Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,799 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

stanflt wrote: »
    yeah bought some but couldnt get enough-money tight everywhere this year
    how much is/was it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

http://www.dairyxbred.com/category/photos/

Very interesting site with pics of all sorts of crossbreds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭visatorro

keep going wrote: »
    Obviously you like I have just been looking at your statements,thought I had abit of cash around in the current account but when you alow whats for whats on the coop bill , theres shag all.then again things are always tight at this time of year.

yeah. older generation here always said that you milked for the winter to pay for the fertiliser in spring. that's one of the reasons we never gave up the winter milk.
    at least were not burying our heads in the sand. some people just keep spending!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Anyone have any bright ideas where I might get my hands on one or two cheap portakabin / site cabins?.

Poor condition no problem as will have to refloor and line anyway.

The odd one on done deal but could do with ideas...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

kowtow wrote: »
    Anyone have any bright ideas where I might get my hands on one or two cheap portakabin / site cabins?.

Poor condition no problem as will have to refloor and line anyway.

The odd one on done deal but could do with ideas...

PSA in New Ross. Should be a website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,130 ✭✭✭jaymla627

keep going wrote: »
    Obviously you like I have just been looking at your statements,thought I had abit of cash around in the current account but when you alow whats for whats on the coop bill , theres shag all.then again things are always tight at this time of year.

Made a call Tuesday to my rep and when I got of the phone I realised I'd spent 10 k between fert/feed/milk replacer/ and calf nuts it's crazy what money goes out in march/april/may....
    If the axe gets swung and a couple of cent gets knocked off milk price by co-ops in the next few months it's going to leave some hole in my finances come autumn, literally be a case of finding 20-30 thousand to plug the hole and forget about taking a wage for this year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

any one have the thing u can use to turn on and off the electric fence via ur mobile phone??
    seen two for sale on donedeal would be a handy thing to have

any feedback welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

A few Fr cull cow prices

640kg 850
    530kg 750
    595kg 685 disappointed with this one:(
    720kg 960
    650kg 875

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

any one have the thing u can use to turn on and off the electric fence via ur mobile phone??

any feedback welcome.

I bought one of these, it works well.
    http://m.ebay.ie/itm/GSM-REMOTE-CONTROL-SOCKET-POWER-SWITCH-PHONE-PLUG-/160638680570

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

I bought one of these, it works well.
    http://m.ebay.ie/itm/GSM-REMOTE-CONTROL-SOCKET-POWER-SWITCH-PHONE-PLUG-/160638680570[/quote

Do a search on eBay. Can be bought for less than 20

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

First day in a fortnight that the easterly wind has stopped. The ground is like concrete and the crops/grass are a foxy color. Drop of rain should get things growing again. Promised a few mm Monday.

Dawggone wrote: »
    First day in a fortnight that the easterly wind has stopped. The ground is like concrete and the crops/grass are a foxy color. Drop of rain should get things growing again. Promised a few mm Monday.

Easterly in Mar is an absolute bastard. Dry maybe but no kindness in it.

"Wind from the east is no good for man nor beast"....

It was the worst I've seen here. Couldn't spray or spread fert. All systems go now (if I had the staff, all off for Easter!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

A few Fr cull cow prices

640kg 850
    530kg 750
    595kg 685 disappointed with this one:(
    720kg 960
    650kg 875
    We're they dry Butford?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

kevthegaff wrote: »
    We're they dry Butford?
    All bar the disappointing one, she slipped a calf in December and I stayed milking her and a 'bonus' late calving heifer.

I had very very fat cats in the new year:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,069 ✭✭✭boggerman1

any feedback welcome.
    Bought one of them from my electrician who invented one a few yrs ago.great gadget.google suirwayautomation or look up Philip Quirke electrician from clonoulty,co.Tipperary for same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 695 ✭✭✭3 the square

does it text u back to let u know its on or off ?? or just catch d fench:o
    there is some one in cork selling em on dd

Dawggone wrote: »
    "Wind from the east is no good for man nor beast"....

It was the worst I've seen here. Couldn't spray or spread fert. All systems go now (if I had the staff, all off for Easter!).

One thing I don't miss about spring corn and maize is Easter bank holiday weekend and May bank holiday weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

does it text u back to let u know its on or off ?? or just catch d fench:o
    there is some one in cork selling em on dd

From memory I think it does text you back, but I've never used it. I only ever just ring it, it hangs up without answering and switches either on/off so costs nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,159 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

whelan2 wrote: »
    is there sexed semen for ayrshires? Decided to try norwegian red here and got 3 bull calves:mad:

Think PG have some. Couldn't tell you what bulls though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,681 ✭✭✭✭Base price

farmerjj wrote: »
    Thinking of trying a few different AI straws (breeds) with some fr cows this year, not interested in jersey straws, but maybe a mountbeller or semintenal (might be spelt wrong) for a change only a handful though, anyone try this before, and how they get on for milk after?
    Brown Swiss??
    Bought some bull calves last year off a dairy farmer and they were cracking calves.
    Meant to add, I don't know what they milk like but the cows that I saw were not small like Jerseys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Locked up. 2nd last animal to read, 13 month old heifer. Never had an animal that young go down before. Rest of herd very clean and reading done on severe scale. Heifer was with other calves on out farm last year where neighbour is just gone down with 24 reactors so problem is down there. Could be worse, would feel for the neighbour, still a balls here with stocking rate high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,723 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Milked out wrote: »
    Locked up. 2nd last animal to read, 13 month old heifer. Never had an animal that young go down before. Rest of herd very clean and reading done on severe scale. Heifer was with other calves on out farm last year where neighbour is just gone down with 24 reactors so problem is down there. Could be worse, would feel for the neighbour, still a balls here with stocking rate high.

You could be lucky and get away with one clear test. Simillar happend here a few years ago here.last ainmal through crush with obvious lump .she showed up no legions and cultures came clear so Dvo agreed first result was false positive and cleared me after one test which was done by dept vets who were very trough measuring any lump

fook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

That's a balls. Was the lump very large on her. On an animal that young the lump should be very big, as MJ said maybe a false positive. Sickner all the same

Yeah lump was very big, no doubt on it at all really. Rest of group very clean. Not sure about out farm now re grazing, as usually all calves go there for the year. Was gonna put maidens there next week and Ai below so they could clean out before calves go down.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    You could be lucky and get away with one clear test. Simillar happend here a few years ago here.last ainmal through crush with obvious lump .she showed up no legions and cultures came clear so Dvo agreed first result was false positive and cleared me after one test which was done by dept vets who were very trough measuring any lump

Vet mentioned that too but we agreed it would be unlikely as generally that is done in "clean" areas generally and the neighbour at out farm had a bad breakdown and at home 4 years ago a number of us were locked up for a bit as well. Out own vet did this test and he is very thorough with measurements, so much so a number of people prefer not to see him for testing but he always does here and if you have a sick animal he is the best vet around I feel by far.

means alot to have a good vet. VET came here the other evening and diagnosed a lda. Straight away she said she wouldn't be happy to do the operation herself and called a senior vet to do it, fair play she knew her limits, alot to be said for it.

I spent the day spreading fym with the big spreader...four shearbolts and many prayers said. Covered in shyte from head to toe...I'm too old for this craic.

Off now to try and clean. I'm thinking the aftershave will have to be used as off to a fancy restaurant (don't need to stink the place).