Is Jimmy Magee full of himself ?

• 15-01-2016 08:14PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭

Jesus H Christ. Watching him on the 7 O'Clock show on TV3. He is doing an unscripted show in Virginia soon. He gave Pele his name ! Did he help Noah load the ark as well ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

I don't know but there's a guy I know called pat MaGee. Most unfortunate name ever for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Facebook that shit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

I don't know but there's a guy I know called pat MaGee. Most unfortunate name ever for him.
    Has he a brother Ulick? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,342 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Jesus H Christ. Watching him on the 7 O'Clock show on TV3. He is doing an unscripted show in Virginia soon. He gave Pele his name ! Did he help Noah load the ark as well ?

Not according to Wikipedia so it can't be true:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Yes!
    He will give you the answer to the question(eventually),but not before naming everything else to do with it first!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭LETHAL LADY

They don't call him the mammary man for nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

"I remember it well - back in 1962, Tim Pat Hoorcaulk was the center forward...Micky McShytetalk was corner back, it was sunny, and the Beatles were playing..."

Feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Don't slag off Jimmy,he knows your cousin's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

He deserves to be a bit full of himself at this stage

He's one of the most quotable living Irish people
    And there it is, the international symbol of peace – the pigeon

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Torricelli

Sure isn't he a "national treasure"?

I jest. Magee and Gay Byrne are two of the most self absorbed broadcasters to come out of RTÉ.

Always thought his boxing and soccer commentary was dreadful. He should be put in a retirement home to give some proper talent a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,167 ✭✭✭Damien360

I thought he was dead !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

They don't call him the mammary man for nothing.
    Because he's a tit? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Mícheál O'Muircheartaigh is worse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Worse is, admitting to watching the 7 O'Clock Show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

kfallon wrote: »
    Mícheál O'Muircheartaigh is worse!

Ah here don't even try that sh1t!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,635 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

He was ok in his earlier career, but things have moved on since that first Olympics in 776 BC and he should have been put out to pasture in the early 1900's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭jippo nolan

Damien360 wrote: »
    I thought he was dead !

No, He just looks dead!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Red King

At least Mike Murphy had the decency to fcuk off into the sunset unlike Uncle Gaybo, Marian Finucane, Jimmy Magee, George Hook, Johnny Giles, Eamonn Dunphy, Pat Kenny and all the other media dinosaurs.

They all belong in St. Clabberts

He gave Pele his name !

I suppose he said it was originally Peile, did he?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Anybody can have a good memory if there's no one about to contradict them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Bit of an unfair dig, most people take those stories with a large grain of salt. It's 7 O'Clock show on TV3, not news night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

An egotistical pompous self absorbed bombastic spectator. Who thinks he's the story. I don't care you saw Shergar kick the winning drop goal in the All Irekand hurling final of 1932. FCUK off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

He never claimed to have given pele his name, he tells the story of a missionary priest who explained to kids that football was peile in Irish and it started from there.

Anyone else remember the night he was commentator for a boxing match where one of the boxers was black and he said if there is a blackout we might see his boots but maybe not the rest of him. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

A lot of hate for poor Jimmy here, he should have retired years ago, but the man is still a legend in Irish broadcasting. And he's nowhere near the sanctimonious gobsh!te levels of Gaybo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,484 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Red King wrote: »
    At least Mike Murphy had the decency to fcuk off into the sunset unlike Uncle Gaybo, Marian Finucane, Jimmy Magee, George Hook, Johnny Giles, Eamonn Dunphy, Pat Kenny and all the other media dinosaurs.

They all belong in St. Clabberts

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but Murphy was back on RTE over christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hate to be the bearer of bad news, but Murphy was back on RTE over christmas.

He admitted he lost his shirt in the recession and and had to reluctantly come back for the shekels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

did murphy get to say.... "ah, yore up from the country, and tell me how did you get here?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Fleawuss wrote: »
    An egotistical pompous self absorbed bombastic spectator. Who thinks he's the story. I don't care you saw Shergar kick the winning drop goal in the All Irekand hurling final of 1932. FCUK off.

I'd sooner listen to him than you

No offence of course :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,815 ✭✭✭liam7831

He keeps coming on the radio cribbing about that they didn't use him in the last world cup. He was touting himself for work for the next Olympics last week.

He seems to think he has an entitlement to go to all the Major sporting events if he fancies going