Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Couldnt have asked for a handier draw. Hopefully we can rest the players for the second leg.

Unfortunately there is a distinct possibility we will be calling for that...

Hoping Vardy and Mahrez go apeshít here tonight.

Couldnt have asked for a handier draw. Hopefully we can rest the players for the second leg.

Spare a thought for poor Barca, you try defend your CL crown and after all the finger crossing and praying, Arsenal win 3-0 in Athens and you draw them in the next round. So so tough...:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Ahem....so lads, why not discuss some non-soccer related things for the next hour or so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

How the **** did we lose to Chelsea?

cson wrote: »

And we should have stuck them for at least 5 in the Community shield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭emergingstar

Agree and i'd hate to imagine what the tricky Barcelona forwards will do to Mert with their pace and trickery on the ground. Really fearful for him in this particular game.
    On the bright side, if we go out then we can concentrate on the league and give it our best shot.

I would be sticking GAB in and have him well settled there before Barca come to town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

I would be sticking GAB in and have him well settled there before Barca come to town

Was just about to post this. I am petrified at the thought of Mertesacker up against Suarez, Neymars and Messi's pace and movement.

We were looking very comfortable up until we went down to 10 men. Although Mourinhos Chelsea always seem to keep there best for us.

We should bid for maherz in Jan

I believe the hype

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

Same way they're doing so well in the champions league.

Decent opposition or the big stage produces good performances from them. The majority just aren't motivated by Jose each week in the league though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Not so sure about Gab either.
    Let the side down at Stamford Bridge. Seems very petulant. Maybe he learned from it though. Mert is an accident waiting to happen against small slick forwards who are good and tricky.

I believe the hype

Did he even start for that high energy Algeria team in the world cup?

Not so sure about Gab either.
    Let the side down at Stamford Bridge. Seems very petulant. Maybe he learned from it though. Mert is an accident waiting to happen against small slick forwards who are good and tricky.

I may be in the minority here but personally I think Gabriel has all the attributes to be a world class centre back. He just needs game time imo. I think it takes more time for defenders to adjust to a new league than it would attacking players. We didnt see the best of Koscielny until a season after he signed and he played most games in his first season unlike Gabriel has.

He also has a nasty side to him which we lack at the back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

I believe the hype

You spelt Hazard wrong.

I'm not joking either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,778 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Gringo180 wrote: »
    I may be in the minority here but personally I think Gabriel has all the attributes to be a world class centre back. He just needs game time imo. I think it takes more time for defenders to adjust to a new league than it would attacking players. We didnt see the best of Koscielny until a season after he signed and he played most games in his first season unlike Gabriel has.

I don't think we saw enough of him to consider him world class but i really hope you're right. He should be given a bit of game time over Christmas though alongside Koscielney.

gosplan wrote: »
    You spelt Hazard wrong.

I'm not joking either.

I think Hazard has lost faith in Mourinho.

Hopefully he'll lose faith in the Belgium setup too prior to the Euros

Gringo180 wrote: »

I think he'll turn Monreal corner yet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,470 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Lol

Chelsea.....

rofl-smiley.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

First time I have ever laughed being knocked off the top of the table :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

I'll probably get slated for this, but I really couldn't give an arse. I'd start Mert and Kos in the away leg. purely because their performances in the back to the wall games this year. Barca will peg us back and he's excellent in those games. In more open games, it would of course be Gab and Kos...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,896 ✭✭✭emmetlego

What's this all about... The "We don't beat the top teams" narrative? We're the only ones who beat Leicester this year!!! COYG, it's our year! :)

emmetlego wrote: »
    What's this all about... The "We don't beat the top teams" narrative? We're the only ones who beat Leicester this year!!! COYG, it's our year! :)

Leicester look like a team that are made for us.
    I'd have no fears about playing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

Were holding on a bit towards the end there but fair play. Delighted for Leicester and in particular for another Chelsea loss on the board. One point above the relegation zone happy days! Has put a big smile on my face anyhow :D

Oh-hahahaha :D

My OH just said it must be karmic. Gave me a wonderful picture of Mourinho doing a Scrooge over Xmas and becoming "nice" :D

"Special one" indeed.

Mourinhos interview is unreal

Throwing players under the bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Jaysus Chelsea one point away from the relegation zone. Who would have thought that at the start of the season.

The 24th of Jan can't come quick enough. I only hope Jose is still in charge by then!!!

gandalf wrote: »
    Jaysus Chelsea one point away from the relegation zone. Who would have thought that at the start of the season.

The 24th of Jan can't come quick enough. I only hope Jose is still in charge by then!!!

I wouldn't trust us to even get a result let alone batter them. They were as open as the sea in the Community Shield. We should have tonked them