Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fiat 110-90 repaint

• 04-01-2016 9:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭

hi all , well we are back to work after the Christmas with a new project as promised , its a 99 FIAT 110-90 , one owner from new and minded like a baby but worked well at the same time ( they have to earn their keep ) , the owner contacted me a few months ago to see if we could get time to
    " freshen her up a bit " when the workshop was quiet so after we got the wee 35x finished i gave him a call and she landed today ,

as you will see in the pictures she is in great shape and mechanically perfect too , just a wee niggly bit of tin worm starting to poke out under the windscreen ( and this tractor has been housed all its life ) , the owner did say that they had noticed a small drip of water inside the lower glass from new so obviously a sealing issue from the factory !!

anyway we are hoping to work some magic on her and give her a nice freshen up over the next few weeks so stay tuned for regular updates ,

first thing today was to strip the front end off an whip out the battery and give her a right good soaking of jizer and leave her in the shed to sit for the night , i will give her a good steam blast tomorrow and see how she comes up .

few pics .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20001_zpsyoqsrykn.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20002_zpsamlxiado.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20003_zpsgwgp0je8.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20004_zpsshbskncp.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20005_zpsqiu2q2w2.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20006_zpsampvnzzs.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20007_zpsiasusmwb.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20008_zps7granv3k.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20009_zpsdxrfdi9f.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20010_zps3akhwgz0.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 895 ✭✭✭greendragon3

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20011_zps90pppiyq.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20012_zps2tmbj0vd.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20013_zpsgp6vpvgv.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20014_zpscj83vwuk.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20015_zpsfkswny2j.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20016_zpsb297e5j9.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20017_zpszs5qwy1q.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20018_zpsim8obesx.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20019_zpspa7czfe0.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20020_zpsm3mhzb3x.jpg

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20021_zpshbnrxpes.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20022_zpsuzul18mw.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20023_zpsuh21uagc.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20024_zpsqa13wxwe.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20025_zpsknslkdro.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20026_zpsn1am1kem.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20027_zpsoqwcdnw3.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20028_zpsi67yahbn.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20029_zpslhnxjmr2.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20032_zpsm21rhsvi.jpg

we did notice some tin worm taking hold when we removed the battery , the tray itself seems to hold all the dirt and is shook enough , i will chat the owner the next day he is down and see if it warrants replacing .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20030_zpsld6fqf5f.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20031_zpsnpl01chr.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20033_zps4m3u8ivf.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20034_zpshwhzdtpy.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20035_zps58efdjmt.jpg

that's it for today , more pics tomorrow hopefully .

• Registered Users Posts: 17,902 ✭✭✭✭Thargor

Always loved the look of them yokes, they're powerful looking, not sure about performance good or bad though?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,812 ✭✭✭Odelay

Christ that rust is chronic, are you sure you can save it? I'll offer him €100 a ton to scrap it, my last price and I'm only doing you a favor at that

Joking, she is stunning, fair play to the owner, he is making the right choice to get her tidied up, hope he keeps her working for many years after.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,314 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Very tidy tractor.
    He is catching it good and early and getting it done properly. It would be a shame to see that one going through a dealer and it getting a quick tart up only for the hidden rust to be 10 times worse in about 3 years time.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

Rare to get a 110-90 in that condition. One of the best all ever built imo. We had the predecessor the Fiat 1180 and its little brother the 980 for about 6 years in the mid 90's. Great machines if a bit uncomfortable by modern standards.

Looking forward to seeing it finished, and great to see details pics of the work

well i got stuck into the washing today , first thing off with the back wheels , i left the front ones on for now for stability because i had to lie under the thing while i was washing and i didn't trust the ground she was sitting on too much , anyway before i started blasting away the grime i gave her another good dowsing in the good ould jizer ( mighty stuff ) and let her soak while i was rigging up the washer , scrapped most of the heavy crud off first as you will see in the pics , inside of the mudguards were well caked but it seems to have kept the rust at bay which is good .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20036_zpsr6aepxyw.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20037_zpsqdbgmdqt.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20038_zpspyw54px5.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20039_zpspilx1auo.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20040_zpshcjcbdep.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20041_zpszzctdn9r.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20042_zpstc1ydjcs.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20043_zpsnuosbwrj.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20044_zpsrxuaxddm.jpg

after the wash the inside of the wings came up very well , small bit of surface rust just starting to appear in places but we will sort that no bother and give her a good coating of body shuts ( stone chip protector ) to seal her for a few more years hopefully , rest of it came up nice i think , see for yourselves .
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20045_zpswgvg0ssk.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20046_zpssyj7k6oz.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20047_zpss28hce2o.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20048_zpsq8umiu0s.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20049_zps3ylliu11.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20050_zpsfbuned2i.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20051_zps6d5yuore.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20052_zpspg44z1ii.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20053_zpsdfwkqxoy.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20055_zpsouzprsxm.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 73,427 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

They're such a well proportioned looking yoke. For something you could draw with a ruler, they just look so good. Even the doors, just straight lines, and just uncomplicated.

sorry the pictures aren't great it was starting to get dark and i was soaked to the skin trying to work the bloody phone lol .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20054_zpsktqjf5ta.jpg
    Copy%20of%20padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20055_zpsua3fm7ks.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20056_zpsfleuqtzx.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20057_zpsidpurldt.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 24,388 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Lovely job. Fair play to you OP

• Registered Users Posts: 160 ✭✭Lazybones

Reggie. wrote: »
    Lovely job. Fair play to you OP

Totally agree - it is fantastic to see someone who does such quality work and has fantastic attention to detail. Well done greendragon.

Loved your work on the 35x and really looking forward to seeing how this turns out.

Truth be told I'm a bit jealous of the owners who get to enjoy the fruits of your labour! :-)

Lazybones wrote: »
    Totally agree - it is fantastic to see someone who does such quality work and has fantastic attention to detail. Well done greendragon.

Loved your work on the 35x and really looking forward to seeing how this turns out.

Truth be told I'm a bit jealous of the owners who get to enjoy the fruits of your labour! :-)

thanks lad , good to know someone is keeping an eye on us , sure pm me if you have someone that needs doing up we are always glad to help .:P

• Registered Users Posts: 30 mostatom

Very professional work. Where do you get the big drums of Jizer?, all i can get are 5 litre cans.
    Keep us updated with the 110/90.

thanks lad , got the big drum of jizer from mackey plant and agri spares beleek co fermanagh

http://mackeyplantandagrispares.co.uk/

very very sound men to deal with up there , i buy everything from them now , had a good bit of searching to get it that size to be fair and it took about two weeks to come in but we go through an awfull lot of it ( use it in the parts washer too mixed with kerosene ) the small cans were lasting us no length .

thanks lad , got the big drum of jizer from mackey plant and agri spares beleek co fermanagh

http://mackeyplantandagrispares.co.uk/

very very sound men to deal with up there , i buy everything from them now , had a good bit of searching to get it that size to be fair and it took about two weeks to come in but we go through an awfull lot of it ( use it in the parts washer too mixed with kerosene ) the small cans were lasting us no length .
    Is it hard on the paintwork

Reggie. wrote: »
    Is it hard on the paintwork

no reggie that's why we use it all the time , its just a very good de-greaser and it washes off with cold or hot water which is handy !:o

Pricey?

it works out about €25 for the small can , bit of a saving buying the big can but i cant remember the exact price sorry .

• Registered Users Posts: 4,584 ✭✭✭White Clover

Do you brush it on or would it just do to spray it on?

we spray it on but for the real dug in stuff we loosen it up a bit with a hand brush too ! :)

leave it soaking for an hour or two and the crud runs off her with a good blast of the power hose :pac:.

strip out time today and plenty of it there was too , got a better look at the few rusty bits that are prevalent on her but she is exceptionally clean and well minded which has stood to her credit , really goes to show that housing tractors really is the way to protect them against the elements .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20074_zps5wxxxvpo.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20075_zpsydei2chx.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20076_zpsqhcndeg1.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20077_zpscl0cmwcc.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20078_zpsyermq7zr.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20079_zps2zebhops.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20080_zps1xxfcwe4.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20081_zpsgj4chbgn.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20082_zpsojb1w0xg.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20083_zpsblqyvclu.jpg

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20084_zpsjxmfio3s.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20085_zpsaofi4ijl.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20086_zps0bnlmyxh.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20087_zps9nbv3cgz.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20088_zpsr876eo4n.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20089_zpsvk3tfuth.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20090_zpsxkhxlrzx.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20091_zps9rccuyra.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20092_zpssil7jow5.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20093_zpsd1qb8hyo.jpg

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20094_zpsrnhhgy6e.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20095_zpsspbmjwhh.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20096_zpsq5ern5ia.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20097_zpsqgdbo0lp.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20098_zpshyhyfvfa.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20099_zpsk9gx31ks.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20100_zpskpy0dbcm.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20101_zpsgtrc5l6n.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20102_zpssgfskjf8.jpg

we bought a really old tarrup 43" harvester for restoration today ( pics to follow eventually !! :( ) and the chap that was selling it asked if i knew anyone interested in an equally old " McConnell arm back actor " , i couldn't see any date on it but from what i know of them she is one of the oldest models ive ever seen , he is asking for €450 for it and says it was working up until recently , pm me if interested and i will forward his number on .

padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20062_zpssmza3nwu.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20063_zpsjocqdpek.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20064_zpsw1tkoql8.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20065_zpsbwrafcij.jpg
    Copy%20of%20padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20066_zpsvgv6qx9j.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20066_zpsiemfcpyx.jpg
    padraig%20lavins%20110-90%20fiat%20restoration%20067_zps4j9w8vhs.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭Corpus Twisty

I spent a lot of time operating one of them back-actors..dull..

You've your work cut out on that Fiat GD..a lot of small rust repairs, on a lot of folded sections...a lot of cutting, a lot of welding and a lot of work...to make a tractor look only just a bit prettier than it started.....rather you than me...I'm glued to this one tbh....

• Registered Users Posts: 416 ✭✭scudster

Spent many years driving '80s and '90s fiats. 880s, 980s, 100-90s and 110-90s. Great machines. Every one of them seems to rust in the very same spots. It's one of their very few weak spots. Tell me, is the gear knob end still attached?

thanks lads , stay tuned for more updates soon , i do believe there is black tape around the gear knob surely lol .

i was in ballyhaise ag college in 1989 and they were just after buying a brand new 110-90 and the gear knob was broke off it !!!!!

i also remember them getting a big agitator which had a propeller and it also blew the slurry back down to the back of the tank as well , the salesman recommended a 100hp tractor to run it so the new fiat was hitched up to it and she failed miserably !! a very shook well used ford 7000 turbo was wheeled in hooked up and ran the agitator for two days and nights straight , plumbed her up to a 500gl diesel bowser put a flat rev on her and walked away , she filled the place with black smoke but did the job , i can remember going up to the slatted shed at night and sitting watching her work and the whole manifold and turbo glowing bright red in the dark !!! to be honest i dont think she was any the good after that .