Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 196: McGregor v Diaz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,269 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

So can we officially put the normal calm, Zen fight week Conor down to the lack of calories? He was definitely more animated than we’ve ever seen him during fight week in the UFC. I wonder if that will mess with him on fight night too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭loudnoises89

That touch butt line is up there with some of the greatest disses in UFC history.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

Tigger wrote: »
    i got punched on the back of my hand once
    fugging hurts, little bones don't like that

It was an open handed slap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

parc wrote: »
    Seriously though, what kind of damage would that have done to Diaz's hand? Look like a good of smack of the fist.

I can understand him slapping it before the fight to hype it, and to piss Diaz off, but he actually could have damaged his hand no?

Also what are the weigh-ins going to be like now? Will there be 4 body guards between them :D?

I thought the press conferences were are little bit too relaxed, looks like McGregor took it up a notch :D

It was a hand slap. Relax

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    It was an open handed slap

I hope it was but its hard to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,054 ✭✭✭D.Q

That goofball in the park Hahaha warming to nate big time. Still for Conor on the night, but nate is spot on about Portal. Ido Portal would definitely ride your moh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 796 ✭✭✭Deadst4r

Wooooooooooooooow

I think touching on the training partners is definitely a sore point. Way worse than the steroids.

He is actually living the dream, and gives even less ****s than Nate. I think he still fights smart and not angry.
    Plus this scuffle will cause a lot more coverage and a few more PPV buys. And we know he likes money.

Hope he doesn't take Nate lightly and get caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭googled eyes

**** he actually seems annoyed. :pac::pac::pac:

Dis gona be fun.

Got me excited!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,269 ✭✭✭Gamebred

Have to say Conor seems genuinely pissed off there at the end,

We all wanted to see Conor v RDA but this is some replacement,rda would've been sat there with the personality of a potato in silence,I cant wait.

I think he pushed and prodded at Nate to finally get a response.

I think he expected Nate to sell the fight a little better, talk a little more ****.

He has to keep at him before Nate will say anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,845 ✭✭✭py2006

Conor have a bit of a cold?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

Lukker- wrote: »
    Nate always does that and Conor has in the past too. Nothing wrong with, think Conor was pissed that Nate was the one doing it.

Nate has a serious reach advantage, it's only 2 inches on paper but watching them at weigh in's it looks at least double that.
    weigh in's tomorrow?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 215 ✭✭ceecee14

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Nates handling this pretty well imo. Still think he gets beat.

Usually at this stage Conor would be tied to a treadmill, not allowed a bite to eat a bite with John Kavanagh whipping him.

Instead he's out starting brawls with Stocktons finest. Class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,801 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Yup can't see Nate standing up to Conor's variety of strikes.

Will Nate feel confident to go to the ground if in danger? Conor clips him, Nate is rocked, drops to back inviting Conor into his guard?

One thing I will say about McG he is incredibly calm and precise when finishing a downed opponent, he doesn't panic and leap in. I feel as though he always positions himself in a way that allows him to A) finish the fight and B) get back to his feet if he can't finish the fight.

Glad that Nate is getting a giant payday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Deadst4r wrote: »
    Usually at this stage Conor would be tied to a treadmill, not allowed a bite to eat a bite with John Kavanagh whipping him.

Instead he's out starting brawls with Stocktons finest. Class.

"Stocktons finest" just doesn't sound right.

Oh, they are the finest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,405 ✭✭✭Lukker-

Some weird trivia.

Conor McGregor talked about replacing the Lion at the MGM with a statue of an Irish lion. The very first MGM Lion was born in Dublin Zoo. The first movie that the MGM Lion featured in was called "He who gets slapped".

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leo_the_Lion_(MGM)

Read into that what you will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

giphy.gif

Full force punch on to Nate's hand is such a bitch move. Could have easily broke it. Lets see what happens when Conors opponents try to injure him during staredowns and the ensuing outrage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Such a big height and range difference.

Not sure how this fight will go. Which is good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,604 ✭✭✭dave1982

Danas face when he thought he'd lost control of situation haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

Some weird trivia.

Conor McGregor talked about replacing the Lion at the MGM with a statue of an Irish lion. The very first MGM Lion was born in Dublin Zoo. The first movie that the MGM Lion featured in was called "He who gets slapped".

somebody has way too much time on their hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭hadepsx

What time is this fight.Irish time please. Thanks. Quick Google doesn't specify.

Some weird trivia.

that's fecking cool!! good man. love stuff like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I don't understand the Gazelle reference. Gazelles are beautiful :)

Oh, just watched a Fox Sports clip and Conor says "I just look at your frame and it reminds me a little injured Gazelle", oh lol, where does he get this from?

I really hope he kicks ass out there.

I don't understand the Gazelle reference. Gazelles are beautiful :)

and tall, and quick, and lean and loud!!! ha ha ha.
    but cannot stand in a fight :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,307 ✭✭✭✭Zero-Cool

Well this was quality. Best line for me was when it went quiet and Nat just says .....I'm going to kill you. Sounded like a right psycho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭loudnoises89

McGregor went from playing touch butt in a park to telling a man to take his top off on national television.