Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭galwaylad14

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Asking this question in an Arsenal thread :D

Well obviously I understand why actual Arsenal fans from north London would dislike Spurs. They're the noisy neighbours, you have to live and work among their fans, if they beat you then you're hearing all about it for months. I understand that.

But why would Irish based Arsenal fans dislike Spurs? The fact that they play close enough to the Emirates has no relevance on ye surely when ye don't live in that area etc. I mean if you just watch the matches in your sitting room surely there's no logical reason to dislike arsenals local rivals?

Like I support Leicester and I don't hate Nottingham Forest just because they're our local rivals. I don't live there so I don't have the chance to argue with their fans or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Ajfunky

Well obviously I understand why actual Arsenal fans from north London would dislike Spurs. They're the noisy neighbours, you have to live and work among their fans, if they beat you then you're hearing all about it for months. I understand that.

But why would Irish based Arsenal fans dislike Spurs? The fact that they play close enough to the Emirates has no relevance on ye surely when ye don't live in that area etc. I mean if you just watch the matches in your sitting room surely there's no logical reason to dislike arsenals local rivals?

Hmm, so firstly you come in say nobody here is a real arsenal fan, and now you say the fans here aren't actual fans at all.

Rivalries add a fun aspect to the pantomime of soccer that keeps us interested all the more in the sport. They are historical attributes of clubs and make following a team properly all the more enjoyable. Noones starting a firm or anything, its just a bit of craic.

But this has nothing to do with Arsenal and Spurs, if you want an answer to this go post a new thread and stop trying to get a rise out of these 'fake' fans. (says the man born in North London, but sure, didn't Arsenal start in South London?!!!:P )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

Like I support Leicester and I don't hate Nottingham Forest just because they're our local rivals. I don't live there so I don't have the chance to argue with their fans or anything.

How long have you supported Leicester for? A lot of us here have supported Arsenal for 20+ years, regularly go to matches, know lots of Spurs fans and are well aware of the rivalry. You don't have to live there to appreciate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,469 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Most spurs fans I knew growing up were genuinely delusional. Made it very easy to hate them, despite not living in London.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Most spurs fans I knew growing up were are genuinely delusional. Made it very easy to hate them, despite not living in London.

fixed that there for you :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Sure it's not as if any of us have any real connection to any of theose Premiership teams anyway so may aswell pick the best one.

Said every Utd fan in the 90's

FixitFelix wrote: »
    Said every Utd fan in the 90's

Said every Irish fan of every English football team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Said every Irish fan of every English football team

So unless you live 500 yards from the ground of the team you support or your father took you to your first game when you were 6 just as your grandfather took your father at that age then you are not a true fan ?

Will you get lost with that nonsense !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Stop feeding the troll lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Not happening. Nowhere near consistent enough. Even allowing for a win against Leicester ye subsequently won't be able to win games consistently enough to win the league. The usual top 4 spot for Arsenal I'm afraid.

That's the spirit!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

Galway lad sounds a lot like a born again United fan to me!

FWIW I never knew Forest and Leicester had a rivalry... Derby and Notts County for Forest I'm pretty sure, Leicester n Cov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,615 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Up until a few years ago I wouldn't have classed myself as a Spurs hater. I figured if you were from North London, then hatred of your near rivals was fairly understandable. It would be a bit odd if you didn't hate your longstanding footballing neighbours, or at least not totally approved of them, it's rooted in geography. But, considering I was from the West of Ireland, and the fact that Arsenal played in London had no bearing whatsoever on why I supported them, I felt it was a bit stupid to actively dislike Spurs, just because I supposedly had too. I wouldn't have disliked them the same way I disliked Man United, or loathed them like I did with, in more recent years, Chelsea and even poor, pitiful Stoke or Bolton.

But things have changed for me lately - I hate how Spurs consistently are over-hyped in the media and usually at Arsenals expense. Arsenal might underachieve, but they are constantly beat over the head about it. Spurs, on the other hand, are praised - even though they consistently fail to even reach Arsenals level of underachievement. For Spurs, to finish in the top four once in ten years is proof that they're a massive club. For Arsenal, to finish in the top four every year for nearly twenty years is evidence of stagnation - or so some of the chattering classes might say. They are most consistently overhyped team in football, only Leicester's year of ludicrousness is stopping the back pages from being clogged with ad-nauseam stories of how Maurico Pochettino is part descended from Jesus. And more Spur fans have started coming out of the woodwork in recent years. While they were tapping about for twenty years, collapsing over the line inanywhere from fifth to fifteenth place, I never met one, or at least very,very rarely had the misfortune. You do hear a few peeps from them nowadays and, by and large, they are most singularly deluded breed of supporters there is - Completely sure of Spurs brilliance and utter certainty of finishing ahead of Arsenal by the seasons end. Why? Just baffling really; I find most fans of teams generally are hopeful and, understandably, talk up their team, but at least they let reality intrude on their worldview a bit: not Spurs fans. It's usually a case with them of a remark along the lines of "how long's it been since you won the league, wha?", as if Arsenals position of superiority- which they would all sell their mothers for- is something to be sniffed at. Their record is arsing about, being lauded and talked up, and then blowing a once unassailble lead in the table, and yet Arsenal are the "chokers"? They are in no position to talk. And yet they still do... THAT'S why I hate Spurs.

It really reached ridiculous levels in the years that Harry was in charge. When Spurs were pushing hard in the league, coming into Febuary during 2011-12, you would have sworn that these were the best team some journalists had ever seen: Then they and their idiotic fans were absolutely hammered 5-2 by The Arsenal, and I don't think I've enjoyed an Arsenal victory in recent years quite as much as that one.It was one of those that I enjoyed because my enjoyment came from hate: I hated the team we were playing- I hated their media hype and I hated their deluded fans who couldn't contain themselves with their premature assumptions of Arsenals demise, it was great to put them in their place, it felt right - mind the gap indeed.

Potato.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Potato.

Mashed or roast?

greendom wrote: »
    So unless you live 500 yards from the ground of the team you support or your father took you to your first game when you were 6 just as your grandfather took your father at that age then you are not a true fan ?

Will you get lost with that nonsense !

Ah I'm only messing, support who you like and hate whoever you like. I follow the Premiership alright but I don't actually support anyone, I just don't see the logic in Irish people supporting English teams really but to each their own and it doesn't actually bother me in the slightest.

I don't actually support Leicester either, though like every neutral (or fan of a team outside the current top 4) I obviously want them to win it now. Who wouldn't want a 5000/1 shot to win?

And for what it's worth I actually do think Leicester will win it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Potato.

Ketchup, catsup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

I think the way we beat Leicester is by basically playing for a draw and taking one or two of our chances when they come. I'd go very defensive, particularly in midfield.

Coq
    Elneny
    Rambo - Ozil - Sanchez
    Giroud

gosplan wrote: »
    I think the way we beat Leicester is by basically playing for a draw and taking one or two of our chances when they come. I'd go very defensive, particularly in midfield.

Coq
    Elneny
    Rambo - Ozil - Sanchez
    Giroud

I also think Leicester will drop a lot of points in the run in. Teams will stop seeing them as a side that you can get at and beat, and rather as a good point.

A draw wouldn't be the worst thing in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Wakes up to rumours ozil wants Barcelona move in the summer, not a good start:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Coq
    Elneny
    Rambo - Ozil - Sanchez
    Giroud

Guardian reckons:

377698.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

JustTheOne wrote: »

Dont Real have a buyback option if he's sold? Or at least the chance to match or better the offer or something along those lines. Its Marca that are reporting it though so I wouldnt read too much into it

This is contract stuff I'd say.

We need to accept that if he resigns we'll get the prime years of one if the best players we've ever had.

That means we need to pay him what he's worth.

I imagine Wenger started with a 1k rise or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

Coq
    Elneny
    Rambo - Ozil - Sanchez
    Giroud

Elneny should be nowhere near the first 11 for a big game, just because he is new doesn't mean he should be played.

He needs time to settle and get physically stronger, that stood out loads in his first game.

Now is not the time for taking gambles

JustTheOne wrote: »

Isn't there always bollocks like this reported in the Barcelona press every time we play them?

Soups123 wrote: »
    Elneny should be nowhere near the first 11 for a big game, just because he is new doesn't mean he should be played.

He needs time to settle and get physically stronger, that stood out loads in his first game.

Now is not the time for taking gambles

That's not a gamble.

Rambo in central midfield against them would be IMO.

That's not a gamble.

Why so? Last time we played them, we had a Flamini/Cazorla midfield.

Personally, because I don't think he will play Elneny, I wouldn't mind seeing:

Coq-Flamini

Ramsey-Ozil-Sanchez

Walcott

This won't happen though. I would only put Walcott in up top because of how he played againt them last time. More likely we will see very close to the Bournemouth lineup, except Coq in for Flamini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

That's not a gamble.

It's a huge gamble, this isn't a game to throw a rookie in.

Rambo is a better option by miles. They are going to let us have plenty of the ball and we've got players well able for that game.

We only need one DM against Leicester

Stupid Sunderland.

If they sack LVG and bring in that horrible little punk back, the next two years will be dominated by the hair pulling and nail scratching between him & Guardiola. The whole thing will be a circus.

So thanks, Sunderland. Well done.

Meanwhile, I'm feeling confident about tomorrow. And indeed the rest of the season. If Sanchez hits form, I have us as favourites.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Ozils agent working on a new deal
    He shouldn't have too hush give him what he wants :)

Also gab is out having mert there scares me. Coq will have to sit in front of him with bellerin not far away

I would start elneny, but I don't think Wenger will

I would definitely start Walcott up front too