Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

I follow your log but don't contribute much. I think you have dodged a bullet by not running Seville. No matter how you try to positively spin it you were not in the right frame of mind to produce a performance that would have done you justice. You have a good base now and no pressure to cram in training so you can relax and make a decision to target something else soon. A car crash marathon tomorrow could have cost you months of past and future training. Take an easy Week get a bit of sports therapy and hit a half marathon or 10 miler hard in the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Keep the faith, C.

FYI Ferris is heading to Cork in June so you could keep him company for a few miles before kicking on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

aero2k wrote:
    Cork in June isn't a bad option either, similar difficulty to Dublin but much smaller field.

Cork! Do CORK. Great gang going. You know D. Deadly idea. Bring the boggers as my Family won't travel so they are more than welcome to support me.
    Sorry you aren't starting but better off rather than doing it when not ready, but you know that already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭Ferris B

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Keep the faith, C.

FYI Ferris is heading to Cork in June so you could keep him company for a few miles before kicking on.

Excellent plan. Let's have a warmer upper run in Cork before ramping it up for DCM smack down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,911 ✭✭✭tailgunner

Sorry to hear you didn't make Seville. Hopefully you can build on the recent training and have a go at Limerick or Cork!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

TBl

Thats a shame about Seville. Hope the reflection delivers a result for you as soon as.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

I'm really sorry to hear that this didn't work out for you, but the writing has been on the wall for a while.

I know Luke will advise you in the best possible way but that wont stop me giving my own advice!

For me, your travelling has been a real positive for your log, but a impediment for your training - in terms of recovery and settling into a general pattern of work-life balance.

My own advice is 2 fold: -

(1) to not consider a marathon for the coming year, but work on a plan that allows you to enjoy running and get a very positive return for your very obvious investment.
    Right now, I see a poor return for your investment.

Focusing the next few months building up your 10k/10m speed & endurance will pay great dividends to having a shorter marathon schedule next time around - this might help the travelling.
    The travelling that you do obviously has a negative impact on your running and ability to recover (more so than the majority of us who read your log) so having a lighter schedule may help that balance.

(2) Moving back to running marathons for enjoyment and not a time goal for the time being.
    When I met you, it was early in your 'new life' as a time concious marathon runner, yet the stories that you regaled me with about your marathons showed a real enjoyment for running, this still exists, but with added pressure.

I know you've 'grown up' with marathons and have run possibly more that the combined readership of this log put together, but unless you break this cycle, I fear the same thing will happen again if you do a Marathon in the coming months.
    I hate giving advice on here as its so much noise to other noise, but think strongly about your next move.

Alan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Sorry to hear you had to make that tough call TBL.

Chin up and go out this week and enjoy some running in some exotic far away places without the pressure of a race on your shoulders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Was just about to text you to say good luck - at least it's not me this time. Sorry to hear you're not toeing the line - you'll know yourself what's best next up but don't be hard on yourself - we're supposed to be doing this for fun (and to try cling to eternal youth).

Tnx Paulie, yeah if you'd signed up for Seville I'd probably be giving you a complex at this stage. Hopefully we'll get to do one together while we're still young:)
    aero2k wrote: »
    Really sorry to hear you didn't make it to the start, but sounds like the right decision. Lots of good advice above, particularly on the quality vs. quantity debate.

Cork in June isn't a bad option either, similar difficulty to Dublin but much smaller field.

Tnx Aero, had hoped to replicate your own auld man exploits but I'll have to wait till I'm aulder and wiser!
    ultrapercy wrote: »
    I follow your log but don't contribute much. I think you have dodged a bullet by not running Seville. No matter how you try to positively spin it you were not in the right frame of mind to produce a performance that would have done you justice. You have a good base now and no pressure to cram in training so you can relax and make a decision to target something else soon. A car crash marathon tomorrow could have cost you months of past and future training. Take an easy Week get a bit of sports therapy and hit a half marathon or 10 miler hard in the next few weeks.

Tnx UP,

Yes even sitting here tonight I don't think there was anyway I was going to run anywhere near my capability and would have crashed and burned. Until yesterday morning I was prepared to take that risk though as I felt I mentally needed to get a marathon done given the recent DNS's. It was only when someone asked me would I enjoy it that it clicked, I always enjoy marathons but the whole week seemed to be stressing me unnecessarily, it's only a hobby after all. Hopefully I can get back at it quickly and not lose fitness, I'm hoping to race hard in the next few weeks.
    FBOT01 wrote: »
    Keep the faith, C.

Tnx AULDBOT100,

Cork is certainly an option, I've done it a few times so know what to expect and the company would be welcome.
    aquinn wrote: »
    Cork! Do CORK. Great gang going. You know D. Deadly idea. Bring the boggers as my Family won't travel so they are more than welcome to support me.
    Sorry you aren't starting but better off rather than doing it when not ready, but you know that already.

Ha Aquinn, I don't think my wife has ever seen me run a race so there's less chance of the Bogger clan turning up for Cheerleading duties in Cork than there is of Joan Burton been Taoiseach :)
    Ferris B wrote: »
    Excellent plan. Let's have a warmer upper run in Cork before ramping it up for DCM smack down.

Hey C, Cork an option but I've done DCM a fair few times and I never had a good run there.
    tailgunner wrote: »
    Sorry to hear you didn't make Seville. Hopefully you can build on the recent training and have a go at Limerick or Cork!

Tnx TG,

I've had a few decent runs in Limerick and marathon PB'ed there twice so I'm looking closely at it.
    denis b wrote: »
    TBl

Thats a shame about Seville. Hope the reflection delivers a result for you as soon as.

Tnx Denis,

Will chat with coach after an osteopath appointment next week and decide what to do.
    I'm really sorry to hear that this didn't work out for you, but the writing has been on the wall for a while.

I know Luke will advise you in the best possible way but that wont stop me giving my own advice!

For me, your travelling has been a real positive for your log, but a impediment for your training - in terms of recovery and settling into a general pattern of work-life balance.

My own advice is 2 fold: -

(1) to not consider a marathon for the coming year, but work on a plan that allows you to enjoy running and get a very positive return for your very obvious investment.
    Right now, I see a poor return for your investment.

Focusing the next few months building up your 10k/10m speed & endurance will pay great dividends to having a shorter marathon schedule next time around - this might help the travelling.
    The travelling that you do obviously has a negative impact on your running and ability to recover (more so than the majority of us who read your log) so having a lighter schedule may help that balance.

(2) Moving back to running marathons for enjoyment and not a time goal for the time being.
    When I met you, it was early in your 'new life' as a time concious marathon runner, yet the stories that you regaled me with about your marathons showed a real enjoyment for running, this still exists, but with added pressure.

I know you've 'grown up' with marathons and have run possibly more that the combined readership of this log put together, but unless you break this cycle, I fear the same thing will happen again if you do a Marathon in the coming months.
    I hate giving advice on here as its so much noise to other noise, but think strongly about your next move.

Alan

Hey Alan,

Appreciate the time and thought put into your post.

I know some people look at this log and think there's more fluff and sight seeing than actual training but for me the log served a useful purpose, it actually kept me motivated and somewhat accountable in a weird kinda way.

I felt I was in fantastic shape for Amsterdam 2014 and had a great bank of consistent training done only for it to all go wrong on the day. I genuinely felt that I was close to a sub 3 after I that cycle. I got injured a week or so before Boston 2015 and my cycle for Valencia last November got waylaid by a horrendous period at work. I think you are right that the writing has been on the wall for Seville but I also feel if these niggles (and they were self inflicted in that they came about from an ill advised skiing trip) hadn't cropped up I wouldn't have been too far away from my PB [3.05].

Unless I change job I don't think the work travel is going to lighten during 2016, and it's something I'm just going to have to manage.

I'm hoping I'll only need a few more days to recover and then I'll decide what's next with Ecoli. I've pushed back on him before when the option to do a cycle focusing on shorter stuff was proposed and I'll likely do the same again as I badly want a marathon PB this year. I do think however that I need to race more and be mentally stronger, I've a tendency to self sabotage when things go against me. Anyway whatever happens it about time we hooked up again for a trot! Tnx for your post.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Hi C.

Came on to wish you good luck and saw the unfortunate news :(. I know less than most about running, but in my opinion you are far too harsh on yourself. The travelling you do makes it extremely difficult to follow any kind of structured plan (especially for the marathon) no matter how much you want to blame yourself. Spending so much time in the air, in airports at either end and travelling to/from hotels & accommodation is really exhausting. That's before you take into account different time zones that your body takes time to adapt to, along with the fact that most of your flying is done from Dublin when you live in Galway. Another two hours or so on the road every time.

Give yourself a break. When circumstances are more favourable, I'm sure you'll nail a new marathon PB (hopefully in Seville, you owe that race one). You've got a nice block of training under your belt to build on for whenever that may be.

Best of luck,
    Peter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Younganne

Another follower here but rarely post but just my take on it.
    Sorry to see you didn't get to the start line and you have got some great advice from others.

One thing that i think is being overlooked is the amount of travelling you do and the impact this can have on your body and your system, especially if crossing over time zones.. From reading your log you usually get the plan done more or less but I'm wondering if some days after a long flight you should recover the body and not run. This could be one of the reasons the niggles are affecting you. There are times when we all need to HTFU but there are times when this does not apply!

Maybe take a couple of weeks of easy running and re-assess when you are fully recovered. There's plenty of marathons to choose from so don't rush into another one just yet. Just my opinion and I'm sure Coach can give you the best advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Ok,

I don't like doing this but I'm willing to offer my coaching services for a 40 mile per week sub 3 training plan.

It's fool proof (sort of) and at worst you'll only miss target by a few seconds.

¥1700000 per month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

A bargain with JPY/EUR rates.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

aquinn wrote: »
    A bargain with JPY/EUR rates.

Don't trust the euro or the dollar #tinfoilhat

Gavlor wrote: »
    Ok,

I don't like doing this but I'm willing to offer my coaching services for a 40 mile per week sub 3 training plan.

