Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Part 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭MaroonAndGreen

Very interesting thoughts alright. He doesn't hold back!

Good to see IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭naughto

Naughto you know what, I'll be blunt about it. You are a passionate Mayo fan, I can see that from this forum. We all want the same thing, to win an All-Ireland for Mayo. I'm not going to personally insult someone who spent hard nights training in Castlebar for years chasing my dream and your dream. I dont think you should either. I don't think thats a hard principle to understand. Im actually gracious that there are 30 or so players every year that go out and chase my dream for me because I'm not good enough to do it myself.

Footballing criticism, fire away, but criticising someone because they are a different kind of character to what you would prefer isn't on IMO.

It goes for all counties really not just Mayo.

This will be the end of it for me.no point derailing the thread when it's the rossies we should be after.
    I will say this there are countless lads that would kill to have had half the change Mortimer had with mayo and when that players turns around and throws it in the players/managers/supporters faces like it's his God giving right to be on the team.
    That is why I have no time for that carry on and was delighted that horan ran him with all sh1te he was at.IV even heard him say in pub " do you not no who iam"
    Anyways on go down we go.

naughto wrote: »
    This will be the end of it for me.no point derailing the thread when it's the rossies we should be after.
    I will say this there are countless lads that would kill to have had half the change Mortimer had with mayo and when that players turns around and throws it in the players/managers/supporters faces like it's his God giving right to be on the team.
    That is why I have no time for that carry on and was delighted that horan ran him with all sh1te he was at.IV even heard him say in pub " do you not no who iam"
    Anyways on go down we go.

On a completely different note.... we both have the same location on our profile :pac::pac::pac: just noticed.

Point taken Naughto. I hope you have taken mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Very interesting thoughts alright. He doesn't hold back!

I think he was lobbed a bit of a nonsense softball question about character and he shot it down straight away which is what you would expect anyone with sort of cop or ambition to do.

Only beating Roscommon by 4 points on the day was a terrible result given how much of the general play Mayo had. Mayo were/are lucky Cork only beat Down by 5 as it means that scoring difference is not going to be an issue the next day.

Mayo's goal is to win an All-Ireland and judged by that, Sunday's performance was probably in the 3/4 out of 10 category.

Lads very interesting, just seen on Twitter that Kevin McStay's official account liked an article saying that the decision to play at Hyde Park backfired on Roscommon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,198 ✭✭✭PressRun

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    I think he was lobbed a bit of a nonsense softball question about character and he shot it down straight away which is what you would expect anyone with sort of cop or ambition to do.

Only beating Roscommon by 4 points on the day was a terrible result given how much of the general play Mayo had. Mayo were/are lucky Cork only beat Down by 5 as it means that scoring difference is not going to be an issue the next day.

Mayo's goal is to win an All-Ireland and judged by that, Sunday's performance was probably in the 3/4 out of 10 category.

They should have won the match by more, but they still won, and to be honest, I never actually felt at any point that they were going to lose even when Roscommon came back into it, like I have at other points watching Mayo. There are obviously things to improve upon (I'd be a bit worried if everything was already perfect at this time of the year), but to say that winning any match is a "terrible result" is a bit over the top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Boom__Boom wrote: »

Totally agree,there is an air of realism amongst ourselves about where a performance like Sunday's would place us vis a vis Dublin and Kerry.. Quite a bit behind but coming from the point we were at,post 4 successive defeats and numerous losses in All Ireland club finals of varying grades it was a welcome boost to our morale considering our precarious position in terms of our division one status.

It is to be hoped and expected that come championship time we'll see an entirely different beast in terms of the Mayo team.It's my solemn hope that our forwards will step up to the mantle when it's required come summer time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,185 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Oldtree wrote: »
    Funny this should come up this week. Just after Mort left we had a game in Hyde and there was a serious problem scoring points that day, even from the 13m line in front of the goal.

If I recall we had a serious problem with free taking up to the 2011 final, but the final itself was Cillians first time as main free taker, and he nailed all but one of them, in terrible conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

naughto wrote: »
    Where was the respect when he walked and then there was the realising the statement craic
    You would swear he was something with the way you talk about him.he used to go missing when he was needed he could not stand up and be counted on.
    As a poster about said he would not make the cut for this team on the bench or anywhere

Surely management are the ones who are best placed to make that call. If he's that poor now and he was so far off the pace, they wouldn't be contemplating it.

Love him or hate him, he knew where the posts were and if he still does, he's welcome back. We're not exactly flush with scoring inside forwards.

If I recall we had a serious problem with free taking up to the 2011 final, but the final itself was Cillians first time as main free taker, and he nailed all but one of them, in terrible conditions.

Yeah I'll always remember that final for Cillian's frees. I think he was just out of minor, on a wet windy day in Hyde Park. Thats also the same day that Roscommon supporters booed and whistled as he was taking every free, something that you dont see done in the GAA much.

Padkir wrote: »
    Surely management are the ones who are best placed to make that call. If he's that poor now and he was so far off the pace, they wouldn't be contemplating it.

Love him or hate him, he knew where the posts were and if he still does, he's welcome back. We're not exactly flush with scoring inside forwards.

You see it's the Dublin thread we should be going to asking about Mort's form seeing as he plays his football there, nobody here (myself included) really knows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,424 ✭✭✭✭km79

the man himself has just tweeted that's its not true
    so ye can all relax :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,177 ✭✭✭BKWDR

km79 wrote: »
    the man himself has just tweeted that's its not true
    so ye can all relax :D

But now everyone is thinking / talking about it....

He's some buck.

