Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Spud ground getting ready here. Hopefully planting by lunch time! :))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Reggie. wrote: »
    Bed.....the working day is an hour in at this stage

Sure a bit of a nap never did anybody harm! Eejit was doing rings so just stuck her in the crush and let him fire away there now. Calf won't want for milk anyway, she's dripping from a couple of teats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Once the payslip keeps showing up ;)

I know!! Same goes for myself! You'd be going to work some days for a rest!

Spud ground getting ready here. Hopefully planting by lunch time! :))

What about frost?

Muckit wrote: »
    What about frost?

What about it. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

Lambs. Has anyone on here ever bought in lambs bout a week old and rared them to make few Bob?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

Would ye chance spreading a bit if fertiliser today or will it be washed away with the rain they are forecasting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,428 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

sea12 wrote: »
    Would ye chance spreading a bit if fertiliser today or will it be washed away with the rain they are forecasting
    We spread yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

What bout spraying with roundup is it too late before the rain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,493 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

sea12 wrote: »

went out at 8 this morning here

Going around like Mrs Doyle here at the minute, hurt my back earlier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

marathon wrote: »
    Lambs. Has anyone on here ever bought in lambs bout a week old and rared them to make few Bob?
    I got five last year,if you want to make a good job of it you'll spend a right bit on milk replacer on them,have them on meal since you get them and on grass.
    I had a bucket feeder for feeding,no other way to do it unless you have them as proper pets for kids.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

IH784man wrote: »
    I got five last year,if you want to make a good job of it you'll spend a right bit on milk replacer on them,have them on meal since you get them and on grass.
    I had a bucket feeder for feeding,no other way to do it unless you have them as proper pets for kids.

Did you make any money on em - with the initial cost of lamb, plus milk, plus meal, I'd imagine it couldn't be much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

whelan2 wrote: »
    Going around like Mrs Doyle here at the minute, hurt my back earlier.

Ouch. How'd you manage that?

Was pulling clinkers off the bull out the field and stuck my finger under a large one to lever it off, find a heap of goopy pus. Bleuuuuuuuuugh.

Kovu wrote: »
    Ouch. How'd you manage that?

Was pulling clinkers off the bull out the field and stuck my finger under a large one to lever it off, find a heap of goopy pus. Bleuuuuuuuuugh.
    pushing down a round bale of straw:mad: difene kicking in now thankfully

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

whelan2 wrote:
    pushing down a round bale of straw difene kicking in now thankfully

I find a hot water bottle or heat patch good on the sore spot for the night aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Did you make any money on em - with the initial cost of lamb, plus milk, plus meal, I'd imagine it couldn't be much?
    I might have made 20 each on them,it's the milk powder that really kills it.Of you want good pet lambs you need them on ad lib strong milk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I might have made 20 each on them,it's the milk powder that really kills it.Of you want good pet lambs you need them on ad lib strong milk
    Was watching Ffeirmio a few years ago and on the presenters sheep farm they had a few goats to put pet lambs on till they paired them up with singles.
    Actually when I was small dad reared a few pet lambs on a dairy goat.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

This early morning craic is a load of bollox :rolleyes:

Especially since the time changed

whelan2 wrote: »
    Especially since the time changed

Such a job to get out of bed this am

Not this again

Muckit wrote: »
    Not this again

Not what again

You moaning like a child!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,393 ✭✭✭orm0nd

we have a bunch of Jan born lambs reared on feeder going to be killed next week, hoping to get 135 to 140 for them

they have cost circa 60 in feeding (powder, creep, straw) & were our own, mainly triplets

buying in now, and occuring the same feed costs would leave very little profit when selling IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Grueller

orm0nd wrote: »
    we have a bunch of Jan born lambs reared on feeder going to be killed next week, hoping to get 135 to 140 for them

they have cost circa 60 in feeding (powder, creep, straw) & were our own, mainly triplets

buying in now, and occuring the same feed costs would leave very little profit when selling IMO

Do an odd one for the freezer. Never costed it out though. Definitely cheaper than butchers meat though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Grueller wrote:
    Do an odd one for the freezer. Never costed it out though. Definitely cheaper than butchers meat though.

You would probably have all your meat costing about €6/7 per kg . What is it making over the counter in the butchers

You moaning like a child!!

A child wouldn't moan that much!

Well lads and lassies. At 13.30 my younger brother will be on LMFM yapping about his Haemophilia.
    Some of yee may or may not know what it is.
    Here's a yoke from Sundays Life magazine. :)
    http://m.independent.ie/life/health-wellbeing/health-features/the-c-factor-how-a-sportsmad-student-overcomes-his-severe-haemophilia-34561606.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

And the plus side it's Friday!