Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Well done again!! Super report and very well raced. Privileged you choose use for your first race since DCM :) 500 / 800 much the same really :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Great run Anna enjoyed that report is terenure 5 mile 6 weeks out !!!! crap need to get my ass in gear !!! See you next week can't believe Boston is so soon. Hope taper madness not affecting Murph !!! Room in the shed with M if required :) well done on pb :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Great run! Loved the report :D Well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Great run! Loved the report :D Well done!

+1! Really well done Anna! Great to see you getting the mojo back! Lots more improvements to come very soon and looking forward to hearing all about them!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

I was getting very confused there, wondering how I missed you so near to me and why people thought I was from Dunboyne :) All that nervous energy did you no harm anyway - you were well under target. As you say, great confidence boost and good to get an indication of where you're at after recent training, plenty of time before Terenure now again. A few similarities of where you struggled same as myself!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

annapr wrote: »
    Oops, put your foot in it there! :). How do you know she's not logging.. ;).

I'm still chuckling at your Brazil meat experience, we had very similar... Never saw so much meat in my life...

You'd think you know better at this stage than to be giving a reply like that to TbL of all people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Killerz

Great running on Sunday, Anna! Sub 40 terenure no problem !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Brilliant report Anna! Well under target too, great result. Don't forget they'll have sub 40 pacers in Terenure .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Well done, great report!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Well done Anna - sounds like a good race. Seems like a fair few here are doing Terenue - couldn't run it last year due to injury so planning to give it a shot this year! Might see you there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Well done Anna - keep the up the good work! Great way to start to the lead up to Terenure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Congrats on the sub-34 anna, six weeks to sharpen should bring you down to 8min miles for Terenure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Great running Anna and a nice report to boot, well done. You're dead right to be so chuffed, glad you see you get your running mojo back :) Looking forward to many more great race reports :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Thanks all for the encouragement ^^^. I appear to be inventing a new form of training -- one week on, one week off. :(

Tuesday-Sat
    There I was basking in the afterglow of Dunboyne, no ill effects at all, feeling good... When I managed to pick up a keyboard injury. Ridiculous though it sounds, from having the keyboard at the wrong angle, I somehow pulled something in my neck/shoulder and was in a lot of pain with it most of the week...very little sleep and no running. I thought it would be OK to run, but was mainly too exhausted to get out early or late.

Sunday, April 10
    So, went out this morning before D did his long run, but had to come home after about 10 mins. The shoulder was just too sore, so thought it better not to run. Walking is much less painful, sitting is the worst... Maybe it's a reaction to being back at work.... ! It's not as painful as it was earlier in the week, so hopefully improving.

I did get out to marshal the new course at St Anne's parkrun yesterday with aquinn, lovely morning for it and fun to watch people puffing at the top of the hill. Can't wait to try it.

Tuesday, April 12: 32 mins easy in the evening sun
    5.5K @ 5:47; 3.4 mi @ 9:19

Got home from work at a reasonable time, left D cooking pasta and headed out into the glorious sunshine to test the shoulder. It was sore throughout, but nothing like the pain on Sunday, so achieved my 30 mins easy.

Went out to the seafront, first time in ages, it was buzzing, nothing like evening sun at long last to get us all out running, walking, cycling. Pace was at the faster end of easy, mainly because a girl ran past me at the dart station, then stayed about 10 feet ahead of me... We both stopped at the lights at Alfie Byrne road, and I said feck this, I'm going to make her work harder to stay ahead of me. Didn't see her again until I turned back for home :)

Home in time for a lovely pre-Boston pasta dinner :D. And discussion of imaginary pre-marathon aches and mystery illnesses :p

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Well done Anna, great report, looks like really solid race, roll on Terenure. Are u
    still doing half in Cork.

Not this year, G. Will probably aim for race series half instead.

Killerz wrote: »
    Great running on Sunday, Anna! Sub 40 terenure no problem !

Eh yeah, no problem :eek:
    Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Brilliant report Anna! Well under target too, great result. Don't forget they'll have sub 40 pacers in Terenure .....

Pacers definitely a big help, hopefully I will see them!
    spaceylou wrote: »
    Well done Anna - sounds like a good race. Seems like a fair few here are doing Terenue - couldn't run it last year due to injury so planning to give it a shot this year! Might see you there.

Cool spaceylou, hope to see you there. Really enjoyed it last year.
    Congrats on the sub-34 anna, six weeks to sharpen should bring you down to 8min miles for Terenure :)

You really do have a head for maths :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Oops only catching up here now. Nice running in Dunboyne.

Thanks! You didn't miss anything in the last week anyhow :)

Anna sorry to hear that your injured hope your training for Boston hasn't been affected :) you packing the runners ? See you at the weekend. Can't believe it's this weekend Mark just buzzing to get it done now at this stage. Haven't heard him singing 'I'm so excited ' just yet ! Mind that injury.

Shoot, sorry to hear you're injured. Love it when the competitive edge comes out even when you're on an easy training run, I always doing the same thing :D

Hope the packing is going well :)

Wednesday, April 13: 40 min easy with unexpected company
    6.1 k @ 6:26; 3.7 mi @ 10:21

Dropped the 7 year old to GAA training and headed out the sea front onto the bull wall. Had to stop to take a work call on the way back, started running again and passed BG going in the opposite direction, figured she might overtake me on the way back in.

D had taken the 5 year old for a 'walk on the seafront', so I ended up running the last 1.5k with 5 year old attached.... Literally. Can I hold your hand, running and chatting, abandoning D to his walk. I did slow down a good bit, but he had loads of energy... Darting off to try the exercise machines. Then stopping, then sprinting again. As BG says, 5 year olds don't do pacing :)

Good run, if a little bit erratic, shoulder a bit sore but much better again today and last night.

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Anna sorry to hear that your injured hope your training for Boston hasn't been affected :)you packing the runners ? See you at the weekend. Can't believe it's this weekend Mark just buzzing to get it done now at this stage. Haven't heard him singing 'I'm so excited ' just yet ! Mind that injury.

Definitely packing the runners!! Hope you are too? I actually looked to see if there is a parkrun in Boston, but the nearest one is Washington DC! Ridiculous. Checking to see if D has a pulse, he's so chilled about it all. Really looking forward to it now.
    Neady83 wrote: »
    Shoot, sorry to hear you're injured. Love it when the competitive edge comes out even when you're on an easy training run, I always doing the same thing :D

Hope the packing is going well :)

:eek: it's only Wednesday!!!!

annapr wrote: »
    Definitely packing the runners!! Hope you are too? I actually looked to see if there is a parkrun in Boston, but the nearest one is Washington DC! Ridiculous. Checking to see if D has a pulse, he's so chilled about it all. Really looking forward to it now.

:eek: it's only Wednesday!!!!

Yes packing the runners have to get a Boston map on Strava. I haven't even got the case out !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Mind that shoulder on the plane, got a neck cushion?! Bon voyage, give that cheering some welly for us too, this is what all the cheerleading has been for :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

Happy to hear your shoulder is improving, hopefully long plane journey won't tense it up again! Have a great time in Boston :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Enjoy Boston and best of luck with the cheerleading!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Have a great trip Anna. Enjoy the supporting & bring the trainers too :)

Enjoy Boston Anna, hope ye have a great trip, lots of fun running, shopping and cheering :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Have a great weekend!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Have fun in Boston! I'm looking forward to hearing all about it! :D