Slang Words That Are No Longer in Use.

Schwing

or Schwiiiiiiiing

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,340 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Menas wrote: »
    Bootboys and Corner Boys.
    Gutties was another one.
    quad_red wrote: »
    'Balubas' - ie. crazy, unhinged. "Yeah, he's balubas".

I never knew the origin and racist connotations of that until I saw a documentary on TG4 on the Niemba ambush as an adult
    I'd occasionally still use "balubaland" instead of lala land.
    Donnybrook: an inordinately wild fight or contentious dispute. A brawl.

I doubt anyone ever actually used this word, but I like it.
    By all accounts the markets held in that suburb of Dublin were quite riotous from time to time.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 754 ✭✭✭mynameis905

"Smatle" as a contraction of small and little, frequently pronounced as schmatle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

When I was a kid. Adults would refer to street winos as "spunkers" or "spunkards"

Of course now a "spunker" would mean something completely different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Cha (tea)
    "cup of cha"
    I think many Irish spent time out east with the British army.

from a Dublin slang website
    "in me office sending a fax to poolbeg"
    (i'm in the loo having a sh*te.")

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,096 ✭✭✭Xenophile

diomed wrote: »
    from a Dublin slang website
    "in me office sending a fax to poolbeg"
    (i'm in the loo having a sh*te.")

A good one...............is it still in use?..................fax yes........as you cannot wipe your a**e with an email.

The Forum on Spirituality has been closed for years. Please bring it back, there are lots of Spiritual people in Ireland and elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭questionmark?

Wazzzzzuuuuupppp as a greeting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,445 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Get on the trolly.

Ironically, rising in usage in Irish hospitals.

I Googled these other army/Indian words

cushy Easy (Hindi khush pleasant, from Persian khush [1915]
    dekko To take a look (Hindi, deckna, to look)
    goolie Testicle, late 19th century (Hindi gooli, a pellet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Brown. As in "I will in me brown"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Wibbs wrote: »
    The word "Bowler" for a dog you hear almost never these days.

That's what my auld fella always calls the dog, I say it myself sometimes - it's actually never occurred to me, until right now, that other people don't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭ezra_pound

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Tool
    Sham
    Beur
    Jacks

All of these are still in common usage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

ezra_pound wrote: »
    All of these are still in common usage.

They are?

What's a beur?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Wibbs wrote: »
    The word "Bowler" for a dog you hear almost never these days.

still used in my mothers house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,060 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Benji, used to describe someone smelling like shite

"The smell of Benji off ya"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 7,213 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

keano_afc wrote: »
    Blaghard and gurrier. My grandparents were fond of these particular words.

My grandmother used to use 'blaggard' and 'gurrier'. My favourite was 'looderamawn', though. A lazy ne'er-do-well. I suppose 'ne'er-do-well' could be added too.
    quad_red wrote: »
    'Balubas' - ie. crazy, unhinged. "Yeah, he's balubas".

I never knew the origin and racist connotations of that until I saw a documentary on TG4 on the Niemba ambush as an adult
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Niemba_Ambush

My sister (who's in her mid-40s) used this a few weeks ago. I was a bit surprised, considering she likes to think of herself as very politically correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Guttersnipe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

Gyp!

"Did you ride your one last night?"

"Absolutely, but I had no rubber so I had to gyp on her stomach."

I was only about eight when the word 'gyp' was common so the above isn't a real conversation I had.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

Diddies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Topper: A nice person.

"Ah yeh topper!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,973 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

'you article' as an insult.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Scut!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,299 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

keano_afc wrote: »
    Blaghard and gurrier. My grandparents were fond of these particular words.

I think you should listen to few Joe Duffy "lafhline" podcasts it is full of mentions of gurriers and blagards!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Smashing
    Delira (and exira) - I blame Gay Byrne entirely for these.
    gombeen

However, as Terry Pratchett had one of his characters say in a book twenty years old "cool is always cool".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Not a word but a phrase, my granny still uses "doing a line" to mean dating someone, Also uses the word Queer but not in the context of being gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,810 ✭✭✭Mackman

Thats not used anymore ?

what a shame ...

How about "Sketch!" - to mean RUN !!!

that still used among the youth ?

We used to use "sketch" too, also someone would "keep sketch", which meant to keep lookout.

My Dad still uses 'dinging' when something is really good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭turnikett1

Old bean.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭8 Bit Girl

Janey mack, a nicer way of saying jaaaaaysis! I heard it all the time as a child. I still say it but never hear anyone else use it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

They are?

What's a beur?

An auld doll