What's The Rudest Thing You've Witnessed Or Heard About?

KatW4 wrote: »
    I know a woman who went to a wake in the house and asked the grieving family, in front of all the other sympathisers, who was getting the house and the money.

Some people have no filter and shouldn't be let loose in the world.

After a friends father died after a long illness, needing a lot of hands-on care, the old man next door told her that now she'd have loads of time on her hands to enjoy herself. :eek:

I think asking about who's getting what is even worse though, that's awful.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I know a woman who went to a wake in the house and asked the grieving family, in front of all the other sympathisers, who was getting the house and the money.

When my mother died we had dinner after the burial, and some people came back to the hotel and asked me "did she have a will made?" She wasn't two hours in the grave.

Which reminds me when she died my little brother was only 16. The day of the wake when people call to the house, these two nosey c u next Tuesday's arrived in, and started "aww, it's awful sad. Sure it'll ruin ye, yere mammy gone. Aww sure, that's it now *brother* will be gone to the bad now"

I constantly deal with rude people in work. Was verbally assaulted for being "an Irish prostitute" in work. Old ladies coming in being very disrespectful.

Friends father should patent rude. Was there one night, pizza was delivered, the fathered answered the door and paid, then said oh wait, I have a tip for you. Get a better job! And slammed the door closed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭Jimoslimos

Peregrine wrote: »
    I thought ...And Justice meant her actual flip-flop :o Which was a bit weird but I thought, you know, I won't judge.
    In Australia flip flops are called thongs, I guess because of the shape where your toes sit. So maybe this is some sort of reverse slang for underwear?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

Candie wrote:
    After a friends father died after a long illness, needing a lot of hands-on care, the old man next door told her that now she'd have loads of time on her hands to enjoy herself.

When my mother died we had dinner after the burial, and some people came back to the hotel and asked me "did she have a will made?" She wasn't two hours in the grave.

Disgraceful. How do people like this not feel ashamed at these comments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

My father died a few years before his mother. When she died one of her neighbours was shaking hands with me at the funeral when he said "I suppose you'll get the farm." I let go of his hand and turned away.
    The same ba$tard objected twice when I applied for planning to build a house on said land. Board Pleannala put him in his place both times. It held me up for nearly a year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Some business class passengers need to be taken down a peg or two. You get a bigger seat, board first doesn't mean you can act like a tool. I had a connection in Paris and there was one utter flute who walked by everyone in the line asking if they were sitting in business and if not then they should sit down. Kept saying things are better in America, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

I'm a social worker and at work I regularly get told that I'm a dirty piece of s***, a liar, a stupid f***, an ugly f***, incompetent, a lying scumbag, a kidnapper, etc.

Sometimes it's said to my face, other times it's texted to me but the constant message I get is that I'm terrible.

It is pretty rude but I guess I am usually giving really difficult messages to people and their response can be abusive.

I'd say any job that faces people under stress brings a lot of rudeness with it. Hospital staff in A&E have a terrible time of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Lau2976

When my sister died her neighbour told me and my mother at the funeral that she hoped whoever got the house would feed her dog when she was away. Originally I thought she meant my sisters dog but nope. She meant her own dog.

They share a gate too and she left a note in the letter box a few days later complaining that the it was my sisters turn to wash it and it hadn't been done.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Ice Maiden

loalae wrote: »
    I guess I am usually giving really difficult messages to people and their response can be abusive.
    Shooting the messenger is so horrible though, even if it is just a heat of the moment thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭chainsmoker556

When someone is talking behind your back yet asked her what's the problem but she keeps telling none.. DUH!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭RoadhouseBlues

I heard accidentally that I wouldn't be carrying my mother's coffin. Her relations didn't like me. They were like the town mafia and I wouldn't bow down to them. I had to state outside the graveyard in front of everyone that I would indeed be carrying the coffin to the grave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

Candie wrote: »
    I can be as rude as the next person when it's justified, but the things some people do or say just amaze me. I'm not talking door slamming or a failure to say thanks though that's annoying enough. Some people take it to the next level.

