If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Starting at the Very Start

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭FIFA2004

Thursday 19th November
    10km
    86.56mins
    8.41min/km
    8.12, 8.23, 8.49, 8.37, 8.41, 8.45, 8.51, 8.13, 8.27, 8.52

Who knew I could do that!!!
    Headed out planning to do 8km as a long run. Ran towards Malahide castle, got slowed down passing a school as it finished (shudda realised and avoided it at all costs!), ran around some random paths in the castle, including a lot of the Parkrun route (very wet!). Got to 5km and felt great, same at 6km.
    Started thinking about maybe adding a little bit more on, to make it the longest run id done. 7km still felt good... So took a few extra turns to add some time on. Nine is nearly ten so planned another few turns. Took the headphones out somewhere after 7km, when I put them back in for a great surprise when the next time she talked said 9k when I was expecting 8! Still felt good, had promised myself I would stop if anything hurt but apart from the legs being a bit tired I was fine.
    Got to 10km and was still 1.5km from home (due to missing the 8km warning!). Had vague thoughts of running the rest of it but thought that would be a recipe to hurt something.
    Slow walk home with a bit of stretching on the way!
    Quite the slow time, but who cares! I'm delighted with that! Really thought I didn't have 10km in me yet!

Had been planning on Parkrun on Saturday, will see how I feel tomorrow evening. This may be my one big effort of the week and if I don't feel like I'll run something I'm happy with I'll do a slow 5km on my own.
    Now off to look up running watches :) study I mean, study! I have to stop procrastinating by running! :)

Wow that was horrendously long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

That's great, that's a sure sign the training is working. Think back to when you were doing the C25k and imagine how you'd have reacted to the idea of heading out for a casual 10k? :D Glad to hear you're feeling better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,519 ✭✭✭Sunny Dayz

Well done FIFA2004 - you will find such confidence when you know you can run 10km, that it is possible to go that distance and really not that bad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

FIFA2004 wrote: »
    Thursday 19th November
    10km
    86.56mins
    8.41min/km
    8.12, 8.23, 8.49, 8.37, 8.41, 8.45, 8.51, 8.13, 8.27, 8.52

Good run FIFA , Imo distance is more beneficial than running at pace when building a fitness base.

Thanks everyone!
    Yeah I've definitely taken a lot of confidence! I had built anything over 5km to be a massive deal in my head, this morning I was thinking about aiming for a 10k race in March :p it's great to know I can do it! Emailed the running club in castlebar when I got in... Another big step!

Haha my legs feel like it was anything but a casual run right now! But definitely max... At the start of c25k I wudda laughed at the idea of walking 10k let alone running it!

Next step: do it again... Only faster :)

Sat 21st Nov
    5km
    8.33min/km

Decided against doing Parkrun because the legs were feeling quite stiff and a bit sore. Went for a slow 5km instead, just to avoid feeling like I needed to go faster to not come last!
    Nothing to exciting, everything that was hurting felt fine after 1 - 2km, managed to keep the splits very even for me.
    First day of running group on Monday... If I write it here I'm less likely to wimp out of going! It ll do me good!

Interval session no 3
    8x75sec 5k pace, 90 sec recovery
    6.03, 5.57, 6.05, 5.49, 6.10, 5.45, 6.04, 5.55

Ended up stuck doing work stuff until 10pm, nice welcome back (or not!!). Really disappointed not to make the running group. Headed out after 10 for this one so the day wouldn't be wasted. Was freezing for most of the warm up. Even enough splits for me, probably faster than I should be, but hadn't a clue what the numbers would be like while I was running them. Felt well recovered in each 90 second gap to go again. Happy to have got something done today when going to bed would have been easier! Will definitely be at the group on Thursday! I promise!

Good session, well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 212 ✭✭chanelfreak

I love reading your log :) You inspired me to go for my first even run (and I do mean EVER) on Sunday night and I did 5k in 40mins. I walked a bit between 3k-4k but I was delighted and honest to God FIFA2004, it's all down to you. I'm going to head out again on Friday night and see what happens - you are my inspiration!

Aw wow! What a lovely thing to say! That means an awful lot to me... I still can't imagine anyone reading my rambling!
    Congratulations on the run! The first one is the hardest... After a while ull be dying to get out again. 5k first time out is a great start!!! Maybe try slowing down for the first while so you can keep going for longer? I'm a million miles from knowing anything about this but it's one thing that helped me. And try to do a Parkrun if you can... They're great! Looking forward to hearing how you get on :)

Tuesday 24th Nov
    5km
    43mins
    8.36min/km

Another 5km done tonight. Nice and slow as always. Late runs may be the way forward for the next while so I can try fit some study in!
    Next run will be the group on Thursday :)

Friday 27th
    5km
    42.25mins

Didn't make it to the group on Thursday after a very draining night in work for a lot of reasons. Another run tonight, splits were all over the place, mainly cuz of the wind and rain!

Now for the toy show!!! :)

Monday 30th Nov
    Interval 4
    5x3mins at 10k pace, 2min recovery
    Splits: 6.39, 7.15, 6.45, 7.24, 7.29

1 km warm up, 1.5 cool down. Happy enough with this, except that the splits are a bit all over the place, and maybe a bit slower than they should be. Runkeeper forgot to tell me about interval 3 being over, so ended up running fast-ish for an extra minute, with only 1 min recovery, which probably contributes to the last 2 being slower than they should
    Out again on Wednesday and jingle bells on Saturday :)

Wed 3rd Dec
    5km
    44.47mins

Another horrendously slow 5k. Wasn't expecting it to be that slow, but had very little energy on the way around

Next run will be jingle bells. Little bit nervous. Would be over the moon with under 35 (but I don't think that ll happen in a million years, too comfortable with easy paces recently!) or a pb (under 37.16), again think that's probably out of reach cuz it seems like a really quick fluke!
    Really though, I just want to enjoy it! First proper race and the reason I started c25k was so I could do things like this!
    Any advice on how to approach things would be much appreciated!

Bet you get under 35 Saturday . Good luck.

Go out easy and when you turn at the top of Chesterfield avenue go for it.

The Muppet wrote: »
    Bet you get under 35 Saturday . Good luck.

Go out easy and when you turn at the top of Chesterfield avenue go for it.

Dunno about that, thanks!!! Hope your knee holds out so you can get the pb u deserve for all the hard work and effort! Mind yourself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Good luck FIFA! As TM said, Dont gp out too fast, jingle bells is more or less downhill and everyone takes off like a bullet at the start. Choose your race pace & stick to it.

As the others have said, take it easy at the start, it's very easy to get swept along with the crowd and start much faster than you are used to and you may end up paying for it a km or 2 in. Start near the back of the pack, run your own race at your own pace.

Nerves are normal in the days coming up to a big one for anybody (whether it's 5km or a marathon!)! You start to doubt your pace, your target times, you worry about your form etc. I get that before I do a 5km or 10km that I have signed up for but it works out on the day and you wonder what you were worrying about!

But more importantly; enjoy yourself!! The running community are a nice crew so get a few chats before and after the race! I love doing runs where I haven't been before and looking around me like an eejit!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Best of luck FIFA! Really looking forward to seeing how you do. I have a feeling you might surprise yourself in a good way!

You have plenty of good advice already above so I have nothing to add really except I hope you have a great race :)

FIFA2004 wrote: »
    Dunno about that, thanks!!! Hope your knee holds out so you can get the pb u deserve for all the hard work and effort! Mind yourself!

Sure if not this time it's going to happen soon for you , don't pressurise yourself thinking about it just run as best you can and most importantly enjoy it.

Ah I'm not pushed about a pb for myself now. If it happens great if not my plan is as above to enjoy it and to run the best I can on the day, A pb can wait until I'm fully fit.

Thanks for the advice everyone!!! Will try take it all on board... Especially starting off easy, it's a mistake I've made before. Looking forward to it now!
    Good luck muppet and max and everyone else running! :)

Good luck to you too! Looks like the weather's going to be a bit of a fecker tomorrow so if we miss our targets we have a prepackaged excuse. ;)

It's gonna make things interesting anyway! Ah sure I live on the west coast, so if there's one thing I'm used to its wind and rain!

Good luck Fifa

Saturday 5th Dec
    5km Jingle Bells
    Official time: 38.27
    Splits (runkeeper): 7.28, 7.50, 7.35, 7.19, 6.33

strange day overall! But really enjoyable!
    Left home really early, got a lift from me mammy, arrived at 9.40, stayed in the heat until nearer the time! Turns out we ran down the car battery too. I headed off for the start line while she rang the aa for a jump start!
    Got near the start and everyone was warming up in groups, decided not to run as I've never run a warm up before. Stretched a bit and tried to keep walking to stay warm, failed miserably on that one!
    Started at the very end, only a group of 20 or so kids behind me, false start and back we went again! Finally off for real.

The race is all a bit of a blur. Started off nice and slow but still passing a few kids/walkers/slower than me people, got to 1km feeling good.
    Can't remember much about the rest! Wind was terrible. Don't think it was ever behind me, more pushing to the side and against. A lot of kids were struggling to stay in a straight line! About 500 metres at 3.5km and I was putting in more effort than I ever had and getting nowhere. There wasn't anybody around to shield me from the wind but on I went!
    Spotted this fat girl runs teeshirt and figured if I stayed near her I couldn't be doing too badly. In the end finished about 100m behind but used her as a pacer the whole way nearly. Felt OK-ish at 4km and thought I was flying down the hill to the finish line!

Official time was 38.27 but from why people are saying that's gun time. Forgot to stop runkeeper at the end too. So no idea what my time actually was, I'm thinking maybe a minute quicker than above, that might be optimistic thou. If I add together the runkeeper splits taking away the bit over 5km (they were matching the markers until 3kn at least) would that give an accurate-ish number?

Overall I really enjoyed it. Feel like I learnt a lot, there were times I could have pushed on, and probably was too conservative at the start. I need to get some kind of routine for a warm up! And I should have thought more about waiting at the start... I was a shivering soggy mess by the time we started after standing in only my running clothes for 30mins plus!

Just gonna have to do it all again soon to get a proper time! Will definitely be going to more races, was a great experience to run with people, even if a lot of them were 20 years younger than me!
    Sorry for the epically long report!!!!
    Hope everyone else is as happy as I am!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Well done FIFA :) those were tough conditions out there, the more you race the more you learn. There's a tom Brennan memorial 5k on new years day if you feel like giving it a bash.

Thanks! Really happy with how it went, disappointed not to have a time I can count on but was unavoidable by the sound of it
    Unfortunately on call on New Year's Eve so I'll be fast asleep in Mayo most of New Year's Day! Looks like a good one thou.
    Thinking about the Christmas cracker in santry on 27th Dec, will decide after I get another park run in and see if I can keep up!

Well done FIFA2004 in those conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Congratulations FIFA! Sounds like you can take a lot of positives from today.

Clonliffe 5k is great race but wasn't chip timed the last time I did it even though it was advertised as such. Gun times only given. But you wouldn't be more than 15-20 seconds getting to the start line if you start near the back of the field. It's a lovely largely flat course. Have a look at the results from previous years to see how many would be around your time.
    St. Anne's Parkrun would be a good one to target either for the next pb and quite a big field of runners so I'd say you'd have lots to run with.

Congrats Fifa, Looks like you enjoyed it too. Onwards and upwards