It's fool proof (sort of) and at worst you'll only miss target by a few seconds.

¥1700000 per month.

Tnx V,

I think I'll pass on the coaching offer as I'm happy where I am but I'd buy your weight loss plan as I hear it's achieving significant results :)

TbL

Took the last 3 days off and probably overdid it on the comfort eating. Thank you to everyone who took the time to input here.

I was concerned that the niggles were been caused by an injury to my back and I was advised to see an osteopath.

Had the appointment today and was happy that he wasn't concerned with the back, he said he believed that I'd a slight tear in my glute and that was causing all the muscles around the area to tighten up. Good news is that I can continue with easy running. (Seemed counter intuitive to me to run with a tear but he said it was ok unless the running exacerbated it)

I'll take a few days easy running and then decide with Ecoli what to do next.

Got 45 mins easy running done today around the pitches in Dangan.

TbL

Got out early this morning, beautiful morning for a nice and gentle 4 miler, started off in great humour but it didn't last. The day went downhill after a great start! Finished the 4 miles @ 8.51 and I felt stiff and uncomfortable around the hip and groin. Later on I had to get 5 vaccine shots as I'm long hauling it again next week!

Pissed off all day and got a physio appointment to get a second opinion on my niggles. She was just returning herself after 6 months with no running with a stress fracture of the hip, put the fear of god into me. She is convinced it's a glute medius issue but she can't say exactly why the glute tightens up so quickly after exercise. She worked on it and the hip and the groin loosened out so they are down as symptoms and the glute is the cause she also dry needled me, FFS, I thought she was spearing me with a javelin, I was close to tears.

Got a few more exercises and was told to only do easy runs every second day for a while, its feckin frustrating.

I'm having implants put in at the dentists tomorrow, this auld age isn't suiting me very well, if any of the younger Boardsies would care to donate some body parts I'd be grateful. Pm me if interested, Murph, Auldbot100, & Aero excluded :)

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

I always thought your man-boobs were big enough C, not sure the implants are a good idea!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Pm me if interested, Murph, Auldbot100, & Aero excluded :) TbL

G'wan Tang, you're in at last :)

on a slightly more serious note, would you not consider just taking a break completely for a couple of weeks while getting some rehab done? there's no pressure of a start line to make now..

Firedance wrote: »

He's well fed up of me at this stage AM!!!

tang1 wrote: »
    I always thought your man-boobs were big enough C, not sure the implants are a good idea!!

Well the hair weave implant was a disaster for you :)

He's been trying to get in since I met him!
    on a slightly more serious note, would you not consider just taking a break completely for a couple of weeks while getting some rehab done? there's no pressure of a start line to make now..

No AM, I'll only get fatter, aulder, slower and crankier, I'll do what I'm told so if I can easy run, I will. Took me ages to get back after my foot injury.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Well the hair weave implant was a disaster for you :)

:D:D

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    :D:D

Less of it you!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

This is good advice.
    I'll only get fatter, aulder, slower and crankier, I'll do what I'm told so if I can easy run, I will. Took me ages to get back after my foot injury.

TbL

You may be auld and cranky but you're not fat or slow. I would urge you to reconsider. When I had hip pain in 2014 I saw 3 different physios and they all told me I was ok to run. It improved after treatment but it would get worse again after a couple of days and sometimes even the next day. I had massaging, dry needling and ultrasound done and all the time I was told it was ok to keep running on it. At the time I was happy because that's what I wanted. To keep running. To keep training. Finally I got an MRI and I had damage to the tendon of the glute medius and I shouldn't have been running on it at all. In hindsight I should have stopped running as soon as it happened. I made the initial injury much worse by keeping going and it definitely took at least an extra six months to heal and now I think it's more susceptible to injury. Looking back, I wish someone had told me (and that I had listened) that I needed to rest it completely for it to heal properly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

That's him off for an MRI now. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

My twopence worth.....

Unfortunately as with a lot of us you are only happy to do what you are told when they tell you to do something you want to do i.e. Keep running even if it is only easy running.

I think it may be time to put your ASGS (Auld Stubborn Git Syndrome) to work in your favour by using it to manage the diet and focus on rehab rather than allowing it to take you down the keep running route when a couple of weeks off with a strong focus on rehab and self control is probably the way to go and certainly won't do you any harm with some long haul thrown in there anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭aero2k

I'm having implants put in at the dentists tomorrow, this auld age isn't suiting me very well, if any of the younger Boardsies would care to donate some body parts I'd be grateful. Pm me if interested, Murph, Auldbot100, & Aero excluded :)

TbL

Good call TbL, I'm actually on the scrounge for a left leg and a few associated bits if anyone has one lying around.....

aero2k wrote: »
    Good call TbL, I'm actually on the scrounge for a left leg and a few associated bits if anyone has one lying around.....

what? toes?? never mind.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Plenty of sound advice above especially from Career Movie.

It would be very difficult to step back completely from all the training you do. Is there a possibility of doing some cycling or swimming with the injury you have while allowing it to heal? regular spins up Seana Féistin on the bike would keep the lungs, legs, and mind well pumped.