Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2015 - Mod Note Post 7373

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,401 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I think his point may be an experienced top level, clinical finisher, like Rooney was supposed to be this season?

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,039 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Pro. F wrote: »
    I'm surprised this hasn't been discussed in the thread -

Van Gaal: "The question is would Luis Suarez or Sergio Aguero score if they were here?" Van Gaal told BBC Radio Manchester.

"That is a question mark. You never know. I think they would, though."
    Van Gaal, 64, added: "We've created enough chances to score, so that was not the problem.

"The most important thing is you dominate, create and you finish. Football is about scoring goals. The first two basic aspects of football we have done," Van Gaal added.

"When you don't finish from a metre in front of an empty goal, you cannot say anything more. You have to finish and that's the only problem we have. We played very well especially in the second half - but you have to finish.

"The goals are coming. That is my strong belief."

Link

If only he had Suarez or Aguero and didn't have to make do with a chump like Martial.

I'm not too surprised because he isn't saying anything as controversial as you make it out to be.

Even if he had, Suarez and Aguero are two of the best strikers in the world, at their peak with years of top flight proven experience. Martial is guy who just turned 20 who has tremendous potential but like any 20 year old he will have dips and peaks in form until he builds up his experience in a new league with a new club in a new country. Acknowledging that is not dismissing Martial as a chump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

I think his point may be an experienced top level, clinical finisher, like Rooney was supposed to be this season?

But the problem isn't the finishing. No striker has taken anywhere near enough shots under Van Gaal to indicate that finishing is a problem.

Even the best strikers, like Aguero and Suarez, fail to convert plenty of their clear chances. But they take loads of shots and in good areas, so the goals rack up and nobody remembers the missed chances.

Our strikers have been getting off nowhere near enough shots (even though both Rooney and Martial's movement off the ball to get into goal scoring positions from CF has been excellent) and the cause of that is the lack of creativity from the whole team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,219 ✭✭✭✭Pro. F

Sand wrote: »
    I'm not too surprised because he isn't saying anything as controversial as you make it out to be.

Even if he had, Suarez and Aguero are two of the best strikers in the world, at their peak with years of top flight proven experience. Martial is guy who just turned 20 who has tremendous potential but like any 20 year old he will have dips and peaks in form until he builds up his experience in a new league with a new club in a new country. Acknowledging that is not dismissing Martial as a chump.

This argument would work if Martial had been playing poorly, but he hasn't. He's been excellent playing at CF, but he's been forced to live off scraps because the attack is so dysfunctional.

Edit: I know that Van Gaal wasn't calling Martial a chump. The reason I used the word was to point out that while Van Gaal doesnt have Suarez or Aguero to work with, it's not like the team are struggling in attack because there's a chump playing up front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

Hopefully we will sign either Lukaku or Kane next summer. For me it's Lukaku more than Kane as Lukaku looks complete package. We need a striker who is bit selfish and has a good scoring instincts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,981 ✭✭✭tinofapples

Rooney in a spot of bother again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Rooney in a spot of bother again.

What did he do now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

What did he do now?

Showed up to training drunk is the rumour although I think the actual story is that he was drinking the night before and got caught through blood tests.

glued wrote: »
    Showed up to training drunk is the rumour although I think the actual story is that he was drinking the night before and got caught through blood tests.

Oh that yesterday's story. He said again.

I would take it with a sprinkle of salt though, lvg dosent exactly coat his reasons for dropping people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,560 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

If only he had Suarez or Aguero and didn't have to make do with a chump like Martial.

Have discussed this myself.

Firstly, I would argue we are not good at creating in the first place.

Secondly, I would argue if your tactics require one of the very best forwards in the world in order to score goals, the tactics are the problem. The vast majority of teams in football score goals without having Suarez or Aguero, or even a player close to their level.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Interesting. I haven't seen the last few Utd games. Has martial gone from hero to villain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,560 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Interesting. I haven't seen the last few Utd games. Has martial gone from hero to villain?

he explained following this that he wasn't calling Martial a chup himself - merely pointing out that saying we'd be scoring if we had Suarez or Aguero is making Martial (and Rooney) out to be chumps.

I can see what van gaal is saying. There has been quite a few chances fallen to someone's feet, that if it had fallen to those 2 lads, they would have scored.

In the west ham game, a good few chances fell to Fellaini and martial but they got blocked or scuffed wide.

Poor execution and technique has hindered the goals being scored.
    Van gaal gambled on Rooney being that striker to have the experience to score those but alas it's down to martial and Fellaini.
    Slightly edging towards, if rvp had stayed he may have scored if he just sat around the box waiting for them balls which do come.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

Poor execution and technique has hindered the goals being scored.

Fellaini should have scored, Martial got blocked and his second chance wasn't clear cut, he either put it in the corner first time or took a touch and possibly gets closed down.

beno619 wrote: »
    Fellaini should have scored, Martial got blocked and his second chance wasn't clear cut, he either put it in the corner first time or took a touch and possibly gets closed down.

Yeah, so poor execution and technique.

