Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Boggers Log

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭Back in Black

Sorry to hear that today didn't work out for you C.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭aquinn

Not to poke an angry lemon but what time and pace would you expect from a 10 miler? 66:13 was how far off target?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

aquinn wrote: »
    Not to poke an angry lemon but what time and pace would you expect from a 10 miler? 66:13 was how far off target?

Would have expected to run sub 65 comfortably AQuinn, but enough of coulda, woulda, shoulda, I didn't and need to refocus.

Enjoy the skiing

TbL

Today: travelled from Trim to La ciudad de los reyes, via stopovers at Heathrow and Bogata.

I haven't been here before and it's a pity that I'll be leaving again tomorrow night, the countryside looked spectacular as the plane descended through the clouds. I would have liked to get a day or two exploring done, maybe next time. After a long journey I was stinking so bad that I could smell myself and when the taxi driver started wrinkling up his nose and opening all his windows I knew I was long overdue a shower!

Staying in a nice hotel in Miraflores, grabbed a quick shower and breakfast and spent the rest of the day in meetings, with my Spanish colleague.

He runs a little so after work we headed off for some nice easy miles. The temperature is in the mid 20's and it was a beautiful balmy evening. We headed down towards the seafront to the Larcomar neighbourhood. Once we got onto the seafront the vista was incredible. The neighbourhood is built on the plateau of the cliff with a sheer drop of probably a couple of hundred meters to the Pacific Ocean below. There were little parks, skateboard parks, clay tennis courts and swimming pools, a lighthouse together with palm tree lined paths that ran through parks and along the cliff top. The place was a hive of activity with walkers, joggers, people using the open air exercise machines and even a group of lads doing some acrobatics on a tightrope strung between two trees. Down below in the ocean we could see dots that were surfers trying to catch waves. Some points, just off the path route, led to sheer drops and there were no fences or warning signs of any kind. Only managed 5 miles at recovery pace but it looked like we could have continued for another few miles. Was a truly spectacular run and the only downside is that I still haven't shifted the groin and glute niggles.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Nice. But stay off the tightropes, whatever you do. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Murph_D wrote: »
    Nice. But stay off the tightropes, whatever you do. ;)

+1 but seems like an ideal place to give cliff diving a go!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Sounds lovely C, look after the body.

I'm only in Lima just over 24 hours but already I think it's one of the coolest capital cities I've been to. The weather is great, the people seem nice and friendly, the scenery is beautiful, they love sports, there seems to be plenty of public sporting facilities and the food is incredible. I had a stupendous meal out last night and today at lunch I ate al fresco in another lovely restaurant overlooking the Pacific. Great food, glorious sunshine and a fantastic view. Savage!

I'd a two hour free window this afternoon that I probably should have used to catch up on some kip but I decided to head off for some more easy miles. The first few miles took me along the same route as yesterday evening, not as busy as last night and it seemed to be a lot hotter. After a couple of miles I was still running parallel to the sea but I was in a "grittier" part of town, the sound of the ocean waves breaking gave way to a cacophony of traffic sound as packed old busses, clapped out cars and ancient taxis honked, spluttered and revved their way along the very busy road. Really enjoyed this part of the run as you never know what you'd come across next, small parks, astro soccer pitches, makeshift dwellings between high rise buildings under construction and I even came across a running track.

Got a really enjoyable 10.5 miles done easy.

Disappointed that I'm leaving later tonight but I'll definitely be back

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

I'm only in Lima just over 24 hours but already I think it's one of the coolest capital cities I've been to.

Yea, but you don't get around much :rolleyes:

I was on a 6 hour flight overnight Tuesday night and as my glute was fairly tight I decided to get a massage in the hotel before I flew out. I headed up to the top floor at the prescribed time and there was no one else around except a young wan in white behind a desk. I approached and told her I was there for my massage. She started talking very quickly to me in Spanish.

"Sorry I don't Spanish", "no abla Espana".

She rabbited on in Spanish, I thought she was asking me for my room number, so calling on my many hours of watching Dora the Explorer, I said,
    "Sinko Una Sinko", this was met by a blank stare. I then started writing 5,1,5 in the air with my finger, this was met with a contemptuous stare! "Have you a pen, a biro, a stylo" I asked thinking I'd write it down. This was met with, I'm dealing with a simpleton stare and she went on a bit of a verbal rant. Ah here fcuk this, I took out my mobile and made an international call to my Spanish colleague who was in his room a few floors below and thrust the phone at her!

She wanted to know how long I wanted and what sort of pressure! Didn't matter anyway coz it was a ****e massage and she spent around 20 mins of it scratching my hair and head, ffs!

I tried saying "harder" a few times but it didn't make a blind bit of difference. I really need to learn some basic Spanish!

Arrived in Mexico City early in the morning, it's been about a year since I was here last. The traffic in Mexico has to be experienced to be believed, it's total bedlam, I wouldn't drive here for all the tea in China. Most parts of the city are, putting it delicately, ****holes, but I'm staying in a lovely area, Polanco, near Chapultepec Park and Castle.

The park is the largest city park in the Western Hemisphere at almost 1,700 acres, and it's steeped in history. The Aztecs considered the area sacred and it was also the site for one of the last battles between the Spanish invaders and the Aztec. The castle in the park is on top of Chapultepec hill which is at an altitude of over 2,500 metres. The castle is also very famous and in the 1800's it became the official residence of the Head of the recently independent state, Maximilian 1. It's now home to a history museum.

Weather here is fairly cool and overcast and by the time I'd finished work I was short for time so I only managed to get 3 recovery miles done in the park. Glute is still very stiff and I'm lashing into stretches to try and loosen it out, I suppose all those hours on a plane aren't helping it.

TbL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

if you can get yourself to some sort of sports shop get a spikey ball (a tennis ball will do if you can't though) they are super for getting into places like glutes, TFL, calf areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

I just tune in for the travelogue. The running is a bonus. Keep it up Tbl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

denis b wrote: »
    I just tune in for the travelogue. The running is a bonus. Keep it up Tbl

Half the time the running is a bonus for him too, Denis :D

Sorry for being a pedantic fcuker but the Phoenix Park is in the Western Hemisphere and it's bigger than that!

Impressive all the same. :p

Well, page 3. What's going on? Stuck in Mexico?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,099 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Firedance wrote: »
    if you can get yourself to some sort of sports shop get a spikey ball (a tennis ball will do if you can't though) they are super for getting into places like glutes, TFL, calf areas.

Or go into a pet store and get the same thing in the toy section for 25% of the price ;)

if you can get yourself to some sort of sports shop get a spikey ball

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Or go into a pet store and get the same thing in the toy section for 25% of the price ;)
    aquinn wrote: »
    Well, page 3. What's going on? Stuck in Mexico?

uh oh.... TBL is wandering around Mexico asking about spikey balls, with his pigeon Spanish this could end in tears, don't worry C, Tang will visit you in Mexican jail :D

Gonna assume you made it to the start line. Hope it's a good day for you. All the best.

I think it's actually tomorrow but absolutely all the very best if racing. Suspicious still in Mexico or The Wet West but let us know anyway.

Didn't travel.

Niggles turned nasty and I spent the week trying absolutely everything to get in shape to travel but a test run in Amsterdam yesterday morning convinced me pull the plug.

Even some Amsterdam coffee and carrot cake (as suggested by AULDBOT100) couldn't shake my disappointment!

DNS's are worryingly starting to mount. I had a plan that I really liked but a lot of my issues on this cycle were self inflicted.

Back to square one and I'll touch base with Ecoli next week.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Didn't travel.

Niggles turned nasty and I spent the week trying absolutely everything to get in shape to travel but a test run in Amsterdam yesterday morning convinced me pull the plug.

Even some Amsterdam coffee and carrot cake (as suggested by AULDBOT100) couldn't shake my disappointment!

DNS's are worryingly starting to mount. I had a plan that I really liked but a lot of my issues on this cycle were self inflicted.

Back to square one and I'll touch base with Ecoli next week.

TbL

This is going to sound obvious but how about you stop inflicting the issues on yourself and give your body a chance to make the start line in good condition

You've a great base built up, would you consider Limerick in May??

Gavlor wrote: »
    This is going to sound obvious but how about you stop inflicting the issues on yourself and give your body a chance to make the start line in good condition

You've a great base built up, would you consider Limerick in May??

Hi V,

Yes, I was only looking at Limerick last night, so I'll speak to Ecoli about that.

The difficulty I'm finding is that I struggle to string a block of consistent weeks together. I'm away long haul with work the week after next and then I'm away for 3 weeks again in March so it makes it hard. As someone else said though, hard but not impossible, so I need to stop using it as an excuse.

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Hi V,

Yes, I was only looking at Limerick last night, so I'll speak to Ecoli about that.

The difficulty I'm finding is that I struggle to string a block of consistent weeks together. I'm away long haul with work the week after next and then I'm away for 3 weeks again in March so it makes it hard. As someone else said though, hard but not impossible, so I need to stop using it as an excuse.

TbL

Yeah I understand that, very difficult to tie in a training plan around the amount of trading that you do.

Maybe it goes back to the quality v quantity debate. You've plenty of endurance built up so maybe focus on shorter, sharper stuff when you are travelling?

I'm sure luke will point you in the right direction.

(Ask him about his top-gun brown leather jacket :D )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Sorry to hear you didn't start. Hope you get the niggles sorted. Maybe you're trying to do too much?

P.S Carrot cake was never going to work. What were ye thinking??? You need hard core chocolate for that and lots of it :D

Hi V,

TbL

I considered saying 'why not forget about the marathon for a while' but then I remembered where I was :p really sorry you didn't make it to the start C, hopefully you can sort out both the niggles and how best to train on your schedule.

Hi FD,

That suggestion has been made to me a few times, and by people whose opinion I respect, however, I'm a really really stubborn auld bollix and my whole focus has been on a decent marathon time. I know I can do it, I just gotta do it!

TbL

Sorry to hear you didn't start. Hope you get the niggles sorted. Maybe you're trying to do too much?

P.S Carrot cake was never going to work. What were ye thinking??? You need hard core chocolate for that and lots of it :D

Tnx CM,

Trying my best to restrict myself to the mini mars bars :)

TbL

Hi FD,

That suggestion has been made to me a few times, and by people whose opinion I respect, however, I'm a really really stubborn auld bollix and my whole focus has been on a decent marathon time. I know I can do it, I just gotta do it!

TbL

that's what I meant when I said I forget where I was :D

you can and you will ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Was just about to text you to say good luck - at least it's not me this time. Sorry to hear you're not toeing the line - you'll know yourself what's best next up but don't be hard on yourself - we're supposed to be doing this for fun (and to try cling to eternal youth).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,346 ✭✭✭aero2k

Really sorry to hear you didn't make it to the start, but sounds like the right decision. Lots of good advice above, particularly on the quality vs. quantity debate.

Cork in June isn't a bad option either, similar difficulty to Dublin but much smaller field.