Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,192 ✭✭✭Ken Shamrock

What was It Feb 2010? Arshavin and Bendtner 2-1 I was In Lanzarote at the time watching It, a great night. If we could beat them with that team we have to stand a chance with the one we have now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

Positives
    - We've beaten them before
    - Being underdogs suits us in big games
    - Enrique isn't Pep
    - Club World Cup will be a distraction
    - They've been hammered twice this year

Negatives
    - They're Barcelona

So yeah I'll say the negatives outweigh the positives atm. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Feck it I can see Ozil as an ex-RM being up for this big time and Alexis will want to prove a point to the powers that be at Barca.

I much prefer us to be the underdogs than favourites. Sure this is why you are in the Champions League to play the best, otherwise you might as well play on Spursday against the rest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

gandalf wrote: »
    Feck it I can see Ozil as an ex-RM being up for this big time and Alexis will want to prove a point to the powers that be at Barca.

I much prefer us to be the underdogs than favourites. Sure this is why you are in the Champions League to play the best, otherwise you might as well play on Spursday against the rest!

very well said, am not too worried. we've beaten them before. we just have to turn up on those 2 nights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭DarraghF197

What was It Feb 2010? Arshavin and Bendtner 2-1 I was In Lanzarote at the time watching It, a great night. If we could beat them with that team we have to stand a chance with the one we have now.

I remember when Van Persie got a second yellow for shooting after he was flagged. Never have I seen the likes.

Anyone who has watched Barcelona play this year will realise that the aggregate score could look pretty nasty. Their front three are insanely good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

No team has defended the CL, hope ye cause an upset next February.

Should have Coquelin back for the 2nd leg. If we had a decent DM there for both legs be might, just might have a shot at solidity and countering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Should have Coquelin back for the 2nd leg. If we had a decent DM there for both legs be might, just might have a shot at solidity and countering.

So maybe its a good thing if United sign Neymar in January :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭DeclanRe

Ah im not that bothered we got Barcelona, they are the best team in the competition and we are the underdogs, this suits us. And imagine if we beat them, unlikely but you never know. We stung Bayern. I'll watch this match, not get my hopes up, and just see what happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,470 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Arsenal to finally get the monkey off their back and knock out Barcelona. Then lose in the next round to someone like Kiev.

ronjo wrote: »

And they are signing Ronaldo and Messi as well :P

gandalf wrote: »
    And they are signing Ronaldo and Messi as well :P

Thats grand so if we get Real in the quarters. ;)

Lads got a question for buying tickets.

I am a red member on Arsenal (just got the card last week). Can I purchase more than 1 ticket? Like if i want my brother to come along with me is it possible to buy 2 tickets or even more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

I'm happy with the draw, got the biggest game possible.

Have to beat the best sometime and all that.

5star02707 wrote: »

I am a red member on Arsenal (just got the card last week). Can I purchase more than 1 ticket? Like if i want my brother to come along with me is it possible to buy 2 tickets or even more?

Nope, one ticket per membership....... well at least it was when I last used it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,470 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

5star02707 wrote: »

No. You need a second membership to get another ticket. You could either buy one now or see if you can borrow one from somebody who won't be going. But there will be limited tickets for red members available for this I'd say. You'd want to be very quick once they go on sale to get two seats together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

People saying they're happy with the draw are actually annoying. Give me Zenit any day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 255 ✭✭Kerry Gooner

Great opportunity if we could get either the winners of the Benfica or Wolfsburg ties in the quarter-final.
    Then again, last year's draw against Monaco looked promising at the time.

Ahh crap really? 1 card for 1 person? Sigh guess have to go solo >_< aff haha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭DeclanRe

People saying they're happy with the draw are actually annoying. Give me Zenit any day!

I'm not happy with it, not at all. But i'm not going to lose any sleep over it.
    Barca drew 2-2 at the weekend with Deportivo, there not untouchable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,828 ✭✭✭gosplan

I'd much rather Barca than a few teams in it like PSG, Juve, Atletico, Real etc.

Others will just change their game-plan and strangle us.

Barca won't though and any team with a decent defence and a fast counter attack can get at them. If we have a fit squad and an in-form Walcott at the time, we can really get at them. Giroud stays on the bench till 65 mins.

**** it, use the cash reserves to buy 5 of their players and loan them to Madrid for the season. Easy.

Well as long as we sign a DM in January........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,578 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

And City get Kiev...of course :rolleyes:

Ye got Monaco last year.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

At least we can focus on the league now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭csallmighty

Could easily get knocked out by a team like Zenit anyway. Might as well play the best.

I see we have two tough away games at Old Trafford and Goodison Park after the Barca games.

Hopefully we will have a fitter squad than currently by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭Nemeses2050

I see we have two tough away games at Old Trafford and Goodison Park after the Barca games.

United are away in the 1st leg of their Europa tie, so that's not a bad thing. If they move our game against Everton to Sunday or even monday, that would be much better.

It depends on when their first leg is though. Hopefully it is the Thursday before we go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

When is Wilshere and Welbeck due back? There 2 players that could really hurt Barcelona, especialy Jack when he is on top of his game.

Be nice if Wenger where to pull something out of the bag in the January transfer window.