Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the story with Saoirse Ronan's accent?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 307 ✭✭Figbiscuithead

She was perfect for the part in Brooklyn and she was brilliant in it. First time I've ever preferred the film over the book, probably. I really think fair play to her and hope she doesn't disappear off the radar in a few years. I like how she talks and think she's lovely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭bur

She acts, large part of which entails putting on an accent, she's been doing it from a young age all the while travelling the globe filming/promoting movies. It's really no wonder her real accent is inconsistent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Crumpets

Lia_lia wrote: »
    I like her. But why does she pronounce her name like that? She pronounces it "sursha". I have never in my life heard anyone else pronounce it that way. It's "seersha". Maybe it's a Dublin thing?

Nah it's not a Dublin thing. She has acknowledged herself that she pronounces it weirdly. It's a lovely name either way though I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

I think her accent is fine, the thing with dealing with all them johnny foreigners when you get outside of ireland is you have to learn to speak slower and you need to pronounce your words better, otherwise you are going to be repeating yourself for the rest of your life.
    Her accent is a bit of a mishmash but show me somebodys that isnt when they live away for a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,885 ✭✭✭cml387

I couldn't believe it today when I heard that her accent was suddenly a "thing".

I've heard Saoirse interviewed for years and she's always had exactly the same accent.

Nothing wrong with it. Compare it to Nadine Coyle's "Derry City Crashed Into LA And There Were No Survivors" accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Yeah some people have to alter their accent in the States. I heard Conor McGregor speaking about this recently, when he first went over they couldn't understand a word he said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

She reminds me of yerman off Republic of Telly when he's doing a Colin Farrell impression. "Where's me coddle bejaysus" :D

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

AlanG wrote: »
    It worked for Colin Farrell the private school kid from Castleknock with the inner city accent so I guess the raw Dublin accent is a plus in Hollywood.
    Huh? Farrell doesn't have close to an "inner city" Dublin accent. I'm wondering how many here have much on the ground knowledge of Dublin accents. :confused: I have noticed that those from beyond the Pale tend to assume the Dublin accent is the "ahhh stoooory buud" accent, but it's not, it's one of them and quite localised and has become more exaggerated down the years. QV my previous reference to Luke Kelly. He was born and bred on Sheriff street and a "howya bud" type accent he had not.

I know the D4 with added Valley Girl "MOM" accent is seen as the "middle class" accent in Dublin(and elsewhere) these days, but it's quite the recent phenomenon. It's on its second generation these days, but the first iteration of it was more often than not to be found in second generation Dubliners trying to take the "country" out of their parent's who did well accents and origins. At one point Ireland and Dublin had one of the highest numbers of elocution teachers and classes in the English speaking world, including private schools as a subject(mostly for girls). You can even see the echo of some of that where people can be so consciously(or subconsciously) afraid of dropping aitches that they add them where not required. EG Heighth
    Brian? wrote: »
    I don't find it particularly working class Dublin at all. I grew up is West Tallaght, she sounds quite posh by that standard. She has a soft Dublin accent, not very far from my own to be honest.
    Exactly. She'd be stick out like a sore thumb among many modern "working class" Dubliners. Pre the widespread Dort accent that sprung up and grew from the 80's onwards, hers would be pretty close to the South Dublin "middle class" accent of the past.

For such a small town, Dublin had/has quite the range of accents. Some of which have all but vanished. The more upper class "Anglo" one is pretty much gone. Senator David Norris would be the only current one I can think of off hand. It's quite a lilting one, not nearly as "West Brit" as might be imagined and would almost be seen as "stage Irish" these days(another example, though from a Corkonian might be Graham Norton). Here's Sam Beckett a Foxrock lad with an example of it(even after years of living away from the place).

James Joyce another, this time from Rathgar(and again a long time away).

George Bernard Shaw, from Synge Street in the heart of Dublin.

Speaking recieved English of the BBC they are not(even moreso back then, as the BBC accent has softened a lot in the interim).

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

The film was terrible....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

I like her. But why does she pronounce her name like that? She pronounces it "sursha". I have never in my life heard anyone else pronounce it that way. It's "seersha". Maybe it's a Dublin thing?

Posh dubs pronounce It Sursha and less posh dubs pronounce it Sairsha in my experience. I've never heard anyone pronounce it Seersha.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

Same here. Heard her recently and she sounded like she was from inner city Dublin... which is fine, if you are from inner city Dublin, which she's not! :rolleyes:

She didn't sound anything like she had an inner city Dublin accent. Just a generic Dublin accent like you would pick up in somewhere like... Oh I don't know... Howth maybe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

I've heard this said a few times over the years but I just don't hear it myself. I think she has a completely normal Dublin accent. It sounds nothing like inner city! (And neither does Colin Farrell for that matter). Sounds more or less like any average suburb ie not Neilstown or Darndale, not Dalkey or Foxrock. Honestly, I think the Howaya accent and the D4 accent have been so exaggerated and overplayed that at this stage it seems like lots of people don't have a clue what normal Dublin people sound like. To me she sounds like her parents, as expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,287 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

LDN_Irish wrote: »
    Posh dubs pronounce It Sursha and less posh dubs pronounce it Sairsha in my experience. I've never heard anyone pronounce it Seersha.

FWIW Until she pronounced it "Sursha" herself I had never heard it pronounced any way other than "Seersha"

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,314 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Honestly, I think the Howaya accent and the D4 accent have been so exaggerated and overplayed that at this stage it seems like lots of people feckin Culshies don't have a clue what normal Dublin people sound like.
    All my previous waffle explained in one sentence(though I made a slight changette… :p :pac:)

That Mid Atlantic D4 accent is sadly not contained in Dublin. I've heard it a fair bit throughout Ireland. A Kerry woman I know has it even though her parents have fantastic Kerry accents. I dunno what the hell she's up to.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Asaiah

As a Dub from Balgriffin originally she sounds like a typical Northsider, not the so called inner city accent but the Northside outer suburbs which makes sense with her growing up in Howth. Sort of the Coastal side of Fingal.

Nothing wrong with her accent at all. I have a very similar accent as do many relatives and friends I know. Typical accent Anywhere from the North of Coolock out to Swords, Sutton and Howth etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

She's turning into a very attractive young lady. The accent is no worse than those I hear every week at my Weightwatchers meetings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Isn't she British? Now turns out she's American.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Ballymun?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭LDN_Irish

jojofizzio wrote: »
    FWIW Until she pronounced it "Sursha" herself I had never heard it pronounced any way other than "Seersha"

I just asked my working class aunt and her privately educated daughter how to say "yer wan who's surname is Ronan" and they both said "Seersha" so we can probably write my previous post off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,160 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Wibbs wrote: »
    Huh? Farrell doesn't have close to an "inner city" Dublin accent. I'm wondering how many here have much on the ground knowledge of Dublin accents. :confused: I have noticed that those from beyond the Pale tend to assume the Dublin accent is the "ahhh stoooory buud" accent, but it's not, it's one of them and quite localised and has become more exaggerated down the years. QV my previous reference to Luke Kelly. He was born and bred on Sheriff street and a "howya bud" type accent he had not.

Farrell doesn't have it anymore, but he used to make use of a traditional Dublin accent, back in the day around 2002-03, when his career was really taking off.

Don't know if I can localise it down to a particular area of the city, but it was definitely a "rougher and tougher" version of the accent he has now. It seemed exaggerated, but it sort of suited his then wildman persona. He used to tone it down a bit when he was out foreign, but if he was speaking to Irish media he used to sound not to dissimilar to his character from Intermission. The falseness of his accent was a recurring joke on Gift Grub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I think it's the voice as much as the accent. Either way, she's a talented actress but I can't hack watching her being interviewed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

Dev84 wrote: »
    What's the story with her accent in Brooklyn? It's a movie about a young one from Enniscorthy I believe.
    They didn't speak with D4 accents in Enniscorthy back then.

Because no body wants to sit through 2 hours of a scalder accent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,309 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Ally Dick wrote: »
    She's turning into a very attractive young lady. The accent is no worse than those I hear every week at my Weightwatchers meetings

She's a plain Jane, you might want to go to specsavers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Sam Kade wrote: »

You wouldn't go near her then? Bobbins.

LDN_Irish wrote: »

Well we do in Cork (and Kerry), like!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Speaking of Farrell's accent, I love Farrell in this scene

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,754 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Sam Kade wrote: »

I think you need to. My god. I don't believe what you're saying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭Asaiah

Speaking of Farrell's accent, I love Farrell in this scene

That's a horrible scene in fairness. Horrible accent too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

Heard her on Colbert telling him how to pronounce various Irish names.
    She managed to say Caoimhe perfectly, emphasising the 'Queeeev' part.
    I cannot understand why she cannot pronounce Saoirse properly considering
    the succession of vowels is the same as it is in Caoimhe.

Mind you, she pronounced Oisín as Ush-ee-an! I always thought there were
    only two syllables in that name!!

Actors always lose track of their accents. Look at Gary Oldman. He doesn't actually remember what his original one sounds like anymore. She's a young individual, who has worked on a wide range of accents, with each one taking weeks to months of intensive training and coaching to get right. It's understandable that her accent might shift somewhat. Also if her parents are dubs, she likely gets it from them. But once you get passed the accent and listen to what she says, over what she sounds like, she's extraordinarily intelligent and comes across tremendously well in any interview I've seen.

More power to her.