Begging with a child

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

libelula wrote: »
    Yes. Our government and society as a whole have a lot to answer for.

Blaming society and the government because we don't live in utopia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Roma beggars tend to have a tan. Irish don't get a tan in December unless they've been on holidays

A tan fades, so they've all been on holidays !!!

So ALL Irish people are pale milky white with red hair freckles. What rock do you live under ??

The BNP would love you :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,189 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Kat1170 wrote: »
    Winner of stupidest question of the year !!!!

How the funk does a person look Irish ????

You can always tell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Winner of stupidest question of the year !!!!

How the funk does a person look Irish ????

You know wella Roma and Irish person look very different, that statement is beyond ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,210 ✭✭✭screamer

How is the government responsible if you have sex and bring a child into the world suddenly everyone should provide for your child and hand you everything for free? Get real. That's what's so wrong with our society. No one gives me hand outs for my kids I work my ass off to make sure they have a roof over their head clothes on their back and food in their belly because I chose to bring them into the world and it's my responsibility to provide for them. I've never seen a birth cert with Irish government or society of Ireland listed as a parent. If you cant afford kids don't have them. Everything in life is a choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Over the last 15-20 years we fostered a culture of "have kids, get a free home". It created an entitlement culture of where people who were not capable of looking after their own children, continued to have more children on the premise that the state would look after them.

The time is now where this culture is ending. Young ladies and useless fathers need to actually appreciate the responsibility of having children. It is not up to the state to feed and house them, it is up to you as parents. And if you cannot do that, then you have failed your children.

I know so many young ones that dropped out of school, have no career prospects and are still expecting a Free/Massively subsidised house. This homeless "crisis" is the tough-love moment where people realise that you if you have kids and no life prospects, you are ****ed. It should encourage little Rihanna and Anto that they need to wrap up and go on the pill, otherwise you will be living in a hotel room and not the 3 bed-room Semi-D that Rihanna's big sister got 5 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

And the mother doesn't?

OP, what makes you say they're homeless? There are many making a good living from begging and having a child/baby is only a ploy and isn't necessarily that womans own child.

There are 1,000 homeless children in this country at the moment; what you're saying here might have been true in 2005, it isn't now.

As a society no we don't, more is spent on helping homeless now than ever before, more column inches and broadcasting hours.
    Over 25k is spent per homeless person currently.
    I'm sick of hearing of this homeless crises!!!

Then why are there still lots of homeless people? Poor you, having to hear about someone else's plight, would you rather we just all talk about the weather instead?

wakka12 wrote: »
    You know wella Roma and Irish person look very different, that statement is beyond ridiculous

Maybe you should read the thread again !!!!

The term Roma wasn't mentioned until AFTER I posted that, and Ally Dick was the first poster to mention 'foreign' and 'how they looked', and anyone who thinks no one Irish looks 'Roma' is being ridiculous!!!

Mary63 wrote: »
    The only people who beg with children are the Roma community,can I say this without being called a racist as we all can see with our own eyes that its the truth.

Lots of Roma do that alright, but there are plenty of Irish women doing it as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

seamus wrote: »
    I don't believe this is the case for families placed into emergency accommodation.

It most certainly is the case. Not only that but through sudden homelessness there may be a length of time between being homeless and being put on the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,822 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

A tan fades, so they've all been on holidays !!!

So ALL Irish people are pale milky white with red hair freckles. What rock do you live under ??

The BNP would love you :mad:

Ah come on. You're construing what I said as racist. It's not. I am merely wondering if the original beggars are Irish or not. That's all

Graces7 wrote: »
    Compared with almost any other country..... I have family working with the homeless in Canada. Where there were at the last audit almost 3 million people living rough on the streets.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Homelessness_in_Canada#Homelessness_count

By 2008 the annual homelessness count was considered to be a politically-charged and methodologically-contentious issue. The federal estimate of the core number of homeless people in Canada was 200,000 in 2005, or about 1 per cent of the population.[2] Homeless advocates estimated it to be closer to 20,000 annually, or 30,000 on any given night plus those in the hidden homelessness category. This includes 6,000 youth nightly and 30,000 youth annually

Three million? Really??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Roma and traveller women tend to bring the kids with them and in some cases, the child is not theirs.

Please, dont give a begger money, support a charity with a meaningful monthly donation be it focus Ireland, Barnardos or whoever you chose.

If a person begging has a child with them that looks cold, uncomfortable, hungry or in distress call a Garda. It may be sad, but if thats the conditions the child is being put in by the parent then its time for alternatives or at the very least, intervention.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Mary63

If everyone just stopped giving the begging would stop.

The Social welfare payments in this country are more than generous enough to maintain a family unless someone in the family is drinking and smoking.

Worse then the begging is those young men banging on the car asking you do you want your windows cleaned with a filthy scrunchy thing,even if you say no two of them do it anyway preventing you driving,this annoys me so much.If I want my car cleaned I will go to a valet service which is registered and which pay its employees properly.

Why do people give giving these people money too.

