Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Ajfunky

Fantastic match! Was listening to the punditry at the start saying Arsenal should run out of the blocks like at Man U, but I'm glad Wenger knows his opposition - a quick error would have killed the confidence. A great assured and organized first half with a beaut from Theo and a great strike from Giroud.

Campbell looked great today, he does so much work coming back. Any error he makes he quickly makes up for. Great to see another attacker we can now rely on.

Defense spot on for the whole match, though kosc a bit caught out a few times getting forward. Flamini was flamini, but I can see him being a liability at some stage.

Ramsey.. How can we depend on him? So much intent but gets far too much wrong. Such a work horse but only because he is chasing down his mistakes. I think it's dodgy havin him at the base of midfield and I don't think he'll get his game out right when a few more are fit.

Overall though a great great game from most - a team playin with serious intent at the moment. Merry Christmas Gooners!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

Probably Nolito & someone like Lucas Biglia (both of whom would be available for CL duty afaik). Would cost ~£30m the pair and would give us decent depth. Can't see anyone blockbuster transfers.

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Yaya's goal was great, but Flamini should have closed that down.

Flamini looked fecked at that stage after his immense shift. He was super tonight. A superhero! Invents a substitute for petrol and then puts aguero in his pocket. I'm sure the city owners are delighted with him :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

There's no doubt reinforcements have to be brought in. Our first 11 are playing in every game at the moment and will be wrecked going into January

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Gaygooner

We need a defensive midfielder first and foremost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭djan

What a result today, even though its early days in the league a great signal of intent and no crumbling under pressure. Nice to be able to have confidence in the team to sit back defend and then hit on the counter.

The players showed great energy in closing space and tracking. Flamini to me was key as he followed Silva's every move and pretty much nullified him while keeping disciplined back.

Ozil yet again pure class with easy enough assists but great at taking up amazing positions and spreading play.

Was dissapointed with Ramsey who was stressful to see play in the middle. Does a great piece of play and then messes up the pass or shot. Had a few lucky escapes but hopefully once he gets some confidence he'll sort that out.

Campbell although should have burried that chance just offers so much on the wing tracking back so much and always fighting for the ball. Gibbs was the total opposite and such a timid player is not what is needed in an edgy last 20min which showed as Sagna wasn't afraid to bomb forward once he came on.

Hopefully there won't be any more injuries and Sanchez can come back raring to go having Campbell, Walcott and him rotating in the wide spots.

P.S. Walcott what a finish! Great form vs City and if he can stay injury free will be a great asset especially in games where we counter often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Sanchez out until Jan 10th

Means he is back for the Liverpool game on the 13th. Excellent :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

gandalf wrote: »
    Means he is back for the Liverpool game on the 13th. Excellent :)

And Skrtel will be out. Fancy us against Sakho and Kolo :)

My man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,779 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

17 games into the season we have twice as many points as Chelsea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,333 ✭✭✭bad2dabone

What a pleasure it is to watch Ozil. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

Soups123 wrote: »
    I have my year ending game of 5 aside tonight, going to have to watch this one an hour behind on the sky plus.

I'll be in later than most to either;

(a) Celebrate the win and declare myself a believer in our credentials this season
    (b) Exagerate and fuel the meltdown if we lose, more than likely refeering to us as bottlers whilst declaring 'we'll never win a PL title with Arsene in charge'
    (c) Be a bit meh with the draw, not up not down but telling people atleast we havent lost but we are struggling in these 'big' games when it really matters

Which ever of the 3 it will be I'll deliver it as if its been my stance all along and regardless of the result this has been my thinking

Option (a) option fcukin (a) baby get in

Super performance, Ozil is without the best player in the league this season

The effort and commitment in and out of the tackle from all was so good to see

Happy Fcukin Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭Mr Blobby

2B6vvvd.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭domrush

Fantastic performance, really refreshing to see performances like that from Arsenal as more than just a freak occurance. Obviously Ozil, Ramsey, Monreal,Giroud and Walcott getting praise here and thoroughly deserved.

Joel Campbell lads. His workrate is ridiculous, saw him sprinting back and forward non stop throughout the match, working himself into fantastic positions, trying smart penetrative passes. His finishing and his final passes need to be worked on but his footballing smarts are really something to behold, he's picking out dangerous passes and his runs that are great to see. Far better on the wing than as a CF.

Famini some critiscim in here tonight. In my opinion we've seen a different side of Flamini over the past few weeks. Far more reserved, knows he's not meant to be a box to box midfielder. Yes he doesn't stand out (not at near coquelin level) but he helped to stall city when it was needed, was an extra body at the back instead of being caught non stop on the counterattack. Yaya's goal was a masterpiece and to act as though that was Flamini's fault entirely is ridiculous.

Mert and Kos solid as always, maybe one of them caught out too far foward but the other one always there to compensate for it.

As much as I adore Bellerin I felt he was quiet tonight. Okay defensievly although Delph didn't trouble him much. However going forward, instead of making big runs forward and looking for 1-2s he seemed to be running straight into players and then passing back to a CB or looking for Campbell to bail him out.

Overall though delighted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,609 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Tbh I'd probably take a draw in the match tomorrow if it was given to me now. Might sound pessimistic but I dont share quite the optimism as a few of us in here. I'm quite worried about Flaminis defensive discipline out there tomorrow night against a top team. I hope I'm wrong but I really worry about him tomorrow.

I'd be a lot more comfortable and confident with Coquelin in there. It really needs to be addressed in January, with a signing to push or even take Coquelins spot. It's probably our best chance of a title in nearly a decade, so we have to take it.

If we had our full squad available I'd be really confident of beating City,but we don't, so I'll go for a cautious draw.

Never been so happy to be wrong! Haven't seen the match yet, but have it recorded. Excellent result! Sets us up nicely for the Christmas and New Years run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭Arne_Saknussem

Wenger unusually forceful about our need to do business in January.

http://www.beinsports.com/en/football/video/wenger-eyes-up-the-stats/159293

It's at 7:45 in the video, he's not giving any names away but Brozovic at Inter seems to be the strongest linked at the moment. Apparently can play in a couple of positions in the centre as well as wide on the left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

Jaysus never seen him say something like that before - "I would love to give you names downstairs over a coffee, but not for this interview"

You'd have to take that as us being well advanced in dealings at this moment, Interesting it's bodies too and not singular he's using. Could well be a Reyes type window for us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,617 ✭✭✭topmanamillion

cson wrote: »
    Jaysus never seen him say something like that before - "I would love to give you names downstairs over a coffee, but not for this interview"

You'd have to take that as us being well advanced in dealings at this moment, Interesting it's bodies too and not singular he's using. Could well be a Reyes type window for us.

It's clearly dawned on him its a golden opportunity to win the league. Chelsea and United are in bits and city are biding their time until pep takes over. He's looking to drive it home.

Arsenal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 30,133 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

Arsenal!
    Thats probably your most positive post ever :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Joel Campbell is pulling a bit of a bellerin this season

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

Excellent performance although they were holding on for dear life towards the end.
    I think its fair to say that besides Leicester we've seen Arsenals strongest competitor tonight in City. I can't seen anyone but those three put in performances like that this season. None of the rest is near that level shown tonight.
    Arsenal really are playing for the title starting now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭Roaster

Brilliant performance tonight, the only negative for me was Gibbs when he came on. Half the time he wasn't arsed tracking back and it was no coincidence that their goal and the majority of their possession in the last 20 minutes came down that side. Theo's defensive shift was better ffs and that's saying something.

I thought Flamini was brilliant tonight and for those saying he was at fault for the goal, he was not! Rambo was at fault. He got caught ball watching and let Toure run off him.

Another impressive performance from Campbell and as long as he stays fit I cannot see The Ox breaking back into this team.

Big shout out for Mert (as I'm often his worst critic - I'd still prefer Gabriel in there though...) but he was class tonight. I couldn't believe the amount of headers he won too from their corners.

And Ozil, well what can you say? Is the jury still out? (Moyes you idiot!!!) He is just a joy to watch. Makes it look so easy and effortless.

I'd like to see us strengthen but I just can't see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭DeclanRe

Delighted with the win, the perfect Christmas present.
    Ozil is another level. And it was great to hear him give an interview yesterday, looks like he is really enjoying his football now, hopefully we get him signed up to a new contract soon!
    Prob wont be back on here until the 26th now, have a great Christmas folks!!! :)

Arsenal now evens on betfair to win the league

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

Gaygooner wrote: »
    Arsenal now evens on betfair to win the league

Leicester are still 11-1 on Paddypower to win it. I mean obviously I want/hope we go on this year but bloody hell how are they still being written off so much? We're just over evens on on it too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

emmetlego wrote: »
    Good Lord. How can you be so negative after a night like tonight??? FFS!!!!

Do you really support us???

What do you mean negative?
    We played so well that I think Wenger will believe we need nobody new.
    It's an opinion. How the fcuk is it negative?

AND what's this " do you really support us" bull ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

What do you mean negative?
    We played so well that I think Wenger will believe we need nobody new.
    It's an opinion. How the fcuk is it negative?

To be honest I think we only need a defensive midfielder in January but it is really important that we get one.

Hopefully United or City don't get any big signings in. If nothing changes at United then they really aren't a threat this season and I don't expect City to splash out.