Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

Soups123 wrote: »
    You need to look closure at the players and manager not the ref

The players shouldn't be let off the hook either. With the exception of Ozil and Sanchez most of them were poor and Yes Wenger should have added to the squad in January everybody in the world knew this, apart from him apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

FixitFelix wrote: »
    Who would you have brought in?

He's not the manager so it's a pointless question but one that's often asked by Wengerites.
    Here's one for you, where's our famed scouting system or Wenger's great knowledge of footballers from around the globe?

vetinari wrote: »
    Yet another promising season is starting to fizzle out.
    I wonder if Wenger is trying to force Sanchez back into the team too soon.
    The spacing of the Arsenal players at times tonight was shocking.
    It feels like the rest of the team is just expecting Ozil or Sanchez to create something.
    A real dispiriting Arsenal performance.

Out of these so called great English players, Spurs get Delle Alli, Kane, while we get Ox, Walcott and Wilshere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Gringo180 wrote: »
    We need another goalscorer. We haggled over a few million for Higuain a few years back and he scores a goal a game in Italy for Napoli. He was our Van Nistelrooy but again we refused to strenghten.

Its well known a fee was agreed and they upped the price by 5m at the last minute, where right to walk away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,257 ✭✭✭omega man

I doubt there'll be much in the way of positive spin in here after that result.

Leicester this season are so refreshing but it's making Wenger look average in my opinion. They may not last the pace but it shows its not all about money as some, including Wenger, have made out to be the case.

Maybe we'll go on a run now with some pressure off but I can't see us winning the title now.

I don't know where people get this whole theory that it's an easy league. It's far from an easy league. It's an open league though.

City have the same quality they always had. Chelsea have essentially the same team that won last year.

Other teams at the top will drop points, and our destiny is still in our hands.

Haven't enjoyed watching Arsenal play for a good while, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Soups123 wrote: »
    You need to look closure at the players and manager not the ref

Yeah I said in my previous post how I blame the players and the manager. Wasn't good enough regardless of the referee. But Lee Mason was atrocious tonight, no other word for it. We should have buried a few of the sitters alright. League gone for me.

Out of these so called great English players, Spurs get Delle Alli, Kane, while we get Ox, Walcott and Wilshere.

Delli alli has had half a goid season so i wouldn't be getting excited, wgat about lennon townsend and all the other ****e they've had over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Missed the game

Seems like out finishing was poor and there keeper pulled off some good saves

Margins for error are getting tighter need to start clicking again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

He's not the manager so it's a pointless question but one that's often asked by Wengerites.
    Here's one for you, where's our famed scouting system or Wenger's great knowledge of footballers from around the globe?

I am truely amazed the apologists can still say "who could we of brought in". We have brought in some ****e the past few years, Santos, Park Ji Sung, Sanogo and the chap we signed with a broken back. We are a shambles in the transfer market, its not a coincidence our downfall happened when Dein left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭wawaman

Who has a modern manager?

City - pep
    Pool- Klopp
    Spurs- potch
    Utd - mourniho (sooner or later)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,875 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Who would you have brought in?

Well they've plenty of money and it's their best chance of winning the EPL for a long time. I thought they would've added to their squad with another striker to back up Giroud at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I didn't think we could win the league anyway but i thought we'd give it a much better shot. We just don't have good enough players or a manager that can win it. The table doesn't lie, we're a fourth place team at best.

Its well known a fee was agreed and they upped the price by 5m at the last minute, where right to walk away

So what just spend the money. He was well worth the asking price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Arseblog tweeted this

21 shots, 20 from inside the area, Ozil, Koscielny and Walcott should all have scored tonight. So frustrating.

Jaysus lads been tough on Wenger here,
    Surely he set up the team right and the players just didn't finsh

Im not a wengerite im just curious as to who he would have like wenger to bring in?simple question. You jump on me for asking a question that you think is "pointless" because he's not the manager and then ask me a similar question?

I didn't think we could win the league anyway but i thought we'd give it a much better shot. We just don't have good enough players or a manager that can win it. The table doesn't lie, we're a fourth place team at best.

Great logic. You can't move up the table, only down or stay where you are.

Oh well, saved me a few months of sitting on my arse watching football, cheers!

Oh well.

Back to 4th after signing someone who apparently didn't make the squad tonight, got 9/11 starting, down to 4th, 4 without a win. Same old story lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Missed the game

Seems like out finishing was poor and there keeper pulled off some good saves

Margins for error are getting tighter need to start clicking again

Unlikely now IMO that we will win the league. Three ahead of us plus a chasing posse. Not impossible, but we not good enough to be consistent in wins. I hope am wrong. Disappointing ....again.

Im not a wengerite im just curious as to who he would have like wenger to bring in?simple question. You jump on me for asking a question that you think is "pointless" because he's not the manager and then ask me a similar question?

I asked you an entirely different question.
    The poster isn't getting 7 million a year to spot talent, the manager is.
    Yet you tried to put the onus on the poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

Basil3 wrote: »
    Haven't enjoyed watching Arsenal play for a good while, though.

This
    Its not nice to admit but we have been very poor for the most part, even back in Oct/Nov or so we were playing poor but scraping results. The last few weeks especially have been hard to watch, just no imagination and too many players afraid to take charge. The only plus from tonight is that Coq is back and he can only improve us

Arseblog tweeted this

21 shots, 20 from inside the area, Ozil, Koscielny and Walcott should all have scored tonight. So frustrating.

I do feel sorry for Wenger but he has so much time to build a title winning team but just refuses to bring in the best players. He has for far too long put too much faith in mediocre players not good enough to win a title. As Tayto has said, the table doesnt lie.

Worrying thing is will Sanchez and Ozil stay around much longer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Wenger ain't to blame for this one lads.

All a manager can do is set the team up to not concede and create chances. We did all of that.. Not his fault everyone's finishing was off and Foster had a stormer.

Basil3 wrote: »
    Great logic. You can't move up the table, only down or stay where you are.

Oh well, saved me a few months of sitting on my arse watching football, cheers!

I didn't think we would win the league either. Don't think we have enough quality after the first 11 but i did expect us to improve which i don't think we have as if yet, but a long way to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I am truely amazed the apologists can still say "who could we of brought in". We have brought in some ****e the past few years, Santos, Park Ji Sung, Sanogo and the chap we signed with a broken back. We are a shambles in the transfer market, its not a coincidence our downfall happened when Dein left.

We brought in Ozil Sanchez and Cech!

Actually, I'm not bothering with all the waaaa waaaa waaaaa bollocks that goes on here every time we don't win a game easily.

It's called a blip, anyone who has seen more than one season of football should be aware of that.

5 points off the top, plenty of time to claw it back. Just need to get a bit of rhythm going.

I do feel sorry for Wenger but he has so much time to build a title winning team but just refuses to bring in the best players. He has for far too long put too much faith in mediocre players not good enough to win a title. As Tayto has said, the table doesnt lie.

Worrying thing is will Sanchez and Ozil stay around much longer?

The table was clearly lying when we were on top....apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Well when we all calm down we'll find while not a great result the league was certainly not lost tonight. Its game week 24. And I didn't think Arsenal played badly. Would have killed a lot of other teams with that performance, Southampton defended really well tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,257 ✭✭✭omega man

Arseblog tweeted this

His players, every single one of them. If they're not up to it he should move them on but he shows extraordinary faith in them, to his detriment. If they don't repay that faith on the pitch season after season then he should be more ruthless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭DarraghF197

A goal poacher would have been a start. Maybe Austin for example who already snatched a late winner against Man United. But I'm not annoyed about that, I just really don't see why we would start Flamini ahead of Elneny (unless there's a reason). Flamini has been carried in this team for 18 months and Wenger still has faith in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,629 ✭✭✭wonga77

You have to admit though, fair play to Leicester.
    Anyone see Vardy's second goal? top class finish, been a while since I saw a screamer from us