Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016 - Mod Warning link in OP 20/3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭sigmundv

Shrewsbury tomorrow, Midtjylland Thursday. Two very winnable games, but they won't be easily won.

Too much Giggs talk around the place. The man has no management experience, so handing him the United job would be a disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

I agree.

I personally see no good reason for LVG to still be in the job after that run in december.

But I don't run United and my explanation is what I believe is the case, rather than how I wish it to be.

but even the alleged Jose/Giggs split could lead to the above scenario being the case.

weve gotten it wrong apparently re fabregas, Ramos, Muller etc etc in terms of people tied to other clubs being interested in joining us - there is no reason to suggest Poch or Simeone would join us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,134 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Jose in a gentlemans agreement? Ha Jose is no gentleman

He has probably kidnapped Bobby Charlton and is extorting Woodward into giving him the job or else Bobby gets it, has anyone seen Charlton in the last couple of days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 35,486 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

If we get beat tomorrow night the Internet will crash.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,089 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

No the world will crash and have to be rebooted

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

What sort of team are we expecting tomorrow? Strongest possible? Kids thrown in? Given we've got the defeat to overturn on Thursday, and then Arsenal next in line, you'd think this would be the chance to rest some players, but LVG finds himself in a bad place right now. The kids should be able to take Shrewsbury, and might even have a bit more motivation to prove themselves right now. But does he take the risk?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Same line up as Thursday night to play against Shrewsbury, and again on Sunday, when will De Gea be back??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

It won't just crash
    It'll be like that y2k thing
    The internet will implode on itself
    The stock markets will slump
    World War 3 will break out
    Oil prices will rise
    And we'll realize its a funny old game innit

Lord TSC wrote: »
    What sort of team are we expecting tomorrow? Strongest possible? Kids thrown in? Given we've got the defeat to overturn on Thursday, and then Arsenal next in line, you'd think this would be the chance to rest some players, but LVG finds himself in a bad place right now. The kids should be able to take Shrewsbury, and might even have a bit more motivation to prove themselves right now. But does he take the risk?

we dont have any players to rest really do we?

there will have to be changes before Sunday either way as it would be 4 games in 10 days for the same small bunch of players, which isnt really ideal considering how laboured we look.

i would assume Fellaini, Adnan,Varela, CBJ and maybe Jones could all figure tomorrow night and/or thursday night, which would help. Will Keane could start up tomorrow night too.

Romero
    Mcnair Smalling Daley CBJ
    Carras Herrera
    Memphis Mata perreira
    Tony m

Bench
    Whoever is fit on the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 427 ✭✭sigmundv

Lads, any change in manager won't be announced until we're out of Europa League and fourth in the league is mathematically gone. With City imploding we can make a late push for four, but we don't look like winning matches so it'll be a difficult push!

sigmundv wrote:
    Lads, any change in manager won't be announced until we're out of Europa League and fourth in the league is mathematically gone. With City imploding we can make a late push for four, but we don't look like winning matches so it'll be a difficult push!

Do citeh not have to come to old Trafford....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

brinty wrote: »
    Do citeh not have to come to old Trafford....

Nope, City have already been to Old Trafford earlier in the season, was a dull 0-0, the return game is at the Etihad March 20th, 16:00 kick off, will probably be a part of the Super Sunday that weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭macslash

We're out Monday, Thursday and Sunday ya? Injuries are gonna hurt us this week

macslash wrote: »
    We're out Monday, Thursday and Sunday ya? Injuries are gonna hurt us this week

yep. at this stage, i think we are better off getting knocked out thursday, as the injury situation will only get worse.

we dont have the quality to win the Europa league so may as well just end that now, try win as many league games as possible and see where that gets us, and theres an FA cup to be won also.

we simply do not have enough quality players to fight on three fronts, the FA cup final is only 2 games away after tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

Jesus Christ I can't remember off top of my head the last time we won the FA cup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,581 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

2004 (99.9% certain, v Milwall)

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

If we don't win today then Van Gaal should just resign.

Shrewsbury are 21st in League 1 scoring just 37 goals and conceding 51 goals in 31 games.

In the last 6 Home games they lost 4 and won 1 drawing the other game.

If we consider only league games then in the last 6 home games they lost 5 and drew 2 game.

If we can't even beat that is in such a worst form then Van Gaal should be left behind the team bus.

Save yourself some of the pain and put money on Shrewsbury Town

A draw it is so :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Save yourself some of the pain and put money on Shrewsbury Town

A draw it is so :P

With you there. Bore draw to compound the fixture mess were in.

I know some of ye are joking, but are their people who genuinely think we won't win tonight?

We will win by at least 2 clear goals, I'm going for a 3-1 minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,363 ✭✭✭✭DARK-KNIGHT

I know some of ye are joking, but are their people who genuinely think we won't win tonight?

I honestly have lost all faith lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

I think most of us have stopped counting our chickens before they hatch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Antibac

I think we will win but I don't think it will be easy or comfortable. 1-0 or 2-1 at best

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 43,001 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

I'd have said the same about the EL game, Homer. Or the Sunderland game. Or a string of other "We'll surely win" games this season. The thing is, whenever we face anyone with a bit of passion or confidence, we struggle. If Shrewsbury come out tonight with any desire, they'll probably overturn us :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,861 ✭✭✭Irishcrx

I don't think we'll win tonight , I'm not trying to be pessimistic , just honest...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Giggsy11 wrote: »
    If we don't win today then Van Gaal should just resign.

Shrewsbury are 21st in League 1 scoring just 37 goals and conceding 51 goals in 31 games.

In the last 6 Home games they lost 4 and won 1 drawing the other game.

If we consider only league games then in the last 6 home games they lost 5 and drew 2 game.

If we can't even beat that is in such a worst form then Van Gaal should be left behind the team bus.

he should be he wont, why would he? he would be missing out on around £10m

Crikey when Homer is the most positive guy amongst us you know there's serious problems at the club.
    If we can't win tonight LVG should be walking.
    Thursday night could get absolutely toxic if there's an adverse result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,355 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I'll have a charity bet with you, €10. You can name the charity.

United's best result tonight will be a 1 goal win margin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,275 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

brinty wrote: »
    If we can't win tonight LVG should be walking.

If we don't have a title challenge he should be walking
    If we don't get out of CL group stage he should be walking
    If he can't get into top four he should be walking
    If he can't get the team to improve he should be walking
    If he can't beat Norwich or Sunderland he should be walking
    If he can't beat FC Midtjylland he should be walking

If he can't beat Shrewsbury he should be walking
    If he can't get top half of the table he should be walking

Basically I think he should be walking.