Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭marathon

I going to the mart next week with 2 heifers an Angus 500kg and a black limo 470kg what ye reckon they bring? Both nearly 2 years old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

blue5000 wrote: »
    Feckin dying of a headcold manflu the last couple of days. Dosing myself with lemsips........:(

Waste of time. Get as much good out of drinking cats piss! Get yourself a box of Benylin Day&Night tablets. Only available in chemist but without prescription. The only job. Kills the symptoms and allows you to function. Well they are the only thing that works for me anyways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

blue5000 wrote: »
    Feckin dying of a headcold manflu the last couple of days. Dosing myself with lemsips........:(
    Aww your poor diddums :)
    What you should do is wrap yourself up nice and cosy, put your feet up and watch telly until you feel better ;)
    Muckit wrote: »
    Waste of time. Get as much good out of drinking cats piss! Get yourself a box of Benylin Day&Night tablets. Only available in chemist but without prescription. The only job. Kills the symptoms and allows you to function. Well they are the only thing that works for me anyways.
    Nurofen Cold and Flu are good also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

whelan2 wrote: »
    I hate cleaning out drinkers, eldest lad headed off earlier with a bucket and a brush to do all the paddock drinkers, he said he likes doing them :)

Hardly heading off to a young ones house

marathon wrote: »
    I going to the mart next week with 2 heifers an Angus 500kg and a black limo 470kg what ye reckon they bring? Both nearly 2 years old

Not the same but in delvin mart CH heifers of the same age were making €1300 odd last week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,428 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »
    Hardly heading off to a young ones house
    noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Base price wrote: »
    Aww your poor diddums :)
    What you should do is wrap yourself up nice and cosy, put your feet up and watch telly until you feel better ;)

Nurofen Cold and Flu are good also.
    is it nurofen that's addictive? Hurt my shoulder last week- fell in cubicle shed- have difene I bought in spain for a few euro . Doing the job for the moment, agony when they wear off though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

is it nurofen that's addictive? Hurt my shoulder last week- fell in cubicle shed- have difene I bought in spain for a few euro . Doing the job for the moment, agony when they wear off though

Could take be thinking of codine?
    Well anything that makes you feel better can be addictive

ganmo wrote: »
    Could take be thinking of codine?
    Well anything that makes you feel better can be addictive
    I know oh was told to stop taking nurofen as the side affects would out weigh the benefits- but maybe thats just him :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Nurofen Plus, it's the one with codeine. Had to buy it once in Dublin city centre and it was like asking for methadone at the counter. Yerwan looked me up and down and grilled me before I was allowed a packet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

That would be Nurofen Plus. Chemists ask you a million questions if you go in to buy it as it contains codeine which can be addictive.
    I was prescribed difene for a "golfers elbow" by my doctor a few weeks ago and found it difficult to continue taking them. Wreck your tummy :(

Base price wrote: »
    That would be Nurofen Plus. Chemists ask you a million questions if you go in to buy it as it contains codeine which can be addictive.
    I was prescribed difene for a "golfers elbow" by my doctor a few weeks ago and found it difficult to continue taking them. Wreck your tummy :(
    only taking 1 or 2 a day. Agree though rough on the stomach, didnt know you play golf :)

Had 3 travelling sales men around today. 1 of them really annoyed me going on about how a lad down the road bought 50 sheep gates and 10 field gates off him , how good his 9 bar gates are and the rubber troughs he has. No means no . Went off like a hot snot then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Lady lou

Had 3 travelling sales men around today. 1 of them really annoyed me going on about how a lad down the road bought 50 sheep gates and 10 field gates off him , how good his 9 bar gates are and the rubber troughs he has. No means no . Went off like a hot snot then.

They only way to deal with them lads without consicence for your yourself is being very polite but very firm at the same time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

only taking 1 or 2 a day. Agree though rough on the stomach, didnt know you play golf :)

Yer 'meant' to take a nexium or similar before ya take one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Lady lou wrote: »
    They only way to deal with them lads without consicence for your yourself is being very polite but very firm at the same time.

I tell them i'm grand I don't want anything.
    I'm only wasting your time.
    I'll let you go so.

It puts it all on you and still makes them feel important and busy while knowing you ain't budging.

I haven't seen a travelling salesman in over a year.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    I tell them i'm grand I don't want anything.
    I'm only wasting your time.
    I'll let you go so.

It puts it all on you and still makes them feel important and busy while knowing you ain't budging.

I haven't seen a travelling salesman in over a year.
    I told this lad I have no money, he said thats ok, I said are you going to give them to me for free :D

Don't engage at all with them.
    Your lucky he didn't say we'll swop something or we'll leave whatever they were trying to sell here and we'll come back another time for the money.
    Then they have their foot in the door and they'll have an excuse for calling around when you're not there.
    Do not start bargaining with them or they'll be back next week and the week after and after that again.

Don't mean to think of people this way but I had a neighbour who used to horse trade with them and my father said he'll be left with nothing only the headcollar (the amount of swopping going on) and it happened that way.
    Expert negotiators.

Edit; saying you've no money in their minds means that you're interested but just haven't got the cash on you.
    It does not mean no.

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Don't engage at all with them.
    Your lucky he didn't say we'll swop something or we'll leave whatever they were trying to sell here and we'll come back another time for the money.
    Then they have their foot in the door and they'll have an excuse for calling around when you're not there.
    Do not start bargaining with them or they'll be back next week and the week after and after that again.

Don't mean to think of people this way but I had a neighbour who used to horse trade with them and my father said he'll be left with nothing only the headcollar (the amount of swopping going on) and it happened that way.
    Expert negotiators.

Edit; saying you've no money in their minds means that you're interested but just haven't got the cash on you.
    It does not mean no.

There's a buzz kill for yous.:p:D

We had 2 different football games on so I would be wondering were they around when we were gone. If dogs could talk!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭Lady lou

We had 2 different football games on so I would be wondering were they around when we were gone. If dogs could talk!

Cameras cameras cameras

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Or a wide angle camera on the dog! Be sure to see their faces and the number plate etc.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

"Graping the silage" sounds wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I was only looking at it there and thought about the thread. I suppose they have to have somewhere to go for inspiration :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

This is why I warn ye to watch what you say here, boards.ie is a good place to pick up topical pieces like that.

And at least they got the correct answer. :D:D

Unfortunately I don't have enough time to play regularly. My late Dad used to play a lot and he introduced me to the game. He quit playing when we were young children so that he could spend time with us but when I was 11 (youngest child) he took up the clubs again. I always enjoyed caddying for him and having him all to myself for those hours :)
    He bought me my first set of clubs, mentored and encouraged me.
    Unfortunately he died when I was 17 and after that I lost interest even though my siblings continued to play. I only got back playing because the boarding school that eldest attended had a course. When he was in 1st year he entered both of us in the parent/student annual competition :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

Shannon757 wrote: »
    "Graping the silage" sounds wrong.

After nearly 15 years in the Northwest I'm just about getting used to it :D

Yeah they had a vote on it. I call foul tho

Reggie. wrote: »
    Yeah they had a vote on it. I call foul tho
    was the voting only on snapchat?