Maybe his end goal is trying to pull off a 'Seanie Johnston' :P:P:P

Ger Cafferkey is out for Sunday,ditto Keith Higgins.Management hoping the 5 lads from the under 21's team will come through the Roscommon game unscathed.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/mayo-unlikely-to-risk-higgins-with-cafferkey-out-of-down-tie-34586344.html

Minor Connacht GAA League: Mayo v Sligo GAA, Saturday in Tubbercurry, Throw-in 1.30pm.

U21 Connacht GAA Final:Mayo v Roscommon GAA, Saturday in Markievicz Park, Sligo, Throw-in 6pm.

For the love of God you'd have thought the GAA could manage to arrange a double header in Markievicz Park,mind boggling stuff.

Just to put this to bed once and for all.
    The story about Conor Mortimer is not true. There is nothing in it. It is an early April Fools gag. He had no part in it.
    So there ye have it. A lesson in not believing all that we read on the internet learned by many :D

The Mayo Senior Football Development Academy will be headed up by U-21 manager Michael Solan in 2016.

http://www.mayonews.ie/sports/27576-solan-to-head-up-mayo-football-academy

km79 wrote:
    Just to put this to bed once and for all. The story about Conor Mortimer is not true. There is nothing in it. It is an early April Fools gag. He had no part in it. So there ye have it. A lesson in not believing all that we read on the internet learned by many

It's been said so many times but it's so believable that you are Kenny 😂😂

seligehgit wrote: »
    Ger Cafferkey is out for Sunday,ditto Keith Higgins.Management hoping the 5 lads from the under 21's team will come through the Roscommon game unscathed.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/mayo-unlikely-to-risk-higgins-with-cafferkey-out-of-down-tie-34586344.html

Would like to see Kevin Keane being given a shot in the absence of Cafferky. Was kinda surprised actually that he didn't come on the last day when Cafferky came off.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

PressRun wrote: »
    Would like to see Kevin Keane being given a shot in the absence of Cafferky. Was kinda surprised actually that he didn't come on the last day when Cafferky came off.

Is he still not coming back from injury?

yop wrote: »
    Is he still not coming back from injury?

Pretty sure he was named in the subs the last day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭mayo.mick

There were a good few changes made though. The team in the programme doesn't entirely match what was named on the day. Fairly sure Kevin Keane was one of the changes named in the subs on the day.

It's been said so many times but it's so believable that you are Kenny 😂😂

I think he let the mask slip.

It has not been brought up in a good while and he thought he could get protection from the mods seeing as the OP says the poster identity speculation can result in a site wide ban.

I wonder what the 79 refers to though.
    End of a decade without a Connacht title for Mayo ?

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

km79 wrote: »
    As I said many times before I would love to be a man with 2 all stars but I am not !
    Kenny Mort is an avid Liverpool fan like his brothers and a bank official of some description . If you read through my posts you will easily find my soccer allegiances and profession !
    Also he was not born in 1979 !
    Now I think you are an actor who appeared in Fr Ted and I want you to tell me about your private life on this public forum to disprove this as I have once again had to !
    It's a good job Kenny isn't a man for social media etc :D
    Again I will be deleting this post later as yes I do want my personal identity somewhat protected
    I had a fair idea a lot sooner than I posted that the story was pure muck but I was fearful this stuff would start up AGAIN if i did ........

Okay hands up, I REALLY am the original Yop. My mother, a bottle of milk, abandoned me as a baby milk, but I go on the weights, put on some mass and now I AM the YOP.

I'm not lying, promise.

Kenny, I'll drop in for the spuds on the way home ;)

The Mayo team for Sunday's round seven Allianz Football League clash against Down in Elverys MacHale Park at 2pm is:

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
    2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
    3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
    4. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
    5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
    6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
    7. Shane Nally (Garrymore)
    8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
    9. Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
    10. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy)
    11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
    12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
    13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
    14. Alan Freeman (Aghamore)
    15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber).

seligehgit wrote: »
    The Mayo team for Sunday's round seven Allianz Football League clash against Down in Elverys MacHale Park at 2pm is:

1. David Clarke (Ballina Stephenites)
    2. Brendan Harrison (Aghamore)
    3. Kevin Keane (Westport)
    4. Chris Barrett (Belmullet)
    5. Lee Keegan (Westport)
    6. Colm Boyle (Davitts)
    7. Shane Nally (Garrymore)
    8. Tom Parsons (Charlestown)
    9. Seamus O'Shea (Breaffy)
    10. Conor O’Shea (Breaffy)
    11. Aidan O’Shea (Breaffy)
    12. Jason Doherty (Burrishoole)
    13. Evan Regan (Ballina Stephenites)
    14. Alan Freeman (Aghamore)
    15. Cillian O’Connor (Ballintubber).

strong team
    good to see clarke given a go
    wonder would he have been if cillian wasnt there for the long range frees rob hennelly had been taking!

Strong team indeed.It's great to see David Clarke getting a run out in goal.Good to see Kevin Keane back after his shoulder injury as he was flying in the early season games,Chris Barrett gets another day out to impress the management further.

Tad surprised Patrick Durkan is not getting a run out in the half backs.TBF Shane Nally has acquitted himself admirably in the league thus far,expecting Patrick will see some action at some stage.It will be interesting to see if Diarmuid O Connor or any of the other under 21s feature in the match day squad.Tad surprised Cillian O Connor is fit to start a game as yet.

I suppose Sunday is as good a time as any to give Cillian some game time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,441 ✭✭✭wirelessdude01

As has been the case all league, I wonder how many changes to the team and subs we will see on Sunday?