*One time on the London Underground, the carriage was full of people sitting, and a few standing. One man had his backpack on the seat beside him, but the standing people didn't seem bothered. At the next stop, an elderly gentleman got on, walked over and politely asked backpack guy if he would move his bag. "Fvck off and die" was the loud answer. To everyone elses credit, the place erupted and the guy was lambasted. The elderly gent got a seat, but it still grates on me that he had to hear that.

*I was sitting in the garden patio of a restaurant with a friend having Sunday brunch when a man sat at the next table with two small children. After a few minutes, he put his baby on the table and changed his dirty nappy, as people ate all around him, piling up the used wipes on a side plate, loudly blaming his 'bitch of a wife not cleaning the kid up' before he took them out. It put everyone off eggs in more ways than one.

*A few months ago I saw the local police pull a man out of a supermarket, protesting. The gist of his protest was that he was going to pay for the bottle of booze down his pants leg, he just forgot. He spat copiously and directly into one of the cops faces, hurling racial abuse at him. My stomach turned. At that point I decided that whatever cops are paid, it's not nearly enough.

*During a long haul flight a gentleman kept calling the flight attendant and complaining about legroom. Obviously he was hoping for an upgrade to shut him up, but he wasn't getting it. The next time she was walking past his seat, he stuck a foot out to trip her up, but she managed to break the fall. Then he called her an ugly, stupid, ignorant bitch at the top of his voice. Warnings were given, but he didn't seem bothered. He had a wedding ring on, so someone puts up with that all the time.

*Driving home at about 10pm, I passed three guys pi$sing into a convertible with the hood down outside a late night shop. I pulled over a little further away to call the cops but they'd run off by the time I even pulled out the phone. I told the driver when he came out and gave my details but never heard anything. A perfect storm of jealousy, opportunity, spite, and full bladders.

*On another flight, a large and angry woman was furious with her seat-mate for objecting to being used as a pillow for a nap. Cue outrageous insults from the woman, including hoping she'd die from a$s cancer, her kids would burn to death, and interestingly, that her husband die in a brothel. Death all round, no exceptions, no second chances.

Any tales of rude and obnoxious behaviour to top these?

Jesus, you've got a detailed list, Norris. Post some more please. You're taking notes obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

A woman complaining about not being allowed to bring her daughter to the toilet in a Burger King. The thing was, there was no toilet. The toilet was downstairs..which is technically illegal I believe but from what I understand, it was part of the planning for the restaurant and not something they wanted...the shopping center charge to use their restroom so they didn't want to lose out. Anyway, the manager explains this to the lady while she's screaming her head off...finally she swings and decks the manager in the face full force.

I worked in a toy store. A man came into buy a Nintendo Wii for his kids. When I told him how much it was, he demanded that I throw in another controller for free because our rivals provided two in their deal. We had a list of the deals from other stores, so I knew that wasn't true. Anyways, the guy curses me out of it, gets in my face and tells me he's going to guy to the other place, buy the Wii and then come back and rub the receipt in my face.

Had a lady come in looking for a racing game for her son. I wasn't serving her, my colleague was...he gave his opinion on the best game. Anyways, she started getting mean toward him calling him thick for no reason...he was doing exactly what she asked. Then she looks at me and calls me a useless retard.

A traveller threatened to stab myself and a co-worker with a butter knife....

Plenty of small annoying things like stopping at the gate of an apartment to open it and having one of the neighbors over take me to get in first...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,356 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

gzoladz wrote: »
    This one happened today... I was birdwatching in Cabinteely park at about 10am in the woods area. I heard a strange sound, turned around and I see the second floor window of one of the houses facing that part of the park getting opened.

A man ~25 y/o, whom I assume lives in the house, looks quickly around and starts peeing from the second floor. Thankfully I was a bit far from the scene and my reaction was to take a photo of the act (I was carrying my dslr with a very long lens so really reach was not an issue).

