rain this evening, as it didn’t look like stopping anytime soon! 4 soggy miles in the local park. Soft and mucky underfoot, reminiscent of XC *sigh*. Only five months to go….
    • 4.0 miles @ 8:56 (grass, path)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Fair play going out in that. Rest day for me, luckily enough!

Murph_D wrote: »
    Fair play going out in that. Rest day for me, luckily enough!

It was actually fine! Not cold or windy, and after about 10 seconds I wasn't getting any wetter anyway :rolleyes:. Enjoyed the empty park too - no dogs to avoid or leads to negotiate :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭racheljev

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    It was actually fine! Not cold or windy, and after about 10 seconds I wasn't getting any wetter anyway :rolleyes:. Enjoyed the empty park too - no dogs to avoid or leads to negotiate :)
    Yep I found that yesterday as well, it was grand once I got moving. Main problem is drivers who take pleasure in swerving into puddles to give me an extra soaking, really hoping karma comes back and bites them in the a$$ :mad:
    Well done on your BHAA finish and plaque, I was about 20 places back from you- no plaque for me but I was still delighted with myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Anyone that went out in that Monday deserves a medal !!! That's dedication and you should just get a pb for doing it only fair !

racheljev wrote: »
    Yep I found that yesterday as well, it was grand once I got moving. Main problem is drivers who take pleasure in swerving into puddles to give me an extra soaking, really hoping karma comes back and bites them in the a$$ :mad:
    Well done on your BHAA finish and plaque, I was about 20 places back from you- no plaque for me but I was still delighted with myself :)

Great that you are back in action and happy with your race! Well done, do you plan to do more of the BHAA races ? There's some good ones on over the summer.

Yeah, bad karma to any driver who behaves like that. I was just thrilled to enjoy a dog-free run to be honest :rolleyes: