Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

Joel Campbell what a shift he put in tonight. Incredibly under rated player for us. He is worth 10 Oxlade Chamberlains and I would have him in the team ahead of Theo too. Such good feet, vision and awareness, he creates so much space for others.

Walcott is so average with the ball at his feet, very wasteful at times tonight in the final 3rd. I also though Cech could of done better for there 3rd goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

Some fair points...but that fact you believer Wenger underestimated Liverpool under Klopp and all his time going to Anfield is quite frankly ridiculous. He knew full well what we were in for.

As regards Ramsey and Flamini how would you have set up our midfield? Arteta from the start despite having an issue with him playing five minutes?

Also Ramsey's forays up the pitch were the reason we scored our first two goals today. I do accept he needs more discipline but hopefully with Coq and Elneny we will have a player more dominant that Flamini.

also just on the subs. these are decisions...they cannot be guaranteed or pre-ordained successes. it's sport...its unpredictable.

Not too many on here were unhappy with Gibbs being brought on against Spurs a few months back.

Arteta is now well away from our first team if we have everyone fit. but we don't and he is still an excellent passer and controller of a game with vast experience. he didn't cost us

If Ozil and Campbell were left on we would have some complaining that they were tired and didn't close down the ball into the box in the first place and we should have had subs on earlier. Chambers over Arteta...meh.

The midfield i would have kept the same. But the instructions i'm guessing they were given made little sense. When the Liverpool defenders had possession in there half we would have Ramsey sprinting after them while leaving massive gaps in the middle.

Our entire forward line would try and close down their defenders while our midfield were left stranded and our defensive line to deep. We were so disjointed at times it allowed Liverpool to just simple run at us and create chances from nothing.

I have ZERO issue with Ramey making runs into the box. But there's a time and a place. When the whole team is in the oppositions half its fine.. He has cover then. Its not ok when Liverpool have the ball and you're running around like a dog chasing a ball.

Ozil should have been kept on simple as that. He didn't play in the cup and would have been more than capable to play on.

I'm still not understanding why Gibbs is being singled out. All I can remember from him coming on is him making a few blocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

I think we need to give up the blame game, the singling out of players, identifying Wenger as tactically inept and all that.

Ultimately, it's a bit simpler than all of that. Rambo & Flamini are not a good partnership - they don't pass the ball enough and they don't cover the defence enough.

Rambo might be an option with a bit more disclipine and a better partner but with him it's all about more attacking opportunities, for both teams.

I think Flamini has had his day. Hopefully Elneny can offer more, though I wouldn't be surprised to see Arteta vrs Stoke.

Good read about the midfield here

http://news.arseblog.com/2016/01/liverpool-3-3-arsenal-gunners-missing-midfield-by-the-numbers/

Clearly we do miss Santi and Coq, but I think Ramsey is hard done by. When you look at our line up recently, without Alexis, where can the goals come from?

I would like to see the difference when Ramsey gets to play with a better defensive midfielder. Even though Flamini was sometimes in good positions last night, he can't seem to read what's going on and break up the play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

I'm Ramsey's biggest fan as everyone knows

His runs up the field gives us so much and he creates and scored a lot

But

He does it all the time if he wants to be. Too CM and play in a 2 he have to pick and choose his runs

Unless of course he is under Instruction, then Wenger needs to change tactics

I thought Wenger was crictal of ox last night without mentioning his name, a couple of times he mentioned we should have went 4-2 up except for poor decisions in final third

All in all I'm happy, this place went into meltdown when we got all out injuries, no players starting to come back and we're still top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Well that was a roller coaster of a game. Sick that we didnt hold on but I believe City were robbed of a last minute penalty and if you had offered me to match their result last night I would have certainly taken it.
    Both teams were absolutely shocking in defensive midfield and I too would consider throwing Elneny straight in.

Hopefully Sanchez and Rosicky will be back for weekend and it will be great to have a decent bench for first time in two months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Some of the passing last night was a joy to watch.

I'm also excited of the prospect of the likes of Wilshere coming back. I think a midfield of him and Ramsey could be interesting. Also looking forward to seeing what Elneny can do, we need another work horse, and I anticipate a few zinger goals from him too.

Then there's Sanchez who will most likely be coming off the bench this weekend. His dynamism and hunger will make him hugely effective and could we swing the game for us. Also hope to see Rosicky make a contribution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Some of the passing last night was a joy to watch.

I'm also excited of the prospect of the likes of Wilshere coming back. I think a midfield of him and Ramsey could be interesting. Also looking forward to seeing what Elneny can do, we need another work horse, and I anticipate a few zinger goals from him too.

Then there's Sanchez who will most likely be coming off the bench this weekend. His dynamism and hunger will make him hugely effective and could we swing the game for us. Also hope to see Rosicky make a contribution.

It will be really nice to have some decent options again.
    Flamini has done ok but if Elneny turns out to be decent he can make that spot his own until Coquelin is back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭Colonialboy

Delighted with the result especially considering the other results and how some of them could have gone.

Great team squad performance, to fight back twice, I thought it showed spirit.
    Could we have done better, was their issues , probably but we didnt lose ground so Im happy.

You know me never one to single out any player ;), so overall Im enjoying seeing a squad and team fighting for each other. Im hoping that spirit will get us more points especially when injured players return to squad and xfers come in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,023 ✭✭✭wawaman

It may have been mentioned before so apologies if so but how good was Joel Campbell last night? He has been given a chance and has taken it with both hands when others (Ox) have not taken their chances. When Alexis comes back it should be Theo who drops to the bench and not Joel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

You know, I hate the term bottle, mainly because it's used to have a moan at our players for something they don't have but I thought Giroud displayed jeroboams of it yesterday.

He was involved in an intense physical battle with Sakho yesterday and didn't shirk even after needing a staple in the head after a particularly robust challenge. In fact he scored soon after coming back on the pitch.

He also showed great mental character after missing that easy chance and didn't disappear and had the bottle and ability to score that spectacular 3rd goal. Great performance motm for me with Campbell a very close 2nd and Monreal not far behind.

Another great moment for me was Bellerin using his pace to pinch the ball and set up our 3rd. He is going to be a fine player for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭DeclanRe

Shout out to Leicester city, if we don't win the league, im for sure behind them. I do imagine they will drop of in the next month or so, having to play Liverpool, City and Us. But fair play to them - especially for knocking spurs back down to where they belong :):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

Jesus lads the Ramsey curse is still going. Scores on Saturday, Bowie dies on Sunday night. Scores last night and now Rickman has died...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

i just came here to post that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,433 ✭✭✭wandatowell

Bubbles hahahaha brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

Jesus lads the Ramsey curse is still going. Scores on Saturday, Bowie dies on Sunday night. Scores last night and now Rickman has died...

That's flippin nuts lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,885 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

So we've signed Bubbles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Basil3 wrote: »
    I'm still not understanding why Gibbs is being singled out. All I can remember from him coming on is him making a few blocks.

I don't rate him as you probably know.
    I find him timid in the extreme and gave reasons before.
    He has not improves in over 8 years with Arsenal.
    He is like a rabbit in the headlights.
    He also gives possession away quite a lot.

Just my opinion. I have no faith in him at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,468 ✭✭✭DenMan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 4,760 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Giles slagging off Ozil on off the ball now, saying he was taking off last night because he was poor.

Says would be joke if Ozil was named player of season.

Moron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Giles slagging off Ozil on off the ball now, saying he was taking off last night because he was poor.

Moron

I swear to jesus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Moron

Giles really lets himself down with his knowledge of football.
    It just goes to show that being a good footballer does not make you a good pundit.
    He's a loathsome little man.

Moron

Ah here he is talking shīte. Ozil had an excellent game. Had mignolet not got to his long ball into the box we had assist of the season

If he isn't kicking the shít out of people like himself or Bremner I suppose he is not committed?! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

Giles really lets himself down with his knowledge of football.
    It just goes to show that being a good footballer does not make you a good pundit.
    He's a loathsome little man.

Woah! He talks rubbish a bit, but our John is far from loathsome!

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Woah! He talks rubbish a bit, but our John is far from loathsome!

Can't stand the man at all. I'd even prefer Dunphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Can't stand the man at all. I'd even prefer Dunphy.

I think you have a natural hatred for people whose surnames start with Gi.. Do you hate Giroud too?!

No I like Giroud.:pac: