Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Just a bit of craic but what about this team for an away match at Stoke? Two DM's.

Cech

Bellerin Mert Kos Monreal

Elneny Flamini

Ramsey Ozil Walcott/ Campbell

Giroud

This for me

Cech

Elneny Ramsey

Campbell Ozil Sanchez

Giroud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

ronjo wrote: »
    This for me

Cech

Elneny Ramsey

Campbell Ozil Sanchez

Giroud

I thought we were unlikely to see Sanchez??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,920 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Mesut Özil has been named German player of the year again!
    Winners:
    2011: M. Özil
    2012: M. Özil
    2013: M. Özil
    2014: T. Kroos
    2015: M. Özil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,080 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

I see Wellbeck is 2-3 weeks away from being fully fit.
    He'll be like a new signing for Arsenal.

I thought we were unlikely to see Sanchez??

from the presser

on Alexis...
    Alexis I would say has a 60:40 chance to be available and be back in the squad. He has two decisive days - Friday and Saturday. He is fit, he has worked very hard and the decision we have to take is whether to take a gamble or not on his injury.

Get him in the starting 11 I say.

Panthro wrote: »

Yeah I can't wait.

Panthro wrote: »

Be very useful to have him back in the squad and could start FA Cup games without significantly weakening the team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

If he's fit I wouldn't start Sanchez. Bring him on in the second half so he has a run out but I wouldn't risk him from the start. I'd rather he gets a few minutes is a bit pissed off and gets the full game against Chelsea to vent his frustration :D

gandalf wrote: »
    If he's fit I wouldn't start Sanchez. Bring him on in the second half so he has a run out but I wouldn't risk him from the start. I'd rather he gets a few minutes is a bit pissed off and gets the full game against Chelsea to vent his frustration :D

Nah get him in there.... Let him run around the Emirates today if he wants but get 65/70 mins out of him on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

pudzey101 wrote: »
    Mesut Özil has been named German player of the year again!
    Winners:
    2011: M. Özil
    2012: M. Özil
    2013: M. Özil
    2014: T. Kroos
    2015: M. Özil

They can expect a letter from John Giles soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

from the presser

on Alexis...
    Alexis I would say has a 60:40 chance to be available and be back in the squad. He has two decisive days - Friday and Saturday. He is fit, he has worked very hard and the decision we have to take is whether to take a gamble or not on his injury.

Unless he's 100% I wouldnt have him anywhere near the starting XI. Would be typical of us for him to get a recurrence of the injury if he was rushed back too soon.

keano_afc wrote: »
    Unless he's 100% I wouldnt have him anywhere near the starting XI. Would be typical of us for him to get a recurrence of the injury if he was rushed back too soon.

Can just as easily get injured coming off the bench as starting so for me if he is in the squad he starts.
    Not fit enough then save him fully for Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

from the presser

on Alexis...

Leave him alone! Jesus. Keeping him out for a game or two (or three) is far better than risking another setback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I know our record is not good at Stoke but I think we'll beat them on Sunday.

One thing though and I always say this - we have to focus from the word go.
    Couldn't believe our poor start again on Wednesday night. Some lads were asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Not sure if its been posted in here yet.

https://streamable.com/awef

Ozil touch hushes the Anfield crowd completely. :p

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Leave him alone! Jesus. Keeping him out for a game or two (or three) is far better than risking another setback.

Jesus yourself.
    For me, these two games are ones that we need him and if he is fit he plays.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

I'd go same first 11 as against Liverpool.

Elneny and Sanchez are the subs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

Jesus yourself.
    For me, these two games are ones that we need him and if he is fit he plays.

What about all the other matches left to play this season?

Well call me old fashioned if you like but if he is fit then he plays those games too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

gosplan wrote: »
    I'd go same first 11 as against Liverpool.

Elneny and Sanchez are the subs.

I think he'll go with the same team too.
    Hope we're awake. Crouch scored in the first minute last year and we went 3 down before half-time. We seem very slow to start this season in many games.

Wenger was abused in the railway station at Stoke by Arsenal fans after last year's game so he should have the team properly up for it on Sunday hopefully.

I think we have a better squad now and are mentally stronger (please don't make me eat my words).

We will win this game on Sunday. I'm very confident as long as the team are in the right frame of mind and hopefully Wenger will see to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Kirby wrote: »

Unreal piece of skill, one thing we Liverpool fans have always appreciated is class, whether our own or our opponents.

Johnny Giles obviously missed that bit when he was watching the game (supposedly, seeing as he though Ozil was taken off with 15 mins to go not in the 87th minute) the other night.

Kirby wrote: »

Great stuff.
    Campbell's touch and pass for the first goal was very good too.

Pretty interesting article about injuries in the Premier League this season

http://www.bbc.com/sport/0/football/35313650

Overall, Arsenal faring pretty well. Surprising, when you consider long-term injuries to the likes of Rosicky, Welbeck and Wilshere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,343 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

If Sanchez has his way he'll be starting against stoke but I'd like if he didn't, we're really gonna need him fit from now until the end of the season. Himself and Ozil are insanely important to this team atm.

Free the Chilean one!

I guarantee every single one of you numbnuts will be as excited as me if he is in the starting 11 :D

Free the Chilean one!

I guarantee every single one of you numbnuts will be as excited as me if he is in the starting 11 :D

I'll be delighted especially if he's fit and injury free.

I think he'll go with the same team too.
    Hope we're awake. Crouch scored in the first minute last year and we went 3 down before half-time. We seem very slow to start this season in many games.

Wenger was abused in the railway station at Stoke by Arsenal fans after last year's game so he should have the team properly up for it on Sunday hopefully.

I think we have a better squad now and are mentally stronger (please don't make me eat my words).

We will win this game on Sunday. I'm very confident as long as the team are in the right frame of mind and hopefully Wenger will see to that.

What was it those numbskulls said?

Get out while you can, Joel?

:D:D

Free the Chilean one!

I'd be super excited. Love the guy.

I'm just saying when we rush players back it often goes pear shaped, and I want him for the 15 games that involve the run in.

Anyone else find themselves looking at the table a LOT these days? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Giles slagging off Ozil on off the ball now, saying he was taking off last night because he was poor.

Says would be joke if Ozil was named player of season.

Moron

What was even more funny about the comments was that the presenters were previously giving out about how sky/English press exaggerate situations, example Van Gaal, Rafa's infamous so called rant etc, but yet then go on to the next piece where Giles is commenting on how he thinks Ranieri is lucky and that Ozil is s***. (not the first time he has had a go at Ozil) Bitter, Bitter little man.

By the way, great game the other night, if we had a keeper we would have won I think, 3-3 i thought was fair enough in the end, great to see two teams to go at each other like that, as we can't win the PL. happy to see either yourselves or the foxes win it, at least you lot try to play football. :D