Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,428 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Second c.section in 2 nights... tisn't easy
    sheep or cow?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Or lovers? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,564 ✭✭✭Grueller

Real spring morning here. Bright since ten to six and the birds singing with blue skies all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,397 ✭✭✭davidk1394

whelan2 wrote: »
    sheep or cow?

Both sheep. First 1 lost the lamb but the 1 last night had 2 fine lambs. I put in the hand and felt 6 legs and 2 heads and I taught I'm in bother here. But all is well now

Are these ones you bought in? Or was that someone else on here?

whelan2 wrote: »
    Are these ones you bought in? Or was that someone else on here?

They were both home bred ewes. But we did buy in 55 ewe lambs from roscommon a few weeks ago. First 1 lambed Tuesday. His a lovely looking fella and the mother is sticking to him like glue out in the field. Since last Tuesday week there's 120 lambed with Wednesday night being the busiest so far. 15 lambed from 12 to 5 am

How much does a section on a ewe cost?

I think it's €80. But it would cost €150+ to replace her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,346 ✭✭✭Dozer1

feeling the part time farming today,
    2 sucklers calved yesterday both big calves too took awhile to get sorted then feed em and tear out the gap to the airport
    working in the Netherlands for a few days, times like this the old lad is great to have around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Quadruplet calves born in Canada.:eek:

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/saskatchewan/cow-gives-birth-to-quadruplets-1.3481156

I've never come across triplets not to mind quads.

Neighbour had triplets here 5 or 6 years ago!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,701 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ah the novelty of feeding the calves in a t shirt :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,171 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Don't let them see your nips through it!! 'Mam mamm mammy!!!!' :D

Had an interesting morning. Was up in the yard and 1 of our butchers rang. They were killing old ewes for a different farmer. When they were emptying the pen. They spotted a new lamb in the corner. He asked me would I be interested in a pet lamb. Jumped into the van off down to Waterford for him. Picked him up into a bucket of straw gave him some colostrum. And on the way home the fecker died. Anyway some bit of a good deed done for the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Had an interesting morning. Was up in the yard and 1 of our butchers rang. They were killing old ewes for a different farmer. When they were emptying the pen. They spotted a new lamb in the corner. He asked me would I be interested in a pet lamb. Jumped into the van off down to Waterford for him. Picked him up into a bucket of straw gave him some colostrum. And on the way home the fecker died. Anyway some bit of a good deed done for the day

Ya can't win them all

ganmo wrote: »
    Ya can't win them all

True.. but I can't understand why someone would send off a ewe that is that close to lambing. He should be reported to the department for it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Reggie. wrote: »
    Ah the novelty of feeding the calves in a t shirt :D
    What the feck is a calf doing wearing a T-shirt?

:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,749 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Have a cow down in the cubicles . Reckon she's there since last night. Feck. She was lame last night and wouldn't get up for me this morning. I could see her on the calving camera during the day and she never got up. Any tips on how to get her up? Loader not on tractor either. I do have wide lifting straps . She's due to calf next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

Have a cow down in the cubicles . Reckon she's there since last night. Feck. She was lame last night and wouldn't get up for me this morning. I could see her on the calving camera during the day and she never got up. Any tips on how to get her up? Loader not on tractor either. I do have wide lifting straps . She's due to calf next week.

Was it yourself that bought the 1t hoist in lidl?

MF290 wrote: »
    Was it yourself that bought the 1t hoist in lidl?
    LOL , 'twas . No where overhead suitable though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

LOL , 'twas . No where overhead suitable though.

No girders above or one you could to drag her closer to?

MF290 wrote: »
    No girders above or one you could to drag her closer to?
    No, curved hay barn style roof. I was thinking of pulling her straight back into the channel, but she's so heavy in calf, don't want to rough her. Christ there's always something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

First year here with no calving cows...great to be able to take the calving jack apart and put it far away in the back of the shed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

No, curved hay barn style roof. I was thinking of pulling her straight back into the channel, but she's so heavy in calf, don't want to rough her. Christ there's always something.

I would get a 8x4 sheet of strong plywood and pull her back up on it .It would be easy enough to attach a strap around the corners of the sheet of ply and pull with tractor out into a field .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Try a couple of bottles of calcium patsy, one into vein and one under the skin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭JOAT

Quick question re urea spreading rates. When people say spread CAN at 1 bag to the acre, they mean 1 50kg bag (27units).
    How does this equate to urea? Would ye call 1 bag 50kg or 37kg considering a big bag is 375kg? Or to put it another way, how many acres would ye plan to cover with one big bag (375kg) at a rate of 1 bag (46 units) to the acre
    Hope all that makes sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

One bag = 50kg.
    Big bags usually 500kg, some bulky fertilisers come in lower weights relative to bag side.
    UREA most people go with either 50kg to the acre or 25kg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Never wrestle with pigs

Do you know anyone with a big engine crane? Put the straps on her and lift with the engine crane. She'll probably stand then. Put her on straw then. Had one last year with twins that I had-to do this. If she dosnt stand by tommorrow I'd induce her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭alps

JOAT wrote: »
    Quick question re urea spreading rates. When people say spread CAN at 1 bag to the acre, they mean 1 50kg bag (27units).
    How does this equate to urea? Would ye call 1 bag 50kg or 37kg considering a big bag is 375kg? Or to put it another way, how many acres would ye plan to cover with one big bag (375kg) at a rate of 1 bag (46 units) to the acre
    Hope all that makes sense

Big bag will do 7.5 acres at 46 units/acre.

Bolix, bollix - got cow to get up herself. Noticed the pins well down. Took nearly 30 mins to walk her up the yard, on 3 legs, onto bed of straw. She started calving straight away. Went back to house and by the time I had the camera turned on, I could see the calf completely out and still in the cleaning. Got to shed and calf dead. Its head was tuned back too but I think it was dead all along. Couldn't get near calf then to try and revive it as cow jumped up and wouldnt let me near it.You seriously wonder is it worth it sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Bolix, bollix - got cow to get up herself. Noticed the pins well down. Took nearly 30 mins to walk her up the yard, on 3 legs, onto bed of straw. She started calving straight away. Went back to house and by the time I had the camera turned on, I could see the calf completely out and still in the cleaning. Got to shed and calf dead. Its head was tuned back too but I think it was dead all along. Couldn't get near calf then to try and revive it as cow jumped up and wouldnt let me near it.You seriously wonder is it worth it sometimes.

Hard luck sir