I still haven't decided what to do with the photo.

Probably report yourself to the authorities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,561 ✭✭✭hairyslug

2 days after my mother's burial, I bumped into a neighbour of my mother, a bit of small talk and then said how it had worked out well for me now that I had the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 547 ✭✭✭loalae

Ice Maiden wrote: »
    Shooting the messenger is so horrible though, even if it is just a heat of the moment thing.

Well tbf I'm not just the messenger, I'm usually the person who has done the assessment and decided that people are not capable of caring for their children or should see them even less than they already are. So I fully understand why I get the abuse but it can feel like a personal attack.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

hairyslug wrote: »
    2 days after my mother's burial, I bumped into a neighbour of my mother, a bit of small talk and then said how it had worked out well for me now that I had the house.

The worst thing is she's probably so clueless she thought this would be a comfort to you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Queue jumpers and their sense of entitlement astounds me.

Ever been to Germany ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

A man I know was in the airport in Johannesburg and couldn't help overhearing a woman on the phone. Expensively dressed, WASPy looking, strong South African accent. Shouting into the phone about 'Mark, Mark, shut up, I don't care if it's illegal, they're my dogs so I really don't facking care. I want them with their tails docked and on the facking plane by noon, OK Mark. Shut the fack up Mark, get the tails docked, I don't want to hear another word about this'

At some point during this charm offensive, Ms Lovely dropped a pen and it rolled away from her. Not willing to waste one moment on manners that could be spent telling Mark to STFU, she just clicked her fingers at my friend and pointed at the pen impatiently. And he said before he even knew what he was doing he'd gone and gotten it for her!

Another one, which my uncle told me as an example of the most Limerick thing he'd ever seen. There was a woman walking down the street, roaring (like really roaring) into her phone 'I want you out of my life! No, you're a ****, **** off, I'm sick of you'

Some fella walks out a bookies on the other side of the street, looks at her thoughtfully, lights a cigarette, takes a drag and then roars at her 'WOULD YOU SHUT THE FÚCK UP', to which she responds 'I'm not talking to you you haaaaaaaaandicap' and back to business.

So there's rude shouty phone people at all points on the socio-economic scale, I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dinorebel

A Dutch girl shat down my arm once

Was another girl holding a cup involved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

I heard of a guy who ****ed a man in the ass and didn't have the common courtesy to give him a reach-around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭Easca Peasca

I remember queuing in Mace with my auld lad when I was only 6 or 7. There was a young lady working the til and short changed a customer by a euro or two. Despite her being terribly apologetic and visibly embarrassed and upset, yer man fúcked her out of it and demanded a written apology from her and her manager, holding up the whole shop for 10 minutes. He didn't get it and walked out shouting about calling a solicitor.

What an ass-hat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

Dots1982 wrote: »
    I heard of a guy who ****ed a man in the ass and didn't have the common courtesy to give him a reach-around

I'll be watching you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

I remember queuing in Mace with my auld lad when I was only 6 or 7. There was a young lady working the til and short changed a customer by a euro or two. Despite her being terribly apologetic and visibly embarrassed and upset, yer man fúcked her out of it and demanded a written apology from her and her manager, holding up the whole shop for 10 minutes. He didn't get it and walked out shouting about calling a solicitor.

What an ass-hat.

I worked in Holland and Barrett a few years back, one day the shop was super busy and we ran out of 1, 2 and 5c coins.
    There were bags of them in the safe but the only person with a key was the manager who was pregnant and at the time of this incident, was throwing up in the toilet.

One or two customers, I told them we were out of 1, 2 and 5c coins and they said no bother to not worry as it was only small change and were really nice about it as they could see I was there alone.

One 'lady' though - I owed her 1c - I explained I had no coins and I could write a note on her receipt to say she was owed 1c, would that be OK as it was all I could do - if she had other shopping to so she could pop back after and the manager should be available them to give her the 1c change - she said I should go next door and get some 1c pieces - I said I'm the only one here I'm not allowed to leave the shop. Apologised lots, she could clearly see there was nothing I could do and was in a bit of a predicament. About 7 other people queuing behind her.

She went MAD. Shouted at me, said I was a thieving English b!tch etc and she wouldn't leave until she got her 1c.
    I was so embarrassed, I nearly cried - I had only been there 2 weeks or so - so I had to take out my handbag from under the till whilst she watched me go into my own purse and take out 1c to hand to her.

What an old cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88 ✭✭Liberosis

I worked in Holland and Barrett a few years back, one day the shop was super busy and we ran out of 1, 2 and 5c coins.
    There were bags of them in the safe but the only person with a key was the manager who was pregnant and at the time of this incident, was throwing up in the toilet.

One or two customers, I told them we were out of 1, 2 and 5c coins and they said no bother to not worry as it was only small change and were really nice about it as they could see I was there alone.

One 'lady' though - I owed her 1c - I explained I had no coins and I could write a note on her receipt to say she was owed 1c, would that be OK as it was all I could do - if she had other shopping to so she could pop back after and the manager should be available them to give her the 1c change - she said I should go next door and get some 1c pieces - I said I'm the only one here I'm not allowed to leave the shop. Apologised lots, she could clearly see there was nothing I could do and was in a bit of a predicament. About 7 other people queuing behind her.

She went MAD. Shouted at me, said I was a thieving English b!tch etc and she wouldn't leave until she got her 1c.
    I was so embarrassed, I nearly cried - I had only been there 2 weeks or so - so I had to take out my handbag from under the till whilst she watched me go into my own purse and take out 1c to hand to her.

What an old cow.

I don't think anything mentioned in the stingy people thread could top this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭magicmushroom

Liberosis wrote: »
    I don't think anything mentioned in the stingy people thread could top this.

I'm pretty sure it had nothing to do with the 1c and more to do with me being English :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,360 ✭✭✭Wompa1

What an ass-hat.

Worked in a Centra for almost 9 years. Had plenty of that. When I started working the shop didn't even have scanners. It was a small village and they didn't have the Centra brand yet. Anyways, being 12 and having to quickly remember prices and put them in on the till was awful...There was one lad who had moved to the village from Australia, he smoked some rolling crap that pretty much nobody else bought...when I'd have to look up the price he would call me every name under the sun.

It also reminds me, when I was about 15 I worked nights. Usually finishing around 12:30 am....One night around 11:45 pm, 15 mins before we closed. A guy I went to school with (both primary and secondary school) comes in with his wellies on covered in mud. He sees me mopping the floor and deliberately slides across the floor with his sh*t covered boots.

Another guy I went to school with was 2 years below me. I knew he was underage so I refused to sell him alcohol. He waited until I was gone stocking the shelves, went to the other guy (who was also in school with us but was easier to intimidate, I guess) who sold him the booze. The guy came to find me and waved the bottle in my face.

Another time, a bunch of young lads sent in a middle aged guy to buy the booze for them. I had never seen this guy before. Didn't see the young lads outside. I sell him the booze. He hands it off to the young lads outside and some woman comes in to give out to me for selling it to him, like I can help what some other guy does....

Every Sunday morning, a group of school colleagues would show up to the shop at 7 am (We were the earliest to open)...they were really mean...they weren't just mean in the shop either. They would bully me in school for it. I stuck to my guns though. Only one other young wan in the shop would refuse...when both of us worked, it was fine. She had my back...any other night I was bound to get abuse.

Anyways...that's why I now have a massive chip on my shoulder. It's also part of the reason I dislike the Irish drink culture and the attitude that "let them off, sure we all did it"...I believe most Irish did do that and were similarly crappy to the people working...the ugly side of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Being a white Young male, I have all the privilege yo !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,401 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

What an old cow.

She sounded like a wagon for sure, but I probably would have just handed her 10 cent to get her out of my face.