OP do they look Irish or foreign ? I'd believe that they are milking it if they were non-Irish
    Roma beggars tend to have a tan. Irish don't get a tan in December unless they've been on holidays
    Ah come on. You're construing what I said as racist. It's not. I am merely wondering if the original beggars are Irish or not. That's all

If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 801 ✭✭✭Mary63

You don't generally see Irish travellers begging anymore,I think they have found more lucrative ways of making money.

In Dublin city centre anyway and in our local shopping centre its definitely members of the Roma Community who beg,they are begging all day everyday so someone is giving them money.

If it looks like a duck, swims like a duck, and quacks like a duck, then it probably is a duck. :rolleyes::rolleyes:

To your sensitive eyes it does anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,199 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Regarding homeless services, I often wonder why there are so many (in Dublin anyway).

Simon (charity, CEO paid)
    Focus Ireland (charity, CEO paid)
    Fr. Mc Verry Trust I presume he is not paid
    Dublin City Council.
    Dublin Region Homeless Executive
    NOVAS (soup run).
    Capuchins. Charity.
    Trust Ireland (Alice Leahy)

And so on.

Could there not be just ONE consolidated approach? Or would that reduce the number of paid CEOs around!

Or then again maybe they are better being scattered around so that the homeless just pick one, or FIND one!

People may become "homeless", but today they will never be without shelter of some sort. It might not be Home but it will not be on the streets either, unless the homeless person decides not to partake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,420 ✭✭✭esforum

Regarding homeless services, I often wonder why there are so many (in Dublin anyway).

Dublin City Council.
    NOVAS (soup run).
    Capuchins. Charity.

And so on.

Could there not be just ONE consolidated approach? Or would that reduce the number of paid CEOs around!

Or then again maybe they are better being scattered around so that the homeless just pick one, or FIND one!

People may become "homeless", but today they will never be without shelter of some sort. It might not be Home but it will not be on the streets either, unless the homeless person decides not to partake.

often wonder this myself about charities in general. Presumable its because the people starting a new charity either disagree with how the others operate or just want their names associated with it. For example, there were plenty of Cancer research charities before keating got involved, why not just donate and support one?

esforum wrote: »
    often wonder this myself about charities in general. Presumable its because the people starting a new charity either disagree with how the others operate or just want their names associated with it. For example, there were plenty of Cancer research charities before keating got involved, why not just donate and support one?

Same applies to Foreign Aid. Think about how many based in Ireland are competing with each other for charitable donations.

Same with homeless, same with many of them.

I just don't get it. Having paid CEOs is a factor though, and empire building maybe?

Charities in general (bar a few who do not have paid CEOs) have a bad press at the moment anyway.

esforum wrote: »

Because there are several different types of cancers. Each one requires different research.

steddyeddy wrote: »
    Because there are several different types of cancers. Each one requires different research.

Breast Cancer charities abound. They are everywhere at every turn which the Keating Foundation is part of. No harm there. But there is so much publicity for breast cancer it's gone off the scale now.

I don't hear many appeals for let's say red ribbons for Prostate Cancer or another colour (Teal I think) for Ovarian Cancer for example.

Just making an observation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Shrap

Mary63 wrote: »
    If everyone just stopped giving the begging would stop.

The Social welfare payments in this country are more than generous enough to maintain a family unless someone in the family is drinking and smoking.

You don't get social welfare payments without an address. You can get Supplementary Welfare Allowance by signing on twice a day and as far as I know, it's 15euro a day (which is not enough for food and a hostel/homeless shelter).

I know this because I talk to homeless people every time I'm in a city.

Ever heard the expression "There, but for the grace of god, go I"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,004 ✭✭✭Hammer89

I actually have no idea :D

Men don't make serious threads like this. I made one about chocolate money, whereas some other bloke is pretending to be Morgan Freeman.

Hammer89 wrote: »
    Men don't make serious threads like this. I made one about chocolate money, whereas some other bloke is pretending to be Morgan Freeman.

I liked your thread about chocolate money. This thread will give me an ulcer quicker than eating any number of bags of choccie euros on xmas day. :) Probably shouldn't get involved.

I just donated money to the Capuchin soup kitchens. Just want to help the homeless out there, wherever they're from. It's Christmas after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Dublin City Council.
    NOVAS (soup run).
    Capuchins. Charity.

And so on.

The reason is simply that the charity industry provides thousands of jobs with many CEOs and senior managers on large salaries. If homelessness ended and a cure for cancer was found tomorrow, there would be a lot of people out of a job. Charity is an industry, make no mistake. Your plug for Brother Kevin and similar very small scale operations are definitely the way to go if you want to donate.

Charity is an industry, make no mistake. Your plug for Brother Kevin and similar very small scale operations are definitely the way to go if you want to donate.

Brother Kevin in the Capuchin day center is a fecking legend. I worked there for a while when I last lived in Dublin and it was quite an eyeopener to me (who considers herself educated on social problems) to find that the smart, attractive looking man on the street with the polite 8 yr old son in tow was in there for food because they became homeless. The Bow Lane center is awesome. They accept food, clothes and money and it's all handed back out again without a cent taken off it for themselves.

Most people haven't got clue one about disadvantaged people. That won't stop them forming opinions though.