The most clear cut chance I can think of from west ham is the one where martial scuffs it and swings out wards past the post.
    I would be fairly confident of Rooney, rvp, saurez, aguero or any top striker to score that.

It's all a bit pointless as well becuase they may not has been in that position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭beno619

The most clear cut chance I can think of from west ham is the one where martial scuffs it and swings out wards past the post.
    I would be fairly confident of Rooney, rvp, saurez, aguero or any top striker to score that.

It's all a bit pointless as well becuase they may not has been in that position.

Does he scuff it though ? Looks to me he tries to hit it first time with the inside of his boot, makes a decent connection but it swerves right instead of left.
    I don't thinks its a simple a chance as your making it out to be. I certainly wouldn't be confident of Rooney scoring.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,333 ✭✭✭brinty

Rooney and RVP who could barely hit a barn door with a banjo in the last 18 months...
    C'mon now gowl...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭0gac3yjefb5sv7

Watched United vs West Ham from the Prem 2008 last night. 4 goals in first 30 mins...we didn't have all the possession but when we did we largely were actually direct in going forward. Much more excitement than all of the games put together this season...

brinty wrote: »
    Rooney and RVP who could barely hit a barn door with a banjo in the last 18 months...
    C'mon now gowl...

I know. Part of me thinks if they were in that position they would score.

They would probably miss the ball and Fellaini would smash it in top corner then and everyone would be embarrassed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,242 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

My Facebook memory came up on my timeline from this day in 2009 and it shares my status update for that day

"Man United V Wolfsburg tonight! We have a makeshift of a makeshift back line! Gonna be interesting to see the youngsters in action..."...

It's almost history repeating itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Didn't Darren Gibson play that night? He played well too if same.

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

from reading here, on twitter, red cafe, red issue and on a private United forum that im part of, there definitely is a lower sense of expectation than normal tonight, i would estimate about 2/3rd think we will go out tonight which is virtually unheard of.

can we go through? of course we can but its going to be absolute torture and the chances of us going out are very very strong :(

i wont be calling for LVGs head if we go out by the way, as it wont serve us any purpose to have somebody like Giggs coming in for the rest of the season unless they could persuade Carlo to come in - eitherway, LVG is not going anywhere anytime soon.

to be in this suituation though needing probably a win to qualify, is very very disappointing and should never have materialised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 34,992 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Since 2009 our European expience has been pretty awful.

Which is a disgrace in itself

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,547 ✭✭✭Your Airbag

But the problem isn't the finishing. No striker has taken anywhere near enough shots under Van Gaal to indicate that finishing is a problem.

Even the best strikers, like Aguero and Suarez, fail to convert plenty of their clear chances. But they take loads of shots and in good areas, so the goals rack up and nobody remembers the missed chances.

Our strikers have been getting off nowhere near enough shots (even though both Rooney and Martial's movement off the ball to get into goal scoring positions from CF has been excellent) and the cause of that is the lack of creativity from the whole team.

Well he ain't wrong. We had 21 shots Saturday, only one on target. That's poor finishing, we created plenty Saturday and it was all down to the forward players blowing it. Better finishing and we were top of the league.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,066 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

from reading here, on twitter, red cafe, red issue and on a private United forum that im part of, there definitely is a lower sense of expectation than normal tonight, i would estimate about 2/3rd think we will go out tonight which is virtually unheard of.

I think we will win but its no real surprise if many think otherwise.

We struggle to score goals because we have no consistent attacking capability, goals come on an ad-hoc basis rather than as the result of a planned, controlled, attacking strategy, and this affects our ability to get goals when they are most needed.

We don't score much as a rule, which means when we really need a goal we can't create one, because you don't switch that attacking mentality on and off like a tap.

I made this point weeks ago before our easy run and the number of points dropped since bear it out. I also said it would hurt us most in the crunch games and tonight could quite easily be the perfect example, draws keep us ticking over in top four in the league but aren't good enough in the cups, so its games like this that our play will really hurt us.

This game could be a watershed for Van Gaal, the game that puts his squad planning, his player management and his tactical approach all into sharp focus. If we go out of the CL tonight because of our lack of squad depth and our inability to have any consistent attacking threat then the blame lies with one person only, Van Gaal, he is the one that created this situation.

On the other hand, Wolfsburg are actually pretty **** so we will probably get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

was just looking back on through of some of my posts, it was only 4 months ago I was saying we should be after Stones during the summer and I was shot down (a lot) 4 months later I would reckon now the majority on here would take him in a second.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Is there a name on that article about Neymar?

Jaysus, 144m on one player.....that would be incredible....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

Wont see the match tonight due to studying but im not confident. i sense another draw and hope the moscow do us a favour.

Could be a bad 2 days for the pemier league as it could be easily 3 out of the 4 teams out of the champions league, shows how far the standard of the top teams have fallen from a few years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

bangkok wrote: »
    was just looking back on through of some of my posts, it was only 4 months ago I was saying we should be after Stones during the summer and I was shot down (a lot) 4 months later I would reckon now the majority on here would take him in a second.

Give me Ross Barkley and Lukaku first!
    Agree with you though, looks a top young centre half.