Arsenal Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015/16 ( Mod Note linked in OP 29/12)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,187 ✭✭✭ronjo

Did the ref get help from the 4th official for the penalty?

It looked like he wasnt going to give it and I am almost certain the linesman didnt put up his flag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭Pierce_1991

ronjo wrote: »

It looked like he wasnt going to give it and I am almost certain the linesman didnt put up his flag.

I reckon they may have been talking over the mics. Definitely didn't appear to be giving it himself anyway

Does this mean I wonder that the 4th was watching on TV?
    Same with the WBA disallowed goal...... It looked like it was going to stand when clearly offside.

gosplan wrote: »
    You might worry about players bottling it but I think if we get Ozil and Sanchez on the pitch for a run in, they'll lead by example.

Rubbish. Ozil's a lazy coward who hides when things aren't going his way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,054 ✭✭✭✭L'prof

Would ya ever feck off with that absolute shite! Top of the league because of Özil!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭farna_boy

ronjo wrote: »

According to MOTD, it was the linesman (at the other end of the pitch) who had a better line of sight and called for the penalty.

L'prof wrote: »
    Would ya ever feck off with that absolute shite! Top of the league because of Özil!

I assumed an emoticon wasn't necessary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Soups123

I assumed an emoticon wasn't necessary.

With most others one would make the assumption with you you'd never know :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭Drexel

Was delighted he showed up Moyes the other day. Lazy lazy lazy punditry

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,707 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

gosplan wrote: »
    I believe guys.

AFAIK, we've been the best team in the second half of the season for the last two years, possibly more.

I know that means very little but whatever way Wenger does it, our fittness and form tend to be great over the last few months.

You might worry about players bottling it but I think if we get Ozil and Sanchez on the pitch for a run in, they'll lead by example.

We always manage half a good season, two years ago it was the first half and we were top at Christmas then bottled it. We've a great chance this season but let's not pretend this is anything new. I'm quietly optimistic all the same but I was quietly optimistic two years ago too when Liverpool ended up going closer than we did after they looked nailed on for 7th at Christmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

45 minutes left till the Champions League draw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

5star02707 wrote: »
    45 minutes left till the Champions League draw

Be nice to make the quarters (at least) after so many knock-outs at the last 16 stage.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    We always manage half a good season, two years ago it was the first half and we were top at Christmas then bottled it. We've a great chance this season but let's not pretend this is anything new. I'm quietly optimistic all the same but I was quietly optimistic two years ago too when Liverpool ended up going closer than we did after they looked nailed on for 7th at Christmas.

To be fair two years we lost Aaron Ramsey around Feb and he had been our best player by a long way until that point. We've seen this season already that perhaps we're a bit better prepared to deal with injuries.

Soups123 wrote: »
    With most others one would make the assumption with you you'd never know :)
    Should be straightforward enough, I'm consistent if nothing else.
    To be fair two years we lost Aaron Ramsey around Feb and he had been our best player by a long way until that point. We've seen this season already that perhaps we're a bit better prepared to deal with injuries.
    I dunno, I mean yesterday we had our first choice back 5 but still looked ropey with just Flamini and Ramsey ahead of them. Gibbs is looking like a good option off the bench for some situations but an injury or two and that ain't an option.

It has probably been mentioned here but I just wanted to say, Ozils movement for the 2nd goal was so class yesterday. Without touching the ball he arched his run and drew Lescott out of a good covering position before laying it on a plate for ramsey. Just thought it was magnificent

Such an intelligent and unsellfish footballer.

Interestingly (to me at least :P) the player positions from yesterday have Ozil ahead of Giroud overall. Not sure whether that's a good or bad thing overall. Also Walcott and Monreal were so far back that Walcott was actually behind Bellerin and Ramsey. Both teams seemed to favour attacking on the right which likely explains it. Nice to see "doesn't track back" Walcott doing it for once. :P

It has probably been mentioned here but I just wanted to say, Ozils movement for the 2nd goal was so class yesterday. Without touching the ball he arched his run and drew Lescott out of a good covering position before laying it on a plate for ramsey. Just thought it was magnificent

Such an intelligent and unsellfish footballer.
    Aye the lean/feint was beautiful, no need for a big dummy or stepover, that would be inefficient. :pac:

Chances of drawing each team:

CV0KzqIWoAAk97R.png

We're restricted to 5 teams with fairly even chance of each.

BARCELONA! I KNEW IT!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,608 ✭✭✭✭cson

For the love and honour of ****ing jaysus. :rolleyes:

We have to beat them sometime though I suppose, statistics and all that. :(

Well, more time to focus on the league.

It'd actually be funny if it wasn't so sad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,814 ✭✭✭Marcus Antonius

For F*ck sake... Why always us?!

cson wrote: »
    For the love and honour of ****ing jaysus. :rolleyes:

We have to beat them sometime though I suppose, statistics and all that. :(
    We'll beat them once. :pac:

Unbelievable though, seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,449 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

And City get Kiev...of course :rolleyes:

For F*ck sake... Why always us?!

To be honest I am not that annoyed.
    A fantastic tie to look forward to and lets forget about it for a few months and give the league a good go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Ah cmon lads sure we have Barca DNA :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭DarraghF197

Have mercy, Barcelona, please! The one team I didn't want Arsenal to get, typical!

Haha well on our day we can beat them it's a 2 legged tie. We can do this :P

Kosc and Suarez is what i want to see. He contained him in Liverpool