Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

He was acting like he was fighting featherweights, his shots don't have as much venom against people as big or bigger then him.

He'll need to seriously rethink his style if he wants to succeed at light weight. Otherwise he'll only be successful fighting in featherweight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

No way you can justify a fight with RDA now, he gets taken down and subbed within a round. He has to fight Frankie, and he probably loses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,435 ✭✭✭wandatowell

PandaPoo wrote: »
    I thought he was quiet, for at least a minute before Conor was f*cked.

Really didn't see Nate winning, didn't even see him getting him on the mat for more than 10 seconds. Thought Nate was way too slow. Jesus.

I'd thought Nate by KO but then I'm a pessimistic.

Kavanagh said something like "will we give him another round? " then smiled. Just something I noticed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Lights On wrote: »
    Massive fan of Conner

Its shows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,009 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

He was beating the piss out of Nate but the Diaz brothers are very hard to finish. One punch then seemed to stun him. You could see him stumble about after it and Nate smelt blood in the water immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I was worried during the fight with mendes, but jesus that was almost hard to watch. It was obvious Diaz had him.

Humble in defeat, nice to see. Joe and Goldie weren't losing their arses like I thought they would be if Diaz would.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,378 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

rob316 wrote: »
    Huge blow for conor, can't even see the dos anjos fight happening now. His mat skills are so poor, diaz demolished him when he got him on his back.

The sub win was more over being rocked on the feet than poor grappling skills

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Shuy down the poll, quick

:P Can't see who voted on this one, so it's not as fun.

I feel kinda weird, sad for Conor but I love the Diaz bros and he was so **** to Nate on that FOX business call, so it hurts a lot less than some losses would. that's for sure.

Gawd what a night.

I'd thought Nate by KO but then I'm a pessimistic.

Kavanagh said something like "will we give him another round? " then smiled. Just something I noticed.

Didn't see that myself... That will be interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Nate should bring the kids round to the Mac Mansion and teach him some of that BJJ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,846 ✭✭✭take everything

Curiously enough no fixed/wwe claims from posters tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Conor's thrash talking had the opposite effect. Pumped Diaz up to fight him instead of getting in his head. Some difference between a Nate who's up for a fight and one who couldn't give a ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,923 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

Hope this loss gets him to move away from the marketing and back focusing more on his fighting. Could be good in the long run. He's gotten like Anderson Silva the past few fights, showboating and asking to get hit. He should take a leaf out of GSP's book, focus on his deficiencies and make them a strength.

Well done Nate Diaz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Lukker- wrote: »
    Rip Gamebred.

It's mad to see a champion defeated and still be champion
    I think that will help the hype rebuild.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

And people thought he could beat Lawler...LOL. Diaz isn't even renowned for his power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

cloudatlas wrote: »
    Called it in the poll. Nate obviously wasn't out of shape if he has been training for a Triathlon. I didn't like Conor's jibes at Nate for being broke and the 'balloon animal' rubbish so glad to see him fall on his pampered ass.

'I am humble in victory and defeat'. No you're not, nobody gloats more in victory.

Conor should go back down and get that fight with Edgar.

Ehhh have a look back, showed respect to every single one of his opponents after the fight. All the gloating is done beforehand to hype it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

You can't seriously say his ground game is still bad when he was barely able to stand on his feet. No way that's an indicator surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,539 ✭✭✭John_D80

True, but all the bitter begrudgers that couldn't stand seeing him being successful have suddenly found their voice!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,545 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Atmosphere over in Vegas will be toxic tonight. Would steer well clear of any Irish if I was over.

Lukker- wrote: »
    He was acting like he was fighting featherweights, his shots don't have as much venom against people as big or bigger then him.

He'll need to seriously rethink his style if he wants to succeed at light weight. Otherwise he'll only be successful fighting in featherweight.

He all seems more interested in movement than he does in power. Even after Aldo he said he tapped him on the chin to drop him, he needs to drop Ido Portal and focus on power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭meepins

JustTheOne wrote: »
    In all fairness it was a stupid fight to take at his weight

His coach, him and his partners should have warned him.

Silly carry on just for the theatrics.

I thought he was doing well and was on the road to winning the fight. Unfortunately he leaves himself far too open for strikes like that. It was worrying in the Mendes fight but he got away with it.

Amazingfun wrote: »
    :P Can't see who voted on this one, so it's not as fun.

I feel kinda weird, sad for Conor but I love the Diaz bros and he was so **** to Nate on that FOX business call, so it hurts a lot less than some losses would. that's for sure.

Gawd what a night.

I took a screenshot at the start
    It was 35 for sub ND it's 42 already
    Stupider than a stupid thing really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,982 ✭✭✭FourFourRED

Too late for them at this stage I think. Gone to sleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,293 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Some embarrassing stuff being posted.

Been waiting two years, the haters day had to come sometime.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Second Toughest in_the Freshers

I thought it'd be submission in the third

****, I forgot I had already voted in the poll, had Diaz by sub, heh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

martyos121 wrote: »
    Atmosphere over in Vegas will be toxic tonight. Would steer well clear of any Irish if I was over.

Really?

Is that your best contribution?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭Lights On

Watching that round back again. Knew Diaz would have the upper hand on the mat but in no world would I have thought Conor would have brought the fight down there. Diaz gets his million bucks and Conor has a point to prove in his next fight whoever that may be. In the grand scheme of things it's not the worst result in the world!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced