Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slang Words That Are No Longer in Use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,281 ✭✭✭Valentina

Schwing

or Schwiiiiiiiing

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,313 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Menas wrote: »
    Bootboys and Corner Boys.
    Gutties was another one.
    quad_red wrote: »
    'Balubas' - ie. crazy, unhinged. "Yeah, he's balubas".

I never knew the origin and racist connotations of that until I saw a documentary on TG4 on the Niemba ambush as an adult
    I'd occasionally still use "balubaland" instead of lala land.
    Donnybrook: an inordinately wild fight or contentious dispute. A brawl.

I doubt anyone ever actually used this word, but I like it.
    By all accounts the markets held in that suburb of Dublin were quite riotous from time to time.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

"Smatle" as a contraction of small and little, frequently pronounced as schmatle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

When I was a kid. Adults would refer to street winos as "spunkers" or "spunkards"

Of course now a "spunker" would mean something completely different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Cha (tea)
    "cup of cha"
    I think many Irish spent time out east with the British army.

from a Dublin slang website
    "in me office sending a fax to poolbeg"
    (i'm in the loo having a sh*te.")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,073 ✭✭✭Xenophile

diomed wrote: »
    from a Dublin slang website
    "in me office sending a fax to poolbeg"
    (i'm in the loo having a sh*te.")

A good one...............is it still in use?..................fax yes........as you cannot wipe your a**e with an email.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,083 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Wazzzzzuuuuupppp as a greeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,419 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Get on the trolly.

Ironically, rising in usage in Irish hospitals.

I Googled these other army/Indian words

cushy Easy (Hindi khush pleasant, from Persian khush [1915]
    dekko To take a look (Hindi, deckna, to look)
    goolie Testicle, late 19th century (Hindi gooli, a pellet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Brown. As in "I will in me brown"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Wibbs wrote: »
    The word "Bowler" for a dog you hear almost never these days.

That's what my auld fella always calls the dog, I say it myself sometimes - it's actually never occurred to me, until right now, that other people don't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Tool
    Sham
    Beur
    Jacks

All of these are still in common usage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

ezra_pound wrote: »
    All of these are still in common usage.

They are?

What's a beur?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wibbs wrote: »
    The word "Bowler" for a dog you hear almost never these days.

still used in my mothers house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,855 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Benji, used to describe someone smelling like shite

"The smell of Benji off ya"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,955 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

keano_afc wrote: »
    Blaghard and gurrier. My grandparents were fond of these particular words.

My grandmother used to use 'blaggard' and 'gurrier'. My favourite was 'looderamawn', though. A lazy ne'er-do-well. I suppose 'ne'er-do-well' could be added too.
    quad_red wrote: »
    'Balubas' - ie. crazy, unhinged. "Yeah, he's balubas".

I never knew the origin and racist connotations of that until I saw a documentary on TG4 on the Niemba ambush as an adult
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niemba_Ambush

My sister (who's in her mid-40s) used this a few weeks ago. I was a bit surprised, considering she likes to think of herself as very politically correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Guttersnipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Gyp!

"Did you ride your one last night?"

"Absolutely, but I had no rubber so I had to gyp on her stomach."

I was only about eight when the word 'gyp' was common so the above isn't a real conversation I had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Diddies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Topper: A nice person.

"Ah yeh topper!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,819 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

'you article' as an insult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Scut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

keano_afc wrote: »
    Blaghard and gurrier. My grandparents were fond of these particular words.

I think you should listen to few Joe Duffy "lafhline" podcasts it is full of mentions of gurriers and blagards!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Smashing
    Delira (and exira) - I blame Gay Byrne entirely for these.
    gombeen

However, as Terry Pratchett had one of his characters say in a book twenty years old "cool is always cool".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Not a word but a phrase, my granny still uses "doing a line" to mean dating someone, Also uses the word Queer but not in the context of being gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Thats not used anymore ?

what a shame ...

How about "Sketch!" - to mean RUN !!!

that still used among the youth ?

We used to use "sketch" too, also someone would "keep sketch", which meant to keep lookout.

My Dad still uses 'dinging' when something is really good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

Old bean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

Janey mack, a nicer way of saying jaaaaaysis! I heard it all the time as a child. I still say it but never hear anyone else use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

They are?

What's a beur?

An auld doll