Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FIXERUPPER of the week/day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭ligertigon

think it happens a bit if the paperwork on the Japanese side gets lost, doesn't turn up etc they can never be registered in Ireland. rumour then has it that they somehow become property of the docks or something, i really don't know, but apparently Dublin port is full of them.

it's a sin, because you can tell just from looking at those photos that they are absolutely immaculate compared to anything you could but here.

maybe i'm cynical but €1250 a pop seems a bit steep, even for parts. not much, if any room for profit there for most lads i'd say.

BEfedBdCEAAkKpG.jpg
    BEfeYDgCAAAUOxD.jpg
    BEfegDLCYAAJoYX.jpg
    All those poor little dump valves that could be pssshhhhhing around the country...so sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

sounds very odd - surely paperwork can be re-generated? anyhow, what a waste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,657 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Such a shame to see them go to waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,338 ✭✭✭mullingar

I dont think there is a mechanism for the Irish system to allow these to be registered as they have no way to prove the "type approval".

I did hear that one option was to get it registered in the UK who seem to have a system to allow for this and then to re-import it back to Ireland with a V5, but I dont know if this is still available. But even if this system is still open, its not worth the effort for these worthless cars.

I think it also needs to into the dreamers thread. If he got €500 each they would be doing very well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

indeed they are essentially scrap, albeit modern scrap. €500 a pop would be doing good for them.

hard to know what the idea is with the ones around the docks. apparently they cannot be bought or moved on, so are they just going to sit there until the end of time? some really nice stuff there going to waste, that GTST (i think) could be worth the guts of €10k if it were on the road?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,084 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

I like that white Cube

They're awful on fuel though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Surely a few of them could be bought & used as track cars, and brought to/from the back on a trailer?

looking at that Impreza, if you could pick it up for a grand, surely it would make a decent convert to a race car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,084 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Surely a few of them could be bought & used as track cars, and brought to/from the back on a trailer?

looking at that Impreza, if you could pick it up for a grand, surely it would make a decent convert to a race car?

You couldn't get a grand for it though

Whoever is selling them wants absolutely mental money for them. There were a load of rusty Minis for 2 to 5k each a few weeks ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,905 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

You've clearly never heard of JDM tax :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭millington

indeed they are essentially scrap, albeit modern scrap. €500 a pop would be doing good for them.

hard to know what the idea is with the ones around the docks. apparently they cannot be bought or moved on, so are they just going to sit there until the end of time? some really nice stuff there going to waste, that GTST (i think) could be worth the guts of €10k if it were on the road?

Looks like it could be a GTS. Standard either way so worth no more than €5k even if it's a GTST.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Is there any way at all for those jdms to be registered in the eu and then back into Ireland?
    Or ask the Japanese authorities to resubmit the paper work? Seems like such an utter and sad waste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,203 ✭✭✭dodderangler

2001 bmw 320 diesel for 250 today failed nct on abs light and needs 2 front tyres needs trackin spotless yoke pics to follow tomoro

If thats all it failed on then why ask for so little? Its practically for free at that point.
    Abs could be the trickiest or a simple frayed wire triggering the light.
    Two tyres so lets say 200e for that plus another 30e for the tracking and you are looking at a new nct plus probably an extra 1k on the asking price.
    Unless there is more thats wrong with it.

bear1 wrote: »
    If thats all it failed on then why ask for so little? Its practically for free at that point.
    Abs could be the trickiest or a simple frayed wire triggering the light.
    Two tyres so lets say 200e for that plus another 30e for the tracking and you are looking at a new nct plus probably an extra 1k on the asking price.
    Unless there is more thats wrong with it.

100 for new tyres and Il track it myself. I've inspected it myself and can't fault it other than what's on fail list. Needs a good valet though. It's from one of the bus drivers in work . He just wants me to also service his merc and replace cv joint

Have you done a scan to see what the abs error actually is? It just seems way too cheap that id nearly feel like I'm robbing the man :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭keano25

get some pics up!

bear1 wrote: »
    Have you done a scan to see what the abs error actually is? It just seems way too cheap that id nearly feel like I'm robbing the man :D

Well I know the story behind the car and the reason why he's letting it go so cheap. Basically he used it everyday up till 3 months ago when his father suddenly dropped dead and he got his father's 2011 mercedes and the bmw was just parked in the yard because he didn't use it. He was told to get rid of it today or it was going on back of a truck and scrapped so I just offered him money and he toook it cuz he wouldn't of gotten rid of it by end of the day

keano25 wrote: »
    get some pics up!

Il put up pics tomoro when I collect it and give it a good valet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

Worth a call, maybe? Any horror stories with these diesels?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda6-estate-engine-problem/11412941

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,638 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Thanks Pat, that's what I heard as well. Trust me to be stuck here on duty for the weekend. Someone else might be able to benefit though!

Worth a call, maybe? Any horror stories with these diesels?

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mazda6-estate-engine-problem/11412941

Says on that page that it's sold

Went very fast, a 06 Mazda 6 diesel for five hundred, not starting.

Found this on there as well. Apparently it tries to take off and fails. Effectively you're looking at a new box, I should think.

https://www.donedeal.ie/damagedcars-for-sale/2007-citroen-c5-hdi-exclusive/11352477

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Found this on there as well. Apparently it tries to take off and fails. Effectively you're looking at a new box, I should think.

Its hardly a bargain if it needs a new gearbox.
    High tax €1000 a year and a c5 wouldnt be worth a lot at the best of times.

Its hardly a bargain if it needs a new gearbox.
    High tax €1000 a year and a c5 wouldnt be worth a lot at the best of times.

Oh I know. Just throwing it out there for opinions. Thought it might be a quick fix, but it seems those later auto boxes are rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,298 ✭✭✭martinr5232

Oh I know. Just throwing it out there for opinions. Thought it might be a quick fix, but it seems those later auto boxes are rubbish.

So is